Page 50 of 74 FirstFirst ... 404748495051525360 ... LastLast
Results 1,226 to 1,250 of 1835

Thread: Core i7 Overclocking by Batch #

  1. #1226
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    207
    Quote Originally Posted by BLunTSmoKeR View Post
    Nice results patty

    Sniper, your chip is borked mate, I think you should just send it to me so I can fix it up for you!!

    Your Vcore is excellent, I really want a W3520!!
    Sure mate

    If you can find a W3540 3845B010, I think they are the best I'v seen. But all W3520 week 45-48 has a good chance of beeing a good chip (and alot of the 920 from same weeks). But there isnt much point in having a good chip unless you have watercooling, the heat output past 4.3 isnt easy to handle with air.

  2. #1227
    Xtreme Addict rge's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    1,435
    4.5Ghz prime stable (3847B005), 23.4C ambients, 28.1C water temp, 1.39vcore load cpuz, 1.34qpi/vtt. Dram 1.64, rest volts at stock (not auto). Removed about 15C off load temps over past months by upgrading fans, wb, pump/top, 2x360rads instead 1, reversed fans so intake cooler external air through rads, balanced airflow, and lastly indigo extreme tim, now loads at 74C max instead of near 90C.



    pic of same screen with fluke showing rad intake ambients
    Last edited by rge; 09-20-2009 at 07:50 AM.

  3. #1228
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    207
    Thats a beutiful chip, and a nice wc setup rge. I'v only got a weak laing dcc stolen from an old Corsair wc kit, maybe I should consider getting a more powerful one.

    Didnt think this 3845A935 would do 4.5, it does get hot (20.5 rad intake ambient).

    Last edited by Sniper; 09-20-2009 at 09:10 AM.

  4. #1229
    Xtreme Addict rge's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    1,435
    You have a couple of nice xeons sniper, both need little less vcore than mine, and yeah they do seem hot, though hard to tell between different setups.

    I just noticed I get 56.8 gflops at 4.5, your xeon must have little faster cache?, or memory faster, or UC.
    Last edited by rge; 09-20-2009 at 09:40 AM.

  5. #1230
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    207
    The 3848A352 runs cooler than this one (testing later by how much). Gflops depends on version of LinX, mem size used, mem speed etc. Dont think uncore gives much, but not sure.
    Priming 8+ hours usually requires more vcore than 30 min of LinX.
    Last edited by Sniper; 09-20-2009 at 10:20 AM.

  6. #1231
    Xtreme Mentor Sam_oslo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Oslo - Norway
    Posts
    2,868
    3848A352 is running with OK temp up to 4.3GHZ(205x21) 1.28v on air, but it would need water for anything over that to run "cool and quiet" for 24/7, at least on my setup.

    ASUS P8P67 Deluxe (BIOS 1305)
    2600K @4.5GHz 1.27v , 1 hour Prime
    Silver Arrow , push/pull
    2x2GB Crucial 1066MHz CL7 ECC @1600MHz CL9 1.51v
    GTX560 GB OC @910/2400 0.987v
    Crucial C300 v006 64GB OS-disk + F3 1TB + 400MB RAMDisk
    CM Storm Scout + Corsair HX 1000W
    +
    EVGA SR-2 , A50
    2 x Xeon X5650 @3.86GHz(203x19) 1.20v
    Megahalem + Silver Arrow , push/pull
    3x2GB Corsair XMS3 1600 CL7 + 3x4GB G.SKILL Trident 1600 CL7 = 18GB @1624 7-8-7-20 1.65v
    XFX GTX 295 @650/1200/1402
    Crucial C300 v006 64GB OS-disk + F3 1TB + 2GB RAMDisk
    SilverStone Fortress FT01 + Corsair AX 1200W

  7. #1232
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    207
    Sam, you should really consider getting a wc setup, I'm sure your chip could get really high mhz.

  8. #1233
    Xtreme Member Kylzer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Sofia, Bulgaria + Thurso, Scotland
    Posts
    186
    I cant get anything over 215 blk (4.3ghz) stable anyone wana help me with bios settings
    CPU: Pentium 4(L6SB)> E4500>E6700>E8200>Q6700>i7 920>I5 750>2500K
    GPU: Nvidia Ti 4200>ATI 9800 PRO>Nvidia 8600GT>8800GT SLI>GTX260>ATI HD4870>HD5770>HD6950

  9. #1234
    Xtreme Mentor Sam_oslo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Oslo - Norway
    Posts
    2,868
    215 is my BCLK-wall with x20 too. It would prime up to BCLK220 with x19, but and my double-GPU (GTX 295) would need further tweaks to run stable for anything over BCLK215, anyways.

    Quote Originally Posted by Sniper View Post
    Sam, you should really consider getting a wc setup, I'm sure your chip could get really high mhz.
    I know, and i should get WC long time ago. But don't tempt me.

    ASUS P8P67 Deluxe (BIOS 1305)
    2600K @4.5GHz 1.27v , 1 hour Prime
    Silver Arrow , push/pull
    2x2GB Crucial 1066MHz CL7 ECC @1600MHz CL9 1.51v
    GTX560 GB OC @910/2400 0.987v
    Crucial C300 v006 64GB OS-disk + F3 1TB + 400MB RAMDisk
    CM Storm Scout + Corsair HX 1000W
    +
    EVGA SR-2 , A50
    2 x Xeon X5650 @3.86GHz(203x19) 1.20v
    Megahalem + Silver Arrow , push/pull
    3x2GB Corsair XMS3 1600 CL7 + 3x4GB G.SKILL Trident 1600 CL7 = 18GB @1624 7-8-7-20 1.65v
    XFX GTX 295 @650/1200/1402
    Crucial C300 v006 64GB OS-disk + F3 1TB + 2GB RAMDisk
    SilverStone Fortress FT01 + Corsair AX 1200W

  10. #1235
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    207
    This is the the 3848A352 at 4.5. Needed one notch up on vcore in bios (same in cpuz), and 1.34v vtt instead of 1.32v used on the 935 (weaker uncore on the 352).


  11. #1236
    Xtreme Member DavyBoy's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    438
    Quote Originally Posted by Sniper View Post
    Sure mate

    If you can find a W3540 3845B010, I think they are the best I'v seen. But all W3520 week 45-48 has a good chance of beeing a good chip (and alot of the 920 from same weeks). But there isnt much point in having a good chip unless you have watercooling, the heat output past 4.3 isnt easy to handle with air.
    I can't find anywhere at all here in the UK that sells Bloomfield Xeons, just Gainestown's..

    If I could find them I wouldn't have bought another 920..

    As for watercooling, I am in the process building my first loop, I was going to set it all up in my current case, but it was gonna be to much hassle, so I have decided to get a TJ07 instead.

    Will be ordering it this week, and I also need to get my CPU block as well, then that will be me ready to get my CPU and GPU under water.

    I am kinda scared though, as I have never used watercooling before, and I am worried incase I screw it up!!

    Though I have been reading up about it for the last couple of months, and asking people lots of questions to, so I am hoping that everything goes smoothly.
    Core i7 D0
    Asus Rampage II Extreme
    6GB Corsair Dominator GT 1866MHz
    SLi'd GTX280s
    Corsair HX850
    Custom Silverstone TJ07
    Custom Watercooling
    Logitech G15 Keyboard
    Logitech G500
    Roccat Kave 5.1


  12. #1237
    Xtreme Member Zaxis01's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Portland
    Posts
    128
    I just did a little test. not sure how accurate it is though but, i overclocked my core i7 940 and it seems the max bclk i can reach with this chip is 210 and the max frequency multi is x23 and 23x210 = 4830.
    And from reading through overclocking forums it seems the max bclk of the core i7 920's is 230 and with a max multi of x21 = 4830.

    So is there any real difference here besides the price?
    Under the hood:
    Motherboard - MSI Big Bang Xpower
    CPU - Intel Core I7 970 3.2 @ 4.4ghz/w 1.28vcore
    Cooler- Intel Stock Heatsink
    RAM - Gskill Trident 3x2gb @ 2100 cl9
    GPU -2x Nvidia GTX 580 SLI
    Soundcard - Creative xfi xtremegamer
    DVDRW - LG 22x DVD RW Drive
    Samsung Spinpoint f3 500gb HDD
    Tower- MM Ascension CYO Brushed Aluminum
    Monitor - Sony Bravia 40" LED 1080p 120hz
    Keyboard - Razer Tarantula
    Mouse - Logitech G5

  13. #1238
    Xtreme Member DavyBoy's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    438
    Quote Originally Posted by Zaxis01 View Post
    I just did a little test. not sure how accurate it is though but, i overclocked my core i7 940 and it seems the max bclk i can reach with this chip is 210 and the max frequency multi is x23 and 23x210 = 4830.
    And from reading through overclocking forums it seems the max bclk of the core i7 920's is 230 and with a max multi of x21 = 4830.

    So is there any real difference here besides the price?
    I wouldn't say that it a very accurate test mate..

    A D0 stepping 920 will clock a lot higher than a 940, Did you get 210 Bclk with your multi at 23 on the 940, or was this just the max Bclk you got when lowering the CPU multi?

    It also depends on which motherboard you have as to high high the Bclk will go, there are a lot of mobos that have a 222 Bclk wall, and require a PCIe hardmod in order to go higher.
    Core i7 D0
    Asus Rampage II Extreme
    6GB Corsair Dominator GT 1866MHz
    SLi'd GTX280s
    Corsair HX850
    Custom Silverstone TJ07
    Custom Watercooling
    Logitech G15 Keyboard
    Logitech G500
    Roccat Kave 5.1


  14. #1239
    I am Xtreme zalbard's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    8,752
    Quote Originally Posted by Zaxis01 View Post
    I just did a little test. not sure how accurate it is though but, i overclocked my core i7 940 and it seems the max bclk i can reach with this chip is 210 and the max frequency multi is x23 and 23x210 = 4830.
    And from reading through overclocking forums it seems the max bclk of the core i7 920's is 230 and with a max multi of x21 = 4830.

    So is there any real difference here besides the price?
    There is no reason to go for 940 unless you use subzero cooling.
    Donate to XS forums
    Quote Originally Posted by jayhall0315 View Post
    If you are really extreme, you never let informed facts or the scientific method hold you back from your journey to the wrong answer.

  15. #1240
    Xtreme Member DavyBoy's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    438
    Quote Originally Posted by zalbard View Post
    There is no reason to go for 940 unless you use subzero cooling.
    Even if you were using sub-zero cooling, I still don't see any point in buying a 940 now, the 950 would be a much better option imo.

    Someone let a 940 go on OcUK members market the other day for £180..

    There are even some on the bay for £200 as well, imo it would be pretty pointless buying one of these chips now.
    Core i7 D0
    Asus Rampage II Extreme
    6GB Corsair Dominator GT 1866MHz
    SLi'd GTX280s
    Corsair HX850
    Custom Silverstone TJ07
    Custom Watercooling
    Logitech G15 Keyboard
    Logitech G500
    Roccat Kave 5.1


  16. #1241
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    215
    Just got a 3919A648. Hope it turns out to be a good clocker.

  17. #1242
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    230
    Quote Originally Posted by tdream View Post
    Just got a 3919A648. Hope it turns out to be a good clocker.
    close to mine 3919A645. Haven't really done anything extreme yet, but no problems at 3GHz so far :P Planning on clocking it to 3.6 during this weekend.

  18. #1243
    Xtreme Mentor CryptiK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    2,999
    I have a 3919A643 - its does 4.2 GHz @ 1.360v / 1.39 Vtt (Linx max mem / Prime stable).

  19. #1244
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    49
    I picked up a 3910A773. Any news on this one? Not seen one of these listed yet. The 39's seem very hit and miss. I really have fingers crossed cause i tend to always get bad clocking chips and have to buy several to even get an okish one. Still, got the mobo and ram at a steal price.

  20. #1245
    Xtreme Member Zaxis01's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Portland
    Posts
    128
    I have my vcore set at 1.040 in BIOS and when i run anything at load it scales down to a lower voltage.
    Does anyone know why this is?
    Under the hood:
    Motherboard - MSI Big Bang Xpower
    CPU - Intel Core I7 970 3.2 @ 4.4ghz/w 1.28vcore
    Cooler- Intel Stock Heatsink
    RAM - Gskill Trident 3x2gb @ 2100 cl9
    GPU -2x Nvidia GTX 580 SLI
    Soundcard - Creative xfi xtremegamer
    DVDRW - LG 22x DVD RW Drive
    Samsung Spinpoint f3 500gb HDD
    Tower- MM Ascension CYO Brushed Aluminum
    Monitor - Sony Bravia 40" LED 1080p 120hz
    Keyboard - Razer Tarantula
    Mouse - Logitech G5

  21. #1246
    Xtreme Addict Chicken Patty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Miami, Florida
    Posts
    1,433
    thats because of vdroop if i'm not mistaken. I haven't read this article, but should explain it. Hopefully. Best thing would be for someone to put it in their own words. I know it is that you get lower load voltage, but I don't know why it happens, so I'll someone else do the explaining


    http://www.thetechrepository.com/showthread.php?t=126
    Cruncher's - AMD Phenom II X6 1090T @ 3.8 GHz, Intel Pentium D @ 2.8 GHz Total Threads = 8
    Folding Cards -1 GTX 295, 1 GT240 Total Threads = 3

  22. #1247
    Xtreme Member Zaxis01's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Portland
    Posts
    128
    Doesn't vdroop work the other way around by lowering vcore when idle and increasing it at load?
    Under the hood:
    Motherboard - MSI Big Bang Xpower
    CPU - Intel Core I7 970 3.2 @ 4.4ghz/w 1.28vcore
    Cooler- Intel Stock Heatsink
    RAM - Gskill Trident 3x2gb @ 2100 cl9
    GPU -2x Nvidia GTX 580 SLI
    Soundcard - Creative xfi xtremegamer
    DVDRW - LG 22x DVD RW Drive
    Samsung Spinpoint f3 500gb HDD
    Tower- MM Ascension CYO Brushed Aluminum
    Monitor - Sony Bravia 40" LED 1080p 120hz
    Keyboard - Razer Tarantula
    Mouse - Logitech G5

  23. #1248
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Midland, England
    Posts
    102

    Last edited by imo; 09-23-2009 at 02:33 PM.

    Core i7 4500MHz @ 1.33v
    Core i7 4200MHz @ 1.19v

    CPU cooling Prolimatech Megahalmes
    Motherboard P6T Deluxe OC/Palm
    Memory 6GB Corsair DDR3 Memory
    Graphics Card GTX 295
    Hard Drives 500GB Barracuda 7200RPM
    256GB SSD Read/Write 500/300 MB/s
    Power Supply Corsair TX 650W
    OS Win 7 Ultimate 64 Bit Retail
    Monitor 24" Dell 1680 x 1050

  24. #1249
    Xtreme Addict rge's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    1,435
    Quote Originally Posted by Zaxis01 View Post
    Doesn't vdroop work the other way around by lowering vcore when idle and increasing it at load?
    Chicken Patty has it correct. It is about protecting the chip from overshoots, not your common sense approach of giving the chip more juice when needed.

    Typically you set a vcore in bios. And if that bios is following intel specs that is the maximum voltage the cpu will see, even during overshoots/spikes.
    So you set vcore to 1.1. Idle is then 1.07 that is Vdrop or Voffset the first protection from overshoots at low load, in this example of .03v. At higher load get higher overshoots, so at full load vcore is reduced more to say 1.04, since from full load overshoot is .06, so again max volts cpu sees is what you set in bios 1.1.

    You can use LLC enabled on GB board or whatever called on asus boards to circumvent vdrop/vdroop. The overshoots are the same. For example Asus board with vdroop/drop disabled. Set vcore at 1.1 in bios. You may get 1.1 at low loads with overshoots to 1.13, at high loads like prime you get overshoots to 1.16.

    I am just making the voltages up for explanation purposes...
    Last edited by rge; 09-23-2009 at 01:44 PM.

  25. #1250
    Xtreme Addict Chicken Patty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Miami, Florida
    Posts
    1,433
    Thanks RGE, here is an example. My EVGA board has vdroop control. I have it disabled. Somehow disabled means no vdroop, i'd thought it'll be the other way around.

    Well these are stable crunching settings, vcore might be higher than needed, but haven't bothered to lower it.

    This is no vdroop, vdroop will be the other way around, it lowers under load.

    Idle - 1.305v

    Load - 1.341v
    Cruncher's - AMD Phenom II X6 1090T @ 3.8 GHz, Intel Pentium D @ 2.8 GHz Total Threads = 8
    Folding Cards -1 GTX 295, 1 GT240 Total Threads = 3

Page 50 of 74 FirstFirst ... 404748495051525360 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •