Page 1 of 5 1234 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 110

Thread: something SSD you didn't know about from OCZ

  1. #1
    the jedi master Tony's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Manchester uk/Sunnyvale CA
    Posts
    3,885

    something SSD you didn't know about from OCZ

    VALUE matters to us at OCZ, you all know we have a new SSD coming called Vertex which we are positioning as a high performance part; what you didn't know is we have also been working on a new budget/value part.

    I get questions about Core V3 all the time, the drive I will talk about here was destined to be Core V3 but we decided it needed a new name...hence enter Apex

    Now I am going to be very clear about this new drive and where we think it will shine and where we are positioning it.

    Apex is based off Core V2...now before you all shout crappy Jmicron again please listen up. We wanted to bring a cheap fast drive to market, one for the hardware raid fanboys but also one for those who don't mind a little OS tweaking so they can run 1 drive in a laptop etc or run SB raid with 2 or more drives. The point here though is this drive will be very affordable.
    I have been watching forums for 2 months now and hardware/software raid is starting to gain momentum, people are liking what they see with SSD on it.

    so:

    What we have done with Apex is create a drive with internal raid0

    So what does this mean in terms of speed? Well it depends on the sata controller on your motherboard but I can tell you I saw 180+ (actually touched 200) reads and 140+ writes on ICH8m (OCZ DIY Laptop), and on my HP Pavillion 9000 which uses an NVidia chipset, I am seeing 140writes and 160+ reads. Now i can't run any write tests as im actually real world testing this drive every day for 10 hrs, my system here has had 50 to 80GB of data on it at various times over this week while I have been testing... so when I bench it i get what you guys will see..IE this drive is in use.

    I will post the ATTO from this laptop for you all, remember i saw higher than this on ICH8m, final speed is very controller dependent hence why I have been cautious

    To finish....we are positioning Vertex for performance OS use, Apex will and does work fine for OS use also although helping the drive with a few OS tweaks makes it shine...Its a value part, one for those looking to build 4 with hardware raid or 2 with SB raid or even 1 drive with a few tweaks if they are on a budget.

    We think Apex is a good fast budget solution and will suit many people.

    I hope this is OK with you guys, i have tried to be honest here..i love the drive, its in a 2 yr old laptop running vista32 and it flies.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Got a problem with your OCZ product....?
    Have a look over here
    Tony AKA BigToe


    Tuning PC's for speed...Run whats fast, not what you think is fast

  2. #2
    I am Xtreme zanzabar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    SF bay area, CA
    Posts
    15,146
    so will it be priced less than or more than the v2
    3770k, M5E, kingston 2x4GB cfr
    samsung 2TB F4EG, samsung 840 250GB , CM690II, corsair 750tx

  3. #3
    Xtreme Addict cegras's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Illinois
    Posts
    2,094
    What I'm curious about is that will I be able to to buy this drive, stick it in, follow your 'tweak guide', and enjoy better performance overall? Or is there fine print? Like the system freezing when I want to type a message on MSN ..
    E7200 @ 3.4 ; 7870 GHz 2 GB
    Intel's atom is a terrible chip.

  4. #4
    Xtreme Addict Helmore's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    City of Lights, The Netherlands
    Posts
    2,381
    Now for the big question.....When will it be available?
    Or should the big question be about pricing or capacity?
    "When in doubt, C-4!" -- Jamie Hyneman

    Silverstone TJ-09 Case | Seasonic X-750 PSU | Intel Core i5 750 CPU | ASUS P7P55D PRO Mobo | OCZ 4GB DDR3 RAM | ATI Radeon 5850 GPU | Intel X-25M 80GB SSD | WD 2TB HDD | Windows 7 x64 | NEC EA23WMi 23" Monitor |Auzentech X-Fi Forte Soundcard | Creative T3 2.1 Speakers | AudioTechnica AD900 Headphone |

  5. #5
    the jedi master Tony's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Manchester uk/Sunnyvale CA
    Posts
    3,885
    I am running Vista32, all tweaks from my guide, 4GB ram and I have not seen 1 pause yet all week. I even have a config file for IOmeter that loads the drive for 20 mins with random reads and writes (really heavy load) and i was watching hero's off the same HDD without pauses.

    Now im NOT going to say no one will have an issue and see a stutter, i see stutters on my workstation which uses Raptors when im pushing the drive really hard...i will say for normal everyday use this is a really good option.
    Got a problem with your OCZ product....?
    Have a look over here
    Tony AKA BigToe


    Tuning PC's for speed...Run whats fast, not what you think is fast

  6. #6
    Xtreme Member PrometheusCon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    390
    Niiice. I've been wanting a small SSD for my OS.

  7. #7
    the jedi master Tony's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Manchester uk/Sunnyvale CA
    Posts
    3,885
    We are looking to launch in the next 10 days, drives are inbound but it is holiday season Sizes I will have to check on but i think 30 60 120 are 100% for sure, larger I need to check.
    Got a problem with your OCZ product....?
    Have a look over here
    Tony AKA BigToe


    Tuning PC's for speed...Run whats fast, not what you think is fast

  8. #8
    Xtreme Member Gambit_2K's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    413
    I haven't read much about SSD except it seems to have some issues and stuff. But why aren't people recommending me to use it with Vista64?
    Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD3 rev 1,0| AMD FX-8120@?| Corsair H100| 2x4 GB Patriot Viper Xtreme Division 2 PC15000 9-11-9-27| 2*Powercolor Radeon HD6970 2048MB @ Crossfire| 3*NEC MultiSync EA231WMi 23" Monitorer @ Eyefinity| OCZ Vertex 3 60 GB| 2*Intel 80GB X25-M G2 @ RAID0| Cooler Master Silent Pro M1000W| Cooler Master ATCS 840|

  9. #9
    Xtreme Addict FischOderAal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    2,462
    What I'm curious about is how Apex and Vertex will perform under OS-X (especially Tiger as I'm still using that "old" version). Most reports on the internet are about Windows and SSD and you can barely read about someone who uses an SSD with OS-X. For instance if you should and how to deactivate indexing. I'm getting tired of my slow notebook drive...

    If someone has more info about OS-X and SSD please inform me via PN or something else. Thanks in advance

    P.S. Yes, I deliberately used the same beginning as cegras SCNR
    Last edited by FischOderAal; 12-18-2008 at 02:21 PM.
    Notice any grammar or spelling mistakes? Feel free to correct me! Thanks

  10. #10
    the jedi master Tony's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Manchester uk/Sunnyvale CA
    Posts
    3,885
    its fine with Vista64...same as v32, I just like the option of Steadystate to really speed up the drive if needed and there is no V64 support...yet
    Got a problem with your OCZ product....?
    Have a look over here
    Tony AKA BigToe


    Tuning PC's for speed...Run whats fast, not what you think is fast

  11. #11
    the jedi master Tony's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Manchester uk/Sunnyvale CA
    Posts
    3,885
    Sizes to start look to be 30, 60, 120, 250GB
    Got a problem with your OCZ product....?
    Have a look over here
    Tony AKA BigToe


    Tuning PC's for speed...Run whats fast, not what you think is fast

  12. #12
    Jazzy jeff
    Guest
    What about the prices?

  13. #13
    the jedi master Tony's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Manchester uk/Sunnyvale CA
    Posts
    3,885
    Prices = Core V2 ish, maybe a touch more to start
    Got a problem with your OCZ product....?
    Have a look over here
    Tony AKA BigToe


    Tuning PC's for speed...Run whats fast, not what you think is fast

  14. #14
    Xtreme CCIE Serra's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    St. Louis, MO
    Posts
    3,979
    Kudos to you guys at OCZ for bringing this to market. I've been wondering how long it was going to be until someone started making these, and they're finally here.

    Out of curiosity, will the drives be bundled with any software or pamphlets pointing to resources such as SteadyState and your tweak guide? If not, maybe something to think about going forward. The 2 cents it would cost to include a small piece of paper explaining something like that would probably go a long way for a lot of people.

    I appreciate the way you and OCZ have presented this product. Very straightforward, laying the cards all out without any marketing bull. When I was thinking about a product like this I had thought about how it would be hyped up as the best thing ever invented, I'm glad to see you were up front with its limitations as well as its benefits.

    I also look forward (probably very far forward) to you releasing this kind of product but based on the Vertex (or similar) platform .
    Dual CCIE (Route\Switch and Security) at your disposal. Have a Cisco-related or other network question? My PM box is always open.

    Xtreme Network:
    - Cisco 3560X-24P PoE Switch
    - Cisco ASA 5505 Firewall
    - Cisco 4402 Wireless LAN Controller
    - Cisco 3502i Access Point

  15. #15
    Xtreme Mentor dengyong's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Event Horizon
    Posts
    2,543
    Quote Originally Posted by Tony View Post
    VALUE matters to us at OCZ, you all know we have a new SSD coming called Vertex which we are positioning as a high performance part; what you didn't know is we have also been working on a new budget/value part.

    I get questions about Core V3 all the time, the drive I will talk about here was destined to be Core V3 but we decided it needed a new name...hence enter Apex

    Now I am going to be very clear about this new drive and where we think it will shine and where we are positioning it.

    Apex is based off Core V2...now before you all shout crappy Jmicron again please listen up. We wanted to bring a cheap fast drive to market, one for the hardware raid fanboys but also one for those who don't mind a little OS tweaking so they can run 1 drive in a laptop etc or run SB raid with 2 or more drives. The point here though is this drive will be very affordable.
    I have been watching forums for 2 months now and hardware/software raid is starting to gain momentum, people are liking what they see with SSD on it.

    so:

    What we have done with Apex is create a drive with internal raid0

    So what does this mean in terms of speed? Well it depends on the sata controller on your motherboard but I can tell you I saw 180+ (actually touched 200) reads and 140+ writes on ICH8m (OCZ DIY Laptop), and on my HP Pavillion 9000 which uses an NVidia chipset, I am seeing 140writes and 160+ reads. Now i can't run any write tests as im actually real world testing this drive every day for 10 hrs, my system here has had 50 to 80GB of data on it at various times over this week while I have been testing... so when I bench it i get what you guys will see..IE this drive is in use.

    I will post the ATTO from this laptop for you all, remember i saw higher than this on ICH8m, final speed is very controller dependent hence why I have been cautious

    To finish....we are positioning Vertex for performance OS use, Apex will and does work fine for OS use also although helping the drive with a few OS tweaks makes it shine...Its a value part, one for those looking to build 4 with hardware raid or 2 with SB raid or even 1 drive with a few tweaks if they are on a budget.

    We think Apex is a good fast budget solution and will suit many people.

    I hope this is OK with you guys, i have tried to be honest here..i love the drive, its in a 2 yr old laptop running vista32 and it flies.
    That's the way to do it.
    3770k L221B009 @4500mhz 1.2v HT on IHS Tim replaced | ASUS Maximus V Gene | G.SKILL F3-2400C10D-16GTX | CORSAIR AX850 PSU | GTX 980 water cooled | Swiftech MCP35X | 2x PA120.3 | Swiftech APOGEE-XT

  16. #16
    Xtreme Legend dinos22's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    17,465
    price and when (its a rhetorical in case you didnt get it )
    Last edited by dinos22; 12-18-2008 at 02:46 PM.
    Team.AU
    Got tube?
    GIGABYTE Australia
    Need a GIGABYTE bios or support?



  17. #17
    Xtreme Addict flopper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Posts
    1,250
    Seems like a nice touch.
    what does internal raid0 mean?
    4670k 4.6ghz 1.22v watercooled CPU/GPU - Asus Z87-A - 290 1155mhz/1250mhz - Kingston Hyper Blu 8gb -crucial 128gb ssd - EyeFunity 5040x1050 120hz - CM atcs840 - Corsair 750w -sennheiser hd600 headphones - Asus essence stx - G400 and steelseries 6v2 -windows 8 Pro 64bit Best OS used - - 9500p 3dmark11 (one of the 26% that isnt confused on xtreme forums)

  18. #18
    the jedi master Tony's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Manchester uk/Sunnyvale CA
    Posts
    3,885
    2 nand controllers, 1 raid chip in 1 drive.

    split the nand in 2...half to each controller and then raid the output in raid0 to sata. The controller on your board sees it as a standard drive.
    Got a problem with your OCZ product....?
    Have a look over here
    Tony AKA BigToe


    Tuning PC's for speed...Run whats fast, not what you think is fast

  19. #19
    Xtreme Addict cegras's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Illinois
    Posts
    2,094
    So this would be a good replacement for my raptor OS drive?
    E7200 @ 3.4 ; 7870 GHz 2 GB
    Intel's atom is a terrible chip.

  20. #20
    I am Xtreme zanzabar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    SF bay area, CA
    Posts
    15,146
    is there extra cash on the raid controller, or is it the same as the nand controllers
    3770k, M5E, kingston 2x4GB cfr
    samsung 2TB F4EG, samsung 840 250GB , CM690II, corsair 750tx

  21. #21
    the jedi master Tony's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Manchester uk/Sunnyvale CA
    Posts
    3,885
    does your raptor hit the speeds I showed in ATTO? Does the raptor seek in 0.2ms ?
    Last edited by Tony; 12-18-2008 at 03:26 PM.
    Got a problem with your OCZ product....?
    Have a look over here
    Tony AKA BigToe


    Tuning PC's for speed...Run whats fast, not what you think is fast

  22. #22
    the jedi master Tony's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Manchester uk/Sunnyvale CA
    Posts
    3,885
    Quote Originally Posted by zanzabar View Post
    is there extra cash on the raid controller, or is it the same as the nand controllers
    cash?? you mean cache

    no there is no cache on the raid controller.
    Got a problem with your OCZ product....?
    Have a look over here
    Tony AKA BigToe


    Tuning PC's for speed...Run whats fast, not what you think is fast

  23. #23
    Xtreme Addict Macadamia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Lansing, MI / London / Stinkaypore
    Posts
    1,788
    Tony that means this raid0 is without any intervention then?
    No need to install crappy drivers and etc? It always works as a virtual single drive?

    If so BIG KUDOS. I use a SB700 AMD board and controller config is a royal pain.
    Quote Originally Posted by radaja View Post
    so are they launching BD soon or a comic book?

  24. #24
    Xtreme Member shogo_ca's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Montreal, Quebec, Canada
    Posts
    460
    Sounds good tony, i understand the mess you ran throught with the other thread... This one makes it clear that OCZ cares.


    CPU Intel C2D 6400 - 6600 L631B Aircooled 4010 MHz (wip) 3850 MHz daily
    COOLER Big Typhoon 120 - Ultra 120/Panaflow 103cfm
    MOBO Asus p5w dh - Badaxe 2
    RAM 2gb Team 667 cl3 844mhz 4-4-3-4 2.0v (wip)
    GPU Bfg 7900GT - XFX GX2 600/1600 3Dmark06 10554 (wip) 207K AM3
    PSU Gamestream 600w - Powerstream 520 - Silverstone Zeus 750w
    Chassis Lian-Li V2000b Plus2 Lian-Li v1100b

  25. #25
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Athens, Hellas
    Posts
    58
    My first thought...

    Tested from OCZ
    or
    WE test it for OCZ?

Page 1 of 5 1234 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •