Page 2 of 44 FirstFirst 1234512 ... LastLast
Results 26 to 50 of 1090

Thread: IntelBurnTest - The new stress-testing program

  1. #26
    Xtreme Enthusiast WoZZeR999's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    US, Michigan
    Posts
    660
    It uses Intel's Linpack math libraries. While Prime95 uses 100% of your CPU, there are still lot's of wait statements involved. The linpack libraries are designed to get the data you need as fast as possible. You could try running the tester at lower priority to see if that fixes it.

    Edit: Also make sure you didn't use too much ram. Figure out how much you need based on free ram.

    D-Tek Fuzion quad nozzle & MCW30
    8800GTS 512 @820/999/1998 with a MCW60
    2xMCP655b
    1xMCR320 and 1xMCR120 with 4x Yate Loon SH's
    2x Raptor X

  2. #27
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    105
    As you suggested i've tried to run the test with less memory but the results still remain the same: test run fine, but pc gone crazy!
    So i've swapped to the default settings, to see if these issues still persist.
    Well, even with stock settings my system goes crazy during test: usb wireless dongle lost, everest nb & sb going crazy and then stopped reading and lcd poster starts flashing.
    I'm running win Xp pro 32 bit.
    Anyone else experienced strange issue like these?

    BTW, i've didn't run with lower priority. i think if it runs at lower priority it doesn't use 100% cpu so the test will be useless, am i wrong?
    Last edited by panheimer; 08-09-2008 at 02:38 PM.
    Asus Rampage Formula / Q6700 G0 + TRUE / 4 x OCZ 9200 FleXLC / BFG 8800 Ultra OC / X-Fi XtremeGamer
    Enermax Galaxy 1000 DXX / CM Stacker / Dell 2707 / Logitech G15 + G9 + Z5500

  3. #28
    Xtreme Enthusiast WoZZeR999's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    US, Michigan
    Posts
    660
    It will still use 100% of the cpu, but if there is a function call to anything else in the system then windows will run it first.

    D-Tek Fuzion quad nozzle & MCW30
    8800GTS 512 @820/999/1998 with a MCW60
    2xMCP655b
    1xMCR320 and 1xMCR120 with 4x Yate Loon SH's
    2x Raptor X

  4. #29
    Xtremely unstable loonym's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Between Hell and Nowhere
    Posts
    2,803
    Quote Originally Posted by Loser777 View Post
    You do realize that that isn't stable right?
    No, I guess I don't know how to read the result?

    I've never had any signals of any sort of instability, 0 WU errors running boinc wcg, gaming, etc. Uptimes for days on end, I guess it's good enough for me
    Last edited by loonym; 08-09-2008 at 03:12 PM.
    dx58so
    w3520@4100
    4x1gb corsair ddr3-1333
    gtx 295
    TR ultra-x, 2 scythe ultrakaze push/pull
    xclio stablepower 1000
    vista ultimate


    -------------------------------

    would you crunch if you thought it would save her life?

    maybe it will!

  5. #30
    2.4C killer Peen's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    2,068
    Quote Originally Posted by loonym View Post
    No, I guess I don't know how to read the result?

    I've never had any signals of any sort of instability, 0 WU errors running boinc wcg, gaming, etc. Uptimes for days on end, I guess it's good enough for me
    Ya I got the same thing, I even tried running completely stock bios defaults and the numbers were different. This program def gets the CPU nice and toasty though

  6. #31
    Xtreme Enthusiast WoZZeR999's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    US, Michigan
    Posts
    660
    Yeah, it's a better stability tool for servers where you need 100% data integrity.

    D-Tek Fuzion quad nozzle & MCW30
    8800GTS 512 @820/999/1998 with a MCW60
    2xMCP655b
    1xMCR320 and 1xMCR120 with 4x Yate Loon SH's
    2x Raptor X

  7. #32
    Xtremely unstable loonym's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Between Hell and Nowhere
    Posts
    2,803
    So it should look like this? Same settings on my pc, I just selected less ram... meh close enough

    dx58so
    w3520@4100
    4x1gb corsair ddr3-1333
    gtx 295
    TR ultra-x, 2 scythe ultrakaze push/pull
    xclio stablepower 1000
    vista ultimate


    -------------------------------

    would you crunch if you thought it would save her life?

    maybe it will!

  8. #33
    Xtreme Member Zigosity's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    218
    Just tried this, system passed (woot!), but holy crap, it got HOT!

    Realtemp reports the maximum temperature at 74*C. That's over 10 degrees hotter than Prime95 gets at these voltages... Yeesh. But if it does beat out prime 95 for showing stability issues, and only takes 8 or so minutes to complete, wow, I'm all for it. Really neat little program!

    -Zigosity
    Asus P6T SE || 965 XE @ 4.0GHz [currently OCing]|| OCz DDR3 Plat 3x2Gb 1600 7-7-7-20
    2x Sapphire HD4850 CrossfireX || WD VelociRaptor 300GB || Antec Quattro 1kW PSU

    -------------------------------------------------
    Cooling:
    D-Tek FuZion v2 || Swiftech MCR320 || MCP355 w\ XSPC Res Top || Scythe S-Flexes

  9. #34
    2.4C killer Peen's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    2,068
    Mine was hitting 105c and throttling back, I need a new cooler this Coolermaster sphere is worse then a stock one! Contact is good on CPU and everything + good case airflow

  10. #35
    Xtreme Addict mikeyakame's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Land of Koalas and Wombats
    Posts
    1,058
    Residual needs to be a value of less than e^-09 ie e^-10, e^-11, etc, and Residual Normalised value should be roughly between e^-02 to e^-04. Ie 0.01 to 0.0001. Outside these ranges indicates memory or cpu errors.

    DFI LT-X48-T2R UT CDC24 Bios | Q9550 E0 | G.Skill DDR2-1066 PK 2x2GB |
    Geforce GTX 280 729/1566/2698 | Corsair HX1000 | Stacker 832 | Dell 3008WFP


  11. #36
    Xtreme Addict mikeyakame's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Land of Koalas and Wombats
    Posts
    1,058
    I rather use Windows Powershell v2 and PSPlus Graphical IDE front end. Guess most people here wouldn't have the faintest idea what it is! But its nice. Its a scripting shell based somewhat on *nix shell environments. V1 was basically a blue command prompt, V2 has become a graphical IDE with great features.



    DFI LT-X48-T2R UT CDC24 Bios | Q9550 E0 | G.Skill DDR2-1066 PK 2x2GB |
    Geforce GTX 280 729/1566/2698 | Corsair HX1000 | Stacker 832 | Dell 3008WFP


  12. #37
    The Doctor Warboy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Kansas City, MO
    Posts
    2,571
    Quote Originally Posted by panheimer View Post
    As you suggested i've tried to run the test with less memory but the results still remain the same: test run fine, but pc gone crazy!
    So i've swapped to the default settings, to see if these issues still persist.
    Well, even with stock settings my system goes crazy during test: usb wireless dongle lost, everest nb & sb going crazy and then stopped reading and lcd poster starts flashing.
    I'm running win Xp pro 32 bit.
    Anyone else experienced strange issue like these?

    BTW, i've didn't run with lower priority. i think if it runs at lower priority it doesn't use 100% cpu so the test will be useless, am i wrong?
    Your NB/RAM needs more volts or your powresupply can not keep up with the demand.
    My Rig can do EpicFLOPs, Can yours?
    Once this baby hits 88 GigaFLOPs, You're going to see some serious $@#%....

    MIA - XT4, will be missed. ST1 Active.
    Current OS Systems: Windows XP 64bit Build 3959, Windows 7 64bit SP1 Ultimate, Ubuntu 11.10 64Bit

  13. #38
    Xtreme Member ShawnTRD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Spencer, NY
    Posts
    403
    So my system look pretty good.. No higher then 50c

    ASUS Maximus Formula Special Edition / SE X38 RAMPAGE 0803 BIOS
    Q6700
    Lapped TRUE
    G.Skill 8500 2x2GB
    9600DT 512MB
    X-Fi Extreme Music.
    Samsung 1TB & 2 WD 200GB (trying to RAID)
    PC Power & Cooling 750 (Black)

  14. #39
    Xtreme Enthusiast AgentGOD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    963
    Yeah that looks good. Very stable.
    .:: Gaming PC Specs ::.

    Case: Antec Nine Hundred
    CPU: Intel Core i7-2600K @ 4.6 GHz, 1.44v (cooled by Xigmatek GAIA) [IntelBurnTest{Linpack} stable]
    GPU/Monitor: VisionTek HD 6950 @ 6970, 950 MHz/1375 MHz 1.30v + Sony BRAVIA 32EX400 1080p
    Motherboard: GIGABYTE Z68XP-UD4 F5
    Memory: 16 GB (4x 4 GB) Corsair Vengeance LP DDR3 1600
    Hard Drive: 2x Seagate 500 GB 7200.11 RAID 0 & RAID 1 (Matrix RAID) + 1x WD Caviar Black 640 GB
    Sound: Creative SB X-Fi Fatal1ty Profess1onal, Logitech X-530
    PSU: Corsair AX-1200 (1500W PSU!)
    O/S: Microsoft® Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 X64

  15. #40
    Xtreme Addict Rattle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    MA/NH
    Posts
    1,254
    this is pretty sweet, my temps were a little warmer than p95 1.36v 4200mhz i hit 63c after 5 instances and they all good.
    Mpower Max | 4770k | H100 | 16gb Sammy 30nm 1866 | GTX780 SC | Xonar Essence Stx | BIC DV62si | ATH AD700 | 550d | AX850 | VG24QE | 840pro 256gb | 640black | 2tb | CherryReds | m60 | Func1030 |
    HEAT

  16. #41
    Xtreme Addict Loser777's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    California
    Posts
    1,468
    Quote Originally Posted by loonym View Post
    So it should look like this? Same settings on my pc, I just selected less ram... meh close enough

    It should be the max amount of RAM you can use... if you set it lower, it won't give accurate results... it's like running Small FFTs on Prime vs Blend.

    Not testing everything...

    I also don't like running just five tests, I usually run ten... sometimes my system will just BSOD after 6 tests if it's not stable. (even though the first 6 tests were all error-free)
    Last edited by Loser777; 08-09-2008 at 09:16 PM.
    1.7%

  17. #42
    Xtremely unstable loonym's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Between Hell and Nowhere
    Posts
    2,803
    Ahhh, sorry... I still think I'll keep the setup though ok?
    dx58so
    w3520@4100
    4x1gb corsair ddr3-1333
    gtx 295
    TR ultra-x, 2 scythe ultrakaze push/pull
    xclio stablepower 1000
    vista ultimate


    -------------------------------

    would you crunch if you thought it would save her life?

    maybe it will!

  18. #43
    Xtreme Addict Loser777's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    California
    Posts
    1,468
    I know your perspective... I'm not comfortable knowing that my system will fail a test no matter how extreme it is.
    1.7%

  19. #44
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    105
    As suggested i've tried again:
    - lowered priority, upped nb voltages 1 notch an run 10 tests: no residual norm variation but system went crazy;
    - lowered priority, upped nb voltages 2 notches and 10 run tests: system went crazy and error wents out;
    - lowered priority, swapped everything at stock settings an run 10 tests: no residual norm variation but system went crazy;
    I think i'll have to wait for newer release of this sweet test tool, as i'm not confident seeing nb and sb temps going throttling around from -64°C and 0°C, lcd poster flashing, and usb wireless dongle going crazy.
    Asus Rampage Formula / Q6700 G0 + TRUE / 4 x OCZ 9200 FleXLC / BFG 8800 Ultra OC / X-Fi XtremeGamer
    Enermax Galaxy 1000 DXX / CM Stacker / Dell 2707 / Logitech G15 + G9 + Z5500

  20. #45
    The Doctor Warboy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Kansas City, MO
    Posts
    2,571
    Quote Originally Posted by panheimer View Post
    As suggested i've tried again:
    - lowered priority, upped nb voltages 1 notch an run 10 tests: no residual norm variation but system went crazy;
    - lowered priority, upped nb voltages 2 notches and 10 run tests: system went crazy and error wents out;
    - lowered priority, swapped everything at stock settings an run 10 tests: no residual norm variation but system went crazy;
    I think i'll have to wait for newer release of this sweet test tool, as i'm not confident seeing nb and sb temps going throttling around from -64°C and 0°C, lcd poster flashing, and usb wireless dongle going crazy.

    It's not the tool, I got that same problem with my Maximus Extreme when I tried to stress test it with other tools.
    My Rig can do EpicFLOPs, Can yours?
    Once this baby hits 88 GigaFLOPs, You're going to see some serious $@#%....

    MIA - XT4, will be missed. ST1 Active.
    Current OS Systems: Windows XP 64bit Build 3959, Windows 7 64bit SP1 Ultimate, Ubuntu 11.10 64Bit

  21. #46
    Xtreme Addict RealTelstar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    1,328
    Anybody else than panheimer ran this with a rampage?

    SB Rig:
    | CPU: 2600K (L040B313T) | Cooling: H100 with 2x AP29 | Motherboard: Asrock P67 Extreme4 Gen3
    | RAM: 8GB Corsair Vengeance 1866 | Video: MSI gtx570 TF III
    | SSD: Crucial M4 128GB fw009 | HDDs: 2x GP 2TB, 2x Samsung F4 2TB
    | Audio: Cantatis Overture & Denon D7000 headphones | Case: Lian-Li T60 bench table
    | PSU: Seasonic X650 | Display: Samsung 2693HM 25,5"
    | OS: Windows7 Ultimate x64 SP1

    +Fanless Music Rig: | E5200 @0.9V

    +General surfing PC on sale | E8400 @4Ghz

  22. #47
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    258
    Quote Originally Posted by RealTelstar View Post
    Anybody else than panheimer ran this with a rampage?
    yes, on Q9450 @3.6ghz @1.328V (LCC enabled)

    and... im afraid of runing this... core temps on 2 cores goes to ~90 in only 2min, other two are on more acceptable 80, but since i dont know what temperatures are real im afraid of runing it... and system is ~15h prime stable otherwise with temperatures on hot cores not going past 74....

    i will try default clocks, just to see if i get any problems that he is reporting...

    edit: works fine for me with default clocks, no wierd LCD blinking or something, works as it should!
    Last edited by SoLoR; 08-10-2008 at 03:26 AM.

  23. #48
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    105
    Quote Originally Posted by [cTx]Warboy View Post
    It's not the tool, I got that same problem with my Maximus Extreme when I tried to stress test it with other tools.
    With tools did you use? And how did you solved this issues?
    I run occt, prime95, 3dmark 06, super pi and none of theese gives me problem.
    Asus Rampage Formula / Q6700 G0 + TRUE / 4 x OCZ 9200 FleXLC / BFG 8800 Ultra OC / X-Fi XtremeGamer
    Enermax Galaxy 1000 DXX / CM Stacker / Dell 2707 / Logitech G15 + G9 + Z5500

  24. #49
    Registered User Helli's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Germany, near Munich
    Posts
    25
    Quote Originally Posted by RealTelstar View Post
    Anybody else than panheimer ran this with a rampage?
    Yes. Here!

    But i have to lower my Settings to got this heavy Stresstest successfully running. Normaly, for my daily needs and for 24/7 Distributed Computing, my Rig (Q6600 G0, Vista 64) runs on 8x478, for the Linpack Test i have to lower to 9x416. Main reason is, my Low-Price Memory. 8 GB Mushkin SP2 DDR2-800. In my daily Settings it runs fine at DDR2-956 5-5-5-18 PL8, but with the Linpack Test, i can only run one Test, then BSOD.



    Helli
    Last edited by Helli; 08-10-2008 at 05:07 AM.

  25. #50
    Crunch-Fu Adept Aerou's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Czech Rep.
    Posts
    1,467
    damn, the cpu actually burns with these computations
    Sometimes a good slap in the face is all you need

    Bios my arss.....
    I can fix this problem with a hardware mod....
    Hipro5


    "Overclock till death. Overclocking is life." Hipro5

Page 2 of 44 FirstFirst 1234512 ... LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •