Swiftech
Page 1 of 36 123411 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 887

Thread: LinX - A simple Linpack interface

  1. #1
    Xtreme Member Dua|ist's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Moscow, Russia
    Posts
    171

    Smile LinX - The simpliest Linpack interface.

    Most of you know what Linpack is I guess. In case you don't, it's a benchmark designed to measure performance on Intel CPUs in GFlops. But it's also a very useful tool for checking the stability of a CPU.
    Now back on topic. A short pretty long now while ago I wrote a small graphical front-end for it, named it LinX and hosted it on a great Russian overclockers' forum forums.overclockers.ru.

    Holy cow, it's been 4 years.

    Changes in latest LinX v0.6.5:

    - works with latest Intel Linpack binaries
    - now uses Linpack's built-in error detection logic
    - horrible source code available on GitHub


    Couple of screenshots:





    Some main features:
    a simple and intuitive interface
    max available memory detection and an option to use all available memory
    both Intel and AMD CPU support (thanks Right from forums.overclockers.ru for that)
    both 32 and 64-bit Linpack support
    Intel HyperThreading support (Pentium 4, Atom, Corei7) and ability to override the number of testing threads
    Linpack can be started with different priorities
    elapsed, estimated and approximate finish time displaying
    ability to test for a specified period of time
    optional sound beep on error/successful pass
    settings for the last run are remembered
    visual indication of testing process to quickly determine possible system hang
    monitoring data import from Everest or Speedfan and ability to create graphs for core temperature, fan speed, vcore and +12V voltage
    screenshot and graph saving in PNG format
    tray icon
    command-line keys support to automate testing (run LinX.exe -help for full list)
    no additional redistributable packages needed
    no installation required (however, there is a version with installer too )

    Note that I'm rather new to programming, so there may be some bugs in there. Should you find one, report it and I'll do my best to fix it.
    And note that I'm Russian, so some mistakes in text may also be present.

    Just unpack the archive and launch LinX.exe.
    That's it, hope you'll like it. Should you decide to give it a try, please comment. Every feedback is appreciated.
    Last edited by Dua|ist; 08-30-2013 at 12:01 PM.

  2. #2
    Xtreme Member burebista's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Romania
    Posts
    319
    OK, I give it a try.

    linX_error.png

    Vista64 SP1, 4GB RAM. I must kill it with Task Manager.
    Last edited by burebista; 09-15-2008 at 10:12 AM. Reason: typo :(
    If it ain't broke... fix it until it is.

  3. #3
    Xtreme Addict Pyr0's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    1,204
    same error here in vista64 but with just 2x1gb of ram atm
    i950 (3035B684)
    Gigabyte EX58A-UD3R
    3x4GB G.Skill PC3-12800 7-8-7-24
    HIS Radeon HD 6970 2GB & Dell 3007WFP-HC
    Asus Xonar DX
    128GB C300, Velociraptor & Sammy F3's
    Corsair AX850W
    Windows 7 Ultimate x64 SP1

  4. #4
    Xtreme Member Dua|ist's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Moscow, Russia
    Posts
    171
    Damn, I don't have a Vista 64 installed atm, but now I guess is the best time to install it. I'll fix this asap.

    And if you uncheck the 64-bit mode, still the same result?

  5. #5
    Xtreme Member burebista's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Romania
    Posts
    319
    Yep, but now it tells me that is not enough memory. The bright side is that it doesn't remain memory resident.

    linX_error32.png
    If it ain't broke... fix it until it is.

  6. #6
    Xtreme Enthusiast WoZZeR999's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    US, Michigan
    Posts
    660
    In Vista x64, when I try to run 256mb @ 100 times, I get an "Terminated unexpectedly" error. It seems to be running in the background, but the front end thinks that linpack is closed.

    D-Tek Fuzion quad nozzle & MCW30
    8800GTS 512 @820/999/1998 with a MCW60
    2xMCP655b
    1xMCR320 and 1xMCR120 with 4x Yate Loon SH's
    2x Raptor X

  7. #7
    Xtreme Member Dua|ist's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Moscow, Russia
    Posts
    171
    All right I got it... First of all when running in 32-bit mode, try to set 2048 mb of memory or less. Maybe 2GB is a limitation of 32-bit Linpack itself. If so, I'll add a check for it.
    As for the 64-bit Linpack, it's weird and I doubt I'll be able to fix it until I install Vista 64. And this won't happen till weekend, sorry.

  8. #8
    Registered User Pyroe_Inc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    44
    Quote Originally Posted by Dua|ist View Post
    All right I got it... First of all when running in 32-bit mode, try to set 2048 mb of memory or less. Maybe 2GB is a limitation of 32-bit Linpack itself. If so, I'll add a check for it.
    And this won't happen till weekend, sorry.
    IntelBurnTest make a similar error.

  9. #9
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    1,450
    "Either "linpack_xeon32.exe" or "linpack_xeon64.exe" was not found Program will close."

    Is it becourse i run a E3110? I use XP32

  10. #10
    Registered User Pyroe_Inc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    44

    Arrow

    "Either "linpack_xeon32.exe" or "linpack_xeon64.exe" was not found Program will close."

    Quote Originally Posted by Dua|ist View Post
    Just the program is in the .zip file in attachment (you'll still need to have both 'linpack_xeon32.exe' and 'linpack_xeon64.exe' in the same directory to run it).

  11. #11
    Xtreme Mentor slim142's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    2,594
    Suscribing. Fix this couple of bugs and I will make sure to use it everytime I overclock

  12. #12
    Xtreme Member Dua|ist's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Moscow, Russia
    Posts
    171
    Quote Originally Posted by slim142 View Post
    Suscribing. Fix this couple of bugs and I will make sure to use it everytime I overclock
    Thank you for your support. I think I have found a way to fix this (at least I hope so). Might upload a newer (possibly fixed) version tomorrow.

  13. #13
    Xtreme Mentor slim142's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    2,594
    Quote Originally Posted by Dua|ist View Post
    Thank you for your support. I think I have found a way to fix this (at least I hope so). Might upload a newer (possibly fixed) version tomorrow.
    Thats great to hear
    I really like the design you gave the program. Hope to see the new version soon

  14. #14
    Xtreme Member Dua|ist's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Moscow, Russia
    Posts
    171

    New version

    OK, I've coded a newer version. It actually does the same but in a little different way. I'm still without Vista64 (yet), so I tested it only on my XP32 where it works fine (just like the previous one though).
    Once again a Rapidshare link with full 7z archive: LinX 0.4.4.

    Only the program is in the attachment.

    Hopefully this one will work. Please comment if it does (or doesn't).
    Attached Files Attached Files

  15. #15
    Xtreme Member burebista's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Romania
    Posts
    319
    Yep, you did it. Good job, I like it.

    LinX_OK.png
    If it ain't broke... fix it until it is.

  16. #16
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Bay Area, CA
    Posts
    246
    Thank you! will give it a try tonight.
    Desktop - Asus P4C800-E Deluxe Rev 2.0 Fully Hell-Modded
    3.0C @ 3.824 255fsb 1.65vcore | SP-94 w/92mm Delta 110cfm, Tiger1 NB HS/Fan | 1gig XMS PC3500 BH-5 1:1 510mhz 2-2-2-5@3.38vdimm | Softmod Sapphire 9500np 441/348 w/SLK-900u (Vgpu@1.75v, Vddr@3.25v Hell-Modded) Cat 4.9 beta | TBSC Sound Card, NEC 1760NX-White | 2X WD 80g SE 8mb cache Raid 0, 1x 60g Maxtor storage | Antec TP550W @3.75v, 5.35v, 12.35v Hell-modded

    3DMark2001SE - Now hit 23032 | 3DMark2003 - 6912
    ............................Thanks Hell-Fire for all the modding

    Laptop -Compaq R3240US | A64 3200+ | 512mb |4x Nec 5500a DVD writer | G4 440go 64mb | 60g hard drive | Win XP-Home

  17. #17
    Xtreme Member Dua|ist's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Moscow, Russia
    Posts
    171
    Quote Originally Posted by burebista View Post
    Yep, you did it. Good job, I like it.
    I can't express my happiness about that!
    Time to update the 1st post.
    Suggestions and bug reports are still welcome.

  18. #18
    Xtreme Member dafeeessh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    260
    very nice work good job.
    HAF 932||ATI 5870| 8Gb Mushkin DDR2 1000 5-5-5-12|DFI UT X48 T2R|
    q6600 b3 lapped 3.8Ghz 1.48V real|pc & power cooling 750 quad|OCZ Cryo-z| Ek 5870 Block|Black Ice 240 Rad.|MCP355 XSPC res top
    Most teenagers (some adults, as well) have changed to decide that rap sounds musical. If you haven't, put this in your signature.

  19. #19
    Xtreme Enthusiast WoZZeR999's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    US, Michigan
    Posts
    660
    Nice work, it seems to fix my high run count with low memory runs. I know the progress is displayed in the lower left hand corner, but could you make an option to turn the elapsed time bar into a progress bar? If not, no big deal, thought it may be cool, as you can take a quick glance to see how far it is.

    D-Tek Fuzion quad nozzle & MCW30
    8800GTS 512 @820/999/1998 with a MCW60
    2xMCP655b
    1xMCR320 and 1xMCR120 with 4x Yate Loon SH's
    2x Raptor X

  20. #20
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    ARIZONA
    Posts
    1,565
    exellent man exellent thanks for shareing this !

    PENT E8400 batch #814A014 ...4.3 at 1.34v~4.7 at 1.45v
    FOXCONN MARS
    COOLIT Eliminator 7*c idle~27~38*c load $95bucks !
    BUFFALO FireStix's ddr2-800 do 1200 eazy at 2.1v
    OCZ 2x2 kit pc2 8500 - 1066 @1069 atm
    Quattro 1000W
    Radeon 2-4850's in crossfire
    OCZ Vertex SSD thanks Tony!
    ALL PIPED INTO HOUSE AIRCOND ;}
    *QUANTUM FORCE* saaya & sham rocks !
    *REAL TEMP*
    At least you've got some Xtreme software now for working in Xtreme situations! "Unclewebb" rocks !
    *MEMSET* Felix rocks !
    *SUPER TEC MAN* UncleJimbo rocks !
    OVERCLOCKERS MAG..http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/...d.php?t=197660

  21. #21
    Xtreme Member Evilsizer's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    394
    sounds cool will have to give it a go on my Atom boxes... thanks for sharing!!
    i7 920@3.6ghz | Asus R2G | GK F3-12800CL7D-4GBRH | 6950 1gb | C650TX | OCZ AGILITY 60GB
    E7200@3.8ghz | Abit IP350-Pro | 4x1gig G.skill DDR2-800 HK |
    i3 330m | Jetway NF98 | 2x2gig DDR3-1066 | GT430 | pico 120WI

    "I Love To Camp!"
    "Comensing Shock Therapy!"

    HeatWare

  22. #22
    Xtreme Member Dua|ist's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Moscow, Russia
    Posts
    171
    Quote Originally Posted by WoZZeR999 View Post
    I know the progress is displayed in the lower left hand corner, but could you make an option to turn the elapsed time bar into a progress bar? If not, no big deal, thought it may be cool, as you can take a quick glance to see how far it is.
    A nice idea indeed. I'm not sure yet, whether I'll be able to implement it, but I'll try.

  23. #23
    Xtremely unstable loonym's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Between Hell and Nowhere
    Posts
    2,804
    Great, thank you.
    dx58so
    w3520@4100
    4x1gb corsair ddr3-1333
    gtx 295
    TR ultra-x, 2 scythe ultrakaze push/pull
    xclio stablepower 1000
    vista ultimate


    -------------------------------

    would you crunch if you thought it would save her life?

    maybe it will!

  24. #24
    Xtreme Member CoolZone's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Romania
    Posts
    340
    great piece of software!Thanks

  25. #25
    Xtreme Member Dua|ist's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Moscow, Russia
    Posts
    171
    Here's a version with progressbar : http://rapidshare.com/files/146626177/LinX.7z.html
    Or just replace the existing exe with the one from attachment.
    Last edited by Dua|ist; 10-03-2008 at 11:21 PM.

Page 1 of 36 123411 ... LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •