Swiftech
Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast
Results 76 to 100 of 117

Thread: TjMax for all

  1. #76
    Engineering The Xtreme SNiiPE_DoGG's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Beverly MA, USA / Troy NY, USA
    Posts
    7,209
    Quote Originally Posted by MomijiTMO View Post
    So what is the TjMax for the Q6600? I'm going with 95 until someone confirms Intel's news of 90.
    90 is very incorrect, 95 is the right Tj

  2. #77
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    368
    So, I wanna know the CORRECT TjMAX for:

    65nm QX6700 (B3 stepping)
    Is it 90C? 95C? or 100C?

    Damn intel....

  3. #78
    Xtreme Enthusiast fragmasterMax's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Boston
    Posts
    553
    Quote Originally Posted by BuBBle.D View Post
    I bet intel wont reveal the true TJmax and say a number that is like 10C lower than the real TJmax.
    and then have 10 million refunds to process from 3rd party companies like dell for example?
    no, that won't happen.
    As Los Alamos director J. Robert Oppenheimer watched the demonstration, he later said that a line from the Hindu scripture the Bhagavad Gita came to mind:
    "I am become Death, the destroyer of worlds."
    Test director Kenneth Bainbridge in turn said to Oppenheimer, "Now we are all sons of b**ches." wiki

  4. #79
    Xtreme Addict RaZz!'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    2,250
    wow, i'm confused about why it's so hard for intel to just tell their customers the right tjmax. incomprehensible.
    1. Asus P5Q-E / Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @~3612 MHz (8,5x425) / 2x2GB OCZ Platinum XTC (PC2-8000U, CL5) / EVGA GeForce GTX 570 / Crucial M4 128GB, WD Caviar Blue 640GB, WD Caviar SE16 320GB, WD Caviar SE 160GB / be quiet! Dark Power Pro P7 550W / Thermaltake Tsunami VA3000BWA / LG L227WT / Teufel Concept E Magnum 5.1 // SysProfile


    2. Asus A8N-SLI / AMD Athlon 64 4000+ @~2640 MHz (12x220) / 1024 MB Corsair CMX TwinX 3200C2, 2.5-3-3-6 1T / Club3D GeForce 7800GT @463/1120 MHz / Crucial M4 64GB, Hitachi Deskstar 40GB / be quiet! Blackline P5 470W

  5. #80
    Xtreme Addict randomizer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Downunder
    Posts
    1,313
    Quote Originally Posted by RaZz! View Post
    wow, i'm confused about why it's so hard for intel to just tell their customers the right tjmax. incomprehensible.
    Perhaps because it's a "trade secret."

  6. #81
    I am Xtreme Hornet331's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Austria
    Posts
    5,464
    Quote Originally Posted by RaZz! View Post
    wow, i'm confused about why it's so hard for intel to just tell their customers the right tjmax. incomprehensible.
    because they never ment to be public.

  7. #82
    Xtreme Addict randomizer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Downunder
    Posts
    1,313
    Quote Originally Posted by Hornet331 View Post
    because they never ment to be public.
    Actually they did. They made the IDF presentations because of endless customer enquiries about temps. It doesn't mean they had to tell us everything. It doesn't mean that what they told us is true either. We just have to accept it, ignore it or "fight" for the real stuff.

  8. #83
    Banned
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    vermont, yes i like women
    Posts
    1,321
    I dunno if they were "mistaken" about the 65nm TJmax then who's to say they are right about 45nm TJmax, because they are supposed to put out far less heat but even with 95 TJmax they put out just the same, and if a 65nm is 95-90 then wouldnt a 45nm be less? this just make me wonder.

  9. #84
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    368
    Really, if your 45nm is pulling the same heat as a 65nm on same volts or clock, then either you have a bad cpu, bad step, bad sensors or bad cooling.

  10. #85
    Xtreme Addict randomizer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Downunder
    Posts
    1,313
    Quote Originally Posted by Simps View Post
    Really, if your 45nm is pulling the same heat as a 65nm on same volts or clock, then either you have a bad cpu, bad step, bad sensors or bad cooling.
    If you want to compare how hot they are running, you need to know that Tj Max for both is correct or is wrong by the same amount. Then you need to assume the same slope error, which you can't really A "better" idea is to drill into the IHS like rge did and measure the temperature of the top of the die yourself.

  11. #86
    Xtreme Enthusiast kadozer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    743
    I think they are shady about the TJ max due to overclocking a lower priced cpu vs purchasing a higher clocked stocked cpu (though niche crowd) and losing profit.

  12. #87
    Xtreme Addict randomizer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Downunder
    Posts
    1,313
    Quote Originally Posted by kadozer View Post
    I think they are shady about the TJ max due to overclocking a lower priced cpu vs purchasing a higher clocked stocked cpu (though niche crowd) and losing profit.
    I don't see how that would affect what they're telling us. A EE chip isn't going to run significantly cooler than a mainstream chip. Intel knows that few people are going to pay for an EE chip, that will never change. The funny thing is that the QX9650 and QX9770 actually have a 5-15C lower Tj Max than the mainstream chips, at least according to Intel.

  13. #88
    I am Xtreme Hornet331's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Austria
    Posts
    5,464
    Quote Originally Posted by randomizer View Post
    I don't see how that would affect what they're telling us. A EE chip isn't going to run significantly cooler than a mainstream chip. Intel knows that few people are going to pay for an EE chip, that will never change. The funny thing is that the QX9650 and QX9770 actually have a 5-15C lower Tj Max than the mainstream chips, at least according to Intel.
    Nothing funny there -> higher tjmax means they can use a cheaper cooling solution, they acutally mentioned that in there presentation.

  14. #89
    Xtreme Addict randomizer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Downunder
    Posts
    1,313
    Quote Originally Posted by Hornet331 View Post
    Nothing funny there -> higher tjmax means they can use a cheaper cooling solution, they acutally mentioned that in there presentation.
    Does the QX9770 come with a more expensive cooler than the Q9550? They are the same stepping, but Tj Max is much different.

  15. #90
    Xtreme Addict rge's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    1,420
    The QX9770 and QX9775...at bottom of intel specs sheet "These processors ship without a fan heatsink. They require a third party liquid cooling solution." So definitely different cooling.

    From IDF and from formula, Tjmax is dependent on power and cooling solution (also on ambient temps but they are same in intel testing). Q9650 is 95 watts and air cooled, QX9770 is 135W and water cooled.
    3770K 4.7 w/1.31 - UD5 z77 - Dom 1866 - Corsair HX850 - Intel 520 240gb - GTX 680 - 26 inch Samsung LCD
    xspc 360 + SR1 280 + HC 680 + EK sup hiflo
    Lian Li A71F

  16. #91
    Xtreme Member elmysterio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    111
    I wanna know the correct TjMAX for: e6850 65nm
    E6850(L720 xxx vid:1,275v)lapped 3600mhz(1,264v)3800mhz(1,31v)4000mhz(1,39v)\\Ninja rev A lapped\\Dfi ut p35 t2r\\Team Xtreem 2x1gb TXDD2048M1000HC5DC (5-5-5-15 800mhz) 1,63v !!! (5-5-5-15 1100mhz) 1,91v (4-4-4-12 1000mhz)2,19v\\ Samsung 500gb F3\\Asus GTX 550Ti \\Enermax Modu+ 525w\\Case Fractal Arc Design Midi

  17. #92
    I am Xtreme Hornet331's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Austria
    Posts
    5,464
    Quote Originally Posted by randomizer View Post
    Does the QX9770 come with a more expensive cooler than the Q9550? They are the same stepping, but Tj Max is much different.
    yep they do, the QX9770 uses the same cooler als the QX9650. And the cooler is hughe compared to the stock Qxxxx cooler.

  18. #93
    Xtreme Cruncher karl_eller's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Newcastle, Australia
    Posts
    1,317
    I know this is a bit of thread necromancy, but I've recently been shown this Tom's Hardware news article, which is stating all the TJ Max numbers for every Core2 (and Core2 based Xeon).

    I want it to be right, I really do, but it's Tom's, and doesn't agree with everything else that's been posted here...

    Eller

    Desktop: Q6600 G0 @ 3.6 Ghz | P5E | 2x2 Gb G.Skill PC8000 | GTX 560 Ti | CM690 | TT TP 750 watt | Win 7 Pro x64 | Water Cooling
    Server: i3 530 (Stock) | CM Vortex Low-Profile | Zotac H55-ITX WIFI | 2x2Gb Corsair 1333Mhz | IGP | VX450 | Server 2008 R2 x64

  19. #94
    Xtreme Addict Sly Fox's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    1,340
    Quote Originally Posted by karl_eller View Post
    I know this is a bit of thread necromancy, but I've recently been shown this Tom's Hardware news article, which is stating all the TJ Max numbers for every Core2 (and Core2 based Xeon).

    I want it to be right, I really do, but it's Tom's, and doesn't agree with everything else that's been posted here...

    Eller
    Well I can tell you that for the Q6600 they're wrong at least.

    I mean, I'd love it if that's correct, but that would put mine at sub-ambient sometimes, and I can't force myself to believe.

  20. #95
    Xtreme Cruncher karl_eller's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Newcastle, Australia
    Posts
    1,317
    God damn you Intel, why can't you just publish the proper numbers already

    Eller

    Desktop: Q6600 G0 @ 3.6 Ghz | P5E | 2x2 Gb G.Skill PC8000 | GTX 560 Ti | CM690 | TT TP 750 watt | Win 7 Pro x64 | Water Cooling
    Server: i3 530 (Stock) | CM Vortex Low-Profile | Zotac H55-ITX WIFI | 2x2Gb Corsair 1333Mhz | IGP | VX450 | Server 2008 R2 x64

  21. #96
    Xtreme Member Flinch's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    WI
    Posts
    316
    I have my doubts they'll ever publish it.

  22. #97
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    S.California
    Posts
    382
    so.. whats the tj max for an i7?
    Cpu: Intel Core i7 920 @ 3.9 ghz (cooled w/ Apogee GTZ)
    Mobo: Gigabyte EX58 UD5
    Ram: G.SKill 3x1 GB DDR3 1600
    GPU: GTX 280
    PSU: E Power 1000 Watt

  23. #98
    Xtreme Addict randomizer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Downunder
    Posts
    1,313
    Quote Originally Posted by karl_eller View Post
    I know this is a bit of thread necromancy, but I've recently been shown this Tom's Hardware news article, which is stating all the TJ Max numbers for every Core2 (and Core2 based Xeon).

    I want it to be right, I really do, but it's Tom's, and doesn't agree with everything else that's been posted here...

    Eller
    The article was correct about the numbers Intel posted originally, but hasn't been updated with the "fixed" numbers. You should pretty much ignore both as they aren't going to give you accurate temps.

  24. #99
    Xtreme Addict randomizer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Downunder
    Posts
    1,313
    Quote Originally Posted by Flinch View Post
    I have my doubts they'll ever publish it.
    They have, but because Tj Max isn't a constant the numbers have little meaning other than a sedative for the masses.

  25. #100
    Xtreme X.I.P. The Coolest's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Tel Aviv, Israel
    Posts
    1,097
    Quote Originally Posted by nosboost300 View Post
    so.. whats the tj max for an i7?
    It is variable. Usually it's at 100C.
    As the TjMax can be read directly from the CPU in Core i7 there is no more guesswork.
    Member of Overclockers.com Folding @ Home team
    "<The_Coolest> you can't unwaste wasted CPU cycles" - Start FOLDing now!
    Main rig:
    Core i7 2600K 3.4GHz @ 4.5GHz (Scythe Mugen2) / Mobo: Biostar TP67XE / Storage: Crucial M4 128GB (+ HDDs) / GPU: HD5450 / Mem: 4x4GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBXL RipJawsX - 16GB total / PSU: Seasonic S12II 620W.
    Secondary rig:
    Core i3 540 3.06GHz @ Stock / Mobo: MSI H55M-ED55 / GPU: Integrated / Mem: 4x2GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBRL RipJaws - 8GB total / PSU: FSP ATX350-PNR 350W.

    Core Temp - Accurate temperature monitor for Intel's Core/Core 2 and AMD64 processors

Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •