Page 4 of 16 FirstFirst 123456714 ... LastLast
Results 76 to 100 of 384

Thread: Fixing a Bad BIOS Flash on the 4870

  1. #76
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    129
    Quote Originally Posted by AriciU View Post
    Unfortunately it seems to be happening out of the blue -> http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/...7&postcount=17

    and

    http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/...postcount=3956

    I don't think OC'ing thru software should cause this ing crap. Let's see who else get's "lucky".
    yes got a point, software oc is alot safer than bios flash, and well i hope you guys get them working again, are you guys sure if they arnt overheating?
    FX-8350

  2. #77
    Quote Originally Posted by wiak View Post
    yes got a point, software oc is alot safer than bios flash, and well i hope you guys get them working again, are you guys sure if they arnt overheating?
    What's their thermal envelope? I can imagine that great increases in shader counts might mean it will be more sensetive to cooling? Naw come on, if it were so simple Ati wouldn't have released them they would have noticed during QA..

    *looks at thread tittle*...

    maybe not?

  3. #78
    Engineering The Xtreme
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    MA, USA
    Posts
    7,222
    well i am positive it was a ram issue in my case (symptoms linked by AriciU) because even when the card that died was working properly ATItool artifact scan gave me errors ever 3 sec's or so. my 2nd 4870 does not have this problem at all so i figure the card that died was bad all along :\

  4. #79
    What I gather is that it might be something about crossfire to since it seems to happen when people change profiles to but I'm ony guessing..

  5. #80
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    345
    Quote Originally Posted by AriciU View Post
    Unfortunately it seems to be happening out of the blue -> http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/...7&postcount=17

    and

    http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/...postcount=3956

    I don't think OC'ing thru software should cause this ing crap. Let's see who else get's "lucky".
    and this is why i didnt go with xfire. i used to have 2x x1950xtx in crossfire a couple years ago and had nothing but problems.

    every time AMD/ATI comes out with a new gen of cards there are people that proclaim that all the problems are fixed and everything is perfect now.

    but every time there are more problems.

    anyway hope they fix this stuff soon because the cards seemed really great, at least on paper.

    QX9770@3.66Ghz 24/7 365
    790i STriker II Extreme Rock Solid Stable (finally)
    8GB Corsair XMB 1600Mhz DDR3
    MSI 280GTX OC 650/2300 in SLI
    300GB Velociraptor, 500GB Data
    4X Liteon Blu-ray Burner
    MMORPG
    Vista 64

  6. #81
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    90
    Oh, the card was f-in amazing.. I got 9027 points in 3D mark Vantage... it beats the crap out of my OC'd 3870 crossfire... and thats just one 4870.
    System Specs:

    System 1: Asus P5E,Q6600 @ 3.6Ghz, 4GB OCZ Plat DDR2-1066, Tri-Raid 0 1TB 16MB cache, Radeon HD4870.

    System 2: (wip) Asus M3A78T, Phenom II 720 BE @ 3.8Ghz, 2GB OCZ plat 1066 DDR2, Radeon 2900XT 1GB.

  7. #82
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    90
    ok, I put the card in an athlon 64 x2 system w/ a 550W PSU... set the board to do onboard gpu, and it boots with the card in the system... but its not in device manager or anything... atiflash in DOS doesn't even detect it. I beleive the card to be stone cold dead.
    System Specs:

    System 1: Asus P5E,Q6600 @ 3.6Ghz, 4GB OCZ Plat DDR2-1066, Tri-Raid 0 1TB 16MB cache, Radeon HD4870.

    System 2: (wip) Asus M3A78T, Phenom II 720 BE @ 3.8Ghz, 2GB OCZ plat 1066 DDR2, Radeon 2900XT 1GB.

  8. #83
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Chicago, IL USA
    Posts
    581
    At least ATI Flash sees my Dead Sapphire HD4870s. I backed up the original BIOS before card 1 died.

    I reflashed it into the first card also. But, the fan only spins still and there is no Video or POST happening.

    That's when I have another model ATI VGA in the Primary PCI-e slot.
    Last edited by Kensek; 06-28-2008 at 01:06 PM.

  9. #84
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    O'Fallon, MO USA
    Posts
    223
    Any new information?

    Got 4 dead here, as well.

    To fuel the fire and speculation, both sets we have died in Crossfire mode. (may be a trend from the looks of it)
    Intel IPP, AMD SP, MCP

    Heatware: 51-0-0

  10. #85
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    1,634
    You have 4 dead 4870 cards... omg...
    Just great... I've been looking for 2 of those cards since I want some new toys again... NVIDIA is ridiculously expensive and ATI cards just die for no apparent reason... just perfect
    lol... This forum requires that you wait 70 seconds between posts. Please try again in 8 seconds.
    *phone rings*
    Friend: Do you have a spare PSU lying around?
    Me: No why?
    Friend: My PSU just blew up, I think the second 8800GTX might have been too much for it to handle
    Me: what PSU was that again?
    Friend: Antec 480w
    Me:........

  11. #86
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    46
    Well aint this just great... I'm loosing any hope these cards will run again since I can see now some of you have dead cards even without flashing the BIOS... very bad neews indeed... looks like it'll be RMA time for me monday morning...
    -----
    Antec P190 / Windows XP Pro SP3 / Asus P5Q-E / 2x2GB Corsair Dominator 5-5-5-15 / Intel E8500 @ 4.0GHz
    2x Powercolor HD4870 CF / Creative X-Fi XtremeGamer / WD SATA Raptor 150GB / Swiftech water cooling components
    -----

  12. #87
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    O'Fallon, MO USA
    Posts
    223
    Not trying to stir the pot at all, just curious to see what progress has been made.

    Playing with 4850s in the mean time...

    Oh, and if this helps... ALL four have three red lights that illuminate upon power on, not all 4 of them.

    All exhibit the same no-POST behavior, but can be seen by ATIFlash as a secondary adapter (just checked for the hell of it).

    EDIT: HIS brand, BTW.
    Last edited by Theta; 06-28-2008 at 02:56 PM.
    Intel IPP, AMD SP, MCP

    Heatware: 51-0-0

  13. #88
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Bucharest, Romania
    Posts
    678
    Hope all of this gets sorted in one week when i'll buy two of them. It sucks to be a guinea pig.
    Intel i7 920 d0 @ 4410MHz @ 1.36v :: Prolimatech Mega Shadow :: Gigabyte EX58-UD5 F9K :: 6GB Mushkin XP3-15000 :: HIS 5870 :: Corsair 1000W :: HannsG 27.5" :: Lian Li V1010B

  14. #89
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    940
    well none of these problems came up when they were being tested by review sites?

  15. #90
    Xtreme 3D Team Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    small town in Indiana
    Posts
    2,296
    This is indeed a bummer of a thread, but keep in mind a problem caused by a bad flash can be corrected by a proper flash. in a little while the software should be out to fix the cards up, more than likely it is going to involve a pci card boot and flash or similar, but it should be correctable.

    I feel the culprit is not realising that you can't add voltage to the cards through bios,( only about .01v) so the speeds won't boot. then when the card gets powered down and tries to reboot it lacks the voltage to do so properly. could someone please report back the vcore on boot of a "dead" card. and some hi-res photos of the bottom of the card in the voltage area..
    QX 9650 5ghz with 1.55v 4.8ghz with 1.5v 24/7 in a VAPOLI V-2000B+ Single stage phase cooling.
    DFI LP LT X-38 T2R
    2X HD4850's water cooled , volt modded
    Thermaltake 1KW Psu
    4x Seagate 250GB in RAID 0
    8GB crucial ballistix ram

  16. #91
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Posts
    759
    Have there been any cases of this happening to 4850s as well?

  17. #92
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    California
    Posts
    1,917
    it sounds like these guys need instructions on how to do a pencil mod on these cards so they can see if they boot. then they can just erase the pencil mod after they flash back to a working BIOS.

    and for the record, i have two 4870's in CrossFire and everything is working like a champ. i haven't flashed and i haven't tried to OC yet, but i haven't exactly been going easy on them. i've been playing Crysis and CoD4 pretty heavily during our Southern California heatwave and the cards are doing great.

    i have two Sapphire 4870's and it looks like they have different BIOSes. the top card will let me underclock its memory to 810 and the bottom card won't go below 900. the top card also idles 5-7° hotter than the bottom card, but that is probably just due to heat rising.

    my top card's BIOS is 011.003.000.001 and i don't know how to find my bottom card's BIOS number. i can't check it in CCC.
    My Videos
    GRID Demolition Derby * GRID Camaro vs. Mustang * Audiosurf - Speed Racer
    I Shot the Hosties * Slightly Stupid * Dump Truck


    Intel Haswell 4770K * 2x8GB Mushkin Redline DDR3 1866 CL9 * Asus Maximus VI Gene * Sapphire 7870 GHz Edition
    500GB Samsung 840 Series SSD + 2TB WD Raid Edition 3 magnetic * SilverStone Temjin case * Corsair TX750 PSU * Corsair H60 water cooler * Win7 Pro x64

  18. #93
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Hopatcong, NJ
    Posts
    1,082
    I am thinking DDR5 is the culprit

    Remember that you are pushing the memory twice as hard with every MHz vs the DDR3 on the 4850s
    900Mhz = 3.6GHz
    1000MHz = 4.0GHz
    1100Mhz = 4.4GHz

    Guess killed his 4870 almost instantly by going to 1200MHz
    http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/...d.php?t=192696

    Thats a 33% increase in memory speeds without additional volts. Be reasonable! So perhaps either a quick death @ 1200MHz, or a slower death @ 1100MHz like I see many people doing?

    'Gaming' AMD FX-6300 @ 4.5GHz | Asus M5A97 | 16GB DDR3 2133MHz | GTX760 2GB + Antec Kuhler620 mod | Crucial m4 64GB + WD Blue 2x1TB Str
    'HTPC' AMD A8-3820 @ 3.5GHz | Biostar TA75A+ | 4GB DDR3 | Momentus XT 500GB | Radeon 7950 3GB
    'Twitch' AMD 720BE @ 3.5GHz | Gigabyte GA-78LMT-S2P | 4GB DDR3 | Avermedia Game Broadcaster

    Desktop Audio: Optical Out > Matrix mini DAC > Virtue Audio ONE.2 > Tannoy Reveal Monitors + Energy Encore 8 Sub
    HTPC: Optoma HD131XE Projector + Yamaha RX-V463 + 3.2 Speaker Setup

  19. #94
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Chicago, IL USA
    Posts
    581
    I don't think so. I only Oc'd 1 card to 790/1050 for 15 minutes.

    The second card was never OC'd. On the initial bootup with both cards inserted and powered up and with the cF bridges installed XP would not load.

    Hence, I removed 1 card thinking a Corsair 750TX was insufficiently powering the cards. However, after this neither card never worked again.

    Though they can be seen through ATI Flacs when another ATI model card is used as the primary.

  20. #95
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Posts
    759
    Been trying to determine GPU vs memory performance in this thread: http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/...d.php?t=192690 Could use some more results at higher resolutions and aa to tax the memory, as so far it's GPU dominated, with memory not having any impact at all.

  21. #96
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Chicago, IL USA
    Posts
    581
    It's like a circuit breaker has been tripped in these HD4870s. And someone needs to devise a way to reset it.

    AS for OCing - I use to run my HD3870s at 890/1360 and never had a problem. But as you eluded to, that wasn't GDDR5 ram.

    But reviews say GDDR5 Ram is capable of 5600, which is 1400.
    Last edited by Kensek; 06-28-2008 at 03:58 PM.

  22. #97
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    46
    I didn't overclock my two cards either...
    -----
    Antec P190 / Windows XP Pro SP3 / Asus P5Q-E / 2x2GB Corsair Dominator 5-5-5-15 / Intel E8500 @ 4.0GHz
    2x Powercolor HD4870 CF / Creative X-Fi XtremeGamer / WD SATA Raptor 150GB / Swiftech water cooling components
    -----

  23. #98
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    1,967
    I still don't get why even flashing back properly won't fix this... I just went out and bought a 4850, going to send the 4870 back if no solution is found shortly. I was offered a full refund for it, while I'd prefer to have a 4870 I'm going to just stick with the 4850 if no one figures this out by the time I send it back . Monday probably, 4850 isn't as fast as I'd like but *shrug*.
    Last edited by GoldenTiger; 06-28-2008 at 04:10 PM.

  24. #99
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Peoples Republic of Berkeley (PRB), USA
    Posts
    928
    Quote Originally Posted by wiak View Post
    bah stop bitcing about 4870 going out in less than 24hours when its YOUR own foult that didnt get or read the memo about
    "flashing modified bios = asking for truble"

    w1zz to teh rescue!

    anyway am getting 4870 on monday
    It's not just people who've flashed bios, random cards are dying too.
    core i7 920, gigabyte EX58-UD5, 4870x2

    DDC3.2 > PA120.3 > DD4870x2fc > Fuzion v1 > PA120.2 > EK Res

  25. #100
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Fremont
    Posts
    260
    just wonder is it now the card killed the mobo or just the card dead? And how many got a dead card now?

    Q9450 w/120 extreme
    Maximus II Formula
    G.Skill 4gb 8800 w/ crosair fans
    Sapphire HD4870 512 w/ T-Rad2
    2x 300gb velociraptor RAID0
    2x 500 gb SATA
    Cooler Master 850w PSU
    CM 590 Case

Page 4 of 16 FirstFirst 123456714 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •