Page 3 of 44 FirstFirst 12345613 ... LastLast
Results 51 to 75 of 1090

Thread: IntelBurnTest - The new stress-testing program

  1. #51
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    504
    This is my QX9650 @ 4GHZ. My residue is all over the place and I do get occasional BSODs, but I am pretty happy with my stability.

    i7 Rigs
    Mobo:EVGA Classified/Foxconn BR
    CPU:W3540/i7 920(D0)
    RAM: Dominator GT 2000 cl7/Patriot DDR3-2000 cl8
    GPU:Sapphire 4870x2/XFX 4890/ GTX 260 tri-sli


    Lappy:
    Late 2008 "Unibody" MBP 2.4 GHZ(with OCZ Vertex 250GB)

  2. #52
    Banned
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Hhw
    Posts
    4,107
    Space reserved for results ( when my normal cooling get's sorted out again, not the gheto fix ).

    I will say I like this tool allot, but the output reading could have been easier. It took me to look at the actual numbers from Loonym to see what was the diffrence with a stable results ( numbers stay equal ).

  3. #53
    Xtreme Addict Loser777's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    California
    Posts
    1,468
    Meh, I don't see the need for such a program... any DOS shell with a GUI will do in reading results.
    1.7%

  4. #54
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Richmond, VA
    Posts
    471
    Quote Originally Posted by tekjunkie View Post
    This is my QX9650 @ 4GHZ. My residue is all over the place and I do get occasional BSODs, but I am pretty happy with my stability.

    BSODs can cause data corruption, and are a great indicator that you don't have stability. But I guess if it doesn't bother you...

  5. #55
    Xtreme 3DTeam Member Der_KHAN's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Dresden
    Posts
    1,525
    Quote Originally Posted by AgentGOD View Post
    I used Prime95 on my Q6600 with Small FFTs, [...]
    use large FFT. problem solved.

  6. #56
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    100

    This test is hardcore. Under load vcore drops to 1.184v.
    Had to raise vcore to 1.23 idle - before I ran this system with 1.184v idle, 1.168v load which was primestable 12 hours. Simply insane ^^

    Also noticed that 10 runs with 100 mb ram were stable at old settings, 10 runs with 2 gigs were not. Guess this test is really extreme
    Intel Core i5 2500K (L041A789) 5 Ghz@1.36V - 8GB Teamgroup Elite DDR3-1333@DDR3-1866-9-10-9-25 - Radeon HD6970@900-1400 - Asrock P67 Extreme4 (1.50) - Scythe Stronger Plugin 500W
    Intel Xeon E3110, 4.2Ghz@1.264V/4Ghz@1.168V - 4GB OCZ Platinum PC2-8500 CL5-5-5-15 - Radeon HD4870 - Gigabyte P35-DS3 (F14) - Seasonic SII 430W

  7. #57
    Xtreme Addict RejZoR's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Europe/Slovenia/Ljubljana
    Posts
    1,540
    If you want to check actual stability you have to dedicate as much memory as possible. The less you dedicate it, the less it'll be stressed.

    Also now i know my system is stable. 3,3GHz stable after 5 passes. 2GB of memory used.
    Intel Core i7 920 4 GHz | 18 GB DDR3 1600 MHz | ASUS Rampage II Gene | GIGABYTE HD7950 3GB WindForce 3X | WD Caviar Black 2TB | Creative Sound Blaster Z | Altec Lansing MX5021 | Corsair HX750 | Lian Li PC-V354
    Super silent cooling powered by (((Noiseblocker)))

  8. #58
    Back from the Dead jcool's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Stuttgart, Germany
    Posts
    6,598
    Well I was a big fan of linpack initially, but went back to prime simply because linpack will run on my Q6600 even when prime fails.
    It's much like Furmark vs. ATITool with GFX cards, FUR heats the card up all right but ATITool is the one to detect the errors.
    World Community Grid - come join a great team and help us fight for a better tomorrow![size=1]


  9. #59
    c[_] STEvil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    20,435
    Technically none of you guys are doing this right.

    There are two ways to do this.

    The first is to run with the smallest amount of ram possible. This places as much data into L2 as possible keeping the CPU working at as close to maximum as possible (small FFT's).

    The second is to run with as much ram used as possible to create as much stress as possible on the memory controller, chipset, and memory.

    Testing both ways is preferred.
    Heatware || 01.01.08; AND 111.2%

    Dead Z7S-WS? Click!. || XS Z7S-WS Thread || Current Dead Asus Z7S-WS count: 26+ ($15,000 in dead motherboards).
    All along the watchtower the watchmen watch the eternal return.
    Want to use my Anti-asus logo? Go ahead, but use this link please!: http://i853.photobucket.com/albums/a...sus/noasus.gif
    Bring back the game. http://reclaimyourgame.com/. EA are mean.

  10. #60
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    100
    Quote Originally Posted by RejZoR View Post
    If you want to check actual stability you have to dedicate as much memory as possible. The less you dedicate it, the less it'll be stressed.

    Also now i know my system is stable. 3,3GHz stable after 5 passes. 2GB of memory used.
    Ye sure.
    Used 3.5 out of my 4 gb
    Intel Core i5 2500K (L041A789) 5 Ghz@1.36V - 8GB Teamgroup Elite DDR3-1333@DDR3-1866-9-10-9-25 - Radeon HD6970@900-1400 - Asrock P67 Extreme4 (1.50) - Scythe Stronger Plugin 500W
    Intel Xeon E3110, 4.2Ghz@1.264V/4Ghz@1.168V - 4GB OCZ Platinum PC2-8500 CL5-5-5-15 - Radeon HD4870 - Gigabyte P35-DS3 (F14) - Seasonic SII 430W

  11. #61
    Xtreme Member Kougar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    233
    Nice tool AgentGOD! Going to be having some fun with this one I think and putting it through its paces. Best program I've seen for heating up the CPU despite my WC loop, that is for sure.

    Small bug report, just nitpicking: It reads my CPU as 3.6GHz when it really is 3.2GHz, it doesn't notice the lowered multiplier.
    Core i7 4770k
    Gigabyte Z87X-UD5H
    Crucial Ballistix Sport LP 1600MHz 32GB
    EVGA GTX 480 HydroCopper FTW
    ASUS Xonar DX | Corsair Neutron GTX 240GB
    Apogee XT + MCP655 & Thermochill Triple 140mm Radiator
    Corsair AX1200 PSU | Cooler Master HAF-X
    Windows 7 64-bit


  12. #62
    Xtreme Addict RejZoR's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Europe/Slovenia/Ljubljana
    Posts
    1,540
    It would be nice if there was option that would automatically dedicate all available memory to the program to test. Right now users have to find out on their own how much they can use. Two options would be ideal. Minimal possible for maximal CPU stress and maximal possible for maximal overal system stress.
    Intel Core i7 920 4 GHz | 18 GB DDR3 1600 MHz | ASUS Rampage II Gene | GIGABYTE HD7950 3GB WindForce 3X | WD Caviar Black 2TB | Creative Sound Blaster Z | Altec Lansing MX5021 | Corsair HX750 | Lian Li PC-V354
    Super silent cooling powered by (((Noiseblocker)))

  13. #63
    Xtreme Addict JohnZS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    1,597
    Good Tool Mr AgentGod,
    Just a quick question, what is deemed a "safe" (or thereabouts) maximum temperature for 45nm Yorkfield CPU?'s
    IntelBurnTest got one of my cores up to a scorching 67C
    All numbers were the same at the end though.
    Just worried seeing such a high temperature on Core2. Cores 1 3 and 4 reached 63C (which is still hot!!)
    John
    Stop looking at the walls, look out the window

  14. #64
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    264
    Havent downloaded this yet, Ive found to be Prime too unpredicatable.

    Ive had times where stability is rock solid during the day (12 hour passes starting at 6 am-6pm.
    And then Ive had other times when i start at 6pm till 6 am (showing that Temp doesnt spike because of night..) And itll cause errors,

    But Can we get like a post stating a good way to use this program, I see that we should be doing one with barely any memory and one with all the memory.

    BSODS are a bad sign and Abnormal residual numbers mean unstable data but is ok to have a couple scrambled numbers...??

  15. #65
    Xtreme Addict RejZoR's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Europe/Slovenia/Ljubljana
    Posts
    1,540
    @JohnZS
    As long as temps are below 70°C you really don't have to worry... Also note that actual games and programs never heat up the CPU as much so worry even less.
    You can check that with some graph monitoring tool or by RealTemp's Max Temp values. Just reset them before playing some game or using intensive app.
    Intel Core i7 920 4 GHz | 18 GB DDR3 1600 MHz | ASUS Rampage II Gene | GIGABYTE HD7950 3GB WindForce 3X | WD Caviar Black 2TB | Creative Sound Blaster Z | Altec Lansing MX5021 | Corsair HX750 | Lian Li PC-V354
    Super silent cooling powered by (((Noiseblocker)))

  16. #66
    Xtreme Addict RejZoR's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Europe/Slovenia/Ljubljana
    Posts
    1,540
    Hm, is it normal for this test to take longer than on lower clocked CPU ? With 3,3GHz it took 120 seconds for each loop. With 3,5GHz it takes 155 seconds for each. End results were consistent between all 5 loops. Is this normal? Oh, i used 2048MB of memory for each run.

    My bad, forgot multi on 6x instead 9x after BIOS upgrade...
    Last edited by RejZoR; 08-11-2008 at 12:58 AM.
    Intel Core i7 920 4 GHz | 18 GB DDR3 1600 MHz | ASUS Rampage II Gene | GIGABYTE HD7950 3GB WindForce 3X | WD Caviar Black 2TB | Creative Sound Blaster Z | Altec Lansing MX5021 | Corsair HX750 | Lian Li PC-V354
    Super silent cooling powered by (((Noiseblocker)))

  17. #67
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    58


    theres mine with 6 runs, its a little scary though, the CPU hit 88c
    System Specs:
    Intel 860@ 4.0 Ghz
    Swiftech Apogee XT
    Asus P7P55D
    4GB Supertalent DDR3 @ 1993MHz
    Asus GTX470
    Koolance NX470 Block
    Silverstone 1200 watt PSU
    Windows 7 64bit
    Silverstone TJ07
    Dual Swiftech MCP 655 Pumps
    Swiftech MCR 320 and 220 Rads
    T3 Res


  18. #68
    I am Xtreme Leeghoofd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    10,379
    Quote Originally Posted by RejZoR View Post
    Hm, is it normal for this test to take longer than on lower clocked CPU ? With 3,3GHz it took 120 seconds for each loop. With 3,5GHz it takes 155 seconds for each. End results were consistent between all 5 loops. Is this normal? Oh, i used 2048MB of memory for each run.
    With all other values the same more cpu speed should give a faster run

    Here are my results first at 3.2 then 4ghz with the quad : so 400FSB X 8 , then 10X... ram and co at 1066Mhz 5-5-5-5, 2048MB tested on WinXP64 Pro

    Last edited by Leeghoofd; 08-11-2008 at 01:16 AM.
    Question : Why do some overclockers switch into d*ckmode when money is involved

    Remark : They call me Pro Asus Saaya yupp, I agree

  19. #69
    Xtreme Enthusiast majestik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Montreal, K-Beck
    Posts
    511
    I love it. Well... actually I love LINPACK, whatever way you run it.
    It's fast, brutal and cosistent - I don't need any other stress-testing tool, with this thing I can fine-tune the FSB within 1mhz

  20. #70
    Xtreme Addict RealTelstar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    1,328
    Quote Originally Posted by 003 View Post
    The data is easy to look at, because you can scroll through it extremely fast, and if any line is different, you will notice very easily because it sticks out like a sore thumb. But still, it would be nice to have it report if there is an error.

    Also, I believe that even if they all are the same, but the number is simply too large, then that also means it's not stable. I'm not sure what the cutoff for stable vs not stable is though.
    I still dont get how you see if the test failed. Can someone post an example screenshot of succeed/fail, highlighting the error line?
    I have never used linpak...

    SB Rig:
    | CPU: 2600K (L040B313T) | Cooling: H100 with 2x AP29 | Motherboard: Asrock P67 Extreme4 Gen3
    | RAM: 8GB Corsair Vengeance 1866 | Video: MSI gtx570 TF III
    | SSD: Crucial M4 128GB fw009 | HDDs: 2x GP 2TB, 2x Samsung F4 2TB
    | Audio: Cantatis Overture & Denon D7000 headphones | Case: Lian-Li T60 bench table
    | PSU: Seasonic X650 | Display: Samsung 2693HM 25,5"
    | OS: Windows7 Ultimate x64 SP1

    +Fanless Music Rig: | E5200 @0.9V

    +General surfing PC on sale | E8400 @4Ghz

  21. #71
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    105
    Quote Originally Posted by RealTelstar View Post
    I still dont get how you see if the test failed. Can someone post an example screenshot of succeed/fail, highlighting the error line?
    I have never used linpak...
    At page 1 o this thread loonym posted a screen of failed test. If you look on the last column on the right (residual norm), the values were incoherent each other: this is a failed test.

    But no one else but me experienced weird system issues runnign this test?
    Asus Rampage Formula / Q6700 G0 + TRUE / 4 x OCZ 9200 FleXLC / BFG 8800 Ultra OC / X-Fi XtremeGamer
    Enermax Galaxy 1000 DXX / CM Stacker / Dell 2707 / Logitech G15 + G9 + Z5500

  22. #72
    I am Xtreme Leeghoofd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    10,379
    Quote Originally Posted by RealTelstar View Post
    I still dont get how you see if the test failed. Can someone post an example screenshot of succeed/fail, highlighting the error line?
    I have never used linpak...
    Post 23 clarifies clearly mate... all values should match... any discrepancy is not good... though hard to tell if it's ram or cpu that craps out... think iwll use this as a last test

    One question how much rma do you guys put in ? I took the free ram of physical Memory available in the windows Task Manager... about 3Gb here...

    What do you guys set ?
    Last edited by Leeghoofd; 08-11-2008 at 03:12 AM.
    Question : Why do some overclockers switch into d*ckmode when money is involved

    Remark : They call me Pro Asus Saaya yupp, I agree

  23. #73
    XS_THE_MACHINE krille's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    2,101
    Wow, AgentGOD, didn't know you were an XS'er! Need to OC that quad much to debug BW?
    Quote Originally Posted by Shintai View Post
    I have a feeling that in 5 years. WD, Seagate etc will be some unknown names.
    (Posted by Shintai, 08-18-2008)

  24. #74
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    105
    Well, i've got another rampage and a q6600 on my 2nd rig, so i tried this tool to see if it gives me strange behaviour too. So i've run a 10 cycle test and it runs very smooth without an issue!
    Now i'm sure it's not a software fault, but something in my first rig that doesn't work. But the fact that even with stock settings i've got this strange behaviour worries me a bit...don't want to rma this board!
    I'll track down every component of this rig to search for the guilty one...any suggestion?
    Asus Rampage Formula / Q6700 G0 + TRUE / 4 x OCZ 9200 FleXLC / BFG 8800 Ultra OC / X-Fi XtremeGamer
    Enermax Galaxy 1000 DXX / CM Stacker / Dell 2707 / Logitech G15 + G9 + Z5500

  25. #75
    Xtreme Addict RejZoR's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Europe/Slovenia/Ljubljana
    Posts
    1,540
    @Leeghoofd

    I screwed it up there. I forgot to set multi from 6 to 9 when updating BIOS. Thats why it took longer and it appeard to be more stable. But it was in fact running at 2,3GHz...
    My error...
    Intel Core i7 920 4 GHz | 18 GB DDR3 1600 MHz | ASUS Rampage II Gene | GIGABYTE HD7950 3GB WindForce 3X | WD Caviar Black 2TB | Creative Sound Blaster Z | Altec Lansing MX5021 | Corsair HX750 | Lian Li PC-V354
    Super silent cooling powered by (((Noiseblocker)))

Page 3 of 44 FirstFirst 12345613 ... LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •