Page 5 of 5 FirstFirst ... 2345
Results 101 to 117 of 117

Thread: TjMax for all

  1. #101
    Xtreme Cruncher HuffPCair's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Kansas City, Missouri
    Posts
    2,121
    Ugh well I have real temp set at 95 TJmax for my Q66. Unless someone says else I am just going off that.
    ~ Little Slice of Heaven ~
    Lian Li PC-A05NB w/ Gentle Typhoons
    Core i7 860 @ 3gHz w/ Thor's Hammer
    eVGA P55 SLI
    8GB RAM
    Gigabyte 7970
    Corsair HX850
    OZC Vertex3 SSD 240GB

    ~~~~~~~~~~~~

  2. #102
    Xtreme Addict randomizer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Downunder
    Posts
    1,313
    Quote Originally Posted by The Coolest View Post
    It is variable. Usually it's at 100C.
    As the TjMax can be read directly from the CPU in Core i7 there is no more guesswork.
    Knowing Intel they might just remove it again with Westmere

  3. #103
    Xtreme X.I.P. The Coolest's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Tel Aviv, Israel
    Posts
    1,097
    Quote Originally Posted by randomizer View Post
    Knowing Intel they might just remove it again with Westmere
    Heh, actually I doubt that.
    It looks like they moved the main temp monitoring to the DTS. It's readings can even be seen in the bios (at least of some boards).
    They improved the accuracy and the operating range of the DTS. Hopefully it's going to be on par or better than the 65nm DTS.
    Member of Overclockers.com Folding @ Home team
    "<The_Coolest> you can't unwaste wasted CPU cycles" - Start FOLDing now!
    Main rig:
    Core i7 2600K 3.4GHz @ 4.5GHz (Scythe Mugen2) / Mobo: Biostar TP67XE / Storage: Crucial M4 128GB (+ HDDs) / GPU: HD5450 / Mem: 4x4GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBXL RipJawsX - 16GB total / PSU: Seasonic S12II 620W.
    Secondary rig:
    Core i3 540 3.06GHz @ Stock / Mobo: MSI H55M-ED55 / GPU: Integrated / Mem: 4x2GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBRL RipJaws - 8GB total / PSU: FSP ATX350-PNR 350W.

    Core Temp - Accurate temperature monitor for Intel's Core/Core 2 and AMD64 processors

  4. #104
    Xtreme Addict randomizer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Downunder
    Posts
    1,313
    Quote Originally Posted by The Coolest View Post
    Heh, actually I doubt that.
    It looks like they moved the main temp monitoring to the DTS. It's readings can even be seen in the bios (at least of some boards).
    Interesting, this will require an overhaul of most motherboard manufacturer utilities then, since they usually just read the "CPU" temperature.

    Edit: Typos
    Last edited by randomizer; 12-09-2008 at 12:20 AM.

  5. #105
    <NULL> Mumak's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    /dev/null
    Posts
    721
    Quote Originally Posted by The Coolest View Post
    Heh, actually I doubt that.
    It looks like they moved the main temp monitoring to the DTS. It's readings can even be seen in the bios (at least of some boards).
    They improved the accuracy and the operating range of the DTS. Hopefully it's going to be on par or better than the 65nm DTS.
    Definitively. They are starting to treat the HW monitoring seriously. Watch out for new platforms based on IbexPeak

  6. #106
    Xtreme Member renzokuken's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia
    Posts
    114
    yay! thankyou Intel!



    Case: Coolermaster CM690 OS: Windows XP x64 edition / Windows Vista x64 Optical: Asus DRW-1814BLT, LG GDR8164B Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3 (rev 2.1) Monitors: Dual GDM-5410 21" RAM: Corsair XMS2 4GB (2 x 2GB) DDR2 800, 5-4-3-12 Processor: E2140 (M0) @ 3.2ghz/1.3825v (set in BIOS) PSU: Enermax EG565P-VE FMA (24P) 535W ATX2.01 PSU Videocard: Galaxy 512mb 8800GT @ 675/1674/1100 (Samsung 1.0ns) Cooling: Xigmatek HDT-S1283, Accelero S1 Rev. 2 + 2x 120mm Coolermaster fan Storage: Western Digital Raptor 74gb (WD740GD-00FLA2), Seagate 750gb (ST3750630AS)

  7. #107
    Xtreme Member vodka3dg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Buenos Aires, Argentina
    Posts
    146
    another confirmation of the impossible... 30ºC ambient and 30ºC on first and second cores (no to mention 25ºC 27ºC for the other two lasting cores)... this is with the 90ºC tJMax and a Q6600 G0 @ 1.336v 3.2Ghz... i find this amusing
    XEON W3520 (Apogee XT + MCR220 + MCP655) - P6TD DELUXE (@P6T DELUXE v2 0006 Bios) - 3x2GB GSKILL F3-12800CL7GBPI - ZOTAC GTX 680 2GB - Seasonic X-850 - Crucial M4 256GB - 1xHITACHI 1TB - Dell SX2210


  8. #108
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    368
    100C is the right TjMAX for 65nm quads... If intel have said 105C, I would believe it... But anything less then 100C is bullsh/t...

  9. #109
    I am Xtreme Leeghoofd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    10,379
    Quote Originally Posted by Hornet331 View Post
    yep they do, the QX9770 uses the same cooler als the QX9650. And the cooler is hughe compared to the stock Qxxxx cooler.
    Yet it sucks as hard as the stock one and I would only recommend it at max 3.6Ghz ops
    Question : Why do some overclockers switch into d*ckmode when money is involved

    Remark : They call me Pro Asus Saaya yupp, I agree

  10. #110
    Banned gOJDO's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Skopje, Macedonia
    Posts
    1,667
    what about Ci7

  11. #111
    Xtreme X.I.P. The Coolest's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Tel Aviv, Israel
    Posts
    1,097
    Quote Originally Posted by gOJDO View Post
    what about Ci7
    This question has been answered several times, Ci7's TjMax can be read directly from the CPU register, so no more guesswork.
    Member of Overclockers.com Folding @ Home team
    "<The_Coolest> you can't unwaste wasted CPU cycles" - Start FOLDing now!
    Main rig:
    Core i7 2600K 3.4GHz @ 4.5GHz (Scythe Mugen2) / Mobo: Biostar TP67XE / Storage: Crucial M4 128GB (+ HDDs) / GPU: HD5450 / Mem: 4x4GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBXL RipJawsX - 16GB total / PSU: Seasonic S12II 620W.
    Secondary rig:
    Core i3 540 3.06GHz @ Stock / Mobo: MSI H55M-ED55 / GPU: Integrated / Mem: 4x2GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBRL RipJaws - 8GB total / PSU: FSP ATX350-PNR 350W.

    Core Temp - Accurate temperature monitor for Intel's Core/Core 2 and AMD64 processors

  12. #112
    Xtreme Member vodka3dg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Buenos Aires, Argentina
    Posts
    146
    Quote Originally Posted by Simps View Post
    100C is the right TjMAX for 65nm quads... If intel have said 105C, I would believe it... But anything less then 100C is bullsh/t...
    agreed... even @ 95ºC two of my cores report ambient temps.. so to be on the safe side i think that 100ºC is fine (still a bit depressing ).
    XEON W3520 (Apogee XT + MCR220 + MCP655) - P6TD DELUXE (@P6T DELUXE v2 0006 Bios) - 3x2GB GSKILL F3-12800CL7GBPI - ZOTAC GTX 680 2GB - Seasonic X-850 - Crucial M4 256GB - 1xHITACHI 1TB - Dell SX2210


  13. #113
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    642
    Quote Originally Posted by vodka3dg View Post
    another confirmation of the impossible... 30ºC ambient and 30ºC on first and second cores (no to mention 25ºC 27ºC for the other two lasting cores)... this is with the 90ºC tJMax and a Q6600 G0 @ 1.336v 3.2Ghz... i find this amusing
    Idle temps are often inaccurate, it does not necessarily mean that the TJmax is wrong. Read more about it here.

  14. #114
    Engineering The Xtreme SNiiPE_DoGG's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Beverly MA, USA / Troy NY, USA
    Posts
    7,209
    95 is the right one for 65nm quads..... 100 is for 45nm.

  15. #115
    Xtreme Addict randomizer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Downunder
    Posts
    1,313
    Quote Originally Posted by SNiiPE_DoGG View Post
    95 is the right one for 65nm quads..... 100 is for 45nm.
    That's debatable. You can't really say one number fits all.

  16. #116
    <NULL> Mumak's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    /dev/null
    Posts
    721
    Guys.. I think you don't take the inaccuracy of DTS logic into account which raises the more you go to lower temperatures.
    I already mentioned several times that DTS was designed to catch the hot point (Tj,max) of CPU so that's the place where it reports most accurate results (still might be some deg. off).
    Last edited by Mumak; 01-12-2009 at 03:27 AM.

  17. #117
    Xtreme Member vodka3dg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Buenos Aires, Argentina
    Posts
    146
    thks Nickel020 im at it.
    XEON W3520 (Apogee XT + MCR220 + MCP655) - P6TD DELUXE (@P6T DELUXE v2 0006 Bios) - 3x2GB GSKILL F3-12800CL7GBPI - ZOTAC GTX 680 2GB - Seasonic X-850 - Crucial M4 256GB - 1xHITACHI 1TB - Dell SX2210


Page 5 of 5 FirstFirst ... 2345

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •