Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast
Results 26 to 50 of 103

Thread: How it starts....

  1. #26
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Greece
    Posts
    1,702
    It feeds your CPU with as much Vcore as you like, and your VGA core with as much Vgpu as you want
    The main differences are : Voltage feeding is done externally with that maximizer, and that voltages provided are rock-stable

    Therefore, overall, we 're talking about major ass kicking !

  2. #27
    Xtreme Legend
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    17,468
    meh nothing special




















    Team.AU
    Got tube?
    GIGABYTE Australia
    Need a GIGABYTE bios or support?



  3. #28
    Admin
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Hillsboro, OR
    Posts
    5,275
    Quote Originally Posted by clo007 View Post
    So, what exactly does this do?
    It owns the ORB.

  4. #29
    k|ngp|n/Sham my brothers
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Athens---Hellas
    Posts
    5,797
    Quote Originally Posted by dinos22 View Post
    meh nothing special



    Quote Originally Posted by Gautam View Post
    It owns the ORB.
    If everything goes as I have planed them.....

    Quote Originally Posted by clo007 View Post
    So, what exactly does this do? Could you please explain it to me....sorry, fairly no0bish in regards to things like this. Thanks
    As George_o/c described it to you....Plus you don't have any Overvoltage/overcurrent protections and the VGPU/VCore aren't changing with the temperatures.....
    You feed - for example - 1.6VGPU and you HAVE 1.6VGPU with no droops, no matter what....
    You feed - for example - 2.0VCore and you HAVE 2.0VGore with no droops, no matter what....

    P.S. I want to see it working ON the 3 x GTX280s because these VGAs and the 9800GX2s has the purerest VGPU ever.....
    Last edited by hipro5; 12-10-2008 at 10:26 PM.
    INTEL PWA FOR EVER

    Dr. Who my arss...

    .........



  5. #30
    Xtreme Legend
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    17,468
    Quote Originally Posted by hipro5 View Post


    P.S. I want to see it working ON the 3 x GTX280s because these VGAs and the 9800GX2s has the purerest VGPU ever.....
    oh man

    clean power with 1.6V or more on decent cards is going to hit 1300 core probably eek
    but gtx295 is out in january so probably better to concentrate on that heheh
    Team.AU
    Got tube?
    GIGABYTE Australia
    Need a GIGABYTE bios or support?



  6. #31
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Greece
    Posts
    1,702
    Quote Originally Posted by hipro5 View Post
    P.S. I want to see it working ON the 3 x GTX280s because these VGAs and the 9800GX2s has the purerest VGPU ever.....
    Just like dinos said, we 're going to see some nice "core MHz" surprises from nVidia , if you are actually going to do that

    Imagine pure 1.65Vgpu on GTX280 ... I would like to see that one, combined with shamino's golden green beasts (1100 core easily, 1150 still easily, 1150+ ... easy again ) !

  7. #32
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    2,447
    Sweet as hell georgie!!!

    hehe which controller?
    Inductor / mosfet pair good enough for some 40/50A action?

  8. #33
    k|ngp|n/Sham my brothers
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Athens---Hellas
    Posts
    5,797
    Hi there Peter.....

    These Mos-Fets are going to be used (though I can't find them here now so I have ordered them from USA).......I'll use some less powerfull for start.....

    http://www.irf.com/product-info/data...ta/irf1404.pdf

    Controller.........The good old trusty ISL6556 driving two HIP6602 (dual drivers) for the 4 phase Mos-Fets.....
    Last edited by hipro5; 12-11-2008 at 09:32 AM.
    INTEL PWA FOR EVER

    Dr. Who my arss...

    .........



  9. #34
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    8,603
    Whats the cooling solution for the Mos-Fets? Some serious current going to be travelling through them.

  10. #35
    k|ngp|n/Sham my brothers
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Athens---Hellas
    Posts
    5,797
    A heatsink on the back of them screwed with them with sillicon paste...
    If you take a good look at the final PCB, there is a space between the Mos-Fets and the rest switching PSU....This space is for the heatsink....
    Though you will see tomorrow some photos of the final constraction ready to rock n' roll........
    INTEL PWA FOR EVER

    Dr. Who my arss...

    .........



  11. #36
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Greece
    Posts
    1,702
    Quote Originally Posted by hipro5 View Post
    Though you will see tomorrow some photos of the final constraction ready to rock n' roll........

  12. #37
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    2,447
    Quote Originally Posted by hipro5 View Post
    Hi there Peter.....

    These Mos-Fets are going to be used (though I can't find them here now so I have ordered them from USA).......I'll use some less powerfull for start.....

    http://www.irf.com/product-info/data...ta/irf1404.pdf

    Controller.........The good old trusty ISL6556 driving two HIP6602 (dual drivers) for the 4 phase Mos-Fets.....
    hehe i'll email you some good options tomorow, more expandability, UPi, of course Volterra, etc, some nice mosfets too.

  13. #38
    this is what all extreme clockers looking for hipro, you are the best
    Quote Originally Posted by LardArse View Post
    i think you are asking the wrong person about safety limits, but

  14. #39
    Champion
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    lab501.ro
    Posts
    1,080
    Awesome stuff George !

    What's the swithching frequency (or the value of R23 for that matter) ? Also, can you by any chance put an oscilloscope image with the voltage as close to the GPU as possible ? I'm damn curious how the transients will look.

  15. #40
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    494
    Quote Originally Posted by George_o/c View Post
    It feeds your CPU with as much Vcore as you like, and your VGA core with as much Vgpu as you want
    The main differences are : Voltage feeding is done externally with that maximizer, and that voltages provided are rock-stable

    Therefore, overall, we 're talking about major ass kicking !
    Quote Originally Posted by hipro5 View Post





    If everything goes as I have planed them.....



    As George_o/c described it to you....Plus you don't have any Overvoltage/overcurrent protections and the VGPU/VCore aren't changing with the temperatures.....
    You feed - for example - 1.6VGPU and you HAVE 1.6VGPU with no droops, no matter what....
    You feed - for example - 2.0VCore and you HAVE 2.0VGore with no droops, no matter what....

    P.S. I want to see it working ON the 3 x GTX280s because these VGAs and the 9800GX2s has the purerest VGPU ever.....

    Thanks for explaining guys. It helps to see why this is such a great thing, let alone being made by yourself.
    Gaming/Rendering rig:
    eVGA X58 Tri-SLI
    Intel i7-970 w/ Corsair H100
    24gigs Corsair 2000s
    eVGA GTX580 3GB
    Too many HDD's
    LG Blu-ray player
    Corsair hx1050 psu
    Corsair 800D case

  16. #41
    k|ngp|n/Sham my brothers
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Athens---Hellas
    Posts
    5,797
    Quote Originally Posted by hiwa View Post
    this is what all extreme clockers looking for hipro, you are the best
    Thanks M8......

    Quote Originally Posted by LardArse View Post
    hehe i'll email you some good options tomorow, more expandability, UPi, of course Volterra, etc, some nice mosfets too.
    Thanks for e-mailing me my friend...... .....BUT I cannot make a PCB by my own AND solder BGA ballbearing ICs.......

    Quote Originally Posted by Micutzu View Post
    Awesome stuff George !

    What's the swithching frequency (or the value of R23 for that matter) ? Also, can you by any chance put an oscilloscope image with the voltage as close to the GPU as possible ? I'm damn curious how the transients will look.
    I'll test it from 150KHz up to 1 - 1.2MHz to see how it does....
    Yes sure...I'll test it and I'll upload photos...
    P.S. R25 is the "setting frequency resistor" in my design....It's ~150KOhms for 200KHz, 100KOhms for 300KHz and so on.....


    BTW, here's the PCB of it.....NOT that good cuz I was in a hurry......
    Attached Images Attached Images
    INTEL PWA FOR EVER

    Dr. Who my arss...

    .........



  17. #42
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    1,545
    Wow, this looks awesome.

    I can't wait to see pictures of the completed device in action.
    Sandy Bridge Build:
    • Intel Core i5-2500K at 4.0GHz (Corsair H80)
    • PNY NVIDIA GTX 570 1280MB
    • Mushkin Silverline 8GB (2x4GB) DDR3 1333 RAM
    • OCZ Vertex 60GB & WD Caviar Black 1.5TB HDD
    • 1920x1080 21.5" IPS display (LG IPS226V)
    • MSI P67A-G45 B3 Motherboard
    • Corsair Professional Series HX650W 650W PSU
    • Fractal Design Define R3 (Silver Arrow)

    HP Envy 14:
    • Intel Core i5-450M at 2.4GHz
    • ATI Mobility Radeon 5650 1GB & Intel GMA
    • 4GB (2x2GB) DDR3 1066 RAM
    • Seagate Momentus 500GB 7200RPM HDD
    • 1600x900 14.5" display

  18. #43
    Banned
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    vermont, yes i like women
    Posts
    1,321
    wow thi is nice! something likie this should be available to people, very nice hipro.

  19. #44
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    2,447
    heheh when's the Hiprotech mobo coming out?? I want one!

  20. #45
    k|ngp|n/Sham my brothers
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Athens---Hellas
    Posts
    5,797
    Quote Originally Posted by LardArse View Post
    heheh when's the Hiprotech mobo coming out?? I want one!


    Almost finished soldering......
    I'll put the Mos-Fets on and I'll power up this thing......
    INTEL PWA FOR EVER

    Dr. Who my arss...

    .........



  21. #46
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Somewhere on earth between Taipei, Paris and Montreal
    Posts
    1,194
    Hipro... what ? another smoking feature ?

    Anyway, this gonna be very interesting... in use... in your hand !
    Hav fun bro
    Overclocking-TV Staff
    Quote Originally Posted by hipro5 View Post
    Ha, ha, ha.....NO WAY.....When I show someone preparing to take a shot, I hided the cigarette....

  22. #47
    k|ngp|n/Sham my brothers
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Athens---Hellas
    Posts
    5,797
    It's ready for testing...
    I would have finished it yesterday but I had some job to do that couldn't wait so I left it for today....

    Thanks Trouff......
    Attached Images Attached Images
    INTEL PWA FOR EVER

    Dr. Who my arss...

    .........



  23. #48
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    33
    how did you make the pcb?
    Excellent!

  24. #49
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Poland / Rypin
    Posts
    865


    hipro, when we can see this ina action ?

    Schedule of Live Extreme Overclocking - info Thread

    Quote Originally Posted by K404 View Post
    "My Backup is bigger than Your Backup"

  25. #50
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    47
    This is utterly astonishing. Far beyond what many of us can imagine never mind accomplish. I hope this works as well as you hope. It will be encouraging to see what a Mortal can create and do to improve upon what we all accept as being pretty technical to begin with.

    Currently running an ES Black Ops with a Qx9650 under SS, and a variety of Crossfire combos, and a Biostar Tpower i45 with an E8500 (air) and a variety of Crossfire combos. Both with 2x1gb of Ballistix (DDR2/3 PC2/3 8500) FSP 350w/ Galaxy DXX 1000w PSU's.

Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •