Page 2 of 173 FirstFirst 123451252102 ... LastLast
Results 26 to 50 of 4311

Thread: UnOfficial Asus Rampage II Extreme Thread

  1. #26
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Hollywoooooood, CA
    Posts
    238
    Now there is a 1.35 vtt cap? What's the deal?

    Also, sonofander, care to post your stable 4.25 settings?


    i7 965 | Rampage 2 Extreme | Asus 4870X2 | 6gb OCZ BLADE 7-8-7-20 | 4 OCZ SSD V2 in RAID0 |
    1 VelociRaptor 300gb | 1 WD Caviar Black 1TB | Tagan ITZ 1100w PSU | LG 6x BluRay Burner | 52" Sony Bravia LCD

    Homemade SS Phase Change | Kayl Custom Lineset

    My Case - Treasure Chest Build Thread : http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/...d.php?t=218115

  2. #27
    Xtremely Addicted
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    NL
    Posts
    2,502
    Quote Originally Posted by sonofander View Post
    @ Jason

    - you should PM a mod and have them merge this thread with the one in the Intel section. Not as many people look in here and it'd be nice to have all this info in that thread

  3. #28
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA
    Posts
    628
    At 4.25 w/ HT disabled I have:

    Speedstep and turbo disabled

    1.45v vcore
    1.45v qpi (undervolts to 1.4 in OS)
    1.7v ram

    Everything else on auto...
    This is P95 stable
    2600k @ 5ghz / z68 Pro / 8gb Ripjaws X / GTX 580 SLi
    2x Inferno raid 0 / WD 1TB Black / Thermaltake 1200w
    Dell 3008 WFP / Dual Loop WC MM UFO

  4. #29
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA
    Posts
    628
    What's interesting is that I cannot get 4.3 stable... I can make it up to 4.29 and prime to my hearts content, but I can't even get through an hour at 4.3

    Anybody rocking a 965 at 4.3 or beyond?
    2600k @ 5ghz / z68 Pro / 8gb Ripjaws X / GTX 580 SLi
    2x Inferno raid 0 / WD 1TB Black / Thermaltake 1200w
    Dell 3008 WFP / Dual Loop WC MM UFO

  5. #30
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Campbellsville, Kentucky
    Posts
    895
    Moved to Intel section Thanks dave
    Main Rig
    • Intel Core i7 4790K CPU Stock @ 4.4Ghz
    • Asus Maximus VI Extreme Motherboard
    • 32GB GSKILL Trident X 2400MHZ RAM
    • EVGA GTX 980 Superclocked 4GB GDDR5
    • Corsair TX850W v2 TX Power Supply 70A 12V Rail
    • Swiftech Apex Ultima w/ Apogee Drive II & Dual 120 RAD w/integrated res
    • 2X Seagate 333AS 1TB 7,200 32MB HD's in RAID 0
    • 2X Samsung 830's 128GB in RAID 0
    • Windows 8.1 Pro x64
    • Coolermaster HAF-XB
    • Dual Asus ProArt PA248Q 24" IPS LED Monitors
    • Samsung 46" 5600 Series Smart HDTV
    • iPhone 6 Plus 64GB AT&T & Xbox One


    UNOFFICIAL Rampage II Extreme Thread

  6. #31
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Campbellsville, Kentucky
    Posts
    895
    Just thought i would put this in the thread. I know most of you already know this but the 0804 Bios is now out. Looking at the Bios notes it looks like the only thing they did was "Improved Compatibility with some RAID Cards".

    I'm probably going to wait for the next round of bios updates. I'm going to be working on getting my 920 Stable at 210X21 with turbo Tonight. i will post results
    Main Rig
    • Intel Core i7 4790K CPU Stock @ 4.4Ghz
    • Asus Maximus VI Extreme Motherboard
    • 32GB GSKILL Trident X 2400MHZ RAM
    • EVGA GTX 980 Superclocked 4GB GDDR5
    • Corsair TX850W v2 TX Power Supply 70A 12V Rail
    • Swiftech Apex Ultima w/ Apogee Drive II & Dual 120 RAD w/integrated res
    • 2X Seagate 333AS 1TB 7,200 32MB HD's in RAID 0
    • 2X Samsung 830's 128GB in RAID 0
    • Windows 8.1 Pro x64
    • Coolermaster HAF-XB
    • Dual Asus ProArt PA248Q 24" IPS LED Monitors
    • Samsung 46" 5600 Series Smart HDTV
    • iPhone 6 Plus 64GB AT&T & Xbox One


    UNOFFICIAL Rampage II Extreme Thread

  7. #32
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    170
    how about you take your first post and edit it and put all bioses and what was improved etc....

    ill be sure to look at this post and report back, i have had mine since newegg started selling them and i still have my mobo cpu memory etc in thier boxes....i need to make time to install everything grrrr.....

    nice tread
    >> Lian-Li PC 7077<<<
    >>Amd 4800x2@2700 storm G4::: Dfi nf4 sli-d<<<
    >>Crucial ballistix 2gb 270x10<<<
    >>ati x1800xt oc@750/800//maze4/ramsinks<<<
    >>seasonic s-12 600w<<<
    posted by:EvilCloudStrife
    "Wow, nice dual 16x! MSI? no thanks"

  8. #33
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Vancouver, BC, Canada
    Posts
    1,418
    What I am really curious about is how many R2E owners can run 20x200 stable with 4-cores/8-threads. I cannot yet I can run 4.1GHz on air with 19x216 just fine. 20x multiplier just craps out on everything. < 20 is fine and > 20 is fine as well. Please post results and settings if you can...also, BIOS version

  9. #34
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Campbellsville, Kentucky
    Posts
    895
    Quote Originally Posted by dejanh View Post
    What I am really curious about is how many R2E owners can run 20x200 stable with 4-cores/8-threads. I cannot yet I can run 4.1GHz on air with 19x216 just fine. 20x multiplier just craps out on everything. < 20 is fine and > 20 is fine as well. Please post results and settings if you can...also, BIOS version
    Have you tried the bios settings I posted for 4Ghz? Are you at least getting to windows? or BSOD or what?

    ADDITIONAL COMMENT:

    BTW I added all official and beta bios's to the main post with there improvements. Hope you guys find it useful. The links are straight from ASUS's FTP Site.
    Main Rig
    • Intel Core i7 4790K CPU Stock @ 4.4Ghz
    • Asus Maximus VI Extreme Motherboard
    • 32GB GSKILL Trident X 2400MHZ RAM
    • EVGA GTX 980 Superclocked 4GB GDDR5
    • Corsair TX850W v2 TX Power Supply 70A 12V Rail
    • Swiftech Apex Ultima w/ Apogee Drive II & Dual 120 RAD w/integrated res
    • 2X Seagate 333AS 1TB 7,200 32MB HD's in RAID 0
    • 2X Samsung 830's 128GB in RAID 0
    • Windows 8.1 Pro x64
    • Coolermaster HAF-XB
    • Dual Asus ProArt PA248Q 24" IPS LED Monitors
    • Samsung 46" 5600 Series Smart HDTV
    • iPhone 6 Plus 64GB AT&T & Xbox One


    UNOFFICIAL Rampage II Extreme Thread

  10. #35
    Registered User
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    58
    Quote Originally Posted by jasonelmore View Post
    Have you tried the bios settings I posted for 4Ghz? Are you at least getting to windows? or BSOD or what?

    ADDITIONAL COMMENT:

    BTW I added all official and beta bios's to the main post with there improvements. Hope you guys find it useful. The links are straight from ASUS's FTP Site.
    Jason,

    Thanks for creating this thread!! Very helpful information...

    -M


    Sandy Bridge Rig:

    Core i7-2600K / Asus Maximus IV Extreme
    (3) EVGA GTX 580 SC cards / 16GB Patriot Division 2 1866 DDR3
    (2) Vertex 3 MAx IOPS in RAID-0 / Asus Xonar Exsense STX
    1TB Western Digital Sata 3 Black Drive / 2 LG 10x Blu-Ray Burners
    Thermaltake 1200W Toughpower PSU

    Cooling:
    CPU - Swiftech Apogee XT Waterblock
    Video - 3 Danger Den all copper GTX 580 blocks
    2 Swiftech 480 rads...

    Sandybridge-E Rig

    Core i7 3970X running at 5.0Ghz 1.48v. 32GB Crucial Tactical DDR @ 2135
    OCZ Revodrive 3 X2 240GB / 2 OCZ Vertex 4 256GB SSD in RAID 0
    3 EVGA GTX 480 SSC TRI-SLI 830/1950
    1200W Cooler Master 1200W Silentpro Power Supply
    Windows 8
    Cooling:CPU: 1 D5 pump, FESER 3x120 RAD

    New Build so far:
    Core i7-4770k @ 5.0 GHz / Corsair Vengeance Pro 2400 C10 @ 2600 / TRI-SLI EVGA GTX 780 SC ACX
    Maximus VI Extreme / (4) Samsung 840 Pro 128Gb in RAID-0/




  11. #36
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA
    Posts
    628
    Hey Managerman, have you had any luck clocking your setup past the 4.2 you have in your sig?
    2600k @ 5ghz / z68 Pro / 8gb Ripjaws X / GTX 580 SLi
    2x Inferno raid 0 / WD 1TB Black / Thermaltake 1200w
    Dell 3008 WFP / Dual Loop WC MM UFO

  12. #37
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Campbellsville, Kentucky
    Posts
    895
    Quote Originally Posted by sonofander View Post
    Hey Managerman, have you had any luck clocking your setup past the 4.2 you have in your sig?
    He has 4.25 listed over at evga mods rigs and in his sig. Sick Nasty stuff over there.
    Main Rig
    • Intel Core i7 4790K CPU Stock @ 4.4Ghz
    • Asus Maximus VI Extreme Motherboard
    • 32GB GSKILL Trident X 2400MHZ RAM
    • EVGA GTX 980 Superclocked 4GB GDDR5
    • Corsair TX850W v2 TX Power Supply 70A 12V Rail
    • Swiftech Apex Ultima w/ Apogee Drive II & Dual 120 RAD w/integrated res
    • 2X Seagate 333AS 1TB 7,200 32MB HD's in RAID 0
    • 2X Samsung 830's 128GB in RAID 0
    • Windows 8.1 Pro x64
    • Coolermaster HAF-XB
    • Dual Asus ProArt PA248Q 24" IPS LED Monitors
    • Samsung 46" 5600 Series Smart HDTV
    • iPhone 6 Plus 64GB AT&T & Xbox One


    UNOFFICIAL Rampage II Extreme Thread

  13. #38
    Registered User
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    58
    Quote Originally Posted by sonofander View Post
    Hey Managerman, have you had any luck clocking your setup past the 4.2 you have in your sig?
    I have tried 4.3...but I can't seem to get it stable enough to run benchmarks...4.25 is great and Prime 95 stable....at 1.45v

    I am not giving up though...I really want to work on it this weekend..Right now I am at BCLK 203 with a multiplier of x21... I will post more of my Bios settings...maybe I can get some tips on pushing this rig even farther...I really want 36K in 3Dmark vantage!!

    -M

    Here is the link to my rig! http://www.evga.com/community/ModsRi...sp?sysid=13749
    Last edited by managerman; 12-12-2008 at 07:37 AM.


    Sandy Bridge Rig:

    Core i7-2600K / Asus Maximus IV Extreme
    (3) EVGA GTX 580 SC cards / 16GB Patriot Division 2 1866 DDR3
    (2) Vertex 3 MAx IOPS in RAID-0 / Asus Xonar Exsense STX
    1TB Western Digital Sata 3 Black Drive / 2 LG 10x Blu-Ray Burners
    Thermaltake 1200W Toughpower PSU

    Cooling:
    CPU - Swiftech Apogee XT Waterblock
    Video - 3 Danger Den all copper GTX 580 blocks
    2 Swiftech 480 rads...

    Sandybridge-E Rig

    Core i7 3970X running at 5.0Ghz 1.48v. 32GB Crucial Tactical DDR @ 2135
    OCZ Revodrive 3 X2 240GB / 2 OCZ Vertex 4 256GB SSD in RAID 0
    3 EVGA GTX 480 SSC TRI-SLI 830/1950
    1200W Cooler Master 1200W Silentpro Power Supply
    Windows 8
    Cooling:CPU: 1 D5 pump, FESER 3x120 RAD

    New Build so far:
    Core i7-4770k @ 5.0 GHz / Corsair Vengeance Pro 2400 C10 @ 2600 / TRI-SLI EVGA GTX 780 SC ACX
    Maximus VI Extreme / (4) Samsung 840 Pro 128Gb in RAID-0/




  14. #39
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Campbellsville, Kentucky
    Posts
    895
    I'll post some settings tonight for you to get at least a 206-208 BCLK
    Main Rig
    • Intel Core i7 4790K CPU Stock @ 4.4Ghz
    • Asus Maximus VI Extreme Motherboard
    • 32GB GSKILL Trident X 2400MHZ RAM
    • EVGA GTX 980 Superclocked 4GB GDDR5
    • Corsair TX850W v2 TX Power Supply 70A 12V Rail
    • Swiftech Apex Ultima w/ Apogee Drive II & Dual 120 RAD w/integrated res
    • 2X Seagate 333AS 1TB 7,200 32MB HD's in RAID 0
    • 2X Samsung 830's 128GB in RAID 0
    • Windows 8.1 Pro x64
    • Coolermaster HAF-XB
    • Dual Asus ProArt PA248Q 24" IPS LED Monitors
    • Samsung 46" 5600 Series Smart HDTV
    • iPhone 6 Plus 64GB AT&T & Xbox One


    UNOFFICIAL Rampage II Extreme Thread

  15. #40
    Registered User
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    58
    Quote Originally Posted by jasonelmore View Post
    I'll post some settings tonight for you to get at least a 206-208 BCLK
    Great!! Thanks!!

    -M


    Sandy Bridge Rig:

    Core i7-2600K / Asus Maximus IV Extreme
    (3) EVGA GTX 580 SC cards / 16GB Patriot Division 2 1866 DDR3
    (2) Vertex 3 MAx IOPS in RAID-0 / Asus Xonar Exsense STX
    1TB Western Digital Sata 3 Black Drive / 2 LG 10x Blu-Ray Burners
    Thermaltake 1200W Toughpower PSU

    Cooling:
    CPU - Swiftech Apogee XT Waterblock
    Video - 3 Danger Den all copper GTX 580 blocks
    2 Swiftech 480 rads...

    Sandybridge-E Rig

    Core i7 3970X running at 5.0Ghz 1.48v. 32GB Crucial Tactical DDR @ 2135
    OCZ Revodrive 3 X2 240GB / 2 OCZ Vertex 4 256GB SSD in RAID 0
    3 EVGA GTX 480 SSC TRI-SLI 830/1950
    1200W Cooler Master 1200W Silentpro Power Supply
    Windows 8
    Cooling:CPU: 1 D5 pump, FESER 3x120 RAD

    New Build so far:
    Core i7-4770k @ 5.0 GHz / Corsair Vengeance Pro 2400 C10 @ 2600 / TRI-SLI EVGA GTX 780 SC ACX
    Maximus VI Extreme / (4) Samsung 840 Pro 128Gb in RAID-0/




  16. #41
    Xtreme PITA to MM
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    ATX
    Posts
    682
    im having a slight problem here...

    i can run 4ghz with a single gtx260 at 1.48v and benches will run fine.

    i need 1.53v for 2 gtx260s to run benches.

    3 cards wont run. i have tried up to 1.6v so far.

    any suggestions?

  17. #42
    Registered User
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    58
    Quote Originally Posted by fitseries3 View Post
    im having a slight problem here...

    i can run 4ghz with a single gtx260 at 1.48v and benches will run fine.

    i need 1.53v for 2 gtx260s to run benches.

    3 cards wont run. i have tried up to 1.6v so far.

    any suggestions?

    Fitseries3,

    A few questions:

    920, 940, or 965?
    What kind of cooling are you using on the CPU?
    What is your memory running at?
    What type of power supply are you using?
    Temps of CPU at idle and at full load (Wprime/Prime 95)
    What benches are you running?

    -M
    Last edited by managerman; 12-12-2008 at 11:08 AM.


    Sandy Bridge Rig:

    Core i7-2600K / Asus Maximus IV Extreme
    (3) EVGA GTX 580 SC cards / 16GB Patriot Division 2 1866 DDR3
    (2) Vertex 3 MAx IOPS in RAID-0 / Asus Xonar Exsense STX
    1TB Western Digital Sata 3 Black Drive / 2 LG 10x Blu-Ray Burners
    Thermaltake 1200W Toughpower PSU

    Cooling:
    CPU - Swiftech Apogee XT Waterblock
    Video - 3 Danger Den all copper GTX 580 blocks
    2 Swiftech 480 rads...

    Sandybridge-E Rig

    Core i7 3970X running at 5.0Ghz 1.48v. 32GB Crucial Tactical DDR @ 2135
    OCZ Revodrive 3 X2 240GB / 2 OCZ Vertex 4 256GB SSD in RAID 0
    3 EVGA GTX 480 SSC TRI-SLI 830/1950
    1200W Cooler Master 1200W Silentpro Power Supply
    Windows 8
    Cooling:CPU: 1 D5 pump, FESER 3x120 RAD

    New Build so far:
    Core i7-4770k @ 5.0 GHz / Corsair Vengeance Pro 2400 C10 @ 2600 / TRI-SLI EVGA GTX 780 SC ACX
    Maximus VI Extreme / (4) Samsung 840 Pro 128Gb in RAID-0/




  18. #43
    Xtreme PITA to MM
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    ATX
    Posts
    682
    Quote Originally Posted by managerman View Post
    A few questions:

    What kind of cooling are you using on the CPU?
    What is your memory running at?
    What type of power supply are you using?
    Temps of CPU at idle and at full load (Wprime/Prime 95)
    What benches are you running?

    -M
    swiftech gtz, 2 pa120.3s, iwaki rd30 and NB has swiftech nb-max

    mems at 1600mhz

    1200watt pc power and cooling

    idle 29c p95 1hour load is ~62c

    3dmark06 3dmark vantage.

    both will fail in cpu test or shortly after at 4ghz.

    at 3.92ghz it runs fine though.

    rest is in sig VVV
    Last edited by Fitseries3; 12-12-2008 at 11:11 AM.

  19. #44
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    2,036
    Quote Originally Posted by fitseries3 View Post
    swiftech gtz, 2 pa120.3s, iwaki rd30 and NB has swiftech nb-max

    mems at 1600mhz

    1200watt pc power and cooling

    idle 29c p95 1hour load is ~62c

    3dmark06 3dmark vantage.

    both will fail in cpu test or shortly after at 4ghz.

    at 3.92ghz it runs fine though.

    rest is in sig VVV
    How is your mem at 1600? Are you using the OC by Mem level? If so go back to auto and OC the mem manually and set UCLCK and QPI accordingly. What is your vCore. Have you disabled all spread spectrum options?

  20. #45
    Xtreme PITA to MM
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    ATX
    Posts
    682
    Quote Originally Posted by T_Flight View Post
    How is your mem at 1600? Are you using the OC by Mem level? If so go back to auto and OC the mem manually and set UCLCK and QPI accordingly. What is your vCore. Have you disabled all spread spectrum options?
    mems set manually in bios to 1600mhz

    im using manual OC settings.

    cpu is on auto.

    uncore is set to 2x memspeed

    spread spectrums all disabled.

    4ghz cpu with 1 gtx260 needs 1.48v to run 3dm06 successfully.
    4ghz cpu with 2 gtx260 needs 1.53v to run 3dm06 successfully.
    4ghz cpu with 3 gtx260 wont finish 3dm06 at all even up to 1.6v vcore

  21. #46
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    2,036
    That's weird. It's almost like the PCI-e lanes have something to do with how much vCore is needed! That doesn't make sense. It's like when you add another card it creates instability. Have you checked your rails under load to see what they are doing? It's possible (not very likely though) that they may be drooping under load becasue the CPU is eating up so much. I would hope that it wouldn't be sucking up thart much though.

    Another thing is it could be a weak (faulty) PSU. That vCore is too high for my liking. I wouldn't do that for too long. My opinion is that 1.4v is pushing it.

  22. #47
    Xtreme PITA to MM
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    ATX
    Posts
    682
    i have tried splitting 2 gpus to a 860watt pc power and cooling and get the same problems.

  23. #48
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA
    Posts
    628
    Try upping vNB and vPCI

    I had to increase them both to maintain stability when I added my 3rd 280
    2600k @ 5ghz / z68 Pro / 8gb Ripjaws X / GTX 580 SLi
    2x Inferno raid 0 / WD 1TB Black / Thermaltake 1200w
    Dell 3008 WFP / Dual Loop WC MM UFO

  24. #49
    Xtreme PITA to MM
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    ATX
    Posts
    682
    Quote Originally Posted by sonofander View Post
    Try upping vNB and vPCI

    I had to increase them both to maintain stability when I added my 3rd 280
    i HAVE. i've upped everything. i've tried everything


    i have run 2 4870x2s + gtx260 on the same setup and it runs flawlessly.
    Last edited by Fitseries3; 12-12-2008 at 12:35 PM.

  25. #50
    Xtreme PITA to MM
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    ATX
    Posts
    682
    some progress... 2 steps forward and 1step back though.





    ran that, ate dinner, reran and got bsod immediately. WTF is going on here?

Page 2 of 173 FirstFirst 123451252102 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •