Page 5 of 173 FirstFirst ... 23456781555105 ... LastLast
Results 101 to 125 of 4311

Thread: UnOfficial Asus Rampage II Extreme Thread

  1. #101
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Franklin, TN
    Posts
    855
    Fitseries, with the NB-max NB waterblock is there still enough room to put a different sound card in the top pci-e 1x slot?? Or does anyone know if the EK block would allow this??
    (New build):MSI Big Bang X-power II with XSPC MB blocks, Core I7 3930k@4.6Ghz with HT on, 3x GTX 480 SLI with EK Waterblocks(for now), X-fi Titanium, Gskill quad kit 16GB 2133mhz, 2x240GB Corsair GT SSD's(raid 0), 3xWD 2TB drives, Silverstone Strider ST1500 Watt, Dell3007WFP and 2x Samsung 305T's. Water loop: EK HF CPU block, XSPC RX480 Rad, Coolgate GC480, Airplex Revolution 420 Rad, 2x DDC 3.25 18W with EK dual top, Caselabs STH10 white with customizations....

  2. #102
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    170
    there seems to be a problem with patriot tri channels kits and this board...
    one of the modules is not detected by the bios, nor windows, but cpuz has no problem seeing it...this is with the lastest bios....

    a quick look at patriots forums, tells me i am not the first qith this problem, just a heads up...

    all modules work fine on single or dual channel config....
    >> Lian-Li PC 7077<<<
    >>Amd 4800x2@2700 storm G4::: Dfi nf4 sli-d<<<
    >>Crucial ballistix 2gb 270x10<<<
    >>ati x1800xt oc@750/800//maze4/ramsinks<<<
    >>seasonic s-12 600w<<<
    posted by:EvilCloudStrife
    "Wow, nice dual 16x! MSI? no thanks"

  3. #103
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Middletown, CT
    Posts
    1,294
    4.3 is pretty good for 24/7 stable considering max 3d benchable seems to be in the area of 5ghz
    that's also what I get with my chip (albeit at slightly lower voltages, and haven't exactly been doing monster P95 runs) which i have benched subzero at 5ghz, so i don't think you have a bum chip.

  4. #104
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Middletown, CT
    Posts
    1,294
    Quote Originally Posted by thelostrican View Post
    there seems to be a problem with patriot tri channels kits and this board...
    one of the modules is not detected by the bios, nor windows, but cpuz has no problem seeing it...this is with the lastest bios....

    a quick look at patriots forums, tells me i am not the first qith this problem, just a heads up...

    all modules work fine on single or dual channel config....
    I'm reviewing a patriot kit atm, a Viper 1600mhz CL9?
    It doesnt clock very well, but I haven't had any problems like that.

  5. #105
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    170
    what bios are you using?

    mine clock well...but no tri channel
    >> Lian-Li PC 7077<<<
    >>Amd 4800x2@2700 storm G4::: Dfi nf4 sli-d<<<
    >>Crucial ballistix 2gb 270x10<<<
    >>ati x1800xt oc@750/800//maze4/ramsinks<<<
    >>seasonic s-12 600w<<<
    posted by:EvilCloudStrife
    "Wow, nice dual 16x! MSI? no thanks"

  6. #106
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Middletown, CT
    Posts
    1,294
    0804

    i mean, they boot with 1700ish with stock timings at 1.8v, but that's about it. no amount of voltage or qpi/dram will get them further. what are you getting?

  7. #107
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    170
    i am using that bios, i will try a corsair tri kit tomorrow.
    mine do 1800 ish with 1.65...
    but its dual channels no tri....

    tomorrow i will try the corsair kit and test the patriot kit on a p6t i got here...
    hopefully i can get to the bottom of this...

    there are a few post on patriot forum and asus with the same problem...nothing out of this world....
    >> Lian-Li PC 7077<<<
    >>Amd 4800x2@2700 storm G4::: Dfi nf4 sli-d<<<
    >>Crucial ballistix 2gb 270x10<<<
    >>ati x1800xt oc@750/800//maze4/ramsinks<<<
    >>seasonic s-12 600w<<<
    posted by:EvilCloudStrife
    "Wow, nice dual 16x! MSI? no thanks"

  8. #108
    Xtreme PITA to MM
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    ATX
    Posts
    682
    Quote Originally Posted by BringerOdeath View Post
    Fitseries, with the NB-max NB waterblock is there still enough room to put a different sound card in the top pci-e 1x slot?? Or does anyone know if the EK block would allow this??
    yes there is plenty of room.

  9. #109
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Middletown, CT
    Posts
    1,294
    Quote Originally Posted by thelostrican View Post
    i am using that bios, i will try a corsair tri kit tomorrow.
    mine do 1800 ish with 1.65...
    but its dual channels no tri....

    tomorrow i will try the corsair kit and test the patriot kit on a p6t i got here...
    hopefully i can get to the bottom of this...

    there are a few post on patriot forum and asus with the same problem...nothing out of this world....
    Interesting. I'll try dual chan then, see if that gets anywhere. and that's with the stock timings? (which are loose to begin with)

  10. #110
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    104
    Quote Originally Posted by fitseries3 View Post
    yes there is plenty of room.
    I've got the swiftech NB waterblock on mine and there IS NOT room for an x-fi sound card so I don't know how you hooked it up to your northbridge

  11. #111
    Xtreme PITA to MM
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    ATX
    Posts
    682
    Quote Originally Posted by Relic27777 View Post
    I've got the swiftech NB waterblock on mine and there IS NOT room for an x-fi sound card so I don't know how you hooked it up to your northbridge
    i have a dlink wifi card in that slot and it sits right next to the NB block. does the xfi have caps and whatnot on the back of the card?

  12. #112
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    170
    Quote Originally Posted by Slovnaft View Post
    Interesting. I'll try dual chan then, see if that gets anywhere. and that's with the stock timings? (which are loose to begin with)
    stock timings using 2n=2t
    which is their setting, 1t will run fine till 1700ish...or so might be little less i really didnt push them as i was mad about the tri channel...
    >> Lian-Li PC 7077<<<
    >>Amd 4800x2@2700 storm G4::: Dfi nf4 sli-d<<<
    >>Crucial ballistix 2gb 270x10<<<
    >>ati x1800xt oc@750/800//maze4/ramsinks<<<
    >>seasonic s-12 600w<<<
    posted by:EvilCloudStrife
    "Wow, nice dual 16x! MSI? no thanks"

  13. #113
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Franklin, TN
    Posts
    855
    No, the x-fi doesnt have caps on the back. I modded my nb so the xfi would fit, but I would rather have a nb block like i had on my 790i Ultra and use the first 1x slot since I plan to do Tri-sli when 55nm comes out. I currently have Quad Sli and I can put it in the bottom slot or the top slot.....I am going to add a dual loop on my rig next week by adding a HW GtX240 rad for my CPU and NB on the top of my Lian-li PC-p80 case and a loop for my graphics cards on the HW gtx480 rad for my graphics cards. I think this will lower my temps, since currently the 480mm rad cools everything in my loop....cpu, and dual 9800gx2's...Any suggestions on what resorvoirs i should use for each loop? I use a swifteck micro-res right now for the single loop....Oh, by the way fitseries, my 920 does 20x200 with turbo on and ht off, but will bue screen after about 5 hours........If I trun HT on it shows 4.ghz, but when I start prime 95 it goes down automatically to 4ghz! Does anyone have this issue also??
    (New build):MSI Big Bang X-power II with XSPC MB blocks, Core I7 3930k@4.6Ghz with HT on, 3x GTX 480 SLI with EK Waterblocks(for now), X-fi Titanium, Gskill quad kit 16GB 2133mhz, 2x240GB Corsair GT SSD's(raid 0), 3xWD 2TB drives, Silverstone Strider ST1500 Watt, Dell3007WFP and 2x Samsung 305T's. Water loop: EK HF CPU block, XSPC RX480 Rad, Coolgate GC480, Airplex Revolution 420 Rad, 2x DDC 3.25 18W with EK dual top, Caselabs STH10 white with customizations....

  14. #114
    Xtreme PITA to MM
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    ATX
    Posts
    682
    i cant run 4ghz with HT on for very long at all.

    the way i found that does work is use 19x218(my max bclk) and it benches fine.

    for some reason i need WAY more volts than everyone else to get the cpu stable though.

    has anyone messed with pll?

  15. #115
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Franklin, TN
    Posts
    855
    Quote Originally Posted by fitseries3 View Post
    for some reason i need WAY more volts than everyone else to get the cpu stable though.

    has anyone messed with pll?
    Yeah, I need about 1.5v to do 4ghz(4.2 with Turbo on) but it still will bsod between 5 and 7hours in on prime 95. It will downclock to 4.0 from 4.2 with HT on if I run Prime 95....
    (New build):MSI Big Bang X-power II with XSPC MB blocks, Core I7 3930k@4.6Ghz with HT on, 3x GTX 480 SLI with EK Waterblocks(for now), X-fi Titanium, Gskill quad kit 16GB 2133mhz, 2x240GB Corsair GT SSD's(raid 0), 3xWD 2TB drives, Silverstone Strider ST1500 Watt, Dell3007WFP and 2x Samsung 305T's. Water loop: EK HF CPU block, XSPC RX480 Rad, Coolgate GC480, Airplex Revolution 420 Rad, 2x DDC 3.25 18W with EK dual top, Caselabs STH10 white with customizations....

  16. #116
    Xtreme PITA to MM
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    ATX
    Posts
    682
    i need 1.58v for 4.1ghz 19x multi no turbo HT off to get benches to run all the way through

  17. #117
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Franklin, TN
    Posts
    855
    Wow, Thats a ton of voltage!!!I think 1.55 is the max anyone should go....Well, without phase or lnc cooling that is LOL!!
    (New build):MSI Big Bang X-power II with XSPC MB blocks, Core I7 3930k@4.6Ghz with HT on, 3x GTX 480 SLI with EK Waterblocks(for now), X-fi Titanium, Gskill quad kit 16GB 2133mhz, 2x240GB Corsair GT SSD's(raid 0), 3xWD 2TB drives, Silverstone Strider ST1500 Watt, Dell3007WFP and 2x Samsung 305T's. Water loop: EK HF CPU block, XSPC RX480 Rad, Coolgate GC480, Airplex Revolution 420 Rad, 2x DDC 3.25 18W with EK dual top, Caselabs STH10 white with customizations....

  18. #118
    Xtreme PITA to MM
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    ATX
    Posts
    682
    pfffft..... i have chilled water and sometimes i use my 320watt TEC.

  19. #119
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Franklin, TN
    Posts
    855
    I have never tried chilling the water since you have to insulate everything. I will post some pics of my setup when I have my second loop in. The I7 is tooooooo hot to be in a single loop with 2 9800gx2s, even with a 480mm rad!!
    (New build):MSI Big Bang X-power II with XSPC MB blocks, Core I7 3930k@4.6Ghz with HT on, 3x GTX 480 SLI with EK Waterblocks(for now), X-fi Titanium, Gskill quad kit 16GB 2133mhz, 2x240GB Corsair GT SSD's(raid 0), 3xWD 2TB drives, Silverstone Strider ST1500 Watt, Dell3007WFP and 2x Samsung 305T's. Water loop: EK HF CPU block, XSPC RX480 Rad, Coolgate GC480, Airplex Revolution 420 Rad, 2x DDC 3.25 18W with EK dual top, Caselabs STH10 white with customizations....

  20. #120
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Franklin, TN
    Posts
    855
    Oh, by the way, I picked up an mcp-650 pump for only 29.99! Which is what I will use for a second loop. I know it's noisier that the newer mcp-655, but for $45 less with the same specs otherwise. I can live with the noise and I am sure I won't here it over all the other fans in my PC!
    (New build):MSI Big Bang X-power II with XSPC MB blocks, Core I7 3930k@4.6Ghz with HT on, 3x GTX 480 SLI with EK Waterblocks(for now), X-fi Titanium, Gskill quad kit 16GB 2133mhz, 2x240GB Corsair GT SSD's(raid 0), 3xWD 2TB drives, Silverstone Strider ST1500 Watt, Dell3007WFP and 2x Samsung 305T's. Water loop: EK HF CPU block, XSPC RX480 Rad, Coolgate GC480, Airplex Revolution 420 Rad, 2x DDC 3.25 18W with EK dual top, Caselabs STH10 white with customizations....

  21. #121
    Xtreme PITA to MM
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    ATX
    Posts
    682
    Quote Originally Posted by BringerOdeath View Post
    I have never tried chilling the water since you have to insulate everything. I will post some pics of my setup when I have my second loop in. The I7 is tooooooo hot to be in a single loop with 2 9800gx2s, even with a 480mm rad!!
    +1

    i ran i7 920 @ 4.1ghz 8 hours yesturday and my water temp was ~90f.

    thats with ...

    2 pa120.3's, iwaki rd30, GTZ and a NB-MAX. rads are cooled by 6 scythe 3k ultra kazes.

  22. #122
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Franklin, TN
    Posts
    855
    Fitseries, So the X-fi should fit with the swiftech waterblock for sure? Even long sound cards will fit?
    (New build):MSI Big Bang X-power II with XSPC MB blocks, Core I7 3930k@4.6Ghz with HT on, 3x GTX 480 SLI with EK Waterblocks(for now), X-fi Titanium, Gskill quad kit 16GB 2133mhz, 2x240GB Corsair GT SSD's(raid 0), 3xWD 2TB drives, Silverstone Strider ST1500 Watt, Dell3007WFP and 2x Samsung 305T's. Water loop: EK HF CPU block, XSPC RX480 Rad, Coolgate GC480, Airplex Revolution 420 Rad, 2x DDC 3.25 18W with EK dual top, Caselabs STH10 white with customizations....

  23. #123
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Franklin, TN
    Posts
    855
    That Iwaki pump can really push some water, much more than my mcp-655. Seperating the loop should be a lot cooler, though with 2 resorvoirs!! I am just trying to decide what 2 resorvoirs to use.....
    (New build):MSI Big Bang X-power II with XSPC MB blocks, Core I7 3930k@4.6Ghz with HT on, 3x GTX 480 SLI with EK Waterblocks(for now), X-fi Titanium, Gskill quad kit 16GB 2133mhz, 2x240GB Corsair GT SSD's(raid 0), 3xWD 2TB drives, Silverstone Strider ST1500 Watt, Dell3007WFP and 2x Samsung 305T's. Water loop: EK HF CPU block, XSPC RX480 Rad, Coolgate GC480, Airplex Revolution 420 Rad, 2x DDC 3.25 18W with EK dual top, Caselabs STH10 white with customizations....

  24. #124
    Xtreme PITA to MM
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    ATX
    Posts
    682
    Quote Originally Posted by BringerOdeath View Post
    Fitseries, So the X-fi should fit with the swiftech waterblock for sure? Even long sound cards will fit?
    i cant promise you anything. honestly i would not try it with a big card.

  25. #125
    Xtreme PITA to MM
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    ATX
    Posts
    682
    Quote Originally Posted by BringerOdeath View Post
    That Iwaki pump can really push some water, much more than my mcp-655. Seperating the loop should be a lot cooler, though with 2 resorvoirs!! I am just trying to decide what 2 resorvoirs to use.....
    i undervolt the iwaki to 18v so it runs pretty quiet and has a little less flow than 24v. i found that slowing it down helped keep the cpu cool and more stable.

Page 5 of 173 FirstFirst ... 23456781555105 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •