Page 28 of 185 FirstFirst ... 18252627282930313878128 ... LastLast
Results 676 to 700 of 4616

Thread: Gigabyte EX58-UD5/Extreme Discussion Thread

  1. #676
    Xtreme Guru
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Burbank, CA
    Posts
    3,808
    Anyone know the change log for F4R???

  2. #677
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    1,938
    Quote Originally Posted by GAR View Post
    Anyone know the change log for F4R???
    I'm guessing it's what was posted at TT.

    Most problem is VT function, some guys can't run VMWARE when turn on VT
    of i7, F4m is fixed this, also this bios improve some other oc and warning page
    or multiplier reset when xmp work.
    That was posted under the F4R and F4M update.
    GB 790XTA UD4
    GSkill Pi Black 2000 Cas9
    ASUS 4870
    Enermax Revolution 1050+





    http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=67661

  3. #678
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    119
    F4R seems ok
    how running @201 x 20 plus tubo enable(21 x 200) Ht disable
    change water block to ek supreme
    got fedup waiting for d tek to produce 1355 mounting kit

    temps ide 39 - 40
    Last edited by beast200; 12-19-2008 at 02:15 AM.
    Coolermaster 700D
    Water cooled CPU & graphic card
    Thermocill 320 & 240 Rad , DDC ultra pump
    I5 2500K L046B582 @4.8
    asrock Z77 Extreme 6
    4 gig Ripsaw 1600
    Corsair C300 128 SSD Boot Drive
    Samsung F3 1TG
    5870 W/C @ 1000 & 1250

  4. #679
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    1,938
    Quote Originally Posted by beast200 View Post
    F4R seems ok
    how running @201 x 20 plus tubo enable Ht disable
    change water block to ek supreme
    got fedup waiting for d tek to produce 1355 mounting kit

    temps ide 39 - 40
    man these water cooling companies really the bed with the 1366 introduction.

    I just ordered the GTZ and the bracket is $13 bones extra. Pitiful.

    What are you're loads like? BobbyLite modified his dtek with the pro-mount and it works extremely well.
    GB 790XTA UD4
    GSkill Pi Black 2000 Cas9
    ASUS 4870
    Enermax Revolution 1050+





    http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=67661

  5. #680
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    1,440
    Quote Originally Posted by Lukee View Post
    You know you can type in the number instead of scrolling, right? Well, at least it worked with F4j.
    4 weeks later, ?30 bios resets clearing cmos/bios trials ....no, I didn't know, thanks for telling me. Just tried it, works for VTT and other volts too...guess I should apologize to all GB bios writers for all the non-abridged dictionary words I thought about them while endlessly scrolling in their bios.

  6. #681
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    270
    Quote Originally Posted by rge View Post
    4 weeks later, ?30 bios resets clearing cmos/bios trials ....no, I didn't know, thanks for telling me. Just tried it, works for VTT and other volts too...guess I should apologize to all GB bios writers for all the non-abridged dictionary words I thought about them while endlessly scrolling in their bios.
    Hehe.. My old P45 board allowed entry. I was used to it and tried it when I first got this board. Yeah, the scrolling does suck.

  7. #682
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Lost and Confused in the City of Rain
    Posts
    293
    Quote Originally Posted by ReverendMaynard View Post
    I'm guessing it's what was posted at TT.



    That was posted under the F4R and F4M update.

    I updated to F4R. I am running memtest right now for 12gb of ram at 1600mhz using a XMP profile. I seem to be having no problems like I did with the other bios.

  8. #683
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    1,084
    Looks like i've finally run into this multiple-multi's problem some of you are having. I was trying to find my memory's max stable overclock, and i started with 206bclk x8 (1648) with 18x QPI (3708) and 16x unc (3296), which was stable.

    I decided it would be easier to instead reduce bclk and use the 10x memory multi. This of course means using the 20x uncore multi, which is no problem however with the lower bclk. I went for 165bclk, giving 2970 QPI and 3300 unc. I could not get windows to boot

    Running QPI below the uncore clock can't be a problem, because i have run 222bclk with uncore @ 17x and QPI in 'slow mode' which takes it right down to 100mhz~ range, and it was stable. The uncore clock on that setting was 3774, so with only 3300 on the setting above that can't be the problem either.

    CPU is lowered all the way, QPI volts are high enough for higher stable clocks than this (previously tested), any suggestions?
    TJ07 | Corsair HX1000W | Gigabyte EX58 Extreme | i7 930 @ 4ghz | Ek Supreme | Thermochill PA 120.3 | Laing DDC 12v w/ mod plexi top | 3x2gb Corsair 1600mhz | GTX 680 | Raid 0 300gb Velociraptor x 2 | Razer Lachesis & Lycosa | Win7 HP x64 | fluffy dice.

  9. #684
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    1,491
    I had that same issue yesterday Xello, only worse, mine wouldn't even post when I did that.
    RIG 1 (in progress):
    Core i7 920 @ 3GHz 1.17v (WIP) / EVGA X58 Classified 3X SLI / Crucial D9JNL 3x2GB @ 1430 7-7-7-20 1T 1.65v
    Corsair HX1000 / EVGA GTX 295 SLI / X-FI Titanium FATAL1TY Pro / Samsung SyncMaster 245b 24" / MM H2GO
    2x X25-M 80GB (RAID0) + Caviar 500 GB / Windows 7 Ultimate x64 RC1 Build 7100

    RIG 2:
    E4500 @ 3.0 / Asus P5Q / 4x1 GB DDR2-667
    CoolerMaster Extreme Power / BFG 9800 GT OC / LG 22"
    Antec Ninehundred / Onboard Sound / TRUE / Vista 32

  10. #685
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    139
    I second the vdroop issue. I wish they would make vcore bios = vcore idle = vcore load.
    This is a common mistake. Vcore bios=Vcore idle (Vdrop) is a good thing, ok. But Intel specification claiming that the Vcore idle is bigger than the load (Vdroop), for safe run of the chip. I seem to remember that AnandTech strongly discouraged in an article using loadlines in 45nm dual o quads cores, i.e. It´s an ideal exact amount of Vdroop, but not 0. Vdrop=0 is ok.
    Already with my new EX58, with all his capacitors in his right place
    Last edited by vega22; 12-18-2008 at 01:56 PM.
    DFI UT x58/i7 940
    TRUE Black + 2 Scythe s-flex PushPull
    Dominator GT 3x2Gb 2000 CL8 @ 1600 CL6
    XFX GTX280 XXX
    Velociraptor 150 Raid0 - Seagate 500 Raid1
    Corsair Hx1000
    Lian-Li PC-A77 Mod
    **Sorry by my Spanglish**

  11. #686
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    1,084
    Quote Originally Posted by vega22 View Post
    I seem to remember that AnandTech strongly discouraged in an article using loadlines in 45nm dual o quads cores
    With the loadline off i get nearly a whole .1v vdroop, it's not usable for any kind of decent OC
    TJ07 | Corsair HX1000W | Gigabyte EX58 Extreme | i7 930 @ 4ghz | Ek Supreme | Thermochill PA 120.3 | Laing DDC 12v w/ mod plexi top | 3x2gb Corsair 1600mhz | GTX 680 | Raid 0 300gb Velociraptor x 2 | Razer Lachesis & Lycosa | Win7 HP x64 | fluffy dice.

  12. #687
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    139
    .1v vdroop is NOT a ideal amount
    EDIT: ...or yes?
    Last edited by vega22; 12-18-2008 at 03:31 PM.
    DFI UT x58/i7 940
    TRUE Black + 2 Scythe s-flex PushPull
    Dominator GT 3x2Gb 2000 CL8 @ 1600 CL6
    XFX GTX280 XXX
    Velociraptor 150 Raid0 - Seagate 500 Raid1
    Corsair Hx1000
    Lian-Li PC-A77 Mod
    **Sorry by my Spanglish**

  13. #688
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    1,440
    Quote Originally Posted by vega22 View Post
    This is a common mistake. Vcore bios=Vcore idle (Vdrop) is a good thing, ok. But Intel specification claiming that the Vcore idle is bigger than the load (Vdroop), for safe run of the chip. I seem to remember that AnandTech strongly discouraged in an article using loadlines in 45nm dual o quads cores, i.e. It´s an ideal exact amount of Vdroop, but not 0. Vdrop=0 is ok.
    Already with my new EX58, with all his capacitors in his right place
    Actually if you read the entire article, including the cartoonish waveforms which are proof of nothing, the whole point of even that article is overshoot volts. If I set bios to 1.4, and vdrop is to 1.35 idle, and vdroop is to 1.3v load, then providing mobo manufacturer followed intel specs, overshoot spikes are to 1.4 (bios setting) or .1v.

    Now if I use loadline enabled, and set bios to 1.35 and idle is 1.33 and load is 1.3, the overshoot from same load is still going to be .1v or to 1.4v from 1.3. As long as you can do the simple math and not fool yourself into thinking the overshoots are not there...LLC by itself is not going to kill anything. But if you are using 1.5LLC vcore with overshoots to 1.65V thinking it is same as setting 1.5 bios without LLC, then you have a problem.

    According to the anandtech article the above is correct in terms of overshoot volts. There conclusion based on 1 mobo, 1 older vrm circuit that volts were more erratic b/c overclock needed little more vcore, is not going to persuade me of anything. 50 mobos and take an average with 50-100K multi capable of accurately measuring waveforms and detecting slight volt differences, and we will talk. But even then, I can tell you on my mobo, LLC makes it easier not more difficult to OC, so I have different experience than them.

    All of which is irrelevant anyways. Until real world experience shows me that vcore I am using with LLC enabled is harming my chips, I will continue to do so.

    As an aside feeding a loaded chip less volts than unloaded is idiotic. It is simply cheaper to implement that piss poor strategy via circuitry than better much more expensive one of designing circuitry with less overshoot. But as long as I can add and subtract, I will be using LLC.

  14. #689
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    1,938
    Quote Originally Posted by rge View Post
    Actually if you read the entire article, including the cartoonish waveforms which are proof of nothing, the whole point of even that article is overshoot volts. If I set bios to 1.4, and vdrop is to 1.35 idle, and vdroop is to 1.3v load, then providing mobo manufacturer followed intel specs, overshoot spikes are to 1.4 (bios setting) or .1v.

    Now if I use loadline enabled, and set bios to 1.35 and idle is 1.33 and load is 1.3, the overshoot from same load is still going to be .1v or to 1.4v from 1.3. As long as you can do the simple math and not fool yourself into thinking the overshoots are not there...LLC by itself is not going to kill anything. But if you are using 1.5LLC vcore with overshoots to 1.65V thinking it is same as setting 1.5 bios without LLC, then you have a problem.

    According to the anandtech article the above is correct in terms of overshoot volts. There conclusion based on 1 mobo, 1 older vrm circuit that volts were more erratic b/c overclock needed little more vcore, is not going to persuade me of anything. 50 mobos and take an average with 50-100K multi capable of accurately measuring waveforms and detecting slight volt differences, and we will talk. But even then, I can tell you on my mobo, LLC makes it easier not more difficult to OC, so I have different experience than them.

    All of which is irrelevant anyways. Until real world experience shows me that vcore I am using with LLC enabled is harming my chips, I will continue to do so.

    As an aside feeding a loaded chip less volts than unloaded is idiotic. It is simply cheaper to implement that piss poor strategy via circuitry than better much more expensive one of designing circuitry with less overshoot. But as long as I can add and subtract, I will be using LLC.
    I like your style rge.

    Cheers
    GB 790XTA UD4
    GSkill Pi Black 2000 Cas9
    ASUS 4870
    Enermax Revolution 1050+





    http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=67661

  15. #690
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    139
    From Intel Specifications for 775. Only to illustrate the chat:
    DFI UT x58/i7 940
    TRUE Black + 2 Scythe s-flex PushPull
    Dominator GT 3x2Gb 2000 CL8 @ 1600 CL6
    XFX GTX280 XXX
    Velociraptor 150 Raid0 - Seagate 500 Raid1
    Corsair Hx1000
    Lian-Li PC-A77 Mod
    **Sorry by my Spanglish**

  16. #691
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    TAIWAN
    Posts
    1,256
    Quote Originally Posted by Xello View Post
    With the loadline off i get nearly a whole .1v vdroop, it's not usable for any kind of decent OC
    for vdrooping is very painful for this motherboard. here is the pencil-mod
    can fix vdrooping. hope this can help you to oc. i duno if someone already post this.

    hicookie

    vdrooping pencil-mod for GA-EX58 series.

  17. #692
    Only Extreme Need Apply
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    689
    i'm on f4r guys. flashed from f4f.

    quite the same actually. performance wise.

    wont post results till i max it. so far my chip is 5ghz 3dm06 but the score is a little low for my liking
    Last edited by NightRaven; 12-18-2008 at 10:45 PM.
    Buildin

  18. #693
    Back from the Dead
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Stuttgart, Germany
    Posts
    6,598
    Mh yeah, the Vcore does fluctuate a bit.. undervolting is quite annoying, Vdroop with LLC is quite ok.
    Still too much if you come from a DFI that does bios=idle=load if you want it to.. or even better, works with EIST at any overclock so you actually get considerably lower idle Vcore. Hope they hurry the f up with the mobo.. my 965 is waiting :>
    World Community Grid - come join a great team and help us fight for a better tomorrow![size=1]


  19. #694
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    1,084
    Can't believe i forgot about EIST, i'll be using that so i won't actually have to deal with the 1.47v at idle.
    TJ07 | Corsair HX1000W | Gigabyte EX58 Extreme | i7 930 @ 4ghz | Ek Supreme | Thermochill PA 120.3 | Laing DDC 12v w/ mod plexi top | 3x2gb Corsair 1600mhz | GTX 680 | Raid 0 300gb Velociraptor x 2 | Razer Lachesis & Lycosa | Win7 HP x64 | fluffy dice.

  20. #695
    Xtreme Mentor stasio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Malaysia
    Posts
    3,032
    GA-EX58 series all(6) models:
    GA-EX58-EXTREME
    GA-EX58-UD5
    GA-EX58-UD4P
    GA-EX58-UD4
    GA-EX58-UD3R
    GA-EX58-DS4
    Need a Gigabyte latest BIOS?
    Z370 AORUS Gaming 7,
    GA-Z97X-SOC Force ,Core i7-4790K @ 4.9 GHz
    GA-Z87X-UD3H ,Core i7-4770K @ 4.65 GHz
    G.Skill F3-2933C12D-8GTXDG @ 3100 (12-15-14-35-CR1) @1.66V
    2xSSD Corsair Force GS 128 (RAID 0), WD Caviar Black SATA3 1TB HDD,
    Evga GTS 450 SC, Gigabyte Superb 720W
    XSPC RayStorm D5 EX240 (Liquid Ultra)
    NZXT Phantom 630 Ultra Tower
    Win 7 SP1 x64;Win 10 x64

  21. #696
    Back from the Dead
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Stuttgart, Germany
    Posts
    6,598
    Quote Originally Posted by Xello View Post
    Can't believe i forgot about EIST, i'll be using that so i won't actually have to deal with the 1.47v at idle.
    Well EIST doesn't work when you set Vcore manually. Only DFI and Abit can/could do it.. no Asus no Gigabyte. They will never learn I fear...
    World Community Grid - come join a great team and help us fight for a better tomorrow![size=1]


  22. #697
    Xtreme Legend
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    17,468
    Quote Originally Posted by hicookie View Post
    for vdrooping is very painful for this motherboard. here is the pencil-mod
    can fix vdrooping. hope this can help you to oc. i duno if someone already post this.

    hicookie

    vdrooping pencil-mod for GA-EX58 series.
    nice shot
    did you take it eek
    Team.AU
    Got tube?
    GIGABYTE Australia
    Need a GIGABYTE bios or support?



  23. #698
    Xtreme Legend
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    17,468
    hmmmm

    just testing the i7 965 chip in my UD5 on F4f and the RAM seems to clock a bit higher than with 920

    just trying to get 1100MHz 8-9-8-20-1T stable atm

    [nah still no good will try the new bios] 1080 Max so far
    Last edited by dinos22; 12-19-2008 at 02:01 AM.
    Team.AU
    Got tube?
    GIGABYTE Australia
    Need a GIGABYTE bios or support?



  24. #699
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    (Pisa) Italy
    Posts
    50
    There is very much confusion with the bios some gigabyte ex58 extreme! But the good one is the 4l or the 4m? Thanks! Excuse my English.
    MY System
    M.B Asus P8P67 Deluxe
    Ram G.Skill 2133 CL8
    Cpu Intel Core i7 2600k
    Psu Cooler Master Silent Pro Gold 800
    Vga Zotac GTX 480
    HD 2x Ocz Vertex 2 E Raid 0

  25. #700
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    1,084
    Quote Originally Posted by jcool View Post
    Well EIST doesn't work when you set Vcore manually. Only DFI and Abit can/could do it.. no Asus no Gigabyte. They will never learn I fear...
    Huh? It was working fine at stock before i started tweaking i'm sure.. Will test later.
    TJ07 | Corsair HX1000W | Gigabyte EX58 Extreme | i7 930 @ 4ghz | Ek Supreme | Thermochill PA 120.3 | Laing DDC 12v w/ mod plexi top | 3x2gb Corsair 1600mhz | GTX 680 | Raid 0 300gb Velociraptor x 2 | Razer Lachesis & Lycosa | Win7 HP x64 | fluffy dice.

Page 28 of 185 FirstFirst ... 18252627282930313878128 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •