Page 4 of 173 FirstFirst 12345671454104 ... LastLast
Results 76 to 100 of 4311

Thread: UnOfficial Asus Rampage II Extreme Thread

  1. #76
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA
    Posts
    628
    yeah, its been posted all over the place... Intel confirmed max Vcore is 1.55
    2600k @ 5ghz / z68 Pro / 8gb Ripjaws X / GTX 580 SLi
    2x Inferno raid 0 / WD 1TB Black / Thermaltake 1200w
    Dell 3008 WFP / Dual Loop WC MM UFO

  2. #77
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Campbellsville, Kentucky
    Posts
    895
    Just wanted to make sure so Tflight knew. He was asking about it earlier.
    Main Rig
    • Intel Core i7 4790K CPU Stock @ 4.4Ghz
    • Asus Maximus VI Extreme Motherboard
    • 32GB GSKILL Trident X 2400MHZ RAM
    • EVGA GTX 980 Superclocked 4GB GDDR5
    • Corsair TX850W v2 TX Power Supply 70A 12V Rail
    • Swiftech Apex Ultima w/ Apogee Drive II & Dual 120 RAD w/integrated res
    • 2X Seagate 333AS 1TB 7,200 32MB HD's in RAID 0
    • 2X Samsung 830's 128GB in RAID 0
    • Windows 8.1 Pro x64
    • Coolermaster HAF-XB
    • Dual Asus ProArt PA248Q 24" IPS LED Monitors
    • Samsung 46" 5600 Series Smart HDTV
    • iPhone 6 Plus 64GB AT&T & Xbox One


    UNOFFICIAL Rampage II Extreme Thread

  3. #78
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    2,036
    Quote Originally Posted by sonofander View Post
    don't know where you're getting this... All top scores on ORB right now are with Nvidia cards (WITHOUT PHYSX)

    In any case, it is futuremark's attempt at leveling the proverbial playing field. Lets measure our GPU score with our GPUs and our CPU score with our CPUs

    no need to spread uninformed propaganda

    That's just it...the playing field is not level in reality. PhysX is what makes an nVidia card an nVidia card. Just arbitarily removing features just because a company wants to try an influence the results is not how these cards function.

    Banchmarks *used* to be about performance measures, but they have turned it into a game. Now it's just a meaningless number. You can call that propaganda or whatever, but no serious enthusiast will tell you that 3DM is a measure of system performance anymore.

    It doesn't matter what the "top scores on the ORB" are. That's for the game of it and competition. That has nothing at all to do with benchmarking.
    Last edited by T_Flight; 12-13-2008 at 09:01 AM.

  4. #79
    Registered User
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    58
    After tinkering some more today I have reached 4.3Ghz! with HT on!

    BCLK 172
    Mult 25
    VCORE 1.48V
    QPI Volt 1.4
    UCLK set to lowest possible
    DDR3-1724 9-9-9-25
    DRAM 1.70V

    I was at 205 x 21...I just did not notice any big performance difference from where I am at now...Plus I like the extra memory bandwidth of DDR3-1724..

    I eeked out 300 more points in Vantage...

    Here are my latest Benchmarks





    Updated Mods Rigs Link:

    http://www.evga.com/community/ModsRi...sp?sysid=13749


    More benches tomorrow...

    -M


    Sandy Bridge Rig:

    Core i7-2600K / Asus Maximus IV Extreme
    (3) EVGA GTX 580 SC cards / 16GB Patriot Division 2 1866 DDR3
    (2) Vertex 3 MAx IOPS in RAID-0 / Asus Xonar Exsense STX
    1TB Western Digital Sata 3 Black Drive / 2 LG 10x Blu-Ray Burners
    Thermaltake 1200W Toughpower PSU

    Cooling:
    CPU - Swiftech Apogee XT Waterblock
    Video - 3 Danger Den all copper GTX 580 blocks
    2 Swiftech 480 rads...

    Sandybridge-E Rig

    Core i7 3970X running at 5.0Ghz 1.48v. 32GB Crucial Tactical DDR @ 2135
    OCZ Revodrive 3 X2 240GB / 2 OCZ Vertex 4 256GB SSD in RAID 0
    3 EVGA GTX 480 SSC TRI-SLI 830/1950
    1200W Cooler Master 1200W Silentpro Power Supply
    Windows 8
    Cooling:CPU: 1 D5 pump, FESER 3x120 RAD

    New Build so far:
    Core i7-4770k @ 5.0 GHz / Corsair Vengeance Pro 2400 C10 @ 2600 / TRI-SLI EVGA GTX 780 SC ACX
    Maximus VI Extreme / (4) Samsung 840 Pro 128Gb in RAID-0/




  5. #80
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA
    Posts
    628
    That's freaking great M!
    Wanna trade chips?

    I'm pretty convinced mines a dog. I'm at the exact same settings as you except that I have HT off. I need 1.48v to be stable w/out HT
    2600k @ 5ghz / z68 Pro / 8gb Ripjaws X / GTX 580 SLi
    2x Inferno raid 0 / WD 1TB Black / Thermaltake 1200w
    Dell 3008 WFP / Dual Loop WC MM UFO

  6. #81
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA
    Posts
    628
    Has anyone else noticed their RIIE overvilting vcore under load? I set 1.48 in bios and that's what shows in OS, but when I start P95 it jumps to 1.5-1.51 as reported in everest

    Anyone else?
    2600k @ 5ghz / z68 Pro / 8gb Ripjaws X / GTX 580 SLi
    2x Inferno raid 0 / WD 1TB Black / Thermaltake 1200w
    Dell 3008 WFP / Dual Loop WC MM UFO

  7. #82
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Campbellsville, Kentucky
    Posts
    895
    Do you have LLC Enabled?
    Main Rig
    • Intel Core i7 4790K CPU Stock @ 4.4Ghz
    • Asus Maximus VI Extreme Motherboard
    • 32GB GSKILL Trident X 2400MHZ RAM
    • EVGA GTX 980 Superclocked 4GB GDDR5
    • Corsair TX850W v2 TX Power Supply 70A 12V Rail
    • Swiftech Apex Ultima w/ Apogee Drive II & Dual 120 RAD w/integrated res
    • 2X Seagate 333AS 1TB 7,200 32MB HD's in RAID 0
    • 2X Samsung 830's 128GB in RAID 0
    • Windows 8.1 Pro x64
    • Coolermaster HAF-XB
    • Dual Asus ProArt PA248Q 24" IPS LED Monitors
    • Samsung 46" 5600 Series Smart HDTV
    • iPhone 6 Plus 64GB AT&T & Xbox One


    UNOFFICIAL Rampage II Extreme Thread

  8. #83
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA
    Posts
    628
    Of course!
    I keep thinking I'm missing something, but I've tinkered with just about every available bios option and I just can't run high clocks without excessive vcore
    2600k @ 5ghz / z68 Pro / 8gb Ripjaws X / GTX 580 SLi
    2x Inferno raid 0 / WD 1TB Black / Thermaltake 1200w
    Dell 3008 WFP / Dual Loop WC MM UFO

  9. #84
    Registered User
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    58
    UPDATE: I am able to run graphics benchmarks all day @4.3...but 4.3ghz fails Prime 95 25.8 after about 30 min. Raising Vcore to 1.5 or over makes the temps shoot into the 90's...

    If I go back to 4.2 Ghz...I can lover my Vcore to 1.42v (vs. 1.49) and Prime 95 runs great...it has gone about 8 hours....so that's good enough for me...temps are also 10C less at 4.2..averaging about 75C on 100% load..

    -M


    Sandy Bridge Rig:

    Core i7-2600K / Asus Maximus IV Extreme
    (3) EVGA GTX 580 SC cards / 16GB Patriot Division 2 1866 DDR3
    (2) Vertex 3 MAx IOPS in RAID-0 / Asus Xonar Exsense STX
    1TB Western Digital Sata 3 Black Drive / 2 LG 10x Blu-Ray Burners
    Thermaltake 1200W Toughpower PSU

    Cooling:
    CPU - Swiftech Apogee XT Waterblock
    Video - 3 Danger Den all copper GTX 580 blocks
    2 Swiftech 480 rads...

    Sandybridge-E Rig

    Core i7 3970X running at 5.0Ghz 1.48v. 32GB Crucial Tactical DDR @ 2135
    OCZ Revodrive 3 X2 240GB / 2 OCZ Vertex 4 256GB SSD in RAID 0
    3 EVGA GTX 480 SSC TRI-SLI 830/1950
    1200W Cooler Master 1200W Silentpro Power Supply
    Windows 8
    Cooling:CPU: 1 D5 pump, FESER 3x120 RAD

    New Build so far:
    Core i7-4770k @ 5.0 GHz / Corsair Vengeance Pro 2400 C10 @ 2600 / TRI-SLI EVGA GTX 780 SC ACX
    Maximus VI Extreme / (4) Samsung 840 Pro 128Gb in RAID-0/




  10. #85
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA
    Posts
    628
    Quote Originally Posted by managerman View Post
    UPDATE: I am able to run graphics benchmarks all day @4.3...but 4.3ghz fails Prime 95 25.8 after about 30 min. Raising Vcore to 1.5 or over makes the temps shoot into the 90's...

    If I go back to 4.2 Ghz...I can lover my Vcore to 1.42v (vs. 1.49) and Prime 95 runs great...it has gone about 8 hours....so that's good enough for me...temps are also 10C less at 4.2..averaging about 75C on 100% load..

    -M
    I am envious
    2600k @ 5ghz / z68 Pro / 8gb Ripjaws X / GTX 580 SLi
    2x Inferno raid 0 / WD 1TB Black / Thermaltake 1200w
    Dell 3008 WFP / Dual Loop WC MM UFO

  11. #86
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Vancouver, BC, Canada
    Posts
    1,418
    Quote Originally Posted by sonofander View Post
    Has anyone else noticed their RIIE overvilting vcore under load? I set 1.48 in bios and that's what shows in OS, but when I start P95 it jumps to 1.5-1.51 as reported in everest

    Anyone else?
    Yeah, R2E does this. I've noticed it from the day I got this board. I took a MM to it to see what happens. Generally, it will overvolt about 0.02V - 0.03V under load.

    I think it is caused by load line calibration, which is on by default I think (Auto sets it to on).

  12. #87
    Xtreme PITA to MM
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    ATX
    Posts
    682
    for some reason my qpi/dram is .05v off. i set it to 1.45v and its 1.4013 with DMM and in bios monitor.

  13. #88
    Xtreme PITA to MM
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    ATX
    Posts
    682
    im convinced.... theres no way my chip will run over 200bclk.

    200 runs fine. 201 is death no matter what i try.

  14. #89
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA
    Posts
    628
    Don't get me wrong, I don't mind the overvolting. I'd much rather have +.03 than -.03 anyday

    I just wanted to make sure it want just me
    2600k @ 5ghz / z68 Pro / 8gb Ripjaws X / GTX 580 SLi
    2x Inferno raid 0 / WD 1TB Black / Thermaltake 1200w
    Dell 3008 WFP / Dual Loop WC MM UFO

  15. #90
    Xtreme PITA to MM
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    ATX
    Posts
    682
    no physx... but doing ati physx run next...


  16. #91
    Xtreme PITA to MM
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    ATX
    Posts
    682
    Kensek.... how did you get your x2s to clock so high?

  17. #92
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Chicago, IL USA
    Posts
    581
    Just using Overdrive in the ATI CCC Software. All the VGUs are Asus TOPS, since I'm an Asus Moderator. NO nead to buy cheap VGUs and flash the Superior Asus TOP Bios into them. Though buying cheap ones and flashing new BIOSes into them works 80% of the time.

  18. #93
    Xtreme PITA to MM
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    ATX
    Posts
    682
    Quote Originally Posted by Kensek View Post
    Just using Overdrive in the ATI CCC Software. All the VGUs are Asus TOPS, since I'm an Asus Moderator. NO nead to buy cheap VGUs and flash the Superior Asus TOP Bios into them. Though buying cheap ones and flashing new BIOSes into them works 80% of the time.
    well mine are a pair of sapphires flashed to asus top. they run at 830 but i get better scores at 820. pcie is OCed to 113mhz

    any suggestions?

  19. #94
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Chicago, IL USA
    Posts
    581
    It depends what is running. My 3DMrk06 scores best at 837/980 any increase in the core lowers the score.

    Vantage makes better scores at 857/980 than at 837/980.

    - Side Note - Also 2 HD4870s are faster than 1 HD4870X2 because you can run HD4870s at 875/1100 in XFire.
    Last edited by Kensek; 12-14-2008 at 06:28 PM.

  20. #95
    Xtreme PITA to MM
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    ATX
    Posts
    682
    check this, almost dead even


    Quote Originally Posted by fitseries3




  21. #96
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    1,314
    got a question about turbo mode. i was priming my cpu at 190*20, which is 3.8ghz, however cpu-z showed 4ghz. is it a bug in cpu-z thats reading turbo mode when there is none, or does the board somehow trick the chip into a constant turbo mode?
    Core i7 920 3849B028 4.2ghz cooled by ek hf | 6gb stt ddr3 2100 | MSI HD6950 cf cooled by ek fc | Evga x58 e760 Classified | 120gb G.Skill Phoenix Pro | Modded Rocketfish case + 1200w toughpower | mcp 655 pump + mcr 320 + black ice pro II

  22. #97
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Belgium, Lochristi
    Posts
    63
    Anyone noticed cold boot issues with this board? Only way to get it to boot in the morning is to cycle the main power switch on the back of the powersupply. Otherwise nogo
    Had the same issue with my Blitz Formula

    Can't get 4.0Ghz 200x20 stable either, not even 3DM06!
    3.8Ghz is perfectly stable @ 1.375V. But no mather wath Vcore i give the cpu, 4.0Ghz will only get me to windows but nothing more. Bad chip maybe
    i5-3570K || ASUS Maximus IV Extreme || 8GB Patriot Viper Extreme || 2 x nVidia GTX480 || Corsair HX1200 || 2 x 128GB Crucial M4 SSD RAID0 - 750GB Samsung SP F1 || SilverStone TJ11 || Dell Ultrasharp 30" || Windows7 64-bit

  23. #98
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Beneath The Remains, Greece
    Posts
    721
    As i far as i can see, most of you are running DDR3-1600Mhz on your systems no matter if u run an i7 920 or i7 965. Is there any benefit at all to pick up 1800-1866-2000Mhz memory if i plan to run an i7 920 to the max, cpu permitted, o/c possible?
    Intel i7 3770K (4.8Ghz@1.36v) ~ Asus Maximus V Gene ~ 8Gb G.Skill Ripjaws X 2133 C9 (@2400 C10) ~ Asus GTX 670 DCUII (1230/7000) ~ Samsung 840 Pro 128Gb ~ WD Black 1Tb ~ Corsair AX 850W ~ X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty ~ Epoz Aktimate Mini ~ Ducky Shine Blue Led /w MX Red ~ Logitech G700 ~ Samsung S27A850D 27" (2440x1600) ~ SilverStone TJ07B-W


    WaterCooled by XSPC Raystorm ~ TC PA 120.3 + 3xAP 15 ~ MCP655 with EK-D5 X-Top Rev.2 ~ EK Multi 250

    Powered by APC Smart-UPS SC 1500 ~ MGE ellipse premium 500


  24. #99
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA
    Posts
    628
    So I seem to have topped out on my chip at 4.3 w/ HT disabled. I've tried all the way to 1.55 vcore trying to get 4.4 to run prime, but it's a no go. Unless there is some magical setting that I am missing (its possible) My chip is just a dog

    So here's my 24/7 stable OC then:




    and the perforamnce numbers:




    3DMARK 06 and Vantage:




    The obligatory Crysis bench:




    and for s and giggles, a Vantage run with PHYSX enabled





    3D performance on this platform is simply stunning. I can't believe the framerates I'm seeing in Crysis!

    I really am dissapointed with my chip though... Seems like I should be able to do better than 4.3 max stable I'm considering trying to return it and get a better one. The chip lottery can't treat me like a red headed stepchild forever, right???
    2600k @ 5ghz / z68 Pro / 8gb Ripjaws X / GTX 580 SLi
    2x Inferno raid 0 / WD 1TB Black / Thermaltake 1200w
    Dell 3008 WFP / Dual Loop WC MM UFO

  25. #100
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Campbellsville, Kentucky
    Posts
    895
    Quote Originally Posted by ChaosAD View Post
    As i far as i can see, most of you are running DDR3-1600Mhz on your systems no matter if u run an i7 920 or i7 965. Is there any benefit at all to pick up 1800-1866-2000Mhz memory if i plan to run an i7 920 to the max, cpu permitted, o/c possible?
    You'll be able to potentially run a higher Bclk without sacrificing memory speed.
    Main Rig
    • Intel Core i7 4790K CPU Stock @ 4.4Ghz
    • Asus Maximus VI Extreme Motherboard
    • 32GB GSKILL Trident X 2400MHZ RAM
    • EVGA GTX 980 Superclocked 4GB GDDR5
    • Corsair TX850W v2 TX Power Supply 70A 12V Rail
    • Swiftech Apex Ultima w/ Apogee Drive II & Dual 120 RAD w/integrated res
    • 2X Seagate 333AS 1TB 7,200 32MB HD's in RAID 0
    • 2X Samsung 830's 128GB in RAID 0
    • Windows 8.1 Pro x64
    • Coolermaster HAF-XB
    • Dual Asus ProArt PA248Q 24" IPS LED Monitors
    • Samsung 46" 5600 Series Smart HDTV
    • iPhone 6 Plus 64GB AT&T & Xbox One


    UNOFFICIAL Rampage II Extreme Thread

Page 4 of 173 FirstFirst 12345671454104 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •