Page 1 of 13 123411 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 310

Thread: Phenom II X4 @ +6 GHz by Team Finland

  1. #1
    Xtreme Legend
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    1,706

    Phenom II X4 @ +6 GHz by Team Finland

    Update:

    Cold bug information:

    I have now confirmed from AMD that when running Phenom II X4 with LN2 HyperTransport link has to be in HT 1.0 mode (running 1 GHz) to prevent CPU cold bugging. AMD suggested us using this setting in Chicago event and we had no problems hitting +6 GHz.

    ---

    Hi everyone, I got back home from Chicago last night where AMD organized Dragon platform preview event.

    First of all huge thanks to AMD (Macci, Simon, Pete and everyone) for inviting Team Finland (Sampsa & SF3D) to the Dragon event. It sure was a nice opportunity to run some first tests with Phenom II X4 and LN2 cooling.



    Me pouring LN2, no need to fine tune temps



    Chilly system running full steam



    Gigabyte's 790GX retail board



    Kingpin's F1 EE full of LN2, this was so sweet



    Typical Vcore we used



    Macci playing around with Dragon EVO pot



    SF3D: "WTF?!"



    Here is a CPU-Z shot after some minutes of testing

    Quick summary:

    - All the Phenom II X4 CPUs me and SF3D tested had no cold bug at all
    - All the chips we tested could do +6,1 GHz CPU-Z
    - We tested with AMD's 790GX reference board and Gigabyte's retail 790GX
    - Both mobos worked fine under cold, +6 GHz and +1,95V vcore
    - Vcore ~1,95V was optimal for +6 GHz clocks
    - 3DMark05 & 06 CPU-tests were ok @ 6 GHz
    - We were able to run Crysis @ 6,1 GHz (2 loops CPU-test)
    - Max CPU-Z screenshot and validation we got with 4 cores was 6280 MHz (no dirty tricks)
    - With air cooling (Cooler Master Z600) highest we got Crysis stable was @ 4,13 GHz (1,58 V)

    We tested couple different revisions (ES and newer ones) but lets see how it turns out when retail chips will be launched.

    I don't want to make any promises but I encourage everyone to go ahead and test yourself.

    These results were definitely not maximum numbers possible to achieve.. and there might be some extremely cool (literally) numbers coming soon

    More pics, ss and video coming soon

    If you have any questions, I'm more than happy to answer (no peformance numbers because of NDA).
    Last edited by Sampsa; 12-15-2008 at 01:40 AM.
    Favourite game: 3DMark
    Work: Muropaketti.com - Finnish hardware site
    Views and opinions about IT industry: Twitter: sampsa_kurri

  2. #2
    I am Xtreme
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    4,714
    What's up with the HT link at only 1007MHz?
    Where courage, motivation and ignorance meet, a persistent idiot awakens.

  3. #3
    Champion
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    446
    Wow!! Very very nice. I wish I could have been there Thanks for all the info and details on your benches. It will be very handy. To get the 1.95vCore.. was the board vModded? You mentioned reference motherboards, so i am just curious.

    Ton

  4. #4
    Xtreme Legend
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    1,706
    Quote Originally Posted by massman View Post
    What's up with the HT link at only 1007MHz?
    We were just aiming for high CPU clocks, AMD had used that setting previously so we just left it there. We only had couple of hours to spend so unfortunately we couldn't focus on everything. We have CPUs now back home so we can start tuning for best performance
    Favourite game: 3DMark
    Work: Muropaketti.com - Finnish hardware site
    Views and opinions about IT industry: Twitter: sampsa_kurri

  5. #5
    Fused
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Malaysia
    Posts
    2,789
    Quote Originally Posted by Sampsa View Post
    We were just aiming for high CPU clocks, AMD had used that setting previously so we just left it there. We only had couple of hours to spend so unfortunately we couldn't focus on everything. We have CPUs now back home so we can start tuning for best performance
    Nice... Can it take more than 2V?

    congrats

  6. #6
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    los angeles
    Posts
    390
    very nice but why 790GX?
    is the gigabyte 790GX the DS4H? you guys got a very special bios for it?
    Seti@Home Optimized Apps
    Heat
    Quote Originally Posted by aNoN_ View Post
    pretty low score, why not higher? kingpin gets 40k in 3dmark05 and 33k in 06 and 32k in vantage performance...

  7. #7
    Xtreme Legend
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    1,706
    Quote Originally Posted by TiTON View Post
    Wow!! Very very nice. I wish I could have been there Thanks for all the info and details on your benches. It will be very handy. To get the 1.95vCore.. was the board vModded? You mentioned reference motherboards, so i am just curious.

    Ton
    Hi, AMD's reference board had vcore mod but Gigabyte's board was retail without mods. We adjusted vcore straight from BIOS and it was good to go
    Favourite game: 3DMark
    Work: Muropaketti.com - Finnish hardware site
    Views and opinions about IT industry: Twitter: sampsa_kurri

  8. #8
    Xtreme Legend
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    1,706
    Quote Originally Posted by tictac View Post
    Nice... Can it take more than 2V?

    congrats
    Yes it can, but we didn't see better scaling after 1,95V.. maybe more cold will help
    Favourite game: 3DMark
    Work: Muropaketti.com - Finnish hardware site
    Views and opinions about IT industry: Twitter: sampsa_kurri

  9. #9
    Xtreme Legend
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    1,706
    Quote Originally Posted by Newblar View Post
    very nice but why 790GX?
    is the gigabyte 790GX the DS4H? you guys got a very special bios for it?
    Why not? Board worked great Yes it was GA-MA790GP-DS4H with BIOS supporting Deneb. This board costs $200 in Finland.
    Favourite game: 3DMark
    Work: Muropaketti.com - Finnish hardware site
    Views and opinions about IT industry: Twitter: sampsa_kurri

  10. #10
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    los angeles
    Posts
    390
    Quote Originally Posted by Sampsa View Post
    Why not? Board worked great Yes it was GA-MA790GP-DS4H with BIOS supporting Deneb. This board costs $200 in Finland.
    wouldnt the 790FX do a bit better?
    i was just wondering about the board, because i bought the same mobo about a week ago for $135 u.s ^^
    Seti@Home Optimized Apps
    Heat
    Quote Originally Posted by aNoN_ View Post
    pretty low score, why not higher? kingpin gets 40k in 3dmark05 and 33k in 06 and 32k in vantage performance...

  11. #11
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    375
    Thats pretty amazing. Its really nice to see that amd gets back to challenge intel with cpus. Good overclockability is a good symptom indeed.

    It would be great to know some benchmark results, but i suppose thats out of the question so far?
    "I would never want to be a member of a group whose symbol was a guy nailed to two pieces of wood."

  12. #12
    Xtreme Legend
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    1,706
    Quote Originally Posted by Newblar View Post
    wouldnt the 790FX do a bit better?
    i was just wondering about the board, because i bought the same mobo about a week ago for $135 u.s ^^
    Yes 790FX + SB750 is probably the best platform for Phenom II X4 especially Asus M3A79-T Deluxe since it has 6 layer PCB. I have this back home so I'll try it next.
    Favourite game: 3DMark
    Work: Muropaketti.com - Finnish hardware site
    Views and opinions about IT industry: Twitter: sampsa_kurri

  13. #13
    Xtreme Legend
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    1,706
    You'll see benchmark results when Phenom II X4 is officially launched.
    Favourite game: 3DMark
    Work: Muropaketti.com - Finnish hardware site
    Views and opinions about IT industry: Twitter: sampsa_kurri

  14. #14
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    81
    WOW! Nice, very nice. I want .....

    Great job and thanks so much for sharing!

  15. #15
    Xtreme Mentor
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    2,837
    1.58V on 45nm is way too much for 24/7 use, is it not? What were highest clocks with reasonable volts?

    For my part I know nothing with any certainty, but the sight of the stars makes me dream.

    ..

  16. #16
    Xtreme Enthusiast TheBlueChanell's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    565
    It was an awesome event and you guys did a really good job. It was pretty intense watching the 3Dmark run through and not knowing if it was gonna finish.

    I'd like to clear something up though, there's been some mixed thoughts on the whole 790GX/FX ordeal. 790FX/SB750 = 65nm and 790GX/SB750 = 55nm or are they both built on the 55nn?
    Main: 900D - Prime 1000T - Asus Crosshair VI Extreme - R7 1700X @ 4.0ghz - RX Vega 64? - 32GB DDR4 3466 - 1TB 960 Pro -
    --- XSPC AX360 x3 - HK IV Pro - HK RX480 - HK 200 D5 - BP Compression ---
    HTPC: 250D - Prime 850T - Gigabyte G1 ITX - i7 6700K @ 4.5ghz - GTX 1080 Ti - 16GB 3200 - 1TB 960 Pro -
    --- ST30 x UT60 - Kyros HF - KryoGraphics 1080 - HK100 DDC - Monsoon Compression ---
    HV01: Define XL R2 - Prime 1200P - Asus Zenith Extreme - TR 1950X - RX580CF - 128GB DDR4 ECC - 512GB 960P - 4x 2TB RE
    HV02: Node 804 - Prime 850T - SuperMicro X1SSH - E3-1230 v6 - Vega FE - 64GB ECC - 512GB 960 Pro - 4x 6TB Gold -

  17. #17
    Xtreme Legend
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    1,706
    Quote Originally Posted by Mattskees View Post
    I'd like to clear something up though, there's been some mixed thoughts on the whole 790GX/FX ordeal. 790FX/SB750 = 65nm and 790GX/SB750 = 55nm or are they both built on the 55nn?
    AFAIK 790FX = 65 nm and 790GX = 55 nm.
    Favourite game: 3DMark
    Work: Muropaketti.com - Finnish hardware site
    Views and opinions about IT industry: Twitter: sampsa_kurri

  18. #18
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    235
    Nice job guys

    In the near future 7ghz is possible with one core

  19. #19
    I am Xtreme
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    4,714
    Did you test for HTT freq. overclocking? Any idea of the NB frequency?
    Where courage, motivation and ignorance meet, a persistent idiot awakens.

  20. #20
    Xtreme Mentor
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    2,837
    Quote Originally Posted by Yukon Trooper View Post
    1.58V on 45nm is way too much for 24/7 use, is it not? What were highest clocks with reasonable volts?
    Bump.

    For my part I know nothing with any certainty, but the sight of the stars makes me dream.

    ..

  21. #21
    I am Xtreme
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    4,714
    Define reasonable volts.
    Where courage, motivation and ignorance meet, a persistent idiot awakens.

  22. #22
    Xtreme Mentor
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    2,837
    24/7 volts.

    For my part I know nothing with any certainty, but the sight of the stars makes me dream.

    ..

  23. #23
    Xtreme Legend
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    1,706
    Quote Originally Posted by Yukon Trooper View Post
    24/7 volts.
    We were not focusing on 24/7 clocks/voltages, this thread is about Phenom II X4 extreme-overclocking.
    Favourite game: 3DMark
    Work: Muropaketti.com - Finnish hardware site
    Views and opinions about IT industry: Twitter: sampsa_kurri

  24. #24
    Fused
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Malaysia
    Posts
    2,789
    If it is fully tune... cpu speed, memory clock and timing... + GPU oc....

    Is it it capable blowing any 3D WR?

  25. #25
    I accept cash
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Earthquake Zone, New Zealand
    Posts
    399
    Quote Originally Posted by Sampsa View Post
    - 3DMark05 & 06 CPU-tests were ok @ 6 GHz
    - We were able to run Crysis @ 6,1 GHz (2 loops CPU-test)
    - Max CPU-Z screenshot and validation we got with 4 cores was 6280 MHz (no dirty tricks)




    Unreal guys

    When is the NDA end, and we can see the numbers ?

Page 1 of 13 123411 ... LastLast

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •