Page 139 of 173 FirstFirst ... 3989129136137138139140141142149 ... LastLast
Results 3,451 to 3,475 of 4313

Thread: UnOfficial Asus Rampage II Extreme Thread

  1. #3451
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Setubal, Portugal
    Posts
    261
    can someone help me?

    canīt flash my bios with another version then 1104, seems it has something corrupted in the main block, and canīt compare the bios file with current bios installed, downloaded bios files manually and from Asus update utility, all give the same error

    I have tried with AMIFLASH:

    amiflash 0904.rom /B /N /V /Q

    amiflash 0904.rom /B /N /V

    amiflash 0904.rom /B /N /-V




    I have tried with AFUDOS 207 version and 211:

    afudos /i0904.ROM

    afudos /i0904.ROM /n /pbnc




    AND Asus Update:

    CASE Sharkoon Rebel 12 / CPU Core i7 920 SLBEJ @ 4Ghz + EK Supreme Acetal + Laing 10w + Feser 240 / MOBO Asus Rampage II Gene / MEMORY 3*2Gb Transcend DDR3 1333Mhz @ 1600Mhz 8-8-8-24 / GPU ATI HD5850 1Gb DDR5 + EK-VGA Supreme Acetal / PSU Corsair TX-750 / HDD 150GB WD Velociraptor(Boot) + 500GB Seagate 7200.11 + WD 400GB(storage) / MONITOR Samsung SyncMaster 2223NW

  2. #3452
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Boston Ma.
    Posts
    251
    What is a bad checksome bios error and how to fix it . / Asus site for bad checksum bios error I never had this problem but try setting your bios to default settings and while your in your bios check to be sure your date is set correct then save exit and then clear cmos by moving the cmos jumper on your board .
    Last edited by pcnazz; 01-24-2010 at 06:52 PM.
    Room Temp H20 | sdumper 2 Stage Cascade ( 4-Sale Mint ! ) | i7 975 ES / R2E rev12 v1504 | PH II X6 1090T BE / CH4 v905 | Dominator 2000GT CL8 6gb | Asus GTX 580 X2 SLI | Corsair HX1000 1210w | WD VR Raid 3+0 ( 450gb )

  3. #3453
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Setubal, Portugal
    Posts
    261
    Thanks again, but useless

    I even reboot after erasing flash, to corrupt bios and flash it with boot block utility with usb drive, but even with bios corrupted still didnīt accept the other files, only 1104, once again says not compatible file.

    Maybe only with a IC programmer
    CASE Sharkoon Rebel 12 / CPU Core i7 920 SLBEJ @ 4Ghz + EK Supreme Acetal + Laing 10w + Feser 240 / MOBO Asus Rampage II Gene / MEMORY 3*2Gb Transcend DDR3 1333Mhz @ 1600Mhz 8-8-8-24 / GPU ATI HD5850 1Gb DDR5 + EK-VGA Supreme Acetal / PSU Corsair TX-750 / HDD 150GB WD Velociraptor(Boot) + 500GB Seagate 7200.11 + WD 400GB(storage) / MONITOR Samsung SyncMaster 2223NW

  4. #3454
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Boston Ma.
    Posts
    251
    Contact Asus by phone and have them send you a knew bios chip , there very easy to remove and install with small thin alligator needle nose pliers , or any small needle nose pliers . I would also clear your hard drives & do a clean install of windows just in case you have a virus going on . How new is this mb ? I if it within 30 days send it back for another one , just giving another option . I feel ya sl4ck , what a pain in the arss !
    Last edited by pcnazz; 01-25-2010 at 07:13 AM.
    Room Temp H20 | sdumper 2 Stage Cascade ( 4-Sale Mint ! ) | i7 975 ES / R2E rev12 v1504 | PH II X6 1090T BE / CH4 v905 | Dominator 2000GT CL8 6gb | Asus GTX 580 X2 SLI | Corsair HX1000 1210w | WD VR Raid 3+0 ( 450gb )

  5. #3455
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Setubal, Portugal
    Posts
    261
    Maybe my 1.65v on QPI to 220 BCLK it's related with this bios issue?!
    CASE Sharkoon Rebel 12 / CPU Core i7 920 SLBEJ @ 4Ghz + EK Supreme Acetal + Laing 10w + Feser 240 / MOBO Asus Rampage II Gene / MEMORY 3*2Gb Transcend DDR3 1333Mhz @ 1600Mhz 8-8-8-24 / GPU ATI HD5850 1Gb DDR5 + EK-VGA Supreme Acetal / PSU Corsair TX-750 / HDD 150GB WD Velociraptor(Boot) + 500GB Seagate 7200.11 + WD 400GB(storage) / MONITOR Samsung SyncMaster 2223NW

  6. #3456
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Boston Ma.
    Posts
    251
    sl4ck , a bad over clock could cause that issue you have from my readings on your issue . / New Corsair Dominator 6gb 2000GT CL8 kit @ 1764Mhz CL7 . Just got them a few min. ago . Almost stable at 2205Mhz CL8 .
    Last edited by pcnazz; 01-25-2010 at 11:10 AM.
    Room Temp H20 | sdumper 2 Stage Cascade ( 4-Sale Mint ! ) | i7 975 ES / R2E rev12 v1504 | PH II X6 1090T BE / CH4 v905 | Dominator 2000GT CL8 6gb | Asus GTX 580 X2 SLI | Corsair HX1000 1210w | WD VR Raid 3+0 ( 450gb )

  7. #3457
    Registered User
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    10
    hej pcnazz could you tell what qpi volt are you running with memory at that speed? and have you done anything to the pci-e clock

    for 220x21 im running 102 on pci-e

  8. #3458
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Setubal, Portugal
    Posts
    261
    Quote Originally Posted by Dani-boy View Post
    hej pcnazz could you tell what qpi volt are you running with memory at that speed? and have you done anything to the pci-e clock

    for 220x21 im running 102 on pci-e
    Maybe he's using almost same settings than before, except memory clock and timmings:

    Quote Originally Posted by pcnazz View Post
    This how I set mine up sl4ck .
    CASE Sharkoon Rebel 12 / CPU Core i7 920 SLBEJ @ 4Ghz + EK Supreme Acetal + Laing 10w + Feser 240 / MOBO Asus Rampage II Gene / MEMORY 3*2Gb Transcend DDR3 1333Mhz @ 1600Mhz 8-8-8-24 / GPU ATI HD5850 1Gb DDR5 + EK-VGA Supreme Acetal / PSU Corsair TX-750 / HDD 150GB WD Velociraptor(Boot) + 500GB Seagate 7200.11 + WD 400GB(storage) / MONITOR Samsung SyncMaster 2223NW

  9. #3459
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Boston Ma.
    Posts
    251
    Dani-Boy , except for my memory timings the rest of my bios settings are completely the same as with the Dominator 1600 BEMP kit was ! / Squeezed the timings a bit . New Corsair Dominator 6gb 2000GT CL8 kit @ bios hard set 1763Mhz CL6 100% stable @ 4.630Ghz Turbo Enabled . I know HT enabled is stable also with my combination . Next LinX test I will run with HT enabled . I am going to work on 2205Mhz next to run with my 4.630MGhz clocks . I will also see if I can increase BCLK to further my i7 920 frequency , I doubt it though because at 221 BCLK stable I might add degrades my fps and over all performance . I would say I need an unlocked ratio multi to go faster . I will play around at these memory settings today then shoot for 2205Mhz tomorrow to compare . First impression of this 6gb 2000GT CL8 kit is awesome , very smooth ( feel it in the mouse , cursor ) and very snappy & consistent .
    Last edited by pcnazz; 01-25-2010 at 12:29 PM.
    Room Temp H20 | sdumper 2 Stage Cascade ( 4-Sale Mint ! ) | i7 975 ES / R2E rev12 v1504 | PH II X6 1090T BE / CH4 v905 | Dominator 2000GT CL8 6gb | Asus GTX 580 X2 SLI | Corsair HX1000 1210w | WD VR Raid 3+0 ( 450gb )

  10. #3460
    Registered User
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    10
    thanks sl4ch and pcnazz i wil try hitting that bclk

  11. #3461
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Boston Ma.
    Posts
    251
    Setting up new Corsair Dominator 6gb 2000GT CL8 kit @ 1763Mhz CL7 for i7 920 @ 4.630Ghz & 1.4250V Turbo Enabled & HT disabled . I fined tuned the memory timings for 1763Mhz and like how they feel over CL6 set up & I squeezed the cpu core voltage a bit lower for my 24/7 100% Stable clocks .
    Last edited by pcnazz; 01-26-2010 at 10:08 AM.
    Room Temp H20 | sdumper 2 Stage Cascade ( 4-Sale Mint ! ) | i7 975 ES / R2E rev12 v1504 | PH II X6 1090T BE / CH4 v905 | Dominator 2000GT CL8 6gb | Asus GTX 580 X2 SLI | Corsair HX1000 1210w | WD VR Raid 3+0 ( 450gb )

  12. #3462
    Registered User
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    10
    looks daam good pcnazz, i like those ram hehe

  13. #3463
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Boston Ma.
    Posts
    251
    Thanks Dani-Boy . Man this BCLK is a stubborn son of a biatch ! What I did was bump up the NB ( UnCore ) to 3969Mhz , feels strong . I have it stable and going for some more NB frequency tomorrow . I also dumped Turbo , all show & no go with Turbo enabled . Turbo Disabled
    Last edited by pcnazz; 01-26-2010 at 05:38 PM.
    Room Temp H20 | sdumper 2 Stage Cascade ( 4-Sale Mint ! ) | i7 975 ES / R2E rev12 v1504 | PH II X6 1090T BE / CH4 v905 | Dominator 2000GT CL8 6gb | Asus GTX 580 X2 SLI | Corsair HX1000 1210w | WD VR Raid 3+0 ( 450gb )

  14. #3464
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    105
    s4lack if you want to downgrade from 1104 to 0904 you need to use bios flashback. I remember that it was the only option to downgrade from that bios. But why would you want to flash to 0904 ? flash to 1704 instead.

  15. #3465
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    PL, Bielsko-Biala
    Posts
    1,328
    Hi

    I have "little" problem:

    I can't change speed of pcie in bios. I don't have any option - only auto is on:



    And in system i have: 16x8x8x speed



    Someone knows what is wrong ?

    I try this on 1504 bios and 1704 ( which i have now ) - the same problem.

    In pc i have:

    - hub usb - pcie nr 1
    - GTX 280 - pcie nr 2
    - GTX 280 - pcie nr 4
    - 9800GT - pcie nr 5

  16. #3466
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    105
    well what speed do you want ? 16x/16x/1x is the only other option than 16x/8x/8x

  17. #3467
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    PL, Bielsko-Biala
    Posts
    1,328
    I know that 16x8x8x is better, but i wanna know why i don't have this option.

    The same hardware, the same card, the same bios ( my friend stuff ), and:


  18. #3468
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Boston Ma.
    Posts
    251
    Malik , So your only seeing Auto and nothing else there . Ya I see it your not , strange . Are the 280's in pcie 2.0 x16 slots 1 & 2 . Are you on bios1 . Try bios v1639 .
    Last edited by pcnazz; 01-27-2010 at 08:03 AM.
    Room Temp H20 | sdumper 2 Stage Cascade ( 4-Sale Mint ! ) | i7 975 ES / R2E rev12 v1504 | PH II X6 1090T BE / CH4 v905 | Dominator 2000GT CL8 6gb | Asus GTX 580 X2 SLI | Corsair HX1000 1210w | WD VR Raid 3+0 ( 450gb )

  19. #3469
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    PL, Bielsko-Biala
    Posts
    1,328
    My two 280's are in blue pcie slots, yes im on bios1, in progress

  20. #3470
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Italia
    Posts
    1,018
    Quote Originally Posted by sl4ck View Post
    can someone help me?

    canīt flash my bios with another version then 1104, seems it has something corrupted in the main block, and canīt compare the bios file with current bios installed, downloaded bios files manually and from Asus update utility, all give the same error

    cut
    for downgrade the bios check in option on asus flash utility

  21. #3471
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    482
    Like i stated in my earlier post. The pci-express speeds are now auto. So depending on what slots you use it auto configures them for you now.

  22. #3472
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Boston Ma.
    Posts
    251
    Quote Originally Posted by KILLER_K View Post
    Like i stated in my earlier post. The pci-express speeds are now auto. So depending on what slots you use it auto configures them for you now.
    I agree with you Auto will take of his cards arrangement but I set mine manually . From his reading he's saying he doesn't have the option to set manually . Wow , it seems like you only have Auto as well . I bet SLI defaults to Auto only . I am running duel crossfire & have manually x8 x8 or x16 x1 & Auto . All three option can be set manually .
    Last edited by pcnazz; 01-27-2010 at 02:25 PM.
    Room Temp H20 | sdumper 2 Stage Cascade ( 4-Sale Mint ! ) | i7 975 ES / R2E rev12 v1504 | PH II X6 1090T BE / CH4 v905 | Dominator 2000GT CL8 6gb | Asus GTX 580 X2 SLI | Corsair HX1000 1210w | WD VR Raid 3+0 ( 450gb )

  23. #3473
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    PL, Bielsko-Biala
    Posts
    1,328
    Quote Originally Posted by pcnazz View Post
    From his reading he's saying he doesn't have the option to set manually .
    True, i can't find solution - why i have auto

  24. #3474
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Setubal, Portugal
    Posts
    261
    Quote Originally Posted by PalmeAsus View Post
    s4lack if you want to downgrade from 1104 to 0904 you need to use bios flashback. I remember that it was the only option to downgrade from that bios. But why would you want to flash to 0904 ? flash to 1704 instead.
    I have Gene version, not Extreme, but have been posting my results here because this is the most active thread related to the Rampage II, and the boards arenīt so diferent at all, the last Gene bios version is 1104, not 1704 like Extreme.
    I was able to flash it back, but only with a programmer, and i find, for example:

    with 0904 version i was able to flash at least 2 previous versions and further versions, but first version and further before two 0904 versions wasnīt.

    after i flashed to 1104 again, i still not able to flash any previous versions.

    Looks like asus blocked bios flash to previous versions, changing checksum on further versions?!

    Can you tell me more about bios flashback?


    Quote Originally Posted by Andrea deluxe View Post
    for downgrade the bios check in option on asus flash utility
    Double checked...

    Thanks
    Last edited by sl4ck; 01-27-2010 at 03:09 PM.
    CASE Sharkoon Rebel 12 / CPU Core i7 920 SLBEJ @ 4Ghz + EK Supreme Acetal + Laing 10w + Feser 240 / MOBO Asus Rampage II Gene / MEMORY 3*2Gb Transcend DDR3 1333Mhz @ 1600Mhz 8-8-8-24 / GPU ATI HD5850 1Gb DDR5 + EK-VGA Supreme Acetal / PSU Corsair TX-750 / HDD 150GB WD Velociraptor(Boot) + 500GB Seagate 7200.11 + WD 400GB(storage) / MONITOR Samsung SyncMaster 2223NW

  25. #3475
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Boston Ma.
    Posts
    251
    New stable clocks Turbo disabled & HT disabled @ 221.5 * 20 = 4430Mhz / NB 3986Mhz / Dram Fequency 1772Mhz CL7 / This new stable 4430Mhz frequency is strong , LinX 20 runs in 55m 11's zero errors . Kicked PCIE Frequency to 110 & booted @ 223.5 * 20 . Ctrl + ( zoom in )
    Last edited by pcnazz; 01-29-2010 at 11:40 AM.
    Room Temp H20 | sdumper 2 Stage Cascade ( 4-Sale Mint ! ) | i7 975 ES / R2E rev12 v1504 | PH II X6 1090T BE / CH4 v905 | Dominator 2000GT CL8 6gb | Asus GTX 580 X2 SLI | Corsair HX1000 1210w | WD VR Raid 3+0 ( 450gb )

Page 139 of 173 FirstFirst ... 3989129136137138139140141142149 ... LastLast

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •