Thread: XPS 720: BTX to ATX

Xtreme Cruncher

XPS 720: BTX to ATX

As some of you may know, 'it hurts when i pee' had a topic going on this forum following his XPS 720 mod. I loved the 720 case the second i saw on on dell.com a year ago.. Well when it came time to build my own compuer, i decided to use that case. I managed to get a very good condition black 720 case off of eBay w/ the dell 1kw PSU for $223 shipped (edit: they are now down to $150 on ebay!) Boy was i exited when i pulled it out of its massive box, hmm lets fit the motherboard in...oh god...this isnt fitting. Oh no....the XPS 720 is somthing called "BTX". I quickly scanned the internet for anyone who had modded it, and came upon 'it hurts when i pee's' thread here on Xsystems. I studied it, along with somone elses thread. Anyway long story short, that was 3 weeks ago, and after lots of questions and tools and cutting i modded it. I have no experiance in electronics or modding so i was nervous. Thank god it worked out...i rreeaally wanted this case.

Here are all my ATX parts sitting and waiting

The specs- 45nm Intel Quad @ 2.5 ghz
    EVGA 9800 GTX plus
    EVGA 750i SLI
    Arctic cooling heatsink
    250Gb HDD 7200rpm
    4GB of 800mhz Corsair XMS2
    *This is the first computer ive built, my last (and first) comp was a Dell XPS M1210 notebook, but it was holding me back preformance wise

I sat it on my desk and stared to take it apart....damn! i need a looong screwdriver..off to sears...Here is the case totally gutted and ready for the mod.

After a few days went by, i decided to do the mod, insipred by pointguard112 saying it isnt a hard mod, and 'it hurt when i pee' saying the PSU would work except for one cable. Here you can see the pannels off and on the floor, i was wiping them down and removing fine scratches