Swiftech
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Argh... Its raining atikmdag errors in 8.10 for me on IGP

  1. #1
    Xtreme Enthusiast nanohead's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    New Jersey, Center of the Universe
    Posts
    676

    Argh... Its raining atikmdag errors in 8.10 for me on IGP

    OK boys and girls, don't know if this is happening to anyone else.... But

    I have several systems, moved 3 of them to 8.10, and 2 of them are having zillions of atikmdag errors in the log file. On my big 4870 Crossfire rig, no issues, but on both the 790GX and 780G systems, I'm having terrible hangs and performance problems since upgrade (?), crashing and hanging, a general weirdness. It seems peculiar to the IGP systems and 8.10. My wifes machine is 780G but still on 8.9, and the big gamer is 8.10 but no IGP (790FX/SB750) and neither is having issues. Dunno...

    The 790GX system is a fresh install, and its happening there too!

    Anyone else seeing this?
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by nanohead; 10-25-2008 at 07:02 AM.
    Asus M3A79-T W/ PII 720@3.6Ghz DTek Fuzion Water Block
    Raptor X 150G Boot Device & 3 X WD 500GB in RAID 5 Load Device
    8G OCZ Reaper @1066
    2xVisiontek 4870 Xfire @790/1080Mhz w/XPSC Water Blocks
    Razer Barracuda Sound System
    Windows Vista 64 Bit SP1
    LG 24" 1920X1200

  2. #2
    Xtreme Member AMDDeathstar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Edmonton,Alberta
    Posts
    182
    DriveSweeper cure that's

  3. #3
    Xtreme Enthusiast nanohead's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    New Jersey, Center of the Universe
    Posts
    676
    Quote Originally Posted by AMDDeathstar View Post
    DriveSweeper cure that's
    Thanks for responding

    ? You talkin about Driver Sweeper? These errors are happening on fresh installs too.
    Last edited by nanohead; 10-25-2008 at 07:01 AM.
    Asus M3A79-T W/ PII 720@3.6Ghz DTek Fuzion Water Block
    Raptor X 150G Boot Device & 3 X WD 500GB in RAID 5 Load Device
    8G OCZ Reaper @1066
    2xVisiontek 4870 Xfire @790/1080Mhz w/XPSC Water Blocks
    Razer Barracuda Sound System
    Windows Vista 64 Bit SP1
    LG 24" 1920X1200

  4. #4
    Xtreme Member AMDDeathstar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Edmonton,Alberta
    Posts
    182
    Sorry I just got home from work and my brain isn't back to full function yet
    I had that problem 8.9
    I was running my 4870's on 780gx (M3A78-T) board
    I was rushing the fresh install and didn't do two things
    one was disable the IGP
    second was use the drivers on the supplied disk for the board
    when I reinstalled Cat 8.9 the problem went away

    I missed the fresh install part the first time I read it
    sorry about that
    I've had that problem with installing one Cat on top of another that's why I said Drive Sweeper

  5. #5
    Xtreme Enthusiast nanohead's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    New Jersey, Center of the Universe
    Posts
    676
    Ahh, thanks.

    These errors are happening on a Gigabyte 790GX using the IGP embedded Radeon 3300, and are also happening on a Gigabyte 780G with a Radeon 4850 in it too. Makes no sense to me.... I never had problems with either using 8.9. Maybe I'll revert back. I'm stumped
    Asus M3A79-T W/ PII 720@3.6Ghz DTek Fuzion Water Block
    Raptor X 150G Boot Device & 3 X WD 500GB in RAID 5 Load Device
    8G OCZ Reaper @1066
    2xVisiontek 4870 Xfire @790/1080Mhz w/XPSC Water Blocks
    Razer Barracuda Sound System
    Windows Vista 64 Bit SP1
    LG 24" 1920X1200

  6. #6
    Xtreme Member AMDDeathstar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Edmonton,Alberta
    Posts
    182
    I was just at Hardware Canucks and found this thread
    http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...esponding.html
    your not the only one having problems atikmdag

  7. #7
    Xtreme Enthusiast nanohead's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    New Jersey, Center of the Universe
    Posts
    676
    Quote Originally Posted by AMDDeathstar View Post
    I was just at Hardware Canucks and found this thread
    http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...esponding.html
    your not the only one having problems atikmdag
    Hey.. thanks !!!

    Yeah, those guys over there seem to be getting game related errors. Mine just humps itself sitting idling.. no explanation

    I was experimenting this morning, and I did something totally random, and the errors seemed to stop reproducing in the event log. Not sure if it actually fixed it, nor why....

    Believe it or not, I installed the Realtek HD audio drivers that also include the ATI HDMI audio, and there hasn't been an error since. I dunno, but I might try it on my other machine that is having issues. Its too weird when random things fix random problems.

    I think I saw bigfoot this morning speaking with elvis, while stepping off a spaceship from their latest alien abduction. Makes about as much sense as my random errors
    Asus M3A79-T W/ PII 720@3.6Ghz DTek Fuzion Water Block
    Raptor X 150G Boot Device & 3 X WD 500GB in RAID 5 Load Device
    8G OCZ Reaper @1066
    2xVisiontek 4870 Xfire @790/1080Mhz w/XPSC Water Blocks
    Razer Barracuda Sound System
    Windows Vista 64 Bit SP1
    LG 24" 1920X1200

  8. #8
    Xtreme Member AMDDeathstar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Edmonton,Alberta
    Posts
    182
    Quote Originally Posted by nanohead View Post
    Hey.. thanks !!!

    Yeah, those guys over there seem to be getting game related errors. Mine just humps itself sitting idling.. no explanation

    I was experimenting this morning, and I did something totally random, and the errors seemed to stop reproducing in the event log. Not sure if it actually fixed it, nor why....

    Believe it or not, I installed the Realtek HD audio drivers that also include the ATI HDMI audio, and there hasn't been an error since. I dunno, but I might try it on my other machine that is having issues. Its too weird when random things fix random problems.

    I think I saw bigfoot this morning speaking with elvis, while stepping off a spaceship from their latest alien abduction. Makes about as much sense as my random errors

    Hope things work with the second machine
    Last edited by AMDDeathstar; 10-25-2008 at 10:03 AM.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •