Thread: FoxConn Destroyer - just bought, recommendations?

Question FoxConn Destroyer - just bought, recommendations?

Hi,

Just purchased a FoxConn Destroyer, still running an old X2 but when I have a bit more cash will upgrade to Phenom X4. I'm a novice builder, I put components into the sockets they fit into and then frantically search forums if something doesn't work.

I'm trying to make my life a little easier this time around. Are there any recommendations or things I should know before installing the new motherboar? Is there anything I have to do to prepare my system?

From my understanding I should just be able to reconnect all old pieces to the new mobo and it should work. Please let me know anything I'm over-looking and apologies if I missed something in the forums. I saw all Fatalberts bios posts but they were greek to me.... and I'm not greek

Thanks for any help in advance!

Xtreme Enthusiast
    Quote Originally Posted by -58- View Post
    Hi, I saw all Fatalberts bios posts but they were greek to me.... and I'm not greek
    Maybe you should bone up on your greek!

Seriously though, you should be able to plug most things in and go. Memory matters for sure, so hopefully you have adequate memory and it is DDR2 (sorry if this is obvious)

Also, I assume you will do a fresh install of some form of windows. You shouldn't expect to just transfer your hard disk over from your old system. You may be lucky and be moving from an Nvidia chipset mobo, and it may (may ) work, but be prepared for it not to as the drivers have to recognize things and reconfigure themselves along with windows. XP sucked at this.... Vista is much better, but still not perfect

There are a zillion other little things that could go wrong... what was your old config? That would help us figure out the potential gotchas.
    Asus M3A79-T W/ PII 720@3.6Ghz DTek Fuzion Water Block
    Raptor X 150G Boot Device & 3 X WD 500GB in RAID 5 Load Device
    8G OCZ Reaper @1066