Page 1 of 298 12341151101 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 7441

Thread: ** Official ** Gigabyte UD3 P45 Series -- EP45-UD3 / EP45-UD3R / EP45-UD3P

  1. #1
    Xtreme Member marmott's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    France
    Posts
    157

    ** Official ** Gigabyte UD3 P45 Series -- EP45-UD3 / EP45-UD3R / EP45-UD3P

    This thread is all about the Gigabyte UD3 motherboard with the Intel P45 northbridge.

    1- Models

    GA-EP45-UD3

    view specification


    GA-EP45-UD3R

    view specification


    GA-EP45-UD3P

    view specification


    2- Differences between models




    3- What is UD3 ?

    UD3 stands for Ultra Durable 3 and is the association of 4 different items :



    2 oz copper PCB :

    Gigabyte has increase the amount of copper in the layers of the PCB (1 oz > 2 oz), the result is a better spreading of the heat around the critical areas of the mother board (50°C cooler mesured by Gigabyte).


    more informations here


    Japanese solid capacitors :

    All the Gigabyte UD3 motherboards are equipped with Japanese solid capacitors. These capacitors have an average lifespan of 50,000 hours.


    more informations here


    Lower RDS on mosfet :

    Gigabyte uses on the UD3 motherboards Lower RDS mosfets, they provide a lower power consumption and a faster switching process.


    more informations here


    Ferrite Core Choke :

    Gigabyte choose to use Ferrite choke against Iron choke because of the lower EMI interference produced and the better resistance compare ti Iron choke.


    more information here
    Last edited by marmott; 10-18-2008 at 06:35 PM.

  2. #2
    Xtreme Member marmott's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    France
    Posts
    157
    4- Tests, articles

    GA-EP45-UD3

    - CPU3D.com

    GA-EP45-UD3R

    - Bit-Tech

    GA-EP45-UD3P

    - Techgage

    - Motherboards.org

    - TweakTown

    - 59Hardware (French)

    - GinjFo (French)
    Last edited by marmott; 02-13-2009 at 03:27 PM.

  3. #3
    Xtreme Member marmott's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    France
    Posts
    157
    5- Downloads

    GA-EP45-UD3

    Bios: on the GA website (latest bios = F4)

    Utility: Easy Tune 6 & Dynamic Energy Saver Advanced on the GA website

    Driver: for Audio, Chipset, Lan on the GA website

    GA-EP45-UD3R

    Bios: on the GA website (latest bios = F4)

    Utility:
    Easy Tune 6 & Dynamic Energy Saver Advanced on the GA website

    Driver: for Audio, Chipset, Lan on the GA website

    GA-EP45-UD3P

    Bios:
    on the GA website (latest bios = F5)

    Utility: Easy Tune 6 & Dynamic Energy Saver Advanced on the GA website

    Driver: for Audio, Chipset, Lan on the GA website


    6- Useful informations

    GA-EP45-UD3

    Manual: on the GA website

    CPU support list: on the GA website

    Memory support list: on the GA website

    Prices in comparator (smallest price):
    North America, UK (92,47£), Germany (116,50€), France (107,50€)

    GA-EP45-UD3R

    Manual: on the GA website

    CPU support list: on the GA website

    Memory support list: on the GA website

    Prices in comparator (smallest price): North America, UK (100,17£), Germany (126,30€), France (122,49€)

    GA-EP45-UD3P

    Manual: on the GA website

    CPU support list: on the GA website

    Memory support list: on the GA website

    Prices in comparator (smallest price): North America, UK (112,527£), Germany (134,90€), France (137,50€)
    Last edited by marmott; 11-05-2008 at 04:56 PM.

  4. #4
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    New York City
    Posts
    158
    What do you guys make of this with LLC enabled on the UD3P. No upward spikes and long periods of stable volts. Look at the downward spikes, including one below 0.8v: How didn't the machine crash? It would seem impossible to me that it could run and finish the bench yet it did.

    Last edited by zodden; 10-18-2008 at 08:18 PM.
    2500k @ 4.8 Ghz
    Asus Sabertooth P67 (1502)
    G.Skill Ripjaws 1600 DDR3 8GB
    OCZ ZX Series OCZ-ZX1250W PS
    PowerColor 4870x2
    Crucial C300 SSD 128GB
    150GB Western Digital Raptor
    Westinghouse LVM-37w3 1080p Monitor
    Win 7 Ultimate



    Cooling: CPU-H70 with 2 San Ace 120x38mm fans+4Scythe S-FLEX SFF21F 120mm, Sunbeam Fan Control, Silverstone TJ09 case.

  5. #5
    Registered User v3rax's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    60

    Thumbs up

    I am happy that you started this thread because I just got this board and an E8400.

    My first experiences with OC have resulted in a 3.8 OC thus far.

    I know it is capable of going higher, but I am kind of new to overclocking and especially this BIOS.

    If anyone out there has began using this board and have been overclocking, I would sure appreciate some pointers on BIOS settings in order to go higher than 3.8.

    The area of the BIOS that is used for OC has some things I am not familiar with and I am sure there are combos/settings that will allow me to go higher.

    I can't wait to see some more info start showing up on this thread, this is an AWESOME board.
    Gigabyte MA790X-UD4
    Phenom II 940 @ 3.5ghz
    4gb Mushkin 1066
    MSI HD 4870 1mb
    1 WD Velociraptor
    1 Seagate 7200.10 320gb
    1 Seagate 7200.10 250gb
    Asus DVD Burner
    8 120mm Case Fans

  6. #6
    Xtreme Guru
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Burbank, CA
    Posts
    3,808
    I had trouble getting prime blend to pass at 475, but 450 seems solid.

  7. #7
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    23
    It's interesting Gigabyte chose to produce these boards.
    Marketing or are the original p45's flawed? I was going to buy the GA-EP45-DS3 and now a board with exactly the same features almost gets released but has UD on the end of it. (GA-EP45-UD3) - The layouts are different.
    Confused .... regarding the base model anyway.

  8. #8
    Xtreme Guru RPGWiZaRD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    4,326
    The only reason is the Ultra Durable 3 with 2oz copper layer in the PCB, you really want to choose these over the normal DS3x boards.
    Intel® Core i7-860 @ 4.1 GHz ¦ Gigabyte GA-P55-UD5 ¦ G.Skill Ripjaws 2x2GB @ DDR3-2340 9-10-9-24 ¦ Gigabyte GTX 460 OC 1GB @ 880/1760/2000 MHz ¦ Corsair HX 750W ¦ ViewSonic VX2268wm 120Hz LCD ¦ CoolerMaster Hyper 212 Plus ¦ Audigy 2 ZS w/ kX Audio drivers ¦ Sony MDR-XB500 ¦ Logitech MX-518 ¦ Win 7 x64 Professional ¦ 500GB, 640GB, 750GB & 2x1.5TB

    If all people would share opinions in an objective manner, the world would be a friendlier place

  9. #9
    Xtreme Enthusiast HousERaT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Imladris
    Posts
    979
    So who will be first to post some stable settings for dual and quadcore cpus?
    The little air system that could.


  10. #10
    Registered User v3rax's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    60
    Well, I am running 3.8 stable ATM, but haven't put together documentation. I will try and get that up today, but I am still trying to figure out what some of these new BIOS settings are.

    E8400 @ 3.8 (423x9)
    Gigabyte MA790X-UD4
    Phenom II 940 @ 3.5ghz
    4gb Mushkin 1066
    MSI HD 4870 1mb
    1 WD Velociraptor
    1 Seagate 7200.10 320gb
    1 Seagate 7200.10 250gb
    Asus DVD Burner
    8 120mm Case Fans

  11. #11
    Xtreme Mentor systemviper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    2,785
    The only thing ran was 3D06 , but the board hasn't crashed yet.

    I just popped in my QX6850 an a few tweaks and i was over 500fsb, i have to say that was easy, i can't wait to put my
    Q9650 on it, and maybe even get a E8600 to play with. I also have a great Q6600 i might try to pus on this board,
    I just starting o learn this bios,to see what really can be done.

    CPUz

  12. #12
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    196
    I'm trying to decide between the UD3P and UD3R. I'm not a fan of multiple video cards so I'm looking at the other features. Can anyone explain what 'Ultra TPM' is?
    i5 750 @ 4.2ghz
    EVGA P55 FTW
    8gig G.Skill Ripjaw @ 1055mhz
    Gigabyte 6950 modded
    Seasonic X-650
    Antec P180 modded and watercooled
    Thermochill PA160
    Apogee XT
    MCP350

  13. #13
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    New York City
    Posts
    158
    Are you guys running the latest beta bios?

    Bios F5A

    http://www.savefile.com/files/1844049

    (it was posted in the pre-testing thread a few days ago)

    Something you guys should know. If you have bios profiles saved they will all be deleted when you flash to the new bios. The good news is that there is an option in the new bios (didn't notice it in the original) to save your profiles to a floppy or USB stick. So I guess write down your important settings before you flash to the new beta
    Last edited by zodden; 10-19-2008 at 09:56 AM.
    2500k @ 4.8 Ghz
    Asus Sabertooth P67 (1502)
    G.Skill Ripjaws 1600 DDR3 8GB
    OCZ ZX Series OCZ-ZX1250W PS
    PowerColor 4870x2
    Crucial C300 SSD 128GB
    150GB Western Digital Raptor
    Westinghouse LVM-37w3 1080p Monitor
    Win 7 Ultimate



    Cooling: CPU-H70 with 2 San Ace 120x38mm fans+4Scythe S-FLEX SFF21F 120mm, Sunbeam Fan Control, Silverstone TJ09 case.

  14. #14
    Xtreme Mentor systemviper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    2,785
    Quote Originally Posted by zodden View Post
    Are you guys running the latest beta bios?

    Bios F5A

    http://www.savefile.com/files/1844049

    (it was posted in the pre-testing thread a few days ago)

    Something you guys should know. If you have bios profiles saved they will all be deleted when you flash to the new bios. The good news is that there is an option in the new bios (didn't notice it in the original) to save your profiles to a floppy or USB stick. So I guess write down your important settings before you flash to the new beta

    thanks.... need it

  15. #15
    Xtreme Enthusiast HousERaT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Imladris
    Posts
    979
    any benefits in flashing to the beta bios thus far?
    The little air system that could.


  16. #16
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    23
    Quote Originally Posted by RPGWiZaRD View Post
    The only reason is the Ultra Durable 3 with 2oz copper layer in the PCB, you really want to choose these over the normal DS3x boards.
    Thanks for reply RPG' .. thing is the base model has such minimal heatsink it seems pointless anyway?
    Do any of you guys know if these Boards work with G.Skill memory, also do they have that CrazyCool thing on the back?
    Thanks, Danny.
    Last edited by dannyuk32; 10-19-2008 at 10:49 AM.

  17. #17
    Xtreme Member Peakr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Home of the Sun Devils
    Posts
    361
    Quote Originally Posted by RVWinkle View Post
    I'm trying to decide between the UD3P and UD3R. I'm not a fan of multiple video cards so I'm looking at the other features. Can anyone explain what 'Ultra TPM' is?
    Gigabyte Mainboard Ultra TPM (Trusted Platform Module) B8.0516.1 Windows 2000/XP(x32/x64)/Vista(x32/x64).

    With a Trusted Platform Module (TPM) chip built-in, the GIGABYTE Ultra Secure motherboards provide TPM hardware-based encryption and decryption with digital signature keys to ensure a maximum level of data protection with 2048 bit encryption.

    GIGABTE's Ultra TPM provides an added layer of security by allowing users to store their digital signature key on a USB thumb drive, so that when they step away from their system, they can take the key with them, locking up their data and preventing unauthorized access while they are away. If keys become lost or misplaced, GIGABTE's Ultra TPM gives users the option to pre-save a backup of the key on their BIOS, helping them to quickly access their data and provide effortless data protection.
    i7-3930K
    GA-x79-UD3
    Corsair H100
    4x2GB F3-12800CL6
    X-Fi Xtreme Music
    EVGA GTX 470
    Pioneer BDR-207DBK
    2X128GB Samsung 830's
    3XWD2002FYPS
    Corsair TX850
    Dell U2412M
    ___________________

  18. #18
    I am Xtreme Revv23's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Posts
    5,870
    Sweet; nice thread, I'm really interested in this board.

  19. #19
    Xtreme Member Flinch's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    WI
    Posts
    316
    I posted this in another Gigabyte thread as well.

    With my UD3P and ReaperX 8000 you can not boot into Windows at it's rated speed of 1000. This has also been confirmed by another guy at OCZ's forums with the same board and ram, just a heads up.

    I've also used the stock bios and f5a which didn't resolve the issue. Patriot Vipers solved the problem.

  20. #20
    Xtreme Addict Trouffman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Somewhere on earth between Taipei, Paris and Montreal
    Posts
    1,193
    nice thread
    Overclocking-TV Staff
    Quote Originally Posted by hipro5 View Post
    Ha, ha, ha.....NO WAY.....When I show someone preparing to take a shot, I hided the cigarette....

  21. #21
    Xtreme Member marmott's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    France
    Posts
    157
    thanks

    I am looking for a North American price comparator to put prices in the 3rd post, anyone have a good link ?

  22. #22
    Xtreme Guru
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Burbank, CA
    Posts
    3,808
    anyone have a bios templete??

  23. #23
    Xtreme Legend dinos22's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    17,465
    Quote Originally Posted by zodden View Post
    What do you guys make of this with LLC enabled on the UD3P. No upward spikes and long periods of stable volts. Look at the downward spikes, including one below 0.8v: How didn't the machine crash? It would seem impossible to me that it could run and finish the bench yet it did.

    clearly that is not possible >> 4GHz at 0.8v hehehe
    must be the application going a bit crazy heheheh
    Team.AU
    Got tube?
    GIGABYTE Australia
    Need a GIGABYTE bios or support?



  24. #24
    Xtreme Member Flinch's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    WI
    Posts
    316
    I'm noticing some voltage oddities with my Q9650 and UD3P.

    I set the voltage in the bios at 1.33 and at the desktop with cpu-z it shows 1.23-1.24, somethings just not right with that picture.

    I was googling for some answers and came across a guy at [H] that's seeing the same huge drop from the bios settings to what cpu-z is showing

  25. #25
    Xtreme Legend dinos22's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    17,465
    that sound like vdroop and vdrop that you would commonly see on boards

    what about LLC enabled?
    Team.AU
    Got tube?
    GIGABYTE Australia
    Need a GIGABYTE bios or support?



Page 1 of 298 12341151101 ... LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •