Page 1 of 20 123411 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 480

Thread: AMD Phenom II 920 & 940 Full Review

  1. #1
    X.I.P.
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Hellas-->Athens
    Posts
    1,326

    AMD Phenom II 920 & 940 Full Review

    Hello guys

    We made a full review comparing everywhere(almost everywhere) the new AMD Phenom II 920 Vs AMD Phenom II 940 Vs Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 Vs Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 Vs Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 Vs Intel Core i7 920 Vs Intel Core i7 940…

    It is in Greek but with a google translate you will read everything 90% clear taking out a synopsis If you cannot again take out the meaning, the flash-charts are "speaking" by themselves

    I am attaching some posts so you can see most of the things here

    EDIT : Flash Charts are not working in the forum

    The review is here (on the left you can see the pages with the tests )

    Happy Reading
    When Mercedes brought their C111 to Talledega years ago and blew away the closed course record did it count? Yes..
    That was a "factory" car and a "one of" that no one could buy and was never sold.
    Records are records and that is a fact so get over it.

  2. #2
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    912
    The review comments on Hyper-Threading on or off, but the charts say Turbo Mode on or off. What's the case? I'm assuming Turbo Mode by the results, just checking.

  3. #3
    The Doctor Warboy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Kansas City, MO
    Posts
    2,593
    My Rig can do EpicFLOPs, Can yours?
    Once this baby hits 88 TeraFLOPs, You're going to see some serious $@#%....

    Build XT7 is currently active.
    Current OS Systems: Windows 10 64bit

  4. #4
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    746
    It would make more sense to test hyperthreading on/off instead of turbo.

    10,000 ram....thats to fast for ddr2 and there isn't any ddr3 of that speed. That comes to 1,250mhz.

  5. #5
    Banned
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    57
    i hate to say it, cause it is an awesome review, but why havent you compared it against the 9950?

  6. #6
    X.I.P.
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Hellas-->Athens
    Posts
    1,326
    Turbo Mode is when the multiplier is +1 on the i7 920 and i940.
    On the charts when it is off it means that the cpus are default and when on is with this mode on
    When Mercedes brought their C111 to Talledega years ago and blew away the closed course record did it count? Yes..
    That was a "factory" car and a "one of" that no one could buy and was never sold.
    Records are records and that is a fact so get over it.

  7. #7
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    The Netherlands, Friesland
    Posts
    2,256
    If thats a full review, then where are the media encoding benchmarks?
    So far Phenom2 looks disappointing in my eyes.
    >i5-3570K
    >Asrock Z77E-ITX Wifi
    >Asus GTX 670 Mini
    >Cooltek Coolcube Black
    >CM Silent Pro M700
    >Crucial M4 128Gb Msata
    >Cooler Master Seidon 120M
    Hell yes its a mini-ITX gaming rig!

  8. #8
    Nerdy Powerlifter
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Down in the Bayou
    Posts
    4,541
    Just flipping through and looking at the charts, the Phenom II is on the same level as a q6600 OC'd to those specs (2.8 and 3.0 ghz)?

    I still like the idea of buying one but AMD still needs to catch up. This is what AMD needed 18 months ago. At least its now worth considering an AMD based PC if the prices are very competitive. A q6600 for cheaper would be a better deal.
    BP ruined my dinner and my region. (yep, I'm still pissed!)


    Current Rig: i7 2600K @ 5ghz, GTX 690 WC'd , MIVE, 840 pro 256gb / Corsair Force 3 GT 240gb SSD
    Interested in doing stuff offline?! Care to get strong? PM me about powerlifting if you want to try a fun sport.
    Heatware

  9. #9
    I am Xtreme
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    U.S.A.
    Posts
    4,744
    thanks for confirming i7 rocks.

    I like the winrar test.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by safan80; 12-25-2008 at 02:32 PM.


    Asus Z9PE-D8 WS with 64GB of registered ECC ram.|Dell 30" LCD 3008wfp:7970 video card

    LSI series raid controller
    SSDs: Crucial C300 256GB
    Standard drives: Seagate ST32000641AS & WD 1TB black
    OSes: Linux and Windows x64

  10. #10
    Xtreme Enthusiast Kai Robinson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    East Sussex
    Posts
    831
    Looks like i'm staying with Intel again....come on AMD, start releasing something thats not crap :/

    Main Rig

    Intel Core i7-2600K (SLB8W, E0 Stepping) @ 4.6Ghz (4.6x100), Corsair H80i AIO Cooler
    MSI Z77A GD-65 Gaming (MS-7551), v25 BIOS
    Kingston HyperX 16GB (2x8GB) PC3-19200 Kit (HX24C11BRK2/16-OC) @ 1.5v, 11-13-13-30 Timings (1:8 Ratio)
    8GB MSI Radeon R9 390X (1080 Mhz Core, 6000 Mhz Memory)
    NZXT H440 Case with NZXT Hue+ Installed
    24" Dell U2412HM (1920x1200, e-IPS panel)
    1 x 500GB Samsung 850 EVO (Boot & Install)
    1 x 2Tb Hitachi 7K2000 in External Enclosure (Scratch Disk)


    Entertainment Setup

    Samsung Series 6 37" 1080p TV
    Gigabyte GA-J1800N-D2H based media PC, Mini ITX Case, Blu-Ray Drive
    Netgear ReadyNAS104 w/4x2TB Toshiba DTACA200's for 5.8TB Volume size

    I refuse to participate in any debate with creationists because doing so would give them the "oxygen of respectability" that they want.
    Creationists don't mind being beaten in an argument. What matters to them is that I give them recognition by bothering to argue with them in public.

  11. #11
    Xtreme Mentor
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    cleveland ohio
    Posts
    2,813
    they used the foxconn destroyer why?
    when the AMD sb750 are still cheaper, also higher clocks too.

    and also used an Nv 260 gtx... :/

  12. #12
    I am Xtreme
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    U.S.A.
    Posts
    4,744
    Quote Originally Posted by Kai Robinson View Post
    Looks like i'm staying with Intel again....come on AMD, start releasing something thats not crap :/
    That would require them to get their head out of the sand, and I don't think that is possible at the moment.


    Asus Z9PE-D8 WS with 64GB of registered ECC ram.|Dell 30" LCD 3008wfp:7970 video card

    LSI series raid controller
    SSDs: Crucial C300 256GB
    Standard drives: Seagate ST32000641AS & WD 1TB black
    OSes: Linux and Windows x64

  13. #13
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Greece
    Posts
    213
    Quote Originally Posted by bowman View Post
    The review comments on Hyper-Threading on or off, but the charts say Turbo Mode on or off. What's the case? I'm assuming Turbo Mode by the results, just checking.
    The comments its not actual relative to the charts


    Quote Originally Posted by Caveman787 View Post
    It would make more sense to test hyperthreading on/off instead of turbo.

    10,000 ram....thats to fast for ddr2 and there isn't any ddr3 of that speed. That comes to 1,250mhz.
    HT on i7 cpus is by default ON.On the other side turbo mode is not always ON .

    There is a clock to clock comparison in progress between @3100 deneb,bloomfield,yorkfield and kentsfiled in which we have HT ON/ HT OFF.
    We hope the next 2-3 days it will be done.
    Mem were running @ 1066 wich is the biggest divider @ phenom 2


    Quote Originally Posted by Tiridum View Post
    i hate to say it, cause it is an awesome review, but why havent you compared it against the 9950?
    We didn't have a 9950BE





    Quote Originally Posted by ownage View Post
    If thats a full review, then where are the media encoding benchmarks?
    So far Phenom2 looks disappointing in my eyes.
    you re right but our time was limited to run these tests to.

  14. #14
    I am Xtreme
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    U.S.A.
    Posts
    4,744
    Quote Originally Posted by demonkevy666 View Post
    they used the foxconn destroyer why?
    when the AMD sb750 are still cheaper, also higher clocks too.

    and also used an Nv 260 gtx... :/
    cmon it was an all stock test and AMD failed.


    Asus Z9PE-D8 WS with 64GB of registered ECC ram.|Dell 30" LCD 3008wfp:7970 video card

    LSI series raid controller
    SSDs: Crucial C300 256GB
    Standard drives: Seagate ST32000641AS & WD 1TB black
    OSes: Linux and Windows x64

  15. #15
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    70
    not very comprehensive of a review. more like an extended preview

  16. #16
    X.I.P.
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Patras - HELLAS
    Posts
    379
    I think is time for me to go back on AMD....
    I dont care about i7 scores.
    I need a cheap and fast solution and AMD is what i need right now.
    E8400 4400(Q814A015 Wafer **91)@1.296 Vcore
    Q6600 (L733B458)@4054 1.5 Vcore
    ASUS P5Q Unmoded - 2X2 GB Corsair Dominator 8500
    Blaster AUDIGY 2
    Sound Blaster Megaworks Speakers 2.1 250D THX / 300 WRMS
    ATI 4850 512MB @750/1150 Stock cooling
    LG W2600HP-BF 26" Wide TFT Monitor (S-IPS)
    System Cooled by ThermalRight Ultra 120 Extreme
    System Powered By OCZ 600W




    Limits do NOT exist

  17. #17
    Banned
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Haslett, MI
    Posts
    2,221
    Bam! I hate to be right, but it's streaking in, 18 months late, and it looks like Kentsfield does have the potential to do some serious ass-kicking! Man, unbelievable! Would be interesting to see how the spin teams handle this one.

  18. #18
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Greece
    Posts
    213
    Quote Originally Posted by demonkevy666 View Post
    they used the foxconn destroyer why?
    when the AMD sb750 are still cheaper, also higher clocks too.

    and also used an Nv 260 gtx... :/
    why?
    Whats wrong with the destroyer and 260GTX(216SP)?
    We have also Asus M3A79T but the destroyer is much better board.
    At tests i ve done they have exactly the same performance.

    Quote Originally Posted by [XC] Synthetickiller View Post
    Just flipping through and looking at the charts, the Phenom II is on the same level as a q6600 OC'd to those specs (2.8 and 3.0 ghz)?
    Q6600 was at defaults(2.4G)

  19. #19
    Xtreme Mentor
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    cleveland ohio
    Posts
    2,813
    Quote Originally Posted by safan80 View Post
    cmon it was an all stock test and AMD failed.
    $204 destroyer vs $156 A79A and $204 4850 vs 260 gtx $289

    anyways I was thinking about the dragon platform, for price.

    you don't see any benchmarks with phenom in SLI/ Tri sli anywhere I hope we'll see some with phenom II though.

  20. #20
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    1,352
    Quote Originally Posted by OverClocker_gr View Post
    Q6600 was at defaults(2.4G)
    I think he's extrapolating the performance with simple math, not thinking the Q6600 was OC'd.

    I could be entirely wrong though, just seemed that way.

  21. #21
    I am Xtreme
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    U.S.A.
    Posts
    4,744
    Quote Originally Posted by Zucker2k View Post
    Bam! I hate to be right, but it's streaking in, 18 months late, and it looks like Kentsfield does have the potential to do some serious ass-kicking! Man, unbelievable! Would be interesting to see how the spin teams handle this one.

    They can't handle it and they won't handle it.

    thanks to your sig I almost forgot about the doctor who christmas special.


    Asus Z9PE-D8 WS with 64GB of registered ECC ram.|Dell 30" LCD 3008wfp:7970 video card

    LSI series raid controller
    SSDs: Crucial C300 256GB
    Standard drives: Seagate ST32000641AS & WD 1TB black
    OSes: Linux and Windows x64

  22. #22
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Romania
    Posts
    157
    I only care about the winrar and gaming tests since the synthetic benchmarks are completely useless to me, and what amused me was how at 1280*1024 the i7 pwns but at 1680*1050 they choke and PhenomII/Q9550 take the lead.. I mean, who gonna spend a load of money on a i7 platform and game at 1280*1024??
    the state is universally evil, there is no good country only good people

  23. #23
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Greece
    Posts
    213
    Quote Originally Posted by Sly Fox View Post
    I think he's extrapolating the performance with simple math, not thinking the Q6600 was OC'd.

    I could be entirely wrong though, just seemed that way.
    ok,
    yes,at some benches phenom was close(over or under) to q6600 @ defaults.

  24. #24
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Greece
    Posts
    213
    Quote Originally Posted by azraeel101 View Post
    I only care about the winrar and gaming tests since the synthetic benchmarks are completely useless to me, and what amused me was how at 1280*1024 the i7 pwns but at 1680*1050 they choke and PhenomII/Q9550 take the lead.. I mean, who gonna spend a load of money on a i7 platform and game at 1280*1024??
    indeed,this was very weird,so i switch to another mobo,vga and cpu because i thought that something was wrong.
    Nothing changed at the performance.

  25. #25
    Banned
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    57
    Quote Originally Posted by azraeel101 View Post
    I only care about the winrar and gaming tests since the synthetic benchmarks are completely useless to me, and what amused me was how at 1280*1024 the i7 pwns but at 1680*1050 they choke and PhenomII/Q9550 take the lead.. I mean, who gonna spend a load of money on a i7 platform and game at 1280*1024??
    yeah that was quite funny, but it is prolly because of the HT
    thats a big disandvantage of HT, in some scenarios it rocks, in others not, but you cannot simply switch it on or off depending on the task you are doing at the moment, so you always have a tradeback
    Last edited by Tiridum; 12-25-2008 at 02:57 PM.

Page 1 of 20 123411 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •