Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 26 to 50 of 73

Thread: Help a WC noob, why has my fluid turned yellowish/orange.

  1. #26
    Xtreme Member xtclocker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Vancouver BC
    Posts
    182
    Quote Originally Posted by Zaskar View Post
    Maybe something to do with the Primochill fluid?
    I have used a few bottles now. The dye ones are bad, but the clear type one is perfect, somtimes leaked and didn't cause any electric problems.

  2. #27
    Xtremely High Voltage Sparky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Ohio, USA
    Posts
    15,676
    Green dye doesn't make the water go funny yellow colors like that. Not in my experience.
    The Cardboard Master
    Crunch with us, the XS WCG team
    Main PC: Intel Core-i7 2600k @ 4.5GHz, 16GB DDR3-1600, Radeon 7950 @ 1000/1250, Win 7 Pro x64, water - ONLINE
    Other PC: AMD FX-8320 @ 3.5GHz, 8GB DDR3-1600, GeForce GTS 250, Win 7 Pro x64, air - OFFLINE
    FTP server: DP Intel Xeon LV Sossaman @ 2GHz, 4GB DDR2-400 ECC, Win XP Pro, air - OFFLINE
    Family PC: Intel C2D e8500 @ 3.2GHz, 3GB DDR2-667, Radeon X1300, Win 7 Home x64, air - ONLINE

  3. #28
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    102
    I got a litle crazy with the dye one night on my loop and it looked exactly like that. I ended up having to flush it for a couple hours with tap water and then twice for an hour each with fresh distilled to get it to stop doing it.
    1: DFI Lp 590, X2 6000, 8800 GTS 640, OCZ 600 S/X ps, OCZ PC 8800, SB X-Fi Extreme Audio, 5xHD's, ZEROtherm BTF90
    2: ASUS Crosshair, X2 5200, 8800 GTS 320, OCZ 600 G/X ps, Mushkin PC 8500, 2x 7200.10 250gb, Noctua 120
    3: DFI Lp LT X-48, Q6600 GO, 2x Sapphire 4850 in CF, OCZ 700 G/X ps, OCZ 9200 Flex2, SB X-Fi Extreme Audio, 2x 7200.10 250gb, H20
    4: Still Thinking

  4. #29
    Xtreme Member shachar2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Israel
    Posts
    163
    Quote Originally Posted by NaeKuh View Post
    You need water wetter.
    but they're already wet!

  5. #30
    Xtreme Addict twwen2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    1,478
    Quote Originally Posted by shachar2 View Post
    but they're already wet!
    I really don't know whether that was supposed to be a joke or not

    Water Wetter is a well-known rust and corrosion inhibitor.

  6. #31
    Xtreme Member xtclocker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Vancouver BC
    Posts
    182
    Quote Originally Posted by twwen2 View Post
    I really don't know whether that was supposed to be a joke or not

    Water Wetter is a well-known rust and corrosion inhibitor.
    LOL He might be referring to automobiles.

  7. #32
    Xtreme Addict Serpentarius's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    2,065
    It's ok to use TOILET water as medium in the loop ... but make sure you get it from the pipes, NOT the bowl

  8. #33
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    117
    Quote Originally Posted by Trigger5521 View Post

    RED guck on q-tip inserted in the fusion block and a thin coating starting to build up on the instide of the tube. Look at the plastic Tee you can see redish discoloration around the tubes.

    The pic below is a few weeks after the build(before i drilled the MB tray for wire management)..notice the tee is clear but the tubes near fusion and CPU are starting to turn yellow. The little 3/8 tubes to convert to half had redish guck in them when I flushed.
    I don't think it is dye related. You second pic shows mostly clear liquid and tubes, but an orange tinge growing out from the block areas.

    What is this red guck stuff you talk of? That's the culprit and sounds like algae or something. It seems to be coming out from the Fusion NB block (even against the flow when system off)

    Wierd, post some picks of this red guck in the fusion when you change cpu and NB block to copper ones please.

  9. #34
    Xtreme Enthusiast C'DaleRider's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    538
    Like NaeKuh said, it's most likely being caused by the black dye Swiftech coats the underside of the GTX top with......dye that's very easily removed with a soft toothbrush and a minute or two of scrubbing, so it's not completely out of the range of imagination that the dye is just wearing off with the constant water flowing by it. Doubt just a few weeks is going to give huge amounts of red algae growth, unless you've completely contaminated your system when you set it up and you have it sitting open and your tubing is completely exposed to direct sunlight.



    Papa: Q6600 @ 3.6GHz @ 1.34V, Asus Maximus Formula, 4 x 2GB Mushkin Redline DDR2-1000, Asus HD4870, Antec Sig. 850, Lian-Li/RF case....WC'd via D-Tek FuZion w/quad nozzle, EK S-Max on NB, Laing DDC2 w/XSPC top, 2 x Feser 240's & one TC 120.1 rads.

    Momma: Xeon 3210 @ 2.8GHz, Gigabyte P965-DS3, 4 x 1GB Ballistix DDR2-800, Asus HD3870 TOP, Enhance ENP5150-GH, Lian-Li/RF case, HK Champagne 2.1, Xigmatek HDT cooler

  10. #35
    Xtreme Member Navanod's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    482
    There's more paint in this loop than just the black dye on the Swiftech.

    I think it could be the "copper" thing coming off the inside of that Fusion block. Just posted what I had seen recently

    http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/...2&postcount=15

  11. #36
    Xtreme Member Trigger5521's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    355

    Look at the carnage.

    It's way worse than I thought, both the GTX and the fusion block a totally full of red/orange sludge. Somebody tell what this stuff is. All of the fins on the cpu block were full of sludge. Is this a galvanic reaction or is this alge? This is after 8 weeks or so and flushed once.

    Can't even clean the fusion block...it doesn't come apart. Looks like I have to order EK blocks for the whole sha-bang. Not impressed with this ASUS liquid cooling block.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    ASUS Striker II Extreme 790i Bios 1202 PICS
    Q9650@4.05 (FSB 450hz X4) Linked & synced.
    Patriot Viper PC2000Mhz DDR3 4x2GB 8-8-8-22-1822
    EVGA GTX470 X2 SLI
    OS RAID 0 2X Intel X25-M 80GB 34NM Postville
    Games RAID 0 500GB X2 ES 7200 32MB Enterprise
    Silverstone TJ10 ESA
    Swiftech MCR220 & MCR120 rads
    D-TEK Fusion v2
    Black Freezer NB/SB
    EK's Acetal on Mosfets
    1/2 R3603 Tygon Tubing
    Corsair HX1000w
    SoundBlaster X-FI TITANIUM - PCIE
    Klipsch ProMedia Ultra 5.1
    Dell 3008WFP 30' @ 2560x1600
    Win7 x64 Pro


  12. #37
    Xtreme Member Trigger5521's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    355
    fusion pic...are you guys certian the fusion is ALU? The cooling fins look like it but the block and heat pipes sure look like copper to me. Maybe the GTX ALU top is my culpret.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    ASUS Striker II Extreme 790i Bios 1202 PICS
    Q9650@4.05 (FSB 450hz X4) Linked & synced.
    Patriot Viper PC2000Mhz DDR3 4x2GB 8-8-8-22-1822
    EVGA GTX470 X2 SLI
    OS RAID 0 2X Intel X25-M 80GB 34NM Postville
    Games RAID 0 500GB X2 ES 7200 32MB Enterprise
    Silverstone TJ10 ESA
    Swiftech MCR220 & MCR120 rads
    D-TEK Fusion v2
    Black Freezer NB/SB
    EK's Acetal on Mosfets
    1/2 R3603 Tygon Tubing
    Corsair HX1000w
    SoundBlaster X-FI TITANIUM - PCIE
    Klipsch ProMedia Ultra 5.1
    Dell 3008WFP 30' @ 2560x1600
    Win7 x64 Pro


  13. #38
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Richmond, VA
    Posts
    471
    Not sure what the hell that is, but it sure is disgusting...


  14. #39
    Xtreme Member Trigger5521's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    355
    my poor pump. Hope this won't shorten it's life...is there something I should run through it to clean it out?
    Attached Images Attached Images
    ASUS Striker II Extreme 790i Bios 1202 PICS
    Q9650@4.05 (FSB 450hz X4) Linked & synced.
    Patriot Viper PC2000Mhz DDR3 4x2GB 8-8-8-22-1822
    EVGA GTX470 X2 SLI
    OS RAID 0 2X Intel X25-M 80GB 34NM Postville
    Games RAID 0 500GB X2 ES 7200 32MB Enterprise
    Silverstone TJ10 ESA
    Swiftech MCR220 & MCR120 rads
    D-TEK Fusion v2
    Black Freezer NB/SB
    EK's Acetal on Mosfets
    1/2 R3603 Tygon Tubing
    Corsair HX1000w
    SoundBlaster X-FI TITANIUM - PCIE
    Klipsch ProMedia Ultra 5.1
    Dell 3008WFP 30' @ 2560x1600
    Win7 x64 Pro


  15. #40
    Xtreme Member Trigger5521's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    355
    Pump 2
    Attached Images Attached Images
    ASUS Striker II Extreme 790i Bios 1202 PICS
    Q9650@4.05 (FSB 450hz X4) Linked & synced.
    Patriot Viper PC2000Mhz DDR3 4x2GB 8-8-8-22-1822
    EVGA GTX470 X2 SLI
    OS RAID 0 2X Intel X25-M 80GB 34NM Postville
    Games RAID 0 500GB X2 ES 7200 32MB Enterprise
    Silverstone TJ10 ESA
    Swiftech MCR220 & MCR120 rads
    D-TEK Fusion v2
    Black Freezer NB/SB
    EK's Acetal on Mosfets
    1/2 R3603 Tygon Tubing
    Corsair HX1000w
    SoundBlaster X-FI TITANIUM - PCIE
    Klipsch ProMedia Ultra 5.1
    Dell 3008WFP 30' @ 2560x1600
    Win7 x64 Pro


  16. #41
    Xtreme Mentor Eddie3dfx's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    3,283
    Omg.. It looks like your pump was pushing doo doo around in your loop.
    Looks like a septic pump
    Asus P6T, I7-920, 6gb ocz xmp, 4890, Raid 0-1 Terabyte, full watercooled - Triple Loop 5 radiators

  17. #42
    Xtreme Member Trigger5521's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    355
    On a side note can does anyone know if the EK supreme cpu block will fit the Asus 790i. Most expensive MB ever gets even more expensive!!!
    ASUS Striker II Extreme 790i Bios 1202 PICS
    Q9650@4.05 (FSB 450hz X4) Linked & synced.
    Patriot Viper PC2000Mhz DDR3 4x2GB 8-8-8-22-1822
    EVGA GTX470 X2 SLI
    OS RAID 0 2X Intel X25-M 80GB 34NM Postville
    Games RAID 0 500GB X2 ES 7200 32MB Enterprise
    Silverstone TJ10 ESA
    Swiftech MCR220 & MCR120 rads
    D-TEK Fusion v2
    Black Freezer NB/SB
    EK's Acetal on Mosfets
    1/2 R3603 Tygon Tubing
    Corsair HX1000w
    SoundBlaster X-FI TITANIUM - PCIE
    Klipsch ProMedia Ultra 5.1
    Dell 3008WFP 30' @ 2560x1600
    Win7 x64 Pro


  18. #43
    Xtreme Addict Asgard_thor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    arizona
    Posts
    1,189
    that looks disgusting..

    also..nice cable management in your avatar
    FREEDOM ISN'T FREE
    Cruncher Support:
    Utnorris
    DarthBeavis
    DEFRANCO NATION
    _____________
    E6750@ 3.0ghz- evga 750i FTW- 320gb- Swiftech MCR220 compact- 8800gts 512mb KO- 620hx - 4gb Crucial 1066- CM 690- 6 yate loons

    E6600- Asus striker Extreme-2 x 750gb- Igloo 5710- 8800gt- antec 850w Quatro- 4gb DDR2 800- Antec 1200- 24/7 cruncher

    **Wishes for a dual- quad core cruncher **

  19. #44
    Xtreme Addict BlueAqua's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Minneapolis, MN
    Posts
    2,193
    That has to be the most serious case I've ever seen in such a short amount of time. Only 8 weeks and there is more corrosion than I thought was possible. I would remove everything and wash it thoroughly and flush it out with distilled water for a while. Your radiator probably looks just like your poor poop pump. I would setup a closed loop in your sink for just constant flushing of your radiator for a while.

    This looks like a good time to get a new cpu and motherboard blocks. It's always fun to have a good reason to upgrade.

  20. #45
    Xtreme Member dubtown's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    florida
    Posts
    191
    holy ....

    i run a maximus extreme with the fuzion block a GTX with copper top and distilled/pt nuke and have had no problems at all...

    somethin odd is goin on in your

    your gtx top is aluminum.. if thats corrosion holy crap... glad i shelled out the extra 30 bucks for the copper top
    Last edited by dubtown; 07-12-2008 at 09:15 AM.

  21. #46
    Chasing After Diety NaeKuh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Absolutely Speachless :O
    Posts
    11,929
    Quote Originally Posted by dubtown View Post
    holy ....

    i run a maximus extreme with the fuzion block a GTX with copper top and distilled/pt nuke and have had no problems at all...

    somethin odd is goin on in your

    your gtx top is aluminum.. if thats corrosion holy crap... glad i shelled out the extra 30 bucks for the copper top
    now since when was corrosion RED?

    you had something funky in your loop.

    clean with ISO. IF that doesnt work, soak in acetone. MAKE SURE YOU TAKE OFF YOUR PLEXIGLASS TOP OR RUBBER ORING WHEN YOU CLEAN.

    That looks organic, see if acetone or rubbign alcohol will clean it.
    Nadeshiko: i7 990 12GB DDR3 eVGA Classified *In Testing... Jealous? *
    Miyuki: W3580 6GB DDR3 P6T-Dlx
    Lind: Dual Gainestown 3.07
    Sammy: Dual Yonah Sossoman cheerleader. *Sammy-> Lind.*

    [12:37] skinnee: quit helping me procrastinate block reviews, you asshat. :p
    [12:38] Naekuh: i love watching u get the firing squad on XS
    Its my fault.. and no im not sorry about it either.

  22. #47
    Xtreme Addict Zaskar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    1,565
    In the center of the second pump pic it looks like there is a steel screw that is rusting, as apposed to just having rust colored gunk on it? Could just be the way it looks, whats anyone else think?

  23. #48
    Xtreme Member Trigger5521's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    355
    Quote Originally Posted by BlueAqua View Post
    That has to be the most serious case I've ever seen in such a short amount of time. Only 8 weeks and there is more corrosion than I thought was possible. I would remove everything and wash it thoroughly and flush it out with distilled water for a while. Your radiator probably looks just like your poor poop pump. I would setup a closed loop in your sink for just constant flushing of your radiator for a while.

    This looks like a good time to get a new cpu and motherboard blocks. It's always fun to have a good reason to upgrade.

    I cleaned the GTX and the pump with rubbing alcohol..the guck cam off. Can't clean the fusion block, can't clean out the rad. System is back together running with distilled water until my ek-blocks arrive...i think I'm going to get a D-tek fusionv2 for the cpu as I don't need any extra flow restriction, I'm going to cool CPU, SB, NB and Mosfets on the one 1/2 tygon loop.

    Going to try and flsuh something that clean more powerful than water through the rad...any ideas guys?
    ASUS Striker II Extreme 790i Bios 1202 PICS
    Q9650@4.05 (FSB 450hz X4) Linked & synced.
    Patriot Viper PC2000Mhz DDR3 4x2GB 8-8-8-22-1822
    EVGA GTX470 X2 SLI
    OS RAID 0 2X Intel X25-M 80GB 34NM Postville
    Games RAID 0 500GB X2 ES 7200 32MB Enterprise
    Silverstone TJ10 ESA
    Swiftech MCR220 & MCR120 rads
    D-TEK Fusion v2
    Black Freezer NB/SB
    EK's Acetal on Mosfets
    1/2 R3603 Tygon Tubing
    Corsair HX1000w
    SoundBlaster X-FI TITANIUM - PCIE
    Klipsch ProMedia Ultra 5.1
    Dell 3008WFP 30' @ 2560x1600
    Win7 x64 Pro


  24. #49
    Xtreme Member xtclocker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Vancouver BC
    Posts
    182
    Ok, the orange color is a dye you used? If not my guess it's a reaction compound between the aluminium rust that had caused the color, and for the sticky part coming from the blocks, it have to be the alumina. That can't be cleaned property since it's already rotting, the only solution is to change a new one or be professional refabricated. I never RMA a water-block before, but I think it's under warranty. Next time avoide aluminium made blocks, especially the non-painted ones.

  25. #50
    Xtreme Member Trigger5521's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    355
    While I had it apart lastnight I rebuilt my loop adding a EK RES, DangerDen fillport, and alphacool temp sensor. You can see here the res water is a little yellow, some left over fluid was in rad and ran into the RES after I completed the loop. Once I get my EK parts I'm going to flush again and go with black Fluid XP coolant. That Primochill Prue PC fluid is not doing anything for me.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    ASUS Striker II Extreme 790i Bios 1202 PICS
    Q9650@4.05 (FSB 450hz X4) Linked & synced.
    Patriot Viper PC2000Mhz DDR3 4x2GB 8-8-8-22-1822
    EVGA GTX470 X2 SLI
    OS RAID 0 2X Intel X25-M 80GB 34NM Postville
    Games RAID 0 500GB X2 ES 7200 32MB Enterprise
    Silverstone TJ10 ESA
    Swiftech MCR220 & MCR120 rads
    D-TEK Fusion v2
    Black Freezer NB/SB
    EK's Acetal on Mosfets
    1/2 R3603 Tygon Tubing
    Corsair HX1000w
    SoundBlaster X-FI TITANIUM - PCIE
    Klipsch ProMedia Ultra 5.1
    Dell 3008WFP 30' @ 2560x1600
    Win7 x64 Pro


Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •