Page 3 of 173 FirstFirst 1234561353103 ... LastLast
Results 51 to 75 of 4311

Thread: UnOfficial Asus Rampage II Extreme Thread

  1. #51
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Vancouver, BC, Canada
    Posts
    1,418
    Quote Originally Posted by fitseries3 View Post
    some progress... 2 steps forward and 1step back though.





    ran that, ate dinner, reran and got bsod immediately. WTF is going on here?
    See this thread (this page, my long post particularly)...

    http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/...91#post3495491

    I figured out what the darned problem is...just read it

  2. #52
    Xtreme PITA to MM
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    ATX
    Posts
    682
    i have turbo off, manually set to 20x, qpi/dram is on auto.

    turboV wont run on my system. it crashes upon launch. when it does run none of the settings can be changed.

    im thinking this board may be bad.

    i can run my ram at 2000mhz at 200bclk just fine. i have run this ram all the way to 2133 without a hitch.

    if i could find a 940 cheap enough id get one.

    i think the problem with the i7 chips is the fact that uncore is locked at 1.2v. there is NO way to change this voltage yet the uncore is OCed anyways. if we could figure out how to change/manipulate the uncore voltage.

  3. #53
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Chicago, IL USA
    Posts
    581
    Turn Physx Off. And run it.

    Here's my R2E Run.

    http://service.futuremark.com/compare?3dmv=591313


  4. #54
    Xtreme PITA to MM
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    ATX
    Posts
    682
    oh you want 4870x2 benches? brb.

  5. #55
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Chicago, IL USA
    Posts
    581
    This is my Poor Mans Quad Fire. 1-HD4870X2 CFd with 2 regular HD4870s.


  6. #56
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA
    Posts
    628
    Quote Originally Posted by fitseries3 View Post
    some progress... 2 steps forward and 1step back though.





    ran that, ate dinner, reran and got bsod immediately. WTF is going on here?
    try disabling GPU physx processing in your nvidia control panel...
    might help
    2600k @ 5ghz / z68 Pro / 8gb Ripjaws X / GTX 580 SLi
    2x Inferno raid 0 / WD 1TB Black / Thermaltake 1200w
    Dell 3008 WFP / Dual Loop WC MM UFO

  7. #57
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA
    Posts
    628
    still working on getting 4.3 P95 stable... here's a run w/ HT disabled. Can't seem to get through the CPU tests with HT enabled even with 1.55v vcore. Too sacred to take it higher than that

    Last edited by sonofander; 12-12-2008 at 05:58 PM.
    2600k @ 5ghz / z68 Pro / 8gb Ripjaws X / GTX 580 SLi
    2x Inferno raid 0 / WD 1TB Black / Thermaltake 1200w
    Dell 3008 WFP / Dual Loop WC MM UFO

  8. #58
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Chicago, IL USA
    Posts
    581
    Nice Score - You can try taking the CPU Pll up to 1.88 and the QPI Vtt to 1.425v for 172x25 with HT enabled.

  9. #59
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA
    Posts
    628
    whats funny is I can roll at 4.275 w/ HT but not 4.3
    heres a run WITH HT:



    puts me in 4th place on ORB
    Last edited by sonofander; 12-12-2008 at 06:11 PM.
    2600k @ 5ghz / z68 Pro / 8gb Ripjaws X / GTX 580 SLi
    2x Inferno raid 0 / WD 1TB Black / Thermaltake 1200w
    Dell 3008 WFP / Dual Loop WC MM UFO

  10. #60
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Chicago, IL USA
    Posts
    581
    Most Impressive. And So are the Pics of your System.

  11. #61
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA
    Posts
    628
    Quote Originally Posted by Kensek View Post
    Most Impressive. And So are the Pics of your System.
    thanks man

    I gotta snap some shots with the 3rd card in there though...
    2600k @ 5ghz / z68 Pro / 8gb Ripjaws X / GTX 580 SLi
    2x Inferno raid 0 / WD 1TB Black / Thermaltake 1200w
    Dell 3008 WFP / Dual Loop WC MM UFO

  12. #62
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Campbellsville, Kentucky
    Posts
    895
    I was'nt able to get 210 BCLK Stable Last night. I spent about a hour on it. I will work on it some more tommarow and see what I can come up with.

    BTW Nice fun sonofander! Good Stuff.
    Main Rig
    • Intel Core i7 4790K CPU Stock @ 4.4Ghz
    • Asus Maximus VI Extreme Motherboard
    • 32GB GSKILL Trident X 2400MHZ RAM
    • EVGA GTX 980 Superclocked 4GB GDDR5
    • Corsair TX850W v2 TX Power Supply 70A 12V Rail
    • Swiftech Apex Ultima w/ Apogee Drive II & Dual 120 RAD w/integrated res
    • 2X Seagate 333AS 1TB 7,200 32MB HD's in RAID 0
    • 2X Samsung 830's 128GB in RAID 0
    • Windows 8.1 Pro x64
    • Coolermaster HAF-XB
    • Dual Asus ProArt PA248Q 24" IPS LED Monitors
    • Samsung 46" 5600 Series Smart HDTV
    • iPhone 6 Plus 64GB AT&T & Xbox One


    UNOFFICIAL Rampage II Extreme Thread

  13. #63
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    2,036
    I see some very high vCores in this thread. What is a safe vCore? Does anybody know? I know on the Yorkies 1.4v was as high as you could go for safe 24/7 use or they'd start degrading. I'm not interested in what is safe benching...just what is safe for 24/7 fully loaded use. My system will be folding 24/7 and I want that 24/7 to last for years...not months. At least 5 years.

  14. #64
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Campbellsville, Kentucky
    Posts
    895
    I don't think your going to get a reliable answer to that question. The only person I would trust with the answer is a Intel Lab tech or something like that. There's no way I'll be having this puppy 5 years from now but some people only upgrade like that. Also I would have gotten a 920 to have some fun with. The Extreme Editions are really expensive and they are meant to be put under phase or LN2. I would have gotten a Cheap 920 or possibly a 940 to play around with for a year or so. I've seen quite a few threads where you've been worried about hurting your XE due to certain settings. I see where your coming from though. I know someone who had a Q6600 at 1.57v 24/7 for 2 years under water. He sold it and it's still overclocked like hell and still going strong. I would be more worried about the QPI/VTT settings than the vcore. All you need to kill one of these chips is a high VTT. Getcha a 920 to have fun with T!

    But honestly as long as you have the proper cooling I'd say a safe vcore would be 1.5 and below before degradation starts. Now the Vdimm and VTT is a different story. I'm just basing my answer on past 45nm chips. And as long as they have had proper cooling and weren't running anything ridiculous like 1.65 the chips should be alright. Nice clean 16-phase power coming from that RIIE will take care of the rest.
    Last edited by jasonelmore; 12-13-2008 at 07:17 AM.
    Main Rig
    • Intel Core i7 4790K CPU Stock @ 4.4Ghz
    • Asus Maximus VI Extreme Motherboard
    • 32GB GSKILL Trident X 2400MHZ RAM
    • EVGA GTX 980 Superclocked 4GB GDDR5
    • Corsair TX850W v2 TX Power Supply 70A 12V Rail
    • Swiftech Apex Ultima w/ Apogee Drive II & Dual 120 RAD w/integrated res
    • 2X Seagate 333AS 1TB 7,200 32MB HD's in RAID 0
    • 2X Samsung 830's 128GB in RAID 0
    • Windows 8.1 Pro x64
    • Coolermaster HAF-XB
    • Dual Asus ProArt PA248Q 24" IPS LED Monitors
    • Samsung 46" 5600 Series Smart HDTV
    • iPhone 6 Plus 64GB AT&T & Xbox One


    UNOFFICIAL Rampage II Extreme Thread

  15. #65
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    11
    Quote Originally Posted by sonofander View Post

    puts me in 4th place on ORB
    If you install and enable phys X you'll get a much higher cpu score.

    I get 52k for cpu with phsX enabled.
    i7 965@4.2ghz 24/7,Asus Rampage II, GTX 280@700mhz TriSLI, 6 Gig Corsair Dominator, Custom water, Loadsa HDD's

  16. #66
    Xtreme PITA to MM
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    ATX
    Posts
    682
    Quote Originally Posted by Ranger07 View Post
    If you install and enable phys X you'll get a much higher cpu score.

    I get 52k for cpu with phsX enabled.
    +1

    why does everyone hate physx?

    i do physx with Ati as well so you cant tell me its not fair.

  17. #67
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA
    Posts
    628
    ORB doesn't count physx enabled 3DMARK runs. It disqualifies you


    ps: updated link in sig with pics of trisli setup - check 1st post
    Last edited by sonofander; 12-13-2008 at 07:21 AM.
    2600k @ 5ghz / z68 Pro / 8gb Ripjaws X / GTX 580 SLi
    2x Inferno raid 0 / WD 1TB Black / Thermaltake 1200w
    Dell 3008 WFP / Dual Loop WC MM UFO

  18. #68
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    2,036
    Quote Originally Posted by jasonelmore View Post
    I don't think your going to get a reliable answer to that question. The only person I would trust with the answer is a Intel Lab tech or something like that. There's no way I'll be having this puppy 5 years from now but some people only upgrade like that. Also I would have gotten a 920 to have some fun with. The Extreme Editions are really expensive and they are meant to be put under phase or LN2. I would have gotten a Cheap 920 or possibly a 940 to play around with for a year or so. I've seen quite a few threads where you've been worried about hurting your XE due to certain settings. I see where your coming from though. I know someone who had a Q6600 at 1.57v 24/7 for 2 years under water. He sold it and it's still overclocked like hell and still going strong. I would be more worried about the QPI/VTT settings than the vcore. All you need to kill one of these chips is a high VTT. Getcha a 920 to have fun with T!

    But honestly as long as you have the proper cooling I'd say a safe vcore would be 1.5 and below before degradation starts. Now the Vdimm and VTT is a different story. I'm just basing my answer on past 45nm chips. And as long as they have had proper cooling and weren't running anything ridiculous like 1.65 the chips should be alright. Nice clean 16-phase power coming from that RIIE will take care of the rest.
    I'm having alot of fun with this XE, I just don't want to hurt it. Well I was there for a bit until that stunt Corsair pulled. There are alot of advantages to having those multi's unlocked. It's also a better binned chip. Price doesn't really bother me. I don't like killing any of them. I just take it easy so I don't. If that means waiting some more I will.

    I have computers that have folded for years, and the one I'm typiong on now is 5 years old and is folding right now while I'm typing this. I also have a Willamette in the other room doing small units. It's near 8 years old. Back a few years ago I still had an AMD K6 running small units, but it's now been retired and is in the attic just to keep it for archival purposes.

    I have all of the systems I have ever built except for the ones I have built for other people. They all still run just like the day they were bought. I even have an old Atari 2600 around here somewhere that still works!

    I want to keep that record. I'm one of those methodical types. I will OC the hell out of these things and have many times, but I do it very carefully.
    Last edited by T_Flight; 12-13-2008 at 07:46 AM.

  19. #69
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    2,036
    Quote Originally Posted by sonofander View Post
    ORB doesn't count physx enabled 3DMARK runs. It disqualifies you


    ps: updated link in sig with pics of trisli setup - check 1st post
    That's why 3DM cannot be taken seriously. 3DM has become and ATi benchmark. If they don't wanna count how these cards are actually used with all functions, then don't count them at all. Now, that makes them a single brand benchmark, but that's what they're after anyway.

  20. #70
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA
    Posts
    628
    Quote Originally Posted by T_Flight View Post
    That's why 3DM cannot be taken seriously. 3DM has become and ATi benchmark. If they don't wanna count how these cards are actually used with all functions, then don't count them at all. Now, that makes them a single brand benchmark, but that's what they're after anyway.
    don't know where you're getting this... All top scores on ORB right now are with Nvidia cards (WITHOUT PHYSX)

    In any case, it is futuremark's attempt at leveling the proverbial playing field. Lets measure our GPU score with our GPUs and our CPU score with our CPUs

    no need to spread uninformed propaganda
    Last edited by sonofander; 12-13-2008 at 08:16 AM.
    2600k @ 5ghz / z68 Pro / 8gb Ripjaws X / GTX 580 SLi
    2x Inferno raid 0 / WD 1TB Black / Thermaltake 1200w
    Dell 3008 WFP / Dual Loop WC MM UFO

  21. #71
    Xtreme PITA to MM
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    ATX
    Posts
    682
    heres a loose run on my setup...


  22. #72
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    10
    Just want to ask 1 question ; Is the board stable as it is stock, bios and cooling? Because i have had major problems with asus MB , coolings not really seated etc.
    Dont know if it is right thread to ask in , because u r only talking bios settings for OC here ... lol
    Good Luck to all of u!
    MB: Asus Maximus II Formula
    CPU: Intel Core 2 Duo E6700.
    Ram: Corsair Dominator TWIN2X8500C5DF ,4Gb
    GPU: XFX Geforce 280 GTX XXX
    HD: Velociraptor 320GB , Samsung F1 1TB.
    Chassie: Lian Li PC-A17A.
    WC: Swiftech


  23. #73
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Chicago, IL USA
    Posts
    581
    Quote Originally Posted by T_Flight View Post
    I see some very high vCores in this thread. What is a safe vCore? Does anybody know? I know on the Yorkies 1.4v was as high as you could go for safe 24/7 use or they'd start degrading. I'm not interested in what is safe benching...just what is safe for 24/7 fully loaded use. My system will be folding 24/7 and I want that 24/7 to last for years...not months. At least 5 years.
    Intel specs say 1.55v VCore is the limit. And then add 10% to their conservativeness.

    If it Blows up you RMA it.

  24. #74
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Campbellsville, Kentucky
    Posts
    895
    Quote Originally Posted by Kensek View Post
    Intel specs say 1.55v VCore is the limit. And then add 10% to their conservativeness.

    If it Blows up you RMA it.
    You got a link to that datasheet?
    Main Rig
    • Intel Core i7 4790K CPU Stock @ 4.4Ghz
    • Asus Maximus VI Extreme Motherboard
    • 32GB GSKILL Trident X 2400MHZ RAM
    • EVGA GTX 980 Superclocked 4GB GDDR5
    • Corsair TX850W v2 TX Power Supply 70A 12V Rail
    • Swiftech Apex Ultima w/ Apogee Drive II & Dual 120 RAD w/integrated res
    • 2X Seagate 333AS 1TB 7,200 32MB HD's in RAID 0
    • 2X Samsung 830's 128GB in RAID 0
    • Windows 8.1 Pro x64
    • Coolermaster HAF-XB
    • Dual Asus ProArt PA248Q 24" IPS LED Monitors
    • Samsung 46" 5600 Series Smart HDTV
    • iPhone 6 Plus 64GB AT&T & Xbox One


    UNOFFICIAL Rampage II Extreme Thread

  25. #75
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Chicago, IL USA
    Posts
    581
    It's in many threads here and on Intel's Data Sheet.

    http://download.intel.com/design/pro...hts/320834.pdf

    And then search on 1.55
    Last edited by Kensek; 12-13-2008 at 08:31 AM.

Page 3 of 173 FirstFirst 1234561353103 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •