Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 26

Thread: Asus 9600GSO vmod

  1. #1
    Xtreme Member bartx's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    378

    Asus 8800GS/9600GSO/8800GT 1GB (?) vmods schematics

    I post schematics of mods, measurements points and photos how I did it All photos are in high resolution. These mods are for Asus 9600GSO/8800GS and probably for 8800GT 1GB which using the same PCB (but voltages may be different).



    Default voltages:
    vGPU - 1.21V (in stress is about 1,20V)
    vMEM - 1.81V

    After soldering trimmers, vGPU was 1.28V and VMEM 1.90V. Of course you can use 50K/20K trimmers, but I think that 20K/10K are better. Remember about providing some cooling for L6713A chip. I put there RAM heatsink, but even with that it can get warm. I'm planning make heatsink for mosfets (they are covered by heatsink in 8800GS/8800GT on the same PCB)



    You do all modifications for own risk!
    Last edited by bartx; 09-02-2008 at 10:08 AM.

  2. #2
    Registered User akin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Indonesia
    Posts
    44
    please post pictures of the back side...(also in high res)

  3. #3
    Xtreme Member bartx's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    378
    On the back side there are four chips, but only two of the them are connected with resistors/capacitors so I make them photos:


  4. #4
    Registered User akin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Indonesia
    Posts
    44
    i think for the GPU's voltage mod of this VGA is using same trick as 9600GT, the IC L6713A is using VID to control the output of the voltage.

    to make sure the right voltage controller of the memory, i still need the full picture of the back side of that VGA.
    Last edited by akin; 07-31-2008 at 08:48 PM.

  5. #5
    Xtreme Member bartx's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    378
    Pictures of whole PCB from both sides:


  6. #6
    Registered User akin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Indonesia
    Posts
    44
    ok for this time i just can give the memory vmod. first, measure the resistance on the #6 pin. if the resistance value is under 1K ohm, use the VR 20K to rise up the voltage..


    Last edited by akin; 08-01-2008 at 07:40 PM.

  7. #7
    Registered User akin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Indonesia
    Posts
    44


    if we see this scheme, GPU's Vmod maybe can use the same trick as the vmem mod ( conventional trick) with attaching the resistors on the FB pin, which this pin is on leg #22.

    does anyone has try it...???

  8. #8
    Xtreme Member bartx's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    378
    Thanks for you work, I'll check it today. Maybe pencil mod will be possible?

    EDIT: I checked voltage in this points and there are everywhere ~12V (on the third capacitor is also 12V) so there aren't measurement point. vGpu is probably 1.1V and vMem 1.8V (from datasheet).
    Last edited by bartx; 08-02-2008 at 04:00 AM.

  9. #9
    Registered User akin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Indonesia
    Posts
    44
    OK, just try to measure the voltage on this spot...



    pencil mod for the memory is still possible i think. just try to find the resistor's that connected to the pin #6 and the ground. if you find it, there is the pencil mod place...

  10. #10
    Xtreme Member bartx's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    378
    I've checked a few things with my DMM. Resistance from FB Pin of L6713A to ground is 1,1K. About vmem I post one pic, where I marked some things:



    Pencil mod for vMem is possible I think (but I'll check once more before I do this). Is there any way to do vGpu mod without soldering? It really hard to solder anything there, these pins are so small I haven't soldering anything so small yet, I thought about buy card like 6200TC, soldering iron and try some mods, but rather not on this 9600GSO

  11. #11
    Registered User akin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Indonesia
    Posts
    44
    how about the voltage ? have you tried to measure on the that new pin ?
    if you want to know how much voltage that you want to apply to the memory (or GPU) just try to calculate using this formula

    Vmod = Vdef (1 + Rdef/Rmod)

    Rmod = The value of the VR...

    for me, if the leg of the IC is too tiny i always use the other spot that connected to the leg (usually the resistors leg), so i think you can do the same thing.
    for pencil trick, if you sure that the resistance is connected to ground, you can do (pencil trick) on that resistor..

    for the GPU pencil trick, if this VGA can use the same trick like Vmem mod, of course it can use pencil trick.
    Last edited by akin; 08-02-2008 at 09:17 PM.

  12. #12
    Xtreme Member bartx's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    378
    From last time I bought 25W soldering iron and tried some vmods on GF6600 - everything works well (with standard potentiometers, not trimmers ). Now I'm waiting for trimmers (10K/20K/50K), because I can't get it in shop in my town. I tried with pencil mod, resistance decreased from 1,1k to 1k but no effects -

    I haven't checked any measure points yet (to do it I must put everything on desk). I'll solder to this capacitor, which is connected to IC. In this topic http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/...ghlight=l6713a someone succeded and there http://translate.google.pl/translate...&sl=auto&tl=en too.

  13. #13
    Xtreme Enthusiast FatAlbert's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Poland / Rypin
    Posts
    865
    to jak w końcu ten vmod wygląda bo nie moge skumać, troche pokręcone jest. łaczysz fb z masą i nie kombinuj z pencilami

    no chyba, ze chcesz być el0

    sorry for eot in other language
    Last edited by FatAlbert; 08-17-2008 at 01:17 PM.
    Schedule of Live Extreme Overclocking - info Thread

    Quote Originally Posted by K404 View Post
    "My Backup is bigger than Your Backup"

  14. #14
    Xtreme Member bartx's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    378
    First post updated

  15. #15
    Nerdy Powerlifter [XC] Synthetickiller's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Down in the Bayou
    Posts
    4,514
    I have two GSOs. So there's no pencil mod?
    BP ruined my dinner and my region. (yep, I'm still pissed!)


    Current Rig: i7 2600K @ 5ghz, GTX 690 WC'd , MIVE, 840 pro 256gb / Corsair Force 3 GT 240gb SSD
    Interested in doing stuff offline?! Care to get strong? PM me about powerlifting if you want to try a fun sport.
    Heatware

  16. #16
    Xtreme Member bartx's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    378
    In earlier posts, I marked two resistors - 1K for GPU and 573OHM for MEM. You can try with them and check voltage in measurements points. I prefer standard mods, pencil mods are comfortless (to increase voltage you must turn off computer) and often they aren't possible.

  17. #17
    Xtreme Cruncher
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Bay Area, CA
    Posts
    2,830
    Successful, followed the guide in first post for Vgpu mod. VGPU at 1.28v now.





    For some reason, i can't get GPUZ to detect the gpu temperature. Is there even a gpu temperature sensor in this card?
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    Crunch with us, the XS WCG team
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

  18. #18
    Registered User
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    2
    I know this post is old - so hoping some of you are e-mail registered.. Would anyone happen to have a copy of the first set of pictures from the first post.. some of them dont work.

    I am reviving this old Vid card & would love to be able to view the Pics that are now no longer available.

    Thanks

  19. #19
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Birmingham, United Kingdom
    Posts
    442
    Try refreshing. They all seem to work for me.

  20. #20
    Registered User
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    2
    really, they show up for you?

    The very first post is supposed to have 8 imageshack photos at the top, but 4 of them have a red X on them for me

    nogo = >" http://img207.imageshack.us/img207/9938/vgpureadpointsxx7.th.jpg"
    nogo => "http://img207.imageshack.us/img207/3373/vmemmodqf2.th.jpg"
    nogo => "http://img441.imageshack.us/img441/3906/vmemreadpointar2.th.jpg"
    nogo = > "http://img99.imageshack.us/img99/4117/p1070034tt5.th.jpg"

    This seems to be the only post on the net for this exact PCB type

  21. #21
    Xtreme Member bartx's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    378
    I know that pics stopped working, but I still have them on my PC. I'll do reupload in this week.

  22. #22
    Xtreme Member Neox69's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    105
    Quote Originally Posted by Bail_w View Post
    Successful, followed the guide in first post for Vgpu mod. VGPU at 1.28v now.





    For some reason, i can't get GPUZ to detect the gpu temperature. Is there even a gpu temperature sensor in this card?
    That model does not have a built in gpu temp sensor....

  23. #23
    Wanna look under my kilt? K404's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Glasgow-ish U.K.
    Posts
    4,509
    Thread res!

    This mod doesn't work for me. If the trimmer is connected, the card won't power up... all voltages read 0v

    Have tried another trimmer, same thing happens, i'm sure my components are not damaged.



    Anyone got any ideas before I lose interest and stick the card on Ebay?


    Cheers
    Quote Originally Posted by T_M View Post
    Not sure i totally follow anything you said, but regardless of that you helped me come up with a very good idea....
    Quote Originally Posted by soundood View Post
    you sigged that?

    why?
    ______

    Sometimes, it's not your time. Sometimes, you have to make it your time. Sometimes, it can ONLY be your time.

  24. #24
    IT Engineer in the making celemine1Gig's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Former Kingdom of Bavaria
    Posts
    2,109
    Quote Originally Posted by K404 View Post
    Thread res!

    This mod doesn't work for me. If the trimmer is connected, the card won't power up... all voltages read 0v

    Have tried another trimmer, same thing happens, i'm sure my components are not damaged.



    Anyone got any ideas before I lose interest and stick the card on Ebay?


    Cheers
    First of all, the trimmers are not by any chance set to 0 Ohms (zero), instead of the max resistance?
    And besides that post some pics of you mod. Maybe you've got short circuit somewhere. Judging from your statement that all volts read 0, this is most likely.
    Quote from one of our professors:
    "Reality is hiding in the imaginary part."

  25. #25
    Wanna look under my kilt? K404's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Glasgow-ish U.K.
    Posts
    4,509
    Trimmers are fine, soldering points are fine.... i've tried more than one trimmer and more than one set of soldering points..... only thing i've not changed are the wires themselves?!


    Before mod, the FB resistance is 1.10K... after mod, it's 1.05K
    Last edited by K404; 05-21-2011 at 06:17 AM.
    Quote Originally Posted by T_M View Post
    Not sure i totally follow anything you said, but regardless of that you helped me come up with a very good idea....
    Quote Originally Posted by soundood View Post
    you sigged that?

    why?
    ______

    Sometimes, it's not your time. Sometimes, you have to make it your time. Sometimes, it can ONLY be your time.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •