Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 52

Thread: AMD Athlon X2 7750 Black Edition: dual-core Phenom at the ready

  1. #1

  2. #2
    Xtremely Hot Sauce
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    3,586
    I think they need to start designing some silicon dual-core Phenoms. But even so--these chips show promise. For the price, they really can compete.

    My toys:
    Asus Sabertooth X58 | Core i7-950 (D0) | CM Hyper 212+ | G.Skill Sniper LV 12GB DDR3-1600 CL9 | GeForce GTX 670-2048MB | OCZ Agility 4 512GB, WD Raptor 150GB x 3 (RAID0), WD Black 1TB x 2 (RAID0) | XFX 650W CAH9 | Lian-Li PC-9F | Win 7 Pro x86-64
    Gigabyte EX58-UD3R | Core i7-920 (D0) | Stock HSF | G.Skill Sniper LV 4GB DDR3-1600 CL9 | Radeon HD 2600 Pro 512MB | WD Caviar 80GB IDE, 4TB x 2 (RAID5) | Corsair TX750 | XClio 188AF | Win 7 Pro x86-64
    Dell Dimension 8400 | Pentium 4 530 HT (E0) | Stock HSF | 1.5GB DDR2-400 CL3 | GeForce 8800 GT 256MB | WD Caviar 160GB SATA | Stock PSU | (Broken) Stock Case | Win Vista HP x86
    Little Dot DAC_I | Little Dot MK IV | Beyerdynamic DT-880 Premium (600 Ω) | TEAC AG-H300 MkIII | Polk Audio Monitor 5 Series 2's

  3. #3
    Xtreme Guru
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Ace Deuce, Michigan
    Posts
    3,953
    perhaps, but it is definitely way too late to the market, this should have been out a year ago if amd wanted to make any money off it imo. At least phenom II seems to be something good to hope for
    Quote Originally Posted by Hans de Vries View Post

    JF-AMD posting: IPC increases!!!!!!! How many times did I tell you!!!

    terrace215 post: IPC decreases, The more I post the more it decreases.
    terrace215 post: IPC decreases, The more I post the more it decreases.
    terrace215 post: IPC decreases, The more I post the more it decreases.
    .....}
    until (interrupt by Movieman)


    Regards, Hans

  4. #4
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    392
    they need to improve the power consumption of the k10... it's just bad, even the dual core version...
    +-30w more than a 6000+ at idle is ridiculous, +- 80w more than a e5200 load is not good to, but overall not bad... a 45nm version with 6mb l2 and overclocking more....
    Last edited by Spectrobozo; 12-15-2008 at 10:11 AM.

  5. #5
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Arizona, USA
    Posts
    1,700
    Quote Originally Posted by Bobsama View Post
    I think they need to start designing some silicon dual-core Phenoms. But even so--these chips show promise. For the price, they really can compete.
    I feel the same. Cutting one core for tri-core can be understood, but cutting two for a dual-core is a little bit much.


    Core i7 920 D0 B-batch (4.1) (Kinda Stable?) | DFI X58 T3eH8 (Fed up with its' issues, may get a new board soon) | Patriot 1600 (9-9-9-24) (for now) | XFX HD 4890 (971/1065) (for now) |
    80GB X25-m G2 | WD 640GB | PCP&C 750 | Dell 2408 LCD | NEC 1970GX LCD | Win7 Pro | CoolerMaster ATCS 840 {Modded to reverse-ATX, WC'ing internal}

    CPU Loop: MCP655 > HK 3.0 LT > ST 320 (3x Scythe G's) > ST Res >Pump
    GPU Loop: MCP655 > MCW-60 > PA160 (1x YL D12SH) > ST Res > BIP 220 (2x YL D12SH) >Pump

  6. #6
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    211

    Wink

    Quote Originally Posted by AliG View Post
    perhaps, but it is definitely way too late to the market, this should have been out a year ago if amd wanted to make any money off it imo. At least phenom II seems to be something good to hope for
    You should be probably wondering what happened to all those dies with 2 out of 4 cores were defective (from months ago)... Possibly AMD must have stockpiled them for this launch.

    Another review is up at X-Bit Labs: X-bit labs - AMD Launches “Phenom X2”: AMD Athlon X2 7750 Black Edition Review this time against E5300.

  7. #7
    Xtreme Cruncher
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    7,745
    Power consumption is just plain bad, and I mean seriously very very bad

    And performance...not exactly good either. 80$ segment.
    Crunching for Comrades and the Common good of the People.

  8. #8
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    EvE-Online, Tranquility
    Posts
    1,978
    Quote Originally Posted by Shintai View Post
    Power consumption is just plain bad, and I mean seriously very very bad

    And performance...not exactly good either. 80$ segment.
    What do you expect from a 77 Euro CPU

    IMO it's pretty nice. Nice toy in general, cheap and K10 architecture. But to be honest it's a tad late to introduce them.

    However power consumption is indeed something to work on, but you can still mess around a bit with P-states and CnQ if you want it to consume less, that can make a big difference really
    Synaptic Overflow

    CPU:
    -Intel Core i7 920 3841A522
    --CPU: 4200Mhz| Vcore: +120mV| Uncore: 3200Mhz| VTT: +100mV| Turbo: On| HT: Off
    ---CPU block: EK Supreme Acetal| Radiator: TCF X-Changer 480mm
    Motherboard:
    -Foxconn Bloodrage P06
    --Blck: 200Mhz| QPI: 3600Mhz
    Graphics:
    -Sapphire Radeon HD 4870X2
    --GPU: 750Mhz| GDDR: 900Mhz
    RAM:
    -3x 2GB Mushkin XP3-12800
    --Mhz: 800Mhz| Vdimm: 1.65V| Timings: 7-8-7-20-1T
    Storage:
    -3Ware 9650SE-2LP RAID controller
    --2x Western Digital 74GB Raptor RAID 0
    PSU:
    -Enermax Revolution 85+ 1250W
    OS:
    -Windows Vista Business x64


    ORDERED: Sapphire HD 5970 OC
    LOOKING FOR: 2x G.Skill Falcon II 128GB SSD, Windows 7

  9. #9
    Xtreme Cruncher
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    7,745
    Quote Originally Posted by Rammsteiner View Post
    What do you expect from a 77 Euro CPU

    IMO it's pretty nice. Nice toy in general, cheap and K10 architecture. But to be honest it's a tad late to introduce them.

    However power consumption is indeed something to work on, but you can still mess around a bit with P-states and CnQ if you want it to consume less, that can make a big difference really
    The issue was that AMD competes so badly as they do atm.

    And are you sure they didnt use CnQ?

    The systems were configured in exactly the same way as during our performance tests. Enhanced Intel SpeedStep and Cool’n’Quiet 2.0 power-saving technologies were activated. The CPUs were loaded using Prime95 25.8 utility.
    The 7750 is an utter joke honestly. 36W more idle and 78W more loaded than the E5300. Or about 30W more both idle and load than the X2 6000. Not exactly cheap in the long run is it?

    Not really sure if its an upgrade or downgrade vs the 6000....
    Crunching for Comrades and the Common good of the People.

  10. #10
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    EvE-Online, Tranquility
    Posts
    1,978
    Quote Originally Posted by Shintai View Post
    The issue was that AMD competes so badly as they do atm.

    And are you sure they didnt use CnQ?



    The 7750 is an utter joke honestly. 36W more idle and 78W more loaded than the E5300. Or about 30W more both idle and load than the X2 6000. Not exactly cheap in the long run is it?

    Not really sure if its an upgrade or downgrade vs the 6000....
    Why do you think I said 'mess' around with CnQ and P-states. Enabling it isnt 'messing'.

    And from my pov any K10 is worth it over K8 really. As said, it aint a killer CPU, but for the money and regarding the K10 architecture, it's definately a nice toy.

    If you care about power, then get a Via or something
    Synaptic Overflow

    CPU:
    -Intel Core i7 920 3841A522
    --CPU: 4200Mhz| Vcore: +120mV| Uncore: 3200Mhz| VTT: +100mV| Turbo: On| HT: Off
    ---CPU block: EK Supreme Acetal| Radiator: TCF X-Changer 480mm
    Motherboard:
    -Foxconn Bloodrage P06
    --Blck: 200Mhz| QPI: 3600Mhz
    Graphics:
    -Sapphire Radeon HD 4870X2
    --GPU: 750Mhz| GDDR: 900Mhz
    RAM:
    -3x 2GB Mushkin XP3-12800
    --Mhz: 800Mhz| Vdimm: 1.65V| Timings: 7-8-7-20-1T
    Storage:
    -3Ware 9650SE-2LP RAID controller
    --2x Western Digital 74GB Raptor RAID 0
    PSU:
    -Enermax Revolution 85+ 1250W
    OS:
    -Windows Vista Business x64


    ORDERED: Sapphire HD 5970 OC
    LOOKING FOR: 2x G.Skill Falcon II 128GB SSD, Windows 7

  11. #11
    Xtreme Guru
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Ace Deuce, Michigan
    Posts
    3,953
    I disagree, you're better off getting a fast 65nm k8 cpu instead because they consume much less power and offer close to the same performance and will cost less. This cpu is a joke, I mean come on selling something that's double rebandaged? People have on nvidia from doing that but its ok for amd? This should have never seen the market, especially this late in the game.

    As I said, right now deneb seems to be the only glimpse of hope for amd since shanghai hasn't done much for them yet
    Quote Originally Posted by Hans de Vries View Post

    JF-AMD posting: IPC increases!!!!!!! How many times did I tell you!!!

    terrace215 post: IPC decreases, The more I post the more it decreases.
    terrace215 post: IPC decreases, The more I post the more it decreases.
    terrace215 post: IPC decreases, The more I post the more it decreases.
    .....}
    until (interrupt by Movieman)


    Regards, Hans

  12. #12
    Xtreme Mentor
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    2,548
    Quote Originally Posted by Shintai View Post
    Not exactly cheap in the long run is it?
    pfff come one... this is desktop CPU for home machines, and price of power consumption for that kind of system is laughable!
    Adobe is working on Flash Player support for 64-bit platforms as part of our ongoing commitment to the cross-platform compatibility of Flash Player. We expect to provide native support for 64-bit platforms in an upcoming release of Flash Player following the release of Flash Player 10.1.

  13. #13
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    EvE-Online, Tranquility
    Posts
    1,978
    Quote Originally Posted by AliG View Post
    I disagree, you're better off getting a fast 65nm k8 cpu instead because they consume much less power and offer close to the same performance and will cost less. This cpu is a joke, I mean come on selling something that's double rebandaged? People have on nvidia from doing that but its ok for amd? This should have never seen the market, especially this late in the game.

    As I said, right now deneb seems to be the only glimpse of hope for amd since shanghai hasn't done much for them yet
    You forget that nVidia named their 8-series as 9-series like it was an entirely new design. AMD basicly introduced a Phenom X2 line, that's completely different.

    Also there's like a 3 Euro difference between an Athlon X2 6000+ and a Phenom X2 7750BE, to be honest that ain't a lot cheaper. As I said multiple times now, this ain't a superb CPU. It's a nice toy, and for me personally any K10 is worth it over K8.

    I could ask the exact same thing, why is i7 better than C2Q while it uses more power and doesnt offer a lot more in gaming? Phenom X2 is faster clock for clock than K8, although we knew already K10 was faster than K8. But as I already said as well, it should have been launched earlier really. But well, this line will become 45nm soon enough, then it's even better
    Synaptic Overflow

    CPU:
    -Intel Core i7 920 3841A522
    --CPU: 4200Mhz| Vcore: +120mV| Uncore: 3200Mhz| VTT: +100mV| Turbo: On| HT: Off
    ---CPU block: EK Supreme Acetal| Radiator: TCF X-Changer 480mm
    Motherboard:
    -Foxconn Bloodrage P06
    --Blck: 200Mhz| QPI: 3600Mhz
    Graphics:
    -Sapphire Radeon HD 4870X2
    --GPU: 750Mhz| GDDR: 900Mhz
    RAM:
    -3x 2GB Mushkin XP3-12800
    --Mhz: 800Mhz| Vdimm: 1.65V| Timings: 7-8-7-20-1T
    Storage:
    -3Ware 9650SE-2LP RAID controller
    --2x Western Digital 74GB Raptor RAID 0
    PSU:
    -Enermax Revolution 85+ 1250W
    OS:
    -Windows Vista Business x64


    ORDERED: Sapphire HD 5970 OC
    LOOKING FOR: 2x G.Skill Falcon II 128GB SSD, Windows 7

  14. #14
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    northern ireland
    Posts
    1,005
    Quote Originally Posted by Rammsteiner View Post
    I could ask the exact same thing, why is i7 better than C2Q while it uses more power and doesnt offer a lot more in gaming?
    Because it does not use more power on a system level and on most other things it is a lot faster?

  15. #15
    Xtreme Mentor
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Spain, EU
    Posts
    2,947
    Quote Originally Posted by Rammsteiner View Post
    I could ask the exact same thing, why is i7 better than C2Q while it uses more power and doesnt offer a lot more in gaming?

    http://www.anandtech.com/cpuchipsets...spx?i=3453&p=3
    Friends shouldn't let friends use Windows 7 until Microsoft fixes Windows Explorer (link)


    Quote Originally Posted by PerryR, on John Fruehe (JF-AMD) View Post
    Pretty much. Plus, he's here voluntarily.

  16. #16
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Mesa, AZ
    Posts
    74
    One reason for the huge power consumption vs the e5200 is the 790fx chipset its using vs the e5200 p45 chipset.

    http://www.xbitlabs.com/articles/cpu...0_3.html#sect0

  17. #17
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    EvE-Online, Tranquility
    Posts
    1,978
    Quote Originally Posted by gallag View Post
    Because it does not use more power on a system level and on most other things it is a lot faster?
    That ain't a C2Q by my knowledge, that's on a server based platform.

    This however is, from your same link different page

    Dont get me wrong, i7 looks damn nice. But funny how we crap about power consumption on K10 X2 while it seems to be allright for i7 while actually the i7 doesnt offer a lot regarding gaming.
    Synaptic Overflow

    CPU:
    -Intel Core i7 920 3841A522
    --CPU: 4200Mhz| Vcore: +120mV| Uncore: 3200Mhz| VTT: +100mV| Turbo: On| HT: Off
    ---CPU block: EK Supreme Acetal| Radiator: TCF X-Changer 480mm
    Motherboard:
    -Foxconn Bloodrage P06
    --Blck: 200Mhz| QPI: 3600Mhz
    Graphics:
    -Sapphire Radeon HD 4870X2
    --GPU: 750Mhz| GDDR: 900Mhz
    RAM:
    -3x 2GB Mushkin XP3-12800
    --Mhz: 800Mhz| Vdimm: 1.65V| Timings: 7-8-7-20-1T
    Storage:
    -3Ware 9650SE-2LP RAID controller
    --2x Western Digital 74GB Raptor RAID 0
    PSU:
    -Enermax Revolution 85+ 1250W
    OS:
    -Windows Vista Business x64


    ORDERED: Sapphire HD 5970 OC
    LOOKING FOR: 2x G.Skill Falcon II 128GB SSD, Windows 7

  18. #18
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    No(r)way
    Posts
    467
    Quote Originally Posted by Mr.BSEL View Post
    One reason for the huge power consumption vs the e5200 is the 790fx chipset its using vs the e5200 p45 chipset.

    http://www.xbitlabs.com/articles/cpu...0_3.html#sect0
    The AMD chipsets are very power efficient, the 790FX uses around 10w, so it has to be something else.
    Obsolescence be thy name

  19. #19
    Xtreme Cruncher
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    7,745
    Quote Originally Posted by Rammsteiner View Post
    That ain't a C2Q by my knowledge, that's on a server based platform.

    This however is, from your same link different page

    Dont get me wrong, i7 looks damn nice. But funny how we crap about power consumption on K10 X2 while it seems to be allright for i7 while actually the i7 doesnt offer a lot regarding gaming.
    Gee...

    http://www.anandtech.com/cpuchipsets...spx?i=3453&p=3



    Overall FASTER and LESS POWER CONSUMPTION.
    Crunching for Comrades and the Common good of the People.

  20. #20
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Lansing, MI / London / Stinkaypore
    Posts
    1,788
    lol @ using overvoltaged QX9770.
    You guys NEVER read the fine print, eh?



    Oh, and what about this?
    Quote Originally Posted by radaja View Post
    so are they launching BD soon or a comic book?

  21. #21
    Xtreme Cruncher
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    7,745
    Quote Originally Posted by Macadamia View Post
    lol @ using overvoltaged QX9770.
    You guys NEVER read the fine print, eh?



    Oh, and what about this?
    Where does it say it was overvolted? And now using fudzilla?

    I confirmed that I didn't have a particularly low power Core i7-965 by testing multiple chips, and Intel confirmed that my QX9770 fell within the middle of its distribution for power characteristics of all QX9770s. It looks extremely probably that at the same TDP level, Nehalem has the ability to be much more power efficient than even Penryn - all without so much as a die shrink, remember that both of these CPUs are built on the same 45nm process.
    Crunching for Comrades and the Common good of the People.

  22. #22
    Xtreme Mentor
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Spain, EU
    Posts
    2,947
    Quote Originally Posted by Rammsteiner View Post
    That ain't a C2Q by my knowledge, that's on a server based platform.

    This however is, from your same link different page

    Dont get me wrong, i7 looks damn nice. But funny how we crap about power consumption on K10 X2 while it seems to be allright for i7 while actually the i7 doesnt offer a lot regarding gaming.
    Server platform? It's a C2Extreme QX9770 vs a Corei7Extreme 965, and C2Quad Q9450 vs a Corei7 920

    You can clearly see that at "low" frequencies Nehalem is not so power efficient when gaming, but stop right there. If you use anything other than games and/or you cranck up the frequency, well you see the result. The problem with Phenom (X2, X3 and X4) is that it underperforms in almost everything, and Corei7 underperforms in almost nothing, both compared to Penryn.

    And yes, I crap about Nehalem's power efficiency in games at 2,66GHz, why not. I'm not a fanboy, remember? However I'm not going to use it only in games or at 2,66GHz so...
    Last edited by STaRGaZeR; 12-15-2008 at 07:04 AM.
    Friends shouldn't let friends use Windows 7 until Microsoft fixes Windows Explorer (link)


    Quote Originally Posted by PerryR, on John Fruehe (JF-AMD) View Post
    Pretty much. Plus, he's here voluntarily.

  23. #23
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    211

    Wink

    Quote Originally Posted by Macadamia View Post
    lol @ using overvoltagedOh, and what about this?
    As the others were sayin' Kuma is a little power hog... even undervolting it could not reduce its idle power consumption. On load doesn't look good at all...

    Maybe you should provide link to the article: Fudzilla - AMD Athlon X2 7750 does fine though it's no match for Intel, yet
    Last edited by Ghostbuster; 12-15-2008 at 07:14 AM.

  24. #24
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Lansing, MI / London / Stinkaypore
    Posts
    1,788
    Quote Originally Posted by Shintai View Post
    Where does it say it was overvolted? And now using fudzilla?
    The QX9770 has a higher VID compared to other relatively low-flying, ~60W using Yorkfields.

    IIRC a Q9650 used 10W less than an i7 920.




    And in this case FUD is actually right. There's no possible way that the 7750 would use THAT much extra power without having a 125W TDP. But fine, since you obviously trust websites with Core i7 ads at the background... your choice.
    Quote Originally Posted by radaja View Post
    so are they launching BD soon or a comic book?

  25. #25
    I am Xtreme
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Austria
    Posts
    5,485
    Quote Originally Posted by Macadamia View Post
    The QX9770 has a higher VID compared to other relatively low-flying, ~60W using Yorkfields.

    IIRC a Q9650 used 10W less than an i7 920.
    and performes worse on most apps.



    Quote Originally Posted by Macadamia View Post
    And in this case FUD is actually right. There's no possible way that the 7750 would use THAT much extra power without having a 125W TDP. But fine, since you obviously trust websites with Core i7 ads at the background... your choice.
    All reviews i have seen (op) about the 7750, show that it consumes ~30W more @ stock then a X2-6000+.... so all those sites are "paid intel bumpers"?

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •