MMM
Page 1 of 36 123411 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 931

Thread: LinX - A simple Linpack interface

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Moscow, Russia
    Posts
    171

    Smile LinX - The simpliest Linpack interface.

    Most of you know what Linpack is I guess. In case you don't, it's a benchmark designed to measure performance on Intel CPUs in GFlops. But it's also a very useful tool for checking the stability of a CPU.
    Now back on topic. A short pretty long now while ago I wrote a small graphical front-end for it, named it LinX and hosted it on a great Russian overclockers' forum forums.overclockers.ru.

    Holy cow, it's been 4 years.

    Changes in latest LinX v0.6.5:

    - works with latest Intel Linpack binaries
    - now uses Linpack's built-in error detection logic
    - horrible source code available on GitHub


    Couple of screenshots:





    Some main features:
    a simple and intuitive interface
    max available memory detection and an option to use all available memory
    both Intel and AMD CPU support (thanks Right from forums.overclockers.ru for that)
    both 32 and 64-bit Linpack support
    Intel HyperThreading support (Pentium 4, Atom, Corei7) and ability to override the number of testing threads
    Linpack can be started with different priorities
    elapsed, estimated and approximate finish time displaying
    ability to test for a specified period of time
    optional sound beep on error/successful pass
    settings for the last run are remembered
    visual indication of testing process to quickly determine possible system hang
    monitoring data import from Everest or Speedfan and ability to create graphs for core temperature, fan speed, vcore and +12V voltage
    screenshot and graph saving in PNG format
    tray icon
    command-line keys support to automate testing (run LinX.exe -help for full list)
    no additional redistributable packages needed
    no installation required (however, there is a version with installer too )

    Note that I'm rather new to programming, so there may be some bugs in there. Should you find one, report it and I'll do my best to fix it.
    And note that I'm Russian, so some mistakes in text may also be present.

    Just unpack the archive and launch LinX.exe.
    That's it, hope you'll like it. Should you decide to give it a try, please comment. Every feedback is appreciated.
    Last edited by Dua|ist; 08-30-2013 at 12:01 PM.

  2. #2
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Romania
    Posts
    319
    OK, I give it a try.

    linX_error.png

    Vista64 SP1, 4GB RAM. I must kill it with Task Manager.
    Last edited by burebista; 09-15-2008 at 10:12 AM. Reason: typo :(
    If it ain't broke... fix it until it is.

  3. #3
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    1,182
    same error here in vista64 but with just 2x1gb of ram atm
    i950 (3035B684)
    Gigabyte EX58A-UD3R
    3x4GB G.Skill PC3-12800 7-8-7-24
    HIS Radeon HD 6970 2GB & Dell 3007WFP-HC
    Asus Xonar DX
    128GB C300, Velociraptor & Sammy F3's
    Corsair AX850W
    Windows 7 Ultimate x64 SP1

  4. #4
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Moscow, Russia
    Posts
    171
    Damn, I don't have a Vista 64 installed atm, but now I guess is the best time to install it. I'll fix this asap.

    And if you uncheck the 64-bit mode, still the same result?

  5. #5
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Romania
    Posts
    319
    Yep, but now it tells me that is not enough memory. The bright side is that it doesn't remain memory resident.

    linX_error32.png
    If it ain't broke... fix it until it is.

  6. #6
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    USA (Bellows Falls, Vermont)
    Posts
    38
    Quote Originally Posted by burebista View Post
    Yep, but now it tells me that is not enough memory. The bright side is that it doesn't remain memory resident.

    linX_error32.png
    Dua|ist, I believe to get around the 2 GB per-process limit is to have 2 Linpack processes! Sorry.
    Asus Maximus II Gene -Yorkfield Q9450 SLAWR
    -GeForce GTX 660

  7. #7
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Moscow, Russia
    Posts
    171
    Quote Originally Posted by rge View Post
    It loaded mine 99.9%, all 8 threads, but there is some memory bug. Refuses to run sometimes with stopped unexpectedly, error not enough memory. If I try to run with 256 mb, very small, it tells me not enough memory and kicks it up to 1748. It will only let me run at 1748, no less, and half the time when I pick 1748, it tells me not enough memory, though I have 2748 free. (I know there is 1748 limit with xp 32 bit).

    But once that bug gets fixed, pretty sweet being able to load all 8 cores with one instance at max memory
    At least it works on all cores. Here's the fixed version : LinX 0.5.5.1

    Quote Originally Posted by RJARRRPCGP View Post
    Dua|ist, I believe to get around the 2 GB per-process limit is to have 2 Linpack processes! Sorry.
    Question is, whether we need to get around that limit at all? Most systems with 4GB of RAM and more have a 64-bit OS, and x64 version of Linpack has no such limit. There are of course 32-bit OSes with 4 GB of RAM and ~3.5 GB of useable memory, but that 2 processes idea was just a temporary fix to load all cores when HT is on. Now that it can be done in a much better way via Linpack itself I don't see any reason to keep this option. The current ~1750 MB limit for 32-bit Linpack is enough to adequately stress-test any CPU, while RAM testing is not Linpack's goal anyway. If you still want to test all your memory, just run 2 instances of LinX.
    MacBook Air 2012 13"
    Raspberry Pi 512

  8. #8
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    US, Michigan
    Posts
    660
    In Vista x64, when I try to run 256mb @ 100 times, I get an "Terminated unexpectedly" error. It seems to be running in the background, but the front end thinks that linpack is closed.

    D-Tek Fuzion quad nozzle & MCW30
    8800GTS 512 @820/999/1998 with a MCW60
    2xMCP655b
    1xMCR320 and 1xMCR120 with 4x Yate Loon SH's
    2x Raptor X

  9. #9
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Moscow, Russia
    Posts
    171
    All right I got it... First of all when running in 32-bit mode, try to set 2048 mb of memory or less. Maybe 2GB is a limitation of 32-bit Linpack itself. If so, I'll add a check for it.
    As for the 64-bit Linpack, it's weird and I doubt I'll be able to fix it until I install Vista 64. And this won't happen till weekend, sorry.

  10. #10
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    44
    Quote Originally Posted by Dua|ist View Post
    All right I got it... First of all when running in 32-bit mode, try to set 2048 mb of memory or less. Maybe 2GB is a limitation of 32-bit Linpack itself. If so, I'll add a check for it.
    And this won't happen till weekend, sorry.
    IntelBurnTest make a similar error.

  11. #11
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    1,450
    "Either "linpack_xeon32.exe" or "linpack_xeon64.exe" was not found Program will close."

    Is it becourse i run a E3110? I use XP32

  12. #12
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    44

    Arrow

    "Either "linpack_xeon32.exe" or "linpack_xeon64.exe" was not found Program will close."

    Quote Originally Posted by Dua|ist View Post
    Just the program is in the .zip file in attachment (you'll still need to have both 'linpack_xeon32.exe' and 'linpack_xeon64.exe' in the same directory to run it).

  13. #13
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    644
    Quote Originally Posted by Pyroe_Inc View Post
    "Either "linpack_xeon32.exe" or "linpack_xeon64.exe" was not found Program will close."
    Same for me.

  14. #14
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    395
    Quote Originally Posted by Dee View Post
    Same for me.
    umm you need to download LinX.7z from rapidshare then the attached .zip file...
    Intel Pentium G3258 | ASRock Z97M OC Formula | Samsung 2x4GB DDR3-1600 | Galaxy GTX660 GC | Samsung PM840 Pro 128GB, PM830 250GB FDE |

    "I Love To Camp!"
    "Comensing Shock Therapy!"

    HeatWare

  15. #15
    Xtreme Mentor
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    2,597
    Suscribing. Fix this couple of bugs and I will make sure to use it everytime I overclock

  16. #16
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Moscow, Russia
    Posts
    171
    Quote Originally Posted by slim142 View Post
    Suscribing. Fix this couple of bugs and I will make sure to use it everytime I overclock
    Thank you for your support. I think I have found a way to fix this (at least I hope so). Might upload a newer (possibly fixed) version tomorrow.

  17. #17
    Xtreme Mentor
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    2,597
    Quote Originally Posted by Dua|ist View Post
    Thank you for your support. I think I have found a way to fix this (at least I hope so). Might upload a newer (possibly fixed) version tomorrow.
    Thats great to hear
    I really like the design you gave the program. Hope to see the new version soon

  18. #18
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Moscow, Russia
    Posts
    171

    New version

    OK, I've coded a newer version. It actually does the same but in a little different way. I'm still without Vista64 (yet), so I tested it only on my XP32 where it works fine (just like the previous one though).
    Once again a Rapidshare link with full 7z archive: LinX 0.4.4.

    Only the program is in the attachment.

    Hopefully this one will work. Please comment if it does (or doesn't).
    Attached Files Attached Files

  19. #19
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Romania
    Posts
    319
    Yep, you did it. Good job, I like it.

    LinX_OK.png
    If it ain't broke... fix it until it is.

  20. #20
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Moscow, Russia
    Posts
    171
    Quote Originally Posted by burebista View Post
    Yep, you did it. Good job, I like it.
    I can't express my happiness about that!
    Time to update the 1st post.
    Suggestions and bug reports are still welcome.

  21. #21
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Bay Area, CA
    Posts
    246
    Thank you! will give it a try tonight.

  22. #22
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    260
    very nice work good job.
    HAF 932||ATI 5870| 8Gb Mushkin DDR2 1000 5-5-5-12|DFI UT X48 T2R|
    q6600 b3 lapped 3.8Ghz 1.48V real|pc & power cooling 750 quad|OCZ Cryo-z| Ek 5870 Block|Black Ice 240 Rad.|MCP355 XSPC res top
    Most teenagers (some adults, as well) have changed to decide that rap sounds musical. If you haven't, put this in your signature.

  23. #23
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    US, Michigan
    Posts
    660
    Nice work, it seems to fix my high run count with low memory runs. I know the progress is displayed in the lower left hand corner, but could you make an option to turn the elapsed time bar into a progress bar? If not, no big deal, thought it may be cool, as you can take a quick glance to see how far it is.

    D-Tek Fuzion quad nozzle & MCW30
    8800GTS 512 @820/999/1998 with a MCW60
    2xMCP655b
    1xMCR320 and 1xMCR120 with 4x Yate Loon SH's
    2x Raptor X

  24. #24
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Moscow, Russia
    Posts
    171
    Quote Originally Posted by WoZZeR999 View Post
    I know the progress is displayed in the lower left hand corner, but could you make an option to turn the elapsed time bar into a progress bar? If not, no big deal, thought it may be cool, as you can take a quick glance to see how far it is.
    A nice idea indeed. I'm not sure yet, whether I'll be able to implement it, but I'll try.

  25. #25
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    ARIZONA
    Posts
    1,565
    exellent man exellent thanks for shareing this !
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
    PENT E8400 batch #814A014 ...4.3 at 1.34v~4.7 at 1.45v
    FOXCONN MARS
    COOLIT Eliminator 7*c idle~27~38*c load $95bucks !
    BUFFALO FireStix's ddr2-800 do 1200 eazy at 2.1v
    OCZ 2x2 kit pc2 8500 - 1066 @1069 atm
    Quattro 1000W
    Radeon 2-4850's in crossfire
    OCZ Vertex SSD thanks Tony!
    ALL PIPED INTO HOUSE AIRCOND ;}
    *QUANTUM FORCE* saaya & sham rocks !
    *REAL TEMP*
    At least you've got some Xtreme software now for working in Xtreme situations! "Unclewebb" rocks !
    *MEMSET* Felix rocks !
    *SUPER TEC MAN* UncleJimbo rocks !
    OVERCLOCKERS MAG..http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/...d.php?t=197660

Page 1 of 36 123411 ... LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •