MMM
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Gigabye EP31-DS3L/EP35-DS3L vdroop pencil mod

  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Bangalore,India
    Posts
    42

    Gigabye EP31-DS3L/EP35-DS3L vdroop pencil mod

    Actually I have gt an EP31-DS3L a few days back and was fighting with it to get to 3.6Ghz stable on my Q6600 and the huge vdroop was a big downer

    Now bumped into the OC forums thread and found that no solution is yet available for the ISL 6334 based EP35-DS3L and EP31-DS3L....looked into the mod pics of the vanilla P35-DS3L and the usual spec sheets of the ISL 6312 (old) and ISL 6334(new).Had some high resolution shots of my mobo , and so figured out the pencil mod ....I knew it could be hit and miss but still went on and tried it. Bingo and I was 100% correct on finding the correct resistor and its working 100%

    Here the pic and explanation of the mod



    About the Results here it is :

    Q6600 @ 3.6Ghz
    Pre Pencil mod :

    Bios --- 1.5375 V
    Idle --- 1.49V
    Load(OCCT 4 cores) --- 1.42V

    Post Pencil mod

    Bios --- 1.48 V
    Idle --- 1.44V
    Load(OCCT 4 cores) --- 1.41V

    Hope this helps

    Oh and ya thnx to all the blokes@OCforums for the original P35-DS3L mod w/o which this wouldn't have been possible

    Thanks,
    Supra/Regenade

  2. #2
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Chicagoland U.S.A.
    Posts
    514
    Excellent i have been searching for this mod i cant get stable over 3.4 with my E6850 for anything, tomorrow i will give this a try and post back

  3. #3
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Chicagoland U.S.A.
    Posts
    514
    Ok this worked well, after finding a pencil with good conductivity ( Menards carpenter pencil ) i managed to get a reading of just over 1000 ohms from my original 1786 ohm reading with my trusty snap on multimeter and fluctuations and much of the droop has vanished.

    Yea i know i said tomorrow but i just could not wait but im glad this issue is resolved now i can get some sleep and try my hand at some better clocks when i have some time on my hands.

    Thanks regenade for the good post.

    Maybe someone can chime in on a hard-mod in the future for those who prefer to do minor adjusting to make things a little more tweakable.

  4. #4
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Bangalore,India
    Posts
    42
    NP...welcome
    Actually I had to go down to as much as 750Ohms finally to get only 0.02V droop on load with my Q6600
    Q6600 @ 3700 Mhz 24X7 with U120e on Asus P5Q-Dlx | 2X1GB Transcend AxeRam @ 1158 Mhz 5-5-5-15 2.1V | Sapphire HD4850@ 800/1150 | Benq 1650 + NEC 7173S DVDRW | 640GB + 640GB + 500GB + 500GB Storage | LG 22" L226WTQ LCD| Sennheiser HD 485 Cans | MX310 Mouse | X-fi Fatal1ty

  5. #5
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    19

    My vdrop

    Bios: 1.332v
    Idle: 1.328
    Load" 1.280

    I can't get past 3.0ghz on my q6600.
    You guys think this will help me?

    Thanks
    Gigabyte P35-Ds3l/Q6600@3gz/Swiftec H20-220 Apex Ultima Kit/2x1gig Crucial Ballistix Tracer 1066/EVGA GTX 260 Superclocked/Creative Labs X-Fi Titanium/Corsair TX 850 PS

  6. #6
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    149
    any mood for ep35-ds3r
    2500K 4.5GHz 1.28v Batch L104A540 / CM hyper 212 Plus / ASRock Z68 Pro3 (1.3 UEFI) / Geil EVO Two 2x2 1600C8@1866c9 1.6v / COUGAR CM 700W+ Haf 932

  7. #7
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Cairo
    Posts
    2,365
    Thanks for sharing m8 , i will do it for sure in couple for weeks
    Intel Core I7 920 @ 3.8GHZ 1.28V (Core Contact Freezer)
    Asus X58 P6T
    6GB OCZ Gold DDR3-1600MHZ 8-8-8-24
    XFX HD5870
    WD 1TB Black HD
    Corsair 850TX
    Cooler Master HAF 922

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •