X

    Subscribe to New Ads!

    Receive weekly ads in your inbox!



Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: Palit 9800GT V-Mod Need help pls.

  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    4

    Wink Palit 9800GT V-Mod Need help pls.

    Hi Guys,

    I decided to have a mess around with a spare card I have, a palit 9800gt. Palit have quite a few diff versions of 9800gt's and as of yet I have not been able to find a vmod for this exact card. I although however found one in this forum a pic of which is below.




    I mimic'd this on my card, photos of my card as below.







    It seems to be successful as when I adjust the resistance it increases/decreases the voltage. Although below normal volts I get no display in os boot and above normal the system is stable until any 3d activity. The card though however still functions fine with the mod disabled. I have read up a bit and think this issue may be due to OCP not being disabled or something similar? Be kind as this is my first vmod and I am good with soldering etc but kind of nub, anyone that could help would be appreciated

    thanks!

  2. #2
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    4

    Thumbs up Palit 9800GT V-Mod Success :)

    I managed to after some more research successfully vmod my card, its stable at 783 core, 1782 shaders and mem is safely sitting at 999 (which I did not vmod/oc as from past experience mem is first to die but would however pass AtiTool at 1050) it is at 1.29vcore, 41c idle 64c full load.




    Details of the vmod I did are below




    Seems it is exactly the same as the palit 9600GT Vmod

  3. #3
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    4
    Hmm...
    Here is my result

    I wonder why having higher GPU clocks, I score less in SM2 & SM3 tests...
    ForceWare?

  4. #4
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    4
    And what if instead of pencil modding the OCP, I short circuit it?

  5. #5
    Xtreme Guru
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Tre, Suomi Finland
    Posts
    3,867
    M-Sport,
    That too, would work.
    You were not supposed to see this.

  6. #6
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    4
    Quote Originally Posted by largon View Post
    M-Sport,
    That too, would work.
    Done!

  7. #7
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    4
    onekill
    According to the screen above, when you have your ROP+TMU domain running @ 781 in synchron with shader domain, you get shaders only @ 1802.
    In my case if I have ROP's @ 778 shynchronized to shaders, shaders are running @ 1944...
    If we have exectly the same cards, and even if we didn't, how is it possible!!!???

  8. #8
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    3
    Hi. I have something like this Palit 9800 GT 1 GB. It have diffrent PCB then same but with 512 MB. Have anyone v-mod gpu and mem for this card?

    palit 9800 gt 1gb plecy.jpeg

    palit 9800 gt 1gb przod.jpeg

  9. #9
    Wanna look under my kilt?
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Glasgow-ish U.K.
    Posts
    4,509
    Looking at the pic of the back of the card....

    Please can you take high-res pictures of the IC on the top-right, underneath the "D" sticker (vCore)

    ....and also the IC on the left of the card, half-way down the PCB (vMem)

    If the memory is Qimonda, I would say a vMem mod is a waste of time
    Quote Originally Posted by T_M View Post
    Not sure i totally follow anything you said, but regardless of that you helped me come up with a very good idea....
    Quote Originally Posted by soundood View Post
    you sigged that?

    why?
    ______

    Sometimes, it's not your time. Sometimes, you have to make it your time. Sometimes, it can ONLY be your time.

  10. #10
    IT Engineer in the making
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Former Kingdom of Bavaria
    Posts
    2,109
    The really interesting question is:
    Is the PCI slot on your mainboard able to deliever the power that this card solely draws through the slot?
    The card you have there is a low power model without extra power connector. So before potentially burning out the slot, make sure it'S capeable of delievering more than 75W.
    Quote from one of our professors:
    "Reality is hiding in the imaginary part."

  11. #11
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    3
    LINK

    Yes, it may be problem without extra power...
    Meet someone 9800 gt with 1 GB and standard out PWR ? This card was with green PCB i think...

  12. #12
    Wanna look under my kilt?
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Glasgow-ish U.K.
    Posts
    4,509
    Sorry, I can't make out the IC codes. Can you take pictures of just those?
    Quote Originally Posted by T_M View Post
    Not sure i totally follow anything you said, but regardless of that you helped me come up with a very good idea....
    Quote Originally Posted by soundood View Post
    you sigged that?

    why?
    ______

    Sometimes, it's not your time. Sometimes, you have to make it your time. Sometimes, it can ONLY be your time.

  13. #13
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Utah
    Posts
    73
    vGPU IC is located in the top right of the PCB on your first photo. find the datasheet for it and mod away bud !

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •