Page 130 of 173 FirstFirst ... 3080120127128129130131132133140 ... LastLast
Results 3,226 to 3,250 of 4313

Thread: UnOfficial Asus Rampage II Extreme Thread

  1. #3226
    Dave's Mentor!
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    montreal
    Posts
    5,217
    i booted strait to blk224 and so far i'm impressed with this board
    i tried 230 but i gonna need to learn the i7 now

    anyone got a tweeked template as a refference i'm a bit lazy lol

    primin now @ 4.5 1.4v is 80c too hott?
    i guess i should put the megahalems on lol
    Last edited by zsamz_; 11-28-2009 at 01:02 PM.

    maximus IV extreme gtx580
    gigabut p67-ud7
    p67 sabertooth
    2500k+2600k
    antec 1200watt
    EVGA classified 760
    920 Batch# 3849B018 4.985ghz@1.52v gtx285 ftw sli
    OCZ3RPR1866LV6GK hypers
    dfi ut p35 rampage extreme
    gigabut p35c-ds3r bios suks
    gigabut x38-d6q dead thank god
    ballistix 8500 1240mhz@2.02v

  2. #3227
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    151
    234 boot directly to windows! No setfsb used.
    234bclk.jpg


  3. #3228
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    México
    Posts
    458
    Quote Originally Posted by Solarfall View Post
    damn spoke too soon it seems..to get past that 200base clock mark on higher multi than 21 all this cpu needed was little bit better cooling lol i should have known
    this was done with watercooling, water block was d-tek fuzion v1, and rad that i used was thermochill pa 120x3

    Sorry, I personally thought that was i7 920, maybe because thats the most bought CPU.
    Great to know you already have more BCLK.

  4. #3229
    Xtreme Guru
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Finland, joensuu
    Posts
    3,528
    Quote Originally Posted by Kain XS View Post
    Sorry, I personally thought that was i7 920, maybe because thats the most bought CPU.
    Great to know you already have more BCLK.
    hehe dont worry mate its an honest mistake

    anyways did some quick clocking with my 2stage cascade today and sadly the cold boot problem remains that i had on my evga vanilla. too bad i cant control the temps on my cascade i would need dry ice or ln2. i have a validation file at 5.2ghz but the damn thing was corrupted i was still able to snap this quick super pi score. lol the score needs some serious tweaking to say the least, i ran that just to see some general stability under subzero. im sure this chip has some mhz left in it i barely scratched the surface on that quick run.



    and some 3d.. 4950 mhz is not bad but not really great ether, but its a good start
    Last edited by Solarfall; 11-30-2009 at 03:54 AM.
    Evga X58 sli under cascade
    http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/...d.php?t=219788
    Evga X58 Sli ultimate overclocking/ overview/ discussion thread
    http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/...d.php?t=221082


    proud owner of E8600 Q822A435

  5. #3230
    Registered User
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    10
    hey guys
    im running af i7 920 D0 and im getting in trouble about 210bclk
    by 210 x 21 vcore is 1.38 and qpi is ca 1.45 and i need to set pci to 102 minimum
    i have tried loosen the timings and freg on ram but that is not the problem.

    210 i vantage stabil.
    I can push it up to 211 and 212 but then it is only 3dm06 and 05 stable (haven't testet with other programs)
    if necessary i can post som screens

    for cooling im yousing the xspc delta 2 cpu block and a tripple radiator
    temps are about 50 - 55 at load

    i hope some of you guys can help me out, and maby post som of your settings
    and finally what are you yousing for pci freg? i have tried up to 110 but it doesn't seem to helt
    Last edited by Dani-boy; 11-30-2009 at 11:07 AM.

  6. #3231
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Saumur 49
    Posts
    65
    Is the bclk is better with bios 1639 than the 1504 ?
    Asus Rampage 4 Formula | I7 3930K @ 4700 Mhz | 16 Go Muskin 2133 CL 9 | Raid 0 3 X Intel X25-E 32 Go| Asus 580 GTX MAtrix Platinium |WC MCP655 1200L HK 3.0 CU | TFC 480 + 4X120X25 70CFM | Samsung 27SA650 | Lian li V2000 |OCZ EliteXstream 1000W single rail

  7. #3232
    Xtreme Guru
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Finland, joensuu
    Posts
    3,528
    Quote Originally Posted by Le Titi View Post
    Is the bclk is better with bios 1639 than the 1504 ?
    the latest bios was better for me, but i guess the results may vary depending on what sort of cpu you have..


    update on my 3dmark 05 score. i broke 40k, too bad this 295 gtx that i have wont clock any higher and i cant use voltage tuner software cos this is a single pcb model

    Evga X58 sli under cascade
    http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/...d.php?t=219788
    Evga X58 Sli ultimate overclocking/ overview/ discussion thread
    http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/...d.php?t=221082


    proud owner of E8600 Q822A435

  8. #3233
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Saumur 49
    Posts
    65
    the latest bios was better for me, but i guess the results may vary depending on what sort of cpu you have..


    I have a very good cpu in WC.

    Asus Rampage 4 Formula | I7 3930K @ 4700 Mhz | 16 Go Muskin 2133 CL 9 | Raid 0 3 X Intel X25-E 32 Go| Asus 580 GTX MAtrix Platinium |WC MCP655 1200L HK 3.0 CU | TFC 480 + 4X120X25 70CFM | Samsung 27SA650 | Lian li V2000 |OCZ EliteXstream 1000W single rail

  9. #3234
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    63
    Code:
    CPU spread spectrum - enabled
    PCIE spectrum - enabled
    May it improve OC stability if I enable these options, as it is supposed in Bios description.. ??

  10. #3235
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Iran-Esfahan
    Posts
    8
    hi guys is there any review that the R2E beats The gigabyte x58 extreme ???
    Last edited by TheGame; 12-07-2009 at 04:28 AM.

  11. #3236
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    642
    Beats it in what exactly?

    I had the x58 extreme and I would say it is a better mobo than the R2E, for me on my old C0 920 Iw as able to run it on air using th X58-extreme @ 3.8 but the R2E could only do 3.7Ghz on the same CPU using a little more voltage !!!

    I replaced the gigabyte because it hates the CWT based PSUs that I have, also the gigabyte seems to not follow intel specs when using caps. arround the sockets making some water blocks a little hard to fit.

    Also the x58-extreme is much cheaper.
    intel Core i7 980x, ASUS Rampage III Extreme , Corsair Dominator GT DDR3 2000 CL9 3x4GB , nVidia GTX 680 FTW TriSLI , Auzentech X-Fi HomeTheater HD

  12. #3237
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Iran-Esfahan
    Posts
    8
    Quote Originally Posted by Salamndar View Post
    Beats it in what exactly?

    I had the x58 extreme and I would say it is a better mobo than the R2E, for me on my old C0 920 Iw as able to run it on air using th X58-extreme @ 3.8 but the R2E could only do 3.7Ghz on the same CPU using a little more voltage !!!

    I replaced the gigabyte because it hates the CWT based PSUs that I have, also the gigabyte seems to not follow intel specs when using caps. arround the sockets making some water blocks a little hard to fit.

    Also the x58-extreme is much cheaper.
    tnx bro
    i have d0 920 i can boot 4.5 in windows 7 on air very normal and stable
    validation link

    Core i7 920 @ 4585.55 MHz @ Air

  13. #3238
    Champion
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    476
    who needs classified?

    Rampage II Extreme


    235.5 MHz SPI




    240 MHz SS



    i7 920 C0 na R2E
    this CPU does 233 - 235 bclk stable but I haven't got more screens, maybe later



    2000 MHz CL6 stable 3x2 GB Win 7 64BIT HYPERPI32M





    picture...

    249,22 bclk

    validation
    MSI MOA 2009 POLAND #3
    Gigabyte GOOC 2010 POLAND #2
    MSI MOA 2010 POLAND - NOT ORGANISED
    ASUS Polish Overclocking Championship 2010 #1
    MSI MOA 2011 POLAND - NOT INVITED
    HWBOT Country Cup 2011 - POLAND! #1
    MSI MOA 2012 EMEA - #1
    MSI MOA 2012 WW FINALS - #7
    ASUS Open Overclocking Cup AOOC 2012 - #1
    HWBOT Country Cup 2012 - POLAND! #2
    MSI MOA 2013 EMEA Qualifier - #2
    ASUS Open Overclocking Cup AOOC 2013 - #?
    MSI MOA 2013 WW FINALS - #?

  14. #3239
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Iran-Esfahan
    Posts
    8
    Validation Link
    Core i7 920 @ 5391.99 MHz @ Air & Ice

  15. #3240
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    642
    Ok here is the maximum I could get from my D0 and the R2E, not as good as I hopped for...



    If I raise Bclk to 211 or 212 the PC would fail linx randomly even when I boost CPU voltage to 1.48 which I don't really like, If I raise the Bclk any more the PC would fail to POST!!!
    intel Core i7 980x, ASUS Rampage III Extreme , Corsair Dominator GT DDR3 2000 CL9 3x4GB , nVidia GTX 680 FTW TriSLI , Auzentech X-Fi HomeTheater HD

  16. #3241
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    12

    Need serious help!

    i7 920 d0 + TRUE Black with Thermaltake fan
    R2E 1504? BIOS
    Thermaltake Toughpower 750W Modular
    Ballistix 1600MHZ 6GB 8-8-8-24 1.65v
    Antec 902 + Sidefan! (was a pain to fit with the TRUE)
    2*1TB WD Black in Raid 0
    MSI GTX 280 OC
    Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit

    Ok fitted my lovely new system together but having some major stability issues. Initially all went well. I left everything at stock and messed around encoding, played some games, ran 3dmark and all was well. Then did some overclocking, and finally got it stable at 4GHz (200*20) and adjusted voltages accordingly. Whilst playing Resident Evil 5 i got a freeze and BSOD. Was Machine Exception something or other. I decided to run prime95 but upon starting the test the system shut down and restarted itself. After a few voltage increases etc it was the same every time. So i decided to load up BIOS defaults and everyting running at stock, RAM even running at slower than default (1333MHz) but the system still can't contend with prime95 or Intel Burn Test. Prime95 does not even last 1 second and the system shuts down and restarts!!!

    You would think that if the issue was heat then it would at least last 10 seconds before dying but the fact it restarts instantly has me baffled. Even at 4GHz my temps seems ok, idle at mid 30's to 40 ish. NB and SB in mid 40's, MB around 26. Playing resident evil 5 also kept all cores in mid 40's only. I really believe I have decent airflow and heat is not the issue.

    First thing I checked was the RAM. Running overnight in memtest produced no errors. I've checked the CPU and it seems to be seated correctly...I don't get high temps so i'm sure it's ok. Feedback from the power supply seems ok as well, all voltages seem to be as per normal. I'm really losing my marbles here. Even with all bios settings at stock i cannot run prime95!! As soon as i start the test the system resets.

    Any info appreciated folks, I really wanna run this mutha at 4ghz or as close to that as possible.

  17. #3242
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    255
    Quote Originally Posted by Salamndar View Post
    Ok here is the maximum I could get from my D0 and the R2E, not as good as I hopped for...


    If I raise Bclk to 211 or 212 the PC would fail linx randomly even when I boost CPU voltage to 1.48 which I don't really like, If I raise the Bclk any more the PC would fail to POST!!!

    Are you in the latest bios (1639)?
    If so, try downclocking your QPI link in bios..That did the trick for me.

  18. #3243
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    642
    No I'm on 1504 !
    intel Core i7 980x, ASUS Rampage III Extreme , Corsair Dominator GT DDR3 2000 CL9 3x4GB , nVidia GTX 680 FTW TriSLI , Auzentech X-Fi HomeTheater HD

  19. #3244
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    381
    fellas how do you down grade your bios I would like to go back to 1504. My video card bugs out past 4.0ghz with 1639 and I need to down grade but cannot remember how.PCIE is at 100 in bios.
    Last edited by trt740; 12-08-2009 at 08:19 PM.
    Processor: Intel 2500K 4.4ghz
    Motherboard:Asus Sabertooth P67
    Cooling: Prolimatech Megahalem 3x120mm fans 2x Icages, 2x92 mm fans, 140mm PSU fan
    Memory: Mushkin Redline (4 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1666 6 8 6 24 t1
    Video Card:Asus Matrix GTX 580 1.5GB
    Harddisk: Wester Digital Black Edition 32MB 7200 RPM 1TB SATA 3.0 ,CAVALIER SE 16MB 640GB SATA 3.0 DRIVE
    CD/DVD Drive: 1 BLACK LG LIGHT-SCRIBE DVD BURNERS
    CRT/LCD Model: BLACK ASUS 25 INCH MONITOR 50000 TO 1 RATIO 1920x 1080P
    Case: Thermaltake Armor Series VA8003BWS Black Full Tower Case solid side panel.
    Sound Card: Sound Blaster Live 24 Bit 7.1
    PSU: Thermaltake Xt 850 watt SLI 140mm silent fan
    Software Windows Vista Ultimate 64

  20. #3245
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    642
    Quote Originally Posted by trt740 View Post
    fellas how do you down grade your bios I would like to go back to 1504. My video card bugs out past 4.0ghz with 1639 and I need to down grade but cannot remember how.PCIE is at 100 in bios.
    If you can't boot into DOS and use old style downgrade then I suggest you do the following :

    1-Log into BIOS and force boot from BIOS 2
    2-Backup BIOS 2 to BIOS 1
    3-force boot with BIOS 1 which well be the same old version of BIOS 2
    4- update BIOS 1 with 1504
    intel Core i7 980x, ASUS Rampage III Extreme , Corsair Dominator GT DDR3 2000 CL9 3x4GB , nVidia GTX 680 FTW TriSLI , Auzentech X-Fi HomeTheater HD

  21. #3246
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    381
    Quote Originally Posted by Salamndar View Post
    If you can't boot into DOS and use old style downgrade then I suggest you do the following :

    1-Log into BIOS and force boot from BIOS 2
    2-Backup BIOS 2 to BIOS 1
    3-force boot with BIOS 1 which well be the same old version of BIOS 2
    4- update BIOS 1 with 1504
    I cannot use that procedure because I accidental copied the 1639 bios to both bios chips. I tried Afudos but the bios won't fit on a floppy and I tried using it with a usb drive that I made it bootable and it says bad file name when I type afudos /ibiosname

    it appears that once I go over 4.0ghz the 1639 bios is over clocking my PCIE slot and effecting my video card. It tried setting the bus manually to 101 but it acts the same as the default 100. My screen goes crazy
    Last edited by trt740; 12-09-2009 at 10:27 AM.
    Processor: Intel 2500K 4.4ghz
    Motherboard:Asus Sabertooth P67
    Cooling: Prolimatech Megahalem 3x120mm fans 2x Icages, 2x92 mm fans, 140mm PSU fan
    Memory: Mushkin Redline (4 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1666 6 8 6 24 t1
    Video Card:Asus Matrix GTX 580 1.5GB
    Harddisk: Wester Digital Black Edition 32MB 7200 RPM 1TB SATA 3.0 ,CAVALIER SE 16MB 640GB SATA 3.0 DRIVE
    CD/DVD Drive: 1 BLACK LG LIGHT-SCRIBE DVD BURNERS
    CRT/LCD Model: BLACK ASUS 25 INCH MONITOR 50000 TO 1 RATIO 1920x 1080P
    Case: Thermaltake Armor Series VA8003BWS Black Full Tower Case solid side panel.
    Sound Card: Sound Blaster Live 24 Bit 7.1
    PSU: Thermaltake Xt 850 watt SLI 140mm silent fan
    Software Windows Vista Ultimate 64

  22. #3247
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    10
    Quote Originally Posted by TheGame View Post
    Validation Link
    Core i7 920 @ 5391.99 MHz @ Air & Ice

    nice chip u got there
    can u post a bios template please?
    seems unbelivable.

    hitting the wall at 230 bclk with my setup

    will get the classified 760 in few days so well c .

  23. #3248
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    381

    how to downgrade a Asus Rampage II bios

    Quote Originally Posted by trt740 View Post
    fellas how do you down grade your bios I would like to go back to 1504. My video card bugs out past 4.0ghz with 1639 and I need to down grade but cannot remember how.PCIE is at 100 in bios.
    Quote Originally Posted by Salamndar View Post
    No I'm on 1504 !
    Quote Originally Posted by trt740 View Post
    I cannot use that procedure because I accidental copied the 1639 bios to both bios chips. I tried Afudos but the bios won't fit on a floppy and I tried using it with a usb drive that I made it bootable and it says bad file name when I type afudos /ibiosname

    it appears that once I go over 4.0ghz the 1639 bios is over clocking my PCIE slot and effecting my video card. It tried setting the bus manually to 101 but it acts the same as the default 100. My screen goes crazy

    Okay I figured it out, after you unzip the file for the flashing tool to down grade your bios, you must renamed it from AFU236U to AFUDOS and then loaded it on a bootable usb drive, or dos will not find it then you use the command
    to flash the bios AFUDOS /iFILENAME.ROM . Then it works like a charm. If you have a 5770 video card it will malfunction bad with 1639 bios, but with the 1504 bios it works great.

    here is a instructional thread to help you downgrade

    http://vip.asus.com/forum/view.aspx?...Language=en-us

    usb drive tool http://www.techpowerup.com/forums/at...7&d=1222699942

    Here's the bootfiles I used
    http://www.4shared.com/file/43544416...FILES.html?s=1 (Extract them, then make a folder called BOOTFILES, stick the extracted files into the folder)

    Plug in the USB drive that you want to use.

    Install and run HP USB Disk Storage Format Tool.
    Select the USB Drive. In the "File system" drop down box, pick FAT32. Tick "Quick Format". Tick "Create a DOS startup disk, using DOS system files located at and click the "..." and direct it to the BOOTFILES folder you made.
    Click start.
    Last edited by trt740; 12-09-2009 at 07:29 PM.
    Processor: Intel 2500K 4.4ghz
    Motherboard:Asus Sabertooth P67
    Cooling: Prolimatech Megahalem 3x120mm fans 2x Icages, 2x92 mm fans, 140mm PSU fan
    Memory: Mushkin Redline (4 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1666 6 8 6 24 t1
    Video Card:Asus Matrix GTX 580 1.5GB
    Harddisk: Wester Digital Black Edition 32MB 7200 RPM 1TB SATA 3.0 ,CAVALIER SE 16MB 640GB SATA 3.0 DRIVE
    CD/DVD Drive: 1 BLACK LG LIGHT-SCRIBE DVD BURNERS
    CRT/LCD Model: BLACK ASUS 25 INCH MONITOR 50000 TO 1 RATIO 1920x 1080P
    Case: Thermaltake Armor Series VA8003BWS Black Full Tower Case solid side panel.
    Sound Card: Sound Blaster Live 24 Bit 7.1
    PSU: Thermaltake Xt 850 watt SLI 140mm silent fan
    Software Windows Vista Ultimate 64

  24. #3249
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    709
    i got new Revision on my new Asus Rampage II extreme i just picked up on my local post office =) and it comes with Bios 1504 to

    REV 1.3

    http://img697.imageshack.us/img697/6829/47g.jpg


    [Core i7 4820K Ivy Bridge-E @4,7Ghz Vcore 1.28v][Asus Rampage Iv Extreme bios 4403][16Gb G-skill Ocz 2133mhz DDR3][Lian Li Pc2120 B, black Case][480Gb OCZ SSD main disk+120Gb ssd game disc][EVGA GTX Titan@900mhz Oc luft ][Os Windows 7][Telia 1000/250Mbits fiber ][24,4TB Lagring] upcoming Intel Haswell-E 8 cores/16 Threads next year Q4 2014 ?

  25. #3250
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Milano - Italy
    Posts
    480
    Quote Originally Posted by PytonOrm View Post
    i got new Revision on my new Asus Rampage II extreme i just picked up on my local post office =) and it comes with Bios 1504 to

    REV 1.3

    http://img697.imageshack.us/img697/6829/47g.jpg


    Enjoy it but keep your eyes on NB and SB temps. Early build of this MB using revision 1.3 of chipset had a fast degradation of these sensors that after few weeks of use started to measure higher and higher values, till the 90° safety prevents to boot the system.

Page 130 of 173 FirstFirst ... 3080120127128129130131132133140 ... LastLast

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •