OCN2
Page 1 of 15 123411 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 355

Thread: GeForce GTX295 Card Exposed

  1. #1
    Xtreme Mentor
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    3,242

    GeForce GTX295 Card Exposed



    VR-Zone scored the first photo of the upcoming GeForce GTX 295 card slated for launch over at CES 2009. The GeForce GTX 295 is based on the sandwich design again like the 9800GX2 with two 55nm GT200 GPUs. As you can see, there are 2 DVI and 1 Display Port. As for the power connectors, it uses 8+6 pins so that gives you a clue how much power this card needs. The pricing is yet to be disclosed but card makers are speculating that Nvidia will price it competitively against AMD 4870X2 card this time.
    http://vr-zone.com/articles/geforce-....html?doc=6264

    Updated: More GeForce GTX 295 Card Shots





    Here are some more shots on the GeForce GTX 295 card. Enjoy! Among other things we have confirmed today are 480 SPs, 289W TDP, Quad SLI support. Clock speeds, performance and price still remains a mystery but we will soon find out. Can RV775 X2 card stands against this NV offering?
    http://vr-zone.com/articles/more-gef....html?doc=6274
    Last edited by onethreehill; 12-11-2008 at 04:58 PM.

  2. #2
    Engineering The Xtreme
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    MA, USA
    Posts
    7,222
    you would think they would have gone triple slot on this one....

  3. #3
    Xtreme Guru adamsleath's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    3,805
    yeah baby

    i like it, a lot.
    Last edited by adamsleath; 12-09-2008 at 09:42 PM.
    i7 3610QM 1.2-3.2GHz

  4. #4
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    154
    haha.. finally some pictures. What a power hungry card.. sigh

  5. #5
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Somewhere on earth between Taipei, Paris and Montreal
    Posts
    1,194
    another crappy sandwich deign by nvidia... when will they understand that they should make dual GPU card intead of dual-PCB-for-dual-GPU card ?

    SLI-like bridge on the bottom of the card ? Any possibility to use SLI rbige to have multi-Card SLI (i think yes !)

    Waiting for the benches !!!
    Overclocking-TV Staff
    Quote Originally Posted by hipro5 View Post
    Ha, ha, ha.....NO WAY.....When I show someone preparing to take a shot, I hided the cigarette....

  6. #6
    Xtreme Legend
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    17,468
    i hope it will work with Vince's slim pots
    Team.AU
    Got tube?
    GIGABYTE Australia
    Need a GIGABYTE bios or support?



  7. #7
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    651
    Does it include the barbeque grill or its an extra ? :p

    Is micro stuttering finally fixed on this one ?
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
    TJ07BW | i7 980x | Asus RIII | 12Gb Corsair Dominator | 2xSapphire 7950 vapor-x | WD640Gb / SG1.5TB | Corsair HX1000W | 360mm TFC Rad + Swiftech GTZ + MCP655 | Dell U2711

  8. #8
    Banned
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Everywhere
    Posts
    1,713
    Quote Originally Posted by Trouffman View Post
    another crappy sandwich deign by nvidia... when will they understand that they should make dual GPU card intead of dual-PCB-for-dual-GPU card ?

    SLI-like bridge on the bottom of the card ? Any possibility to use SLI rbige to have multi-Card SLI (i think yes !)

    Waiting for the benches !!!
    sorry, but we already know, that will be sendwich half of year!

  9. #9
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Ubatuba, Brazil.
    Posts
    146
    Wich direct-x this video card support ?
    Sorry for my bad english.

  10. #10
    Xtreme Cruncher
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Finland, Eura
    Posts
    1,744
    Woohoo! I want this card NOW! How loud and hot it might be..


    http://mato78.com - Finnish PC Hardware news & reviews
    BulldogPO @ Twitter


  11. #11
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    1,353
    **Edit** I was mistaken, the article has a typo apparently.


    Displayport

    Should have gone with HDMI, even if it comes with DVI to HDMI converters. Displayport is just garbage.
    Last edited by Sly Fox; 12-09-2008 at 11:58 PM.

  12. #12
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    1,195
    thats one fugly card there they didn't even try to add something like plx sli bridges are all over the place lol still wonder what will be performance of this hybrid card

  13. #13
    Xtreme Cruncher
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Finland, Eura
    Posts
    1,744
    Yep. HDMI is way to go, not DisplayPort.


    http://mato78.com - Finnish PC Hardware news & reviews
    BulldogPO @ Twitter


  14. #14
    Xtreme Mentor
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Idaho
    Posts
    3,200
    Please no more sandwiches
    "To exist in this vast universe for a speck of time is the great gift of life. Our tiny sliver of time is our gift of life. It is our only life. The universe will go on, indifferent to our brief existence, but while we are here we touch not just part of that vastness, but also the lives around us. Life is the gift each of us has been given. Each life is our own and no one else's. It is precious beyond all counting. It is the greatest value we have. Cherish it for what it truly is."

  15. #15
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Campbellsville, Kentucky
    Posts
    895
    Quote Originally Posted by Sly Fox View Post
    Displayport

    Should have gone with HDMI, even if it comes with DVI to HDMI converters. Displayport is just garbage.
    It has a HDMI.. look at the freakin picture!
    Main Rig
    • Intel Core i7 4790K CPU Stock @ 4.4Ghz
    • Asus Maximus VI Extreme Motherboard
    • 32GB GSKILL Trident X 2400MHZ RAM
    • EVGA GTX 980 Superclocked 4GB GDDR5
    • Corsair TX850W v2 TX Power Supply 70A 12V Rail
    • Swiftech Apex Ultima w/ Apogee Drive II & Dual 120 RAD w/integrated res
    • 2X Seagate 333AS 1TB 7,200 32MB HD's in RAID 0
    • 2X Samsung 830's 128GB in RAID 0
    • Windows 8.1 Pro x64
    • Coolermaster HAF-XB
    • Dual Asus ProArt PA248Q 24" IPS LED Monitors
    • Samsung 46" 5600 Series Smart HDTV
    • iPhone 6 Plus 64GB AT&T & Xbox One


    UNOFFICIAL Rampage II Extreme Thread

  16. #16
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    320
    Quote Originally Posted by jasonelmore View Post
    It has a HDMI.. look at the freakin picture!
    Nah, it's a display port. A more pretty version of DVI: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Display_port

  17. #17
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    1,353
    Quote Originally Posted by Stevethegreat View Post
    Nah, it's a display port. A more pretty version of DVI: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Display_port
    This.

  18. #18
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Campbellsville, Kentucky
    Posts
    895
    Ahh i see.. Reduced signal strength or something?
    Main Rig
    • Intel Core i7 4790K CPU Stock @ 4.4Ghz
    • Asus Maximus VI Extreme Motherboard
    • 32GB GSKILL Trident X 2400MHZ RAM
    • EVGA GTX 980 Superclocked 4GB GDDR5
    • Corsair TX850W v2 TX Power Supply 70A 12V Rail
    • Swiftech Apex Ultima w/ Apogee Drive II & Dual 120 RAD w/integrated res
    • 2X Seagate 333AS 1TB 7,200 32MB HD's in RAID 0
    • 2X Samsung 830's 128GB in RAID 0
    • Windows 8.1 Pro x64
    • Coolermaster HAF-XB
    • Dual Asus ProArt PA248Q 24" IPS LED Monitors
    • Samsung 46" 5600 Series Smart HDTV
    • iPhone 6 Plus 64GB AT&T & Xbox One


    UNOFFICIAL Rampage II Extreme Thread

  19. #19
    Banned
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    696
    Quote Originally Posted by Sly Fox View Post
    This.
    http://www.hothardware.com/articleim...2/small_15.jpg

    Looks like HDMI to me..

  20. #20
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    1,036
    Quote Originally Posted by Trouffman View Post
    another crappy sandwich deign by nvidia... when will they understand that they should make dual GPU card intead of dual-PCB-for-dual-GPU card ?

    SLI-like bridge on the bottom of the card ? Any possibility to use SLI rbige to have multi-Card SLI (i think yes !)

    Waiting for the benches !!!
    I dont care if its sandwich, if it performs it performs...

    The R&D costs to create an dual gpu single board may not be worth it. Its low volume cutting edge items sales...It may be more cost efficient to use 2 of pre-developed boards sandwiched together. If they are not huge and the performance/quality is there, i dont see the point in dismissing dual board cards.... Either one is one video card unit, one slot is used. Just a different (not necessarily worse) approach. Same thing with monolithic vs dual die CPUs...

  21. #21
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    1,353
    This is from the original post.

    "As you can see, there are 2 DVI and 1 Display Port."

    Man, everyone just gotta try and prove me wrong as hard as they can today.


    **Edit** Looking at the picture this time, not the article, I think I see the problem here.
    That does indeed look like HDMI, NOT displayport.

    Guess either they screwed up or Nvidia is messing with us.
    Last edited by Sly Fox; 12-09-2008 at 11:16 PM.

  22. #22
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    S.California
    Posts
    382
    ooo.. i need hurry up and sell my 260's to hop on this train
    Cpu: Intel Core i7 920 @ 3.9 ghz (cooled w/ Apogee GTZ)
    Mobo: Gigabyte EX58 UD5
    Ram: G.SKill 3x1 GB DDR3 1600
    GPU: GTX 280
    PSU: E Power 1000 Watt

  23. #23
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    574
    It would actually probably be cheaper and cooler to make a dual GPU single board, I am guessing they went with dual PCB because of the size of the GTX chip. Technological wise, disappointed they went with the dual PCB. I imagine it will trap more heat and increase latencies slightly, however as other have said performance talks. It could be the ugly step-child, but if it can bench press 500 lbs, who cares.
    --Intel i5 3570k 4.4ghz (stock volts) - Corsair H100 - 6970 UL XFX 2GB - - Asrock Z77 Professional - 16GB Gskill 1866mhz - 2x90GB Agility 3 - WD640GB - 2xWD320GB - 2TB Samsung Spinpoint F4 - Audigy-- --NZXT Phantom - Samsung SATA DVD--(old systems Intel E8400 Wolfdale/Asus P45, AMD965BEC3 790X, Antec 180, Sapphire 4870 X2 (dead twice))

  24. #24
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    320
    Quote Originally Posted by nosboost300 View Post
    ooo.. i need hurry up and sell my 260's to hop on this train
    (Why?)

  25. #25
    Xtreme Guru
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Tre, Suomi Finland
    Posts
    3,867
    \o/ @ the "It's HDMI! vs. "No, it's DisplayPort!".

    The connector on the card is clearly HDMI as both edges on the connector are sloped.
    You were not supposed to see this.

Page 1 of 15 123411 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •