Swiftech
Page 4 of 44 FirstFirst 123456714 ... LastLast
Results 76 to 100 of 1088

Thread: IntelBurnTest - The new stress-testing program

  1. #76
    Xtremely unstable loonym's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Between Hell and Nowhere
    Posts
    2,804
    Quote Originally Posted by STEvil View Post
    Technically none of you guys are doing this right.

    There are two ways to do this.

    The first is to run with the smallest amount of ram possible. This places as much data into L2 as possible keeping the CPU working at as close to maximum as possible (small FFT's).

    The second is to run with as much ram used as possible to create as much stress as possible on the memory controller, chipset, and memory.

    Testing both ways is preferred.
    This makes sense to me. Great explanation, thanks.
    dx58so
    w3520@4100
    4x1gb corsair ddr3-1333
    gtx 295
    TR ultra-x, 2 scythe ultrakaze push/pull
    xclio stablepower 1000
    vista ultimate


    -------------------------------

    would you crunch if you thought it would save her life?

    maybe it will!

  2. #77
    Xtreme Addict WaterFlex's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Russia
    Posts
    1,899
    Great test! Ty !

    Intel Q9650 @500x9MHz/1,3V
    Asus Maximus II Formula @Performance Level=7
    OCZ OCZ2B1200LV4GK 4x2GB @1200MHz/5-5-5-15/1,8V
    OCZ SSD Vertex 3 120Gb
    Seagate RAID0 2x ST1000DM003
    XFX HD7970 3GB @1111MHz
    Thermaltake Xaser VI BWS
    Seasonic Platinum SS-1000XP
    M-Audio Audiophile 192
    LG W2486L
    Liquid Cooling System :
    ThermoChill PA120.3 + Coolgate 4x120
    Swiftech Apogee XT, Swiftech MCW-NBMAX Northbridge
    Watercool HeatKiller GPU-X3 79X0 Ni-Bl + HeatKiller GPU Backplate 79X0
    Laing 12V DDC-1Plus with XSPC Laing DDC Reservoir Top
    3x Scythe S-FLEX "F", 4x Scythe Gentle Typhoon "15", Scythe Kaze Master Ace 5,25''

    Apple MacBook Pro 17` Early 2011:
    CPU: Sandy Bridge Intel Core i7 2720QM
    RAM: Crucial 2x4GB DDR3 1333
    SSD: Samsung 840 Pro 256 GB SSD
    HDD: ADATA Nobility NH13 1GB White
    OS: Mac OS X Mavericks

  3. #78
    Xtreme Addict JohnZS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    1,597
    Quote Originally Posted by RejZoR View Post
    @JohnZS
    As long as temps are below 70°C you really don't have to worry... Also note that actual games and programs never heat up the CPU as much so worry even less.
    You can check that with some graph monitoring tool or by RealTemp's Max Temp values. Just reset them before playing some game or using intensive app.
    Thanks RejZoR
    Slightly off topic but do you think that IntelBurnTest will soon be the new standard in stress testing or would Prime95 8hr to 12hrs stability still remain the "Benchmark" for stability.
    John
    Stop looking at the walls, look out the window

  4. #79
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    359
    Wow! This runs about 10C hotter than anything else I have ever used! Kick-ass!

    How do I interpret the results?

    Q6700 @3.52 GHz
    Windows XP Pro
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by Super Nade; 08-11-2008 at 05:10 AM.
    Code:
    ASUS Maximus II
    Q6700  
    ZIPPY GSM-6600P (G1)
    Ballistix PC6400
    Sapphire HD4870

  5. #80
    Xtreme Enthusiast BeastNotro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    550
    Ok this program gets Cores HOTTER then Orthos Prime.

    I need to figure out why 2 of my cores always read 10C higher then the other 2.

    Linpack 0-1 Cores 84C and 2-3 Cores 74C Max.

    Orthos = 0-1 Cores 74C and 2-3 Cores 64C Max. (Were talking like 2-3 instances of 3 secs of a Max of 74C)

    Here is my test results just done 6 min ago and all is OK Residual result numbers 5 passes all same.

    Also ppl read the read me text ... only use what free memory is available to use.

    Last edited by BeastNotro; 08-11-2008 at 05:24 AM.
    **PC Specs**
    - Intel E8600 E0 @ 4.2ghz @ 1.33v full load (Vid 1.25) Batch # Q822A441
    - Asus P5Q Deluxe P45 (Bios 1402)
    - T-Right Ultra 120 Extreme (lapped), 1 x Noctua P12
    - 1 x ATI HIS 4850 @ 700/1100
    - 4gb G.Skill F2-8000CL5D-2GBPK @ 1008mhz
    - TT ToughPower 650w
    - 1 x 640GB Seagate Sata II
    - Antec 900 Case
    - Vista 64bit SP1 and All Useful Updates




    **My Template for 4.2ghz speed**
    [URL=WILL MAKE ONE UP SOON[/URL]
    Orthos Prime (Blend) Stable 16hrs

  6. #81
    Xtreme Addict WaterFlex's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Russia
    Posts
    1,899
    Super Nade, bad result. Your system is not stable.

    Intel Q9650 @500x9MHz/1,3V
    Asus Maximus II Formula @Performance Level=7
    OCZ OCZ2B1200LV4GK 4x2GB @1200MHz/5-5-5-15/1,8V
    OCZ SSD Vertex 3 120Gb
    Seagate RAID0 2x ST1000DM003
    XFX HD7970 3GB @1111MHz
    Thermaltake Xaser VI BWS
    Seasonic Platinum SS-1000XP
    M-Audio Audiophile 192
    LG W2486L
    Liquid Cooling System :
    ThermoChill PA120.3 + Coolgate 4x120
    Swiftech Apogee XT, Swiftech MCW-NBMAX Northbridge
    Watercool HeatKiller GPU-X3 79X0 Ni-Bl + HeatKiller GPU Backplate 79X0
    Laing 12V DDC-1Plus with XSPC Laing DDC Reservoir Top
    3x Scythe S-FLEX "F", 4x Scythe Gentle Typhoon "15", Scythe Kaze Master Ace 5,25''

    Apple MacBook Pro 17` Early 2011:
    CPU: Sandy Bridge Intel Core i7 2720QM
    RAM: Crucial 2x4GB DDR3 1333
    SSD: Samsung 840 Pro 256 GB SSD
    HDD: ADATA Nobility NH13 1GB White
    OS: Mac OS X Mavericks

  7. #82
    XS_THE_MACHINE krille's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    2,101
    Essentially you just made a simple front-end for this [ Lets put your CPU into REAL test! Intel Linpack 64bit ] in order to fish for donations? Clever...

    You should at least give Cronos proper credit in the first post. I doubt your efforts are worth a donation... I'm sorry, but to me it just comes across as astute and arrogant.

    Either way, Linpack seems useful (as does your program), so thanks for that. It should at the very least automatically scan for errors (inconsistencies) though.
    Quote Originally Posted by Shintai View Post
    I have a feeling that in 5 years. WD, Seagate etc will be some unknown names.
    (Posted by Shintai, 08-18-2008)

  8. #83
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    359
    Quote Originally Posted by WaterFlex View Post
    Super Nade, bad result. Your system is not stable.
    What should I look at to determine stability? Which numbers are you looking at?

    Now this may be an excellent way to stress out the PSU. Run this and FUR together...
    Code:
    ASUS Maximus II
    Q6700  
    ZIPPY GSM-6600P (G1)
    Ballistix PC6400
    Sapphire HD4870

  9. #84
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Richmond, VA
    Posts
    471
    Quote Originally Posted by Super Nade View Post
    What should I look at to determine stability? Which numbers are you looking at?

    Now this may be an excellent way to stress out the PSU. Run this and FUR together...

    Numbers in Residual (Norm) are supposed to match.

  10. #85
    Xtreme Enthusiast WoZZeR999's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    US, Michigan
    Posts
    660
    Program Creator, If you created a program that would automatically run 2 tests, 1 with low ram, and one with ~remainder free ram, and also check for errors, that would be donation worthy. As the program stands right now, I agree with krille.

    D-Tek Fuzion quad nozzle & MCW30
    8800GTS 512 @820/999/1998 with a MCW60
    2xMCP655b
    1xMCR320 and 1xMCR120 with 4x Yate Loon SH's
    2x Raptor X

  11. #86
    Xtreme Addict RejZoR's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Europe/Slovenia/Ljubljana
    Posts
    1,540
    Technically it could be done noob proof, autodetecting remaining memory, automaticaly doing both high and low memory utilization and automatically compare normals to see if they are the same and display it with nice "You're system is fully stable" text instead several lines of numbers and letters. Or simply a summary display of tested stuff and "Ok" next to it if passed and "Failed" if not...
    Intel Core i7 920 3.8GHz | 6GB Corsair Dominator | ASUS Rampage II Gene | GIGABYTE HD7950 3GB WindForce 3X | WD Caviar Black 2TB | Auzentech X-Fi Forte | Altec Lansing MX5021 | Corsair HX750 | Lian Li PC-V354
    Super silent cooling powered by (((Noiseblocker)))

  12. #87
    Xtreme Addict Bojamijams's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    1,051
    Okay I'm probably a noob and will probably be flamed but... explain to me the need for this program.

    Because.. this thing will test your CPU higher then anything ever will and will heat it up higher then anything ever will (other then this program obviously).. so whatever you're going to be using, it will not heat up your CPU as much as this program will and your CPU will not be stressed as much as this program will make it. So whats the point?

    If I'm stable for my games, my 3dmarks, my SuperPIs, and my folds, then.. in essence, am I not stable for my needs?

  13. #88
    Xtreme Enthusiast WoZZeR999's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    US, Michigan
    Posts
    660
    If your computer is stable enough, then you don't need to worry about it. This is more for servers where you need 100% data integrity, or you want a 100% stable system. Some people don't need 100% stability, some people want just another test. It's basically another tool similar to OCCT and prime, it just runs your system harder so you can find out if it's not stable faster.

    D-Tek Fuzion quad nozzle & MCW30
    8800GTS 512 @820/999/1998 with a MCW60
    2xMCP655b
    1xMCR320 and 1xMCR120 with 4x Yate Loon SH's
    2x Raptor X

  14. #89
    Xtreme Addict Bojamijams's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    1,051
    Well i guess my question is.. if you're stable under Prime but not stable under this... why heat up your CPU more by increasing voltage to get stable under this program when your system will NEVER be tested under this programs circumstances?

  15. #90
    Xtreme Enthusiast WoZZeR999's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    US, Michigan
    Posts
    660
    Small fft prime (what most people run) tests mainly the CPU and L2 cache. If you run prime in blend, that will test your memory controller as well. This will stress your memory controller and cpu, while also working it harder so you get a result faster.

    D-Tek Fuzion quad nozzle & MCW30
    8800GTS 512 @820/999/1998 with a MCW60
    2xMCP655b
    1xMCR320 and 1xMCR120 with 4x Yate Loon SH's
    2x Raptor X

  16. #91
    Xtreme Addict Bojamijams's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    1,051
    Well yeah you get the result faster, but like I said, under the kind of stress that it'll NEVER be put under.

  17. #92
    Xtreme Enthusiast WoZZeR999's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    US, Michigan
    Posts
    660
    If you have the test fail, then it could happen at any time. Again, this test is more designed for areas where absolute 100% stability and data integrity are necessary. For the rest of us, it's a new stability toy to play with. I don't care if my computer will never be pushed to it's limits for normal day use, but if I can prevent stability issues by quickly checking, I see no reason not to.

    D-Tek Fuzion quad nozzle & MCW30
    8800GTS 512 @820/999/1998 with a MCW60
    2xMCP655b
    1xMCR320 and 1xMCR120 with 4x Yate Loon SH's
    2x Raptor X

  18. #93
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    EU
    Posts
    100
    thanks for the program AgentGOD

    well , can i read this stable system ? . still a lil confused about the result readouts .. maybe some smarter people help me to ''decode'' this TIA
    ( was using 1024Mb for Ram .. ? half of total coze have 2Gb )
    sys spec..
    CPU: E8400 (@4005Mhz) /445X9 / Vcore set= 1.2500 // Aircooled noctua NH-C12P
    RAM: G.Skill F3-10600CL8D-2GBH (DDR3-1333 PC3-10600 1024Mb x2 CL-8-8-8-21 1.65v / voltage set 1.70
    MBO: Asus P5K3-Deluxe wifi/ap bios v.1014
    GFX: XFX 9600GT (512MB)
    PSU: Chieftec 650W (CFT-650-14CS)
    ( naked /caseless ( table ) setup ALL AIR COOLED

    bios setup: vCore=1.2500 ; CPU PLL-1.50 ; FSB Term v=1.40 ; DRAM v=1.70 ; NB v=1.40 ;SB v=1.20 ; LLC=Auto ; CPU GTL=0.63 ; NB GTL=0.61

    btw .. on same settings,
    OCCP 2.0.0a 1 hour Passed
    Prime95 (25.6) Blend test fail ( second core dropped ) ~0.5 Hour run (no crash)
    Prime95 (25.6) Small FFT test 1.5 Hours - fail ( second core dropped ) no crash

    for common usage - seemsto be stable tough ..
    other readouts visible on screenshot
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Maximus Extreme / Air // E8400 // Noctua NH-C12P
    Asus 8800 ULTRA /Stock Air/
    G.SKILL F3-10600CL8D-2GBHK
    Tagan TG700-BZ // Antec P182 B

    Rampage Extreme / Air // QX9650 // True120 Black
    A-Data DDR3-1600G 3x2gb kit (using 2 modules 2x2b)
    ((CellShock (MSC CS3222580) ) dead
    Sapphire HD 4870x2 (single) stock Air
    Be Quiet! Dark Power Pro 1KW // HAF'932

  19. #94
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    257
    Quote Originally Posted by BeastNotro View Post
    I need to figure out why 2 of my cores always read 10C higher then the other 2.
    i have same issue on my q9450, cores 0&1 are allways around 8-10 degrees higher then 2&3, remouted heatsink 2-3 times, even lapped it once, it doesnt makes a difference, then someday during prime95 test i noticed, that each time when core 0 or 1 will fail, failed core will starts to read temperature from other core, so i think its bugged/stucked sensors and i stoped caring about temperatures on core 0&1 and i just take 2&3 as only ones valid under stress... problem is linpac sometimes on hot day can get core 0&1 on 95 degrees and that turns on thermal throttling but like i said that exceptional on very hot day, when i get temperatures inside case over 40 degrees, so i dont mind much...
    Last edited by SoLoR; 08-11-2008 at 08:52 AM.

  20. #95
    Xtreme Enthusiast WoZZeR999's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    US, Michigan
    Posts
    660
    Yeah, you failed. Judging by the fact that you failed blend and small FTT, I would say you need a but more voltage to the cpu. Playing around with the NB GTL may also help a bit.
    For Prime:
    Small FTT = CPU test. The CPU holds all of the data it needs in L2 Cache
    Blend Mode = CPU and RAM/NB. The CPU data cache cannot hold all of the data that it needs, so it makes frequent calls to the memory for new data.

    If you can pass Small FTT for hours, but blend fails quickly, then you need to play around with your memory system. Adjust NB GTL's, up NB core or loosen RAM. If you fail Small FTT quickly, you need to play around with your CPU GTL's, CPU voltages or lower your FSB/Multi.

    D-Tek Fuzion quad nozzle & MCW30
    8800GTS 512 @820/999/1998 with a MCW60
    2xMCP655b
    1xMCR320 and 1xMCR120 with 4x Yate Loon SH's
    2x Raptor X

  21. #96
    Xtreme Member MarlboroMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    273
    works awesome under linux using wine... my lappie stayed as hot as hell
    C2Q QX6800@ 3.75GHz (375x10 - 1.450v) - L725A - G0
    4GB PC2-5300 Kingston Micron D9@ 3-4-4-10 750MHz 1:1
    Asus P5E-Deluxe - no mods
    eVGA 9600gso G92 + XFX 8500 GT (physics)
    H4ck3d-Slackware 11.0
    kernel-2.6.22.1@MCORE2 Arch Optimized

  22. #97
    Xtreme Enthusiast WoZZeR999's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    US, Michigan
    Posts
    660
    http://www.netlib.org/benchmark/hpl/ You can run linpack in linux without the use of a "not emulator".

    D-Tek Fuzion quad nozzle & MCW30
    8800GTS 512 @820/999/1998 with a MCW60
    2xMCP655b
    1xMCR320 and 1xMCR120 with 4x Yate Loon SH's
    2x Raptor X

  23. #98
    Xtreme Addict JohnZS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    1,597
    This could be my PC being unstable....but if I run 7 tests using 3300MB of RAM (as I am on Vista x64 SP1) all values are identical (which is good as that indicates stability), however if I run, then a few seconds later open CPU-Z and RealTemp while the test is in progress my 1st 2 results are completely different. Is this a sign of instability? Or is it because the applications I am launching whilst the test is in progress are causing some sort of conflict.
    Please note that if I run Real Temp and CPU-Z and leave them open I can complete 7 tests with no errors, however launching them during the test causes 2 results to differ.
    John
    Stop looking at the walls, look out the window

  24. #99
    Xtreme Enthusiast WoZZeR999's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    US, Michigan
    Posts
    660
    I'm not 100% sure, but if it has to move around memory to load cpu-z and RT, that may cause problems with the run.

    D-Tek Fuzion quad nozzle & MCW30
    8800GTS 512 @820/999/1998 with a MCW60
    2xMCP655b
    1xMCR320 and 1xMCR120 with 4x Yate Loon SH's
    2x Raptor X

  25. #100
    Xtreme Enthusiast BeastNotro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    550
    Quote Originally Posted by SoLoR View Post
    i have same issue on my q9450, cores 0&1 are allways around 8-10 degrees higher then 2&3, remouted heatsink 2-3 times, even lapped it once, it doesnt makes a difference, then someday during prime95 test i noticed, that each time when core 0 or 1 will fail, failed core will starts to read temperature from other core, so i think its bugged/stucked sensors and i stoped caring about temperatures on core 0&1 and i just take 2&3 as only ones valid under stress... problem is linpac sometimes on hot day can get core 0&1 on 95 degrees and that turns on thermal throttling but like i said that exceptional on very hot day, when i get temperatures inside case over 40 degrees, so i dont mind much...
    No i think the problem is the IHS is concave in that area and it is causing a Air bubble or a GAP there in which the heatsink is not making 100% contact.

    The sensors are not stuck as if you use RealTemp you can Test the Sensors for movement in which my move np's.

    I lapped my Ultra 120 Extreme 2 days ago now and it dropped temps 5-6C from previously when not lapped at Idle.

    But under full load it dropped maybe 2-3C, but it is still MID 60's-65C-^8C on average on those 2 cores where as the other two are 8-10C less.

    I think i may have to lap the CPU, but i hate to do so cause of warranty, but i not care in one way as i can afford another one if need to be, but it would suck if it did die.

    Now cause the Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme is LOOSE when installed this can cause a 4C-5C increase in those cores expecially if the IHS is concave in that area .. now add heat to the issue and that is another 4C-5C increase making the total overall 8-10C increase on those 2 cores alone.

    I may try to use a dime or penny or a 1/8 washer ynder the retention bracket to try and get it to be a tighter fit and see how that works out .. with new Paste of course.

    I using AS5 right now, but i am going to try the thermalright Chill Factor stuff as in many reviews it is about 2-3C less then AS5 and NO BREAK IN period.
    **PC Specs**
    - Intel E8600 E0 @ 4.2ghz @ 1.33v full load (Vid 1.25) Batch # Q822A441
    - Asus P5Q Deluxe P45 (Bios 1402)
    - T-Right Ultra 120 Extreme (lapped), 1 x Noctua P12
    - 1 x ATI HIS 4850 @ 700/1100
    - 4gb G.Skill F2-8000CL5D-2GBPK @ 1008mhz
    - TT ToughPower 650w
    - 1 x 640GB Seagate Sata II
    - Antec 900 Case
    - Vista 64bit SP1 and All Useful Updates




    **My Template for 4.2ghz speed**
    [URL=WILL MAKE ONE UP SOON[/URL]
    Orthos Prime (Blend) Stable 16hrs

Page 4 of 44 FirstFirst 123456714 ... LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •