Page 1 of 74 12341151 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 1835

Thread: Core i7 Overclocking by Batch #

  1. #1
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    1,314

    Core i7 Overclocking by Batch #

    As I think a lot of us have noticed, there are almost two lines of bloomfield cpus, with the two main batches (a&b) differing greatly in the vcore needed to achieve an oc.

    So to all core i7 owners, please respond to this thread with your batch #, a screenshot of cpu-z, realtemp or coretemp, and prime95 on small fft showing your load temps, and what cooling you are using. There is a good deal of variation among core i7 chips with load temps and voltages, and its interesting to see the correlation with the batch #s.

    For those that don't know, the batch # can be found on the retail box, on the bottom of the sticker, under the label of FPO/Batch #. If this thread gets a large enough sample of batches, I will post up a chart of the varying results.

    To start off, here is mine: 3837B076


    cooled by cooler master 212 (under vigor brand)

    Now as promised, here is a chart of all of the results posted here and the ones that Avan gathered from the main oc'ing thread. http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/...7&postcount=35

    ****New Announcement**** I have published this spreadsheet for all to edit on google docs. If you don't see your info posted, feel free to edit in your information while adhering to the layout http://spreadsheets.google.com/ccc?k..._RqTL5QA&hl=en
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by cky2k6; 02-02-2009 at 01:54 PM.
    Core i7 920 3849B028 4.2ghz cooled by ek hf | 6gb stt ddr3 2100 | MSI HD6950 cf cooled by ek fc | Evga x58 e760 Classified | 120gb G.Skill Phoenix Pro | Modded Rocketfish case + 1200w toughpower | mcp 655 pump + mcr 320 + black ice pro II

  2. #2
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Holland
    Posts
    270
    I'll be nr 2 then.
    This will be great for anyone buying an i7

    Mine is cooled by an EK Supreme (WC)
    Batch : 3837A909
    Cpu: Core i7 930 @ 4.5 Ghz 1.4V (24/7)
    Mainboard: Classified E760 @ B3 X58 + EK Waterblock
    Memory: 6GB Kingston Hyper @ 2150Mhz 8-8-8-28 -> 1.72V
    Graphics Card: HD5870 + EK-Waterblock
    Soundcard: Auzentech X-Fi Forte
    Boot HDD: WD Velociraptor 300 GB
    Stuff HDD: 4x 1TB Samsung HD103UJ @ Raid5 (Perc 5i + 512MB)
    PSU: Corsair 1000Watt Modulair
    Water Cooling Setup: WC Setup --> Swiftech Apogee XT / Black Ice 360 GTX / 3x Triebwerk TK-122 / 2x DDC 355 Plus + XSPC Dual Top / EK-Spin Bay Reservoir

    All build in a Corsair Obsidian 800D

  3. #3
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    18
    Mine is 3837B194



    Aircooled by a Thermalright Ultra Extreme. Date must be 03/01/2009 of course!
    Last edited by Nilos; 01-03-2009 at 03:27 AM. Reason: wrong date in pic

  4. #4
    I am Xtreme
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    10,379
    Quote Originally Posted by Nilos View Post
    Mine is 3837B194
    Is that my new CPU nilos You already on the Giga Extreme version now ?
    Question : Why do some overclockers switch into d*ckmode when money is involved

    Remark : They call me Pro Asus Saaya yupp, I agree

  5. #5
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    1,938
    batch in sig.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    GB 790XTA UD4
    GSkill Pi Black 2000 Cas9
    ASUS 4870
    Enermax Revolution 1050+





    http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=67661

  6. #6
    PI in the face
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    3,084
    sub-d will edit with info when i get home
    Quote Originally Posted by L0ud View Post
    So many opinions and so few screenshots

  7. #7
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Cinci OH
    Posts
    225
    Quote Originally Posted by SmokeyTheBandit View Post
    I'll be nr 2 then.
    This will be great for anyone buying an i7

    Mine is cooled by an EK Supreme (WC)
    Batch : 3837A909
    That's a great chip! I haven't been able to boot higher than 3.8GHz on my "A" batch, at least below 1.33v although I haven't had time to mess with it though.

    Intel i7 3770k
    ASUS Z87-Pro
    Corsair Vengeance 4x 4GB
    Corsair 1000HX
    ASUS GTX 780
    Samsung 840 EVO 500GB SSD
    Corsair H100i H20 Cooling
    SB X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty

  8. #8
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    1,314
    come on guys, lets keep this going.
    Core i7 920 3849B028 4.2ghz cooled by ek hf | 6gb stt ddr3 2100 | MSI HD6950 cf cooled by ek fc | Evga x58 e760 Classified | 120gb G.Skill Phoenix Pro | Modded Rocketfish case + 1200w toughpower | mcp 655 pump + mcr 320 + black ice pro II

  9. #9
    Xtreme Mentor dengyong's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    A great place again
    Posts
    2,589
    This is not max, it's my 24/7 settings......still tweaking
    Batch #3838B079
    1.296v under load, HT on
    The rest is in my sig.
    24.7.jpg2009-01-06-12h56-VCore.png
    Last edited by dengyong; 01-15-2009 at 04:11 PM.

  10. #10
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Scotland, UK
    Posts
    334
    HT off.



    Batch #3838A505
    A government big enough to give you everything you want, is big enough to take away everything you have.
    System Specs: CM Stacker STC-T01 | Asus Z68 V Pro Gen3 (BIOS 3202) | INTEL Core i7 2600K @ 5Ghz | Corsair 8GB DDR3 1600MHz Vengeance Blue RAM | Corsair 750W TX PSU | Geforce GTX 580 - EK-FC580 Watercooled | XSPC Drive Bay Res | XSPC Raystorm CPU Watercooled | Swiftech MCR320-QP | Swiftech MCP655 | 1 x Corsair Force GT 120Gb SSD & 3 x Seagate Barracuda 7200.12 500Gb RAID 0 | X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro | DELL U2410 (Rev A02) | Windows 7 Ultimate x64

  11. #11
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    33
    Batch # 3835A699
    24/7 settings, HT off.
    Cooled by handmade copper waterblock.
    Info.PNG

  12. #12
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    119
    Hi

    i have a 920 batch 3835A766 @ 21 x 200 with tubro on and HT off
    cpu volt 1.425
    watercooled
    temps idle 39 40 42 40
    load 69 69 72 70
    temp at idle abit high but no problems

    cheers

    mark
    Coolermaster 700D
    Water cooled CPU & graphic card
    Thermocill 320 & 240 Rad , DDC ultra pump
    I5 2500K L046B582 @4.8
    asrock Z77 Extreme 6
    4 gig Ripsaw 1600
    Corsair C300 128 SSD Boot Drive
    Samsung F3 1TG
    5870 W/C @ 1000 & 1250

  13. #13
    Xtreme Mentor dengyong's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    A great place again
    Posts
    2,589

  14. #14
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    79
    I have an i7-920 batch 3841A507 and will let you guys know what it does on air with a TRUE when I get a mobo and some RAM to run with it.

  15. #15
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Fort Mill, SC, USA
    Posts
    147
    i7-920 3841A383 from Newegg:

    These are all with LinX x 20 and Prime blend stability:

    4.0ghz (20x200 turbo off) @ 1.30000v bios, 1.264v load with HT off, 1.335v QPI, 8-8-8-21-1T, 1.65v DRAM (1.66 BIOS), max LinX temp 67c on TRUE 120 push-pull
    4.0ghz (20x200 turbo off) @ 1.40625v bios, 1.360v load with HT on, 1.375v QPI, 8-8-8-21-1T, 1.65v DRAM (1.66 BIOS), max LinX temp 83c on TRUE 120 push-pull.

    Edit, added recently:
    3.8ghz (19x200 turbo off) @ 1.21875 bios, 1.184v load, 1.20v idle, HT enabled, 1.275v QPI, 8-8-8-21-1T, 1.65v DRAM (1.66 BIOS), max LinX temp 63c on TRUE 120 push-pull. I got HT disabled down to 1.154v load I think for LinX but I had to bump it all the way back up to 1.184v for Prime blend even with HT off.

    Higher voltages were required for Prime blend stability vs LinX x 20 even though LinX has highest temps. I think this is due to memory system load because I had to increase vQPI a bit for HT as you can see.

    http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/...postcount=1273
    Last edited by JWMc; 01-14-2009 at 09:55 AM. Reason: oc info update

  16. #16
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Belanda
    Posts
    229
    batch:3837A909 (Same as SmokeytheBandiet)

    HT >enabled
    Turbo >disabled
    max bclock 222.5 x 19
    Last edited by Bullu$; 01-12-2009 at 04:40 AM.
    i7 2600K Batch L039B470.
    Asus Maximus IV-Gene-Z
    Single Stage
    RipJawsX 4gb 2133 7-9-7-27-1T
    H2O 6970
    _______________________________________


  17. #17
    Back from the Dead
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Stuttgart, Germany
    Posts
    6,598
    My 3838A685 920 sucks. It hates the 20x and despises the 21x, only runs well with 19x which means I can't OC this sucker past 4,05Ghz stable really. Currently on 190x21 semi-stable, needs 1,5V Vcore though (+ I am on phase)
    Avoid 3838A...
    World Community Grid - come join a great team and help us fight for a better tomorrow![size=1]


  18. #18
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    64
    3837A715 here, under the stock cooler @1.352v under stress, 1.094 idle.


    My mobo is the EVGA X58 TRI-SLI with the original bios. I'm having a very hard time overclocking this thing, uncore and QPI multipliers are on minimum and I still get instant bluescreen at 3.7ghz.
    Mem is 3x G.Skill DDR3-1333 CL9, but it won't work if I set it to multi's so that they're running DDR3-1375 at 1.65v (stock is 1.5).

    EDIT:

    I updated the bios to the newest one, and got the mem running at 1372mhz CL9. Still no go about reaching past 3.7ghz, waiting for a new cooler.
    Last edited by joger; 01-12-2009 at 05:41 PM.
    | A hunk of molten metal, plastic and wires |

  19. #19
    Xtreme Mentor
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    CT, USA!!!
    Posts
    2,968
    bump

  20. #20
    Back from the Dead
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Stuttgart, Germany
    Posts
    6,598
    New CPU, new luck I guess: i7 940 3835A730

    4,4 Ghz, HT enable, 1,5V:



    Needs 1,304V for 4Ghz and around 1,38 for 4,2, haven't tried that one really hard yet. Likes 21x and 23x mult equally well and hates the 22x.

    To all the people using IntelBurnTest on i7 with HT on: It's pretty useless as it only loads up half the cores, use eitehr prime blend or LinX for now.
    World Community Grid - come join a great team and help us fight for a better tomorrow![size=1]


  21. #21
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    544
    So can we confirm that the earlier the batch the better ? the trend is getting clearer.
    And even multies are i7's enemies.
    Btw, that is on cascade, I wonder if it can hold 4.4Ghz w/ HT=on using water cooling.

    And you can use two instances of IntelBurnTest to take 100% CPU for i7

    PC: Intel Core i7 920 D0 | Kingston Hyperx T1 6GB 2000Mhz 8-8-8 RAM | Foxconn Bloodrage GTI | Sapphire 4870X2 | Perc 5/i - WD 640AAKSx4 RAID0 | Asus 2014L1T | Dell 2407WFP | Lian Li G70 Silver Watercooled
    WaterCooling: Q² Project by The-Fox
    CPU Loop: Swiftech Apogee GTZ | Feser X-Changer 480 | Swiftech MCP655 Vario w/ DetroitAC top | EK Multioption RES 250 Rev.2 | Tygon R3603 1/2" | YL D12SL@1350RPM x4
    GPU Loop: EK-FC4870 X2 Nickel | Swiftech MCR320 | Swiftech MCP655 Vario w/DetroitAC top | EK Multioption RES 150 Rev.2 | Tygon R3603 1/2" | YL D12SL@1350RPM x3



  22. #22
    Back from the Dead
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Stuttgart, Germany
    Posts
    6,598
    Are you refering to me?

    If so No, that is on my maxed-out 1/3hp Single Stage which I run 24/7
    Temps are pretty bad under load (CPU gets way into positive range) so yeah, I guess my chip could do 4,4 with HT on on high end water as well.
    And yeah, you can run 2 instances IBT but people here are only running 1
    And running LinX is way easier and more comfortable than 2x IBT, it's like back in the Dualcore days with prime vs. Orthos

    Although I am sure IBT will be adapted soon enough.
    World Community Grid - come join a great team and help us fight for a better tomorrow![size=1]


  23. #23
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    544
    Yahh jcool I was referring to you.
    Are you sure linX is using all cores/100% CPU on i7 ?

    BTW, what is the earliest Retail i920 (wee/batch), so far I have seen week 35 ?

    PC: Intel Core i7 920 D0 | Kingston Hyperx T1 6GB 2000Mhz 8-8-8 RAM | Foxconn Bloodrage GTI | Sapphire 4870X2 | Perc 5/i - WD 640AAKSx4 RAID0 | Asus 2014L1T | Dell 2407WFP | Lian Li G70 Silver Watercooled
    WaterCooling: Q² Project by The-Fox
    CPU Loop: Swiftech Apogee GTZ | Feser X-Changer 480 | Swiftech MCP655 Vario w/ DetroitAC top | EK Multioption RES 250 Rev.2 | Tygon R3603 1/2" | YL D12SL@1350RPM x4
    GPU Loop: EK-FC4870 X2 Nickel | Swiftech MCR320 | Swiftech MCP655 Vario w/DetroitAC top | EK Multioption RES 150 Rev.2 | Tygon R3603 1/2" | YL D12SL@1350RPM x3



  24. #24
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    1,440
    Batch 3836A405
    12 hrs prime stable with 21 multi (i940 turbo off) HT on
    4.0ghz with 1.31 vcore cpuz load
    4.1ghz with 1.34 (pic)
    4.2ghz with 1.376.. 24/7 (post in sig)
    Attached Images Attached Images

  25. #25
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Fort Mill, SC, USA
    Posts
    147
    We need apples to apples comparisons for load testing. I am using less voltage for LinX vs Prime blend, every single time.

    Edit: I'm making another post on the subject of comparisons and I also think I found out why I saw this strange behavior. I think I needed a slight vCore bump for Prime blend only because I was running specifically @ 20 x 200 with the settings I had. Honestly I can't even say for sure that I needed it at all but it was the last change I made and it passed the test, could have just been luck. I made this post when I had just started learning what the hell I was doing.
    Last edited by JWMc; 01-31-2009 at 08:57 AM.

Page 1 of 74 12341151 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •