Page 1 of 16 123411 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 384

Thread: Fixing a Bad BIOS Flash on the 4870

  1. #1
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Peoples Republic of Berkeley (PRB), USA
    Posts
    928

    Fixing a Bad BIOS Flash on the 4870

    edited: This is resolved, most (all?) of the cards reported here had incorrectly flashed bioses due to the use of DDR5, see W1zzard's excellent fix article over at techpowerup for a proper bios and full instructions - and GOOD LUCK!

    If anyone cares, flashed cards wouldn't initialize ram after a cold boot (and we all know how often we cold boot our machines) so the failures appeared random. Easy mistake to make IMO.
    Last edited by halo112358; 06-30-2008 at 02:32 AM.
    core i7 920, gigabyte EX58-UD5, 4870x2

    DDC3.2 > PA120.3 > DD4870x2fc > Fuzion v1 > PA120.2 > EK Res

  2. #2
    same here m8, i have 2 of em that wont boot.... wtf is going on....

  3. #3
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    132
    well, you could try taking all PCI cards out?

  4. #4
    Xtreme 3D Team Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    small town in Indiana
    Posts
    2,296
    Be more descriptive , does the fan spin 100%, are any of the red led's on the bottom of the card staying on, do they go on then off while trying to boot, does it seem as though the pc is booting but not the card? any info you can provide would help, it may or may not be dead
    QX 9650 5ghz with 1.55v 4.8ghz with 1.5v 24/7 in a VAPOLI V-2000B+ Single stage phase cooling.
    DFI LP LT X-38 T2R
    2X HD4850's water cooled , volt modded
    Thermaltake 1KW Psu
    4x Seagate 250GB in RAID 0
    8GB crucial ballistix ram

  5. #5
    3 leds light up instead of 4 , the fans spin as normal... no post so no reflash.... dead as a dodo... but why didnt they do this last night why only after they had been dorment for a few hours.... dont get it m8...why are they preventing post?????????????????????????????????????????????? ???

  6. #6
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Peoples Republic of Berkeley (PRB), USA
    Posts
    928
    I'm pretty sure that's what mine does - I already filed an RMA with the egg, this crap is going back in the box. Maybe I'll buy another when they've sorted this out, maybe not.
    core i7 920, gigabyte EX58-UD5, 4870x2

    DDC3.2 > PA120.3 > DD4870x2fc > Fuzion v1 > PA120.2 > EK Res

  7. #7
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Posts
    759
    What brands?

  8. #8
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Peoples Republic of Berkeley (PRB), USA
    Posts
    928
    Sapphire - but as far as I can tell all of the boards on the market are just rebadged OEM.
    core i7 920, gigabyte EX58-UD5, 4870x2

    DDC3.2 > PA120.3 > DD4870x2fc > Fuzion v1 > PA120.2 > EK Res

  9. #9
    Xtreme 3D Team Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    small town in Indiana
    Posts
    2,296
    Quote Originally Posted by purecain View Post
    3 leds light up instead of 4 , the fans spin as normal... no post so no reflash.... dead as a dodo... but why didnt they do this last night why only after they had been dorment for a few hours.... dont get it m8...why are they preventing post?????????????????????????????????????????????? ???


    You flashed them already? if your clocks are too high for the voltage it will not post, there is your issue. If you can perform the volt mod they will most likely work, I had a 4850 refuse too boot at 900 , raised the volts and it boots fine, the card with only 1 led is not getting juice, i bet it is your secondary right?
    QX 9650 5ghz with 1.55v 4.8ghz with 1.5v 24/7 in a VAPOLI V-2000B+ Single stage phase cooling.
    DFI LP LT X-38 T2R
    2X HD4850's water cooled , volt modded
    Thermaltake 1KW Psu
    4x Seagate 250GB in RAID 0
    8GB crucial ballistix ram

  10. #10
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Posts
    759
    Yeah, that sounds similar to my 940 server board. It has two power leds; one lights up, the other on and off if the 8 pin CPU power connector isn't plugged in.

  11. #11
    right np... i have booted xp by disabling a 4870 in safe mode using the 3870 as video adapter... i'll try upping the volts now.. thanks.. let you know what happens in 10 minutes...

  12. #12
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Peoples Republic of Berkeley (PRB), USA
    Posts
    928
    I've got 3 LED's lit up when the board tries to post, then it fails and spins the fan down. If you're looking at the board from the top down the two leds on the right are lit up, then one is dark, then the one on the far left is lit.
    core i7 920, gigabyte EX58-UD5, 4870x2

    DDC3.2 > PA120.3 > DD4870x2fc > Fuzion v1 > PA120.2 > EK Res

  13. #13
    yep thats what i had, now after raising the voltage, it still doesnt work.. only now i have 2 red lights flash very quickly... so i'm on my way to fixing it...
    best thing to do is flash a stock bios, only problem is that it wont flash the original one as it says its already installed... using latest winflash... atiflash wont work... what else is working in dos for these cards???
    right... managed to reflash my 4870 but the bios isnt right, or the flashing process is fubar'd... this is what gpuz reads from the card now...
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by purecain; 06-27-2008 at 01:33 PM.

  14. #14
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Louisiana
    Posts
    392
    Fastest 4870 ever!
    Anywho, why not try flashing in a bios from a different manufactuer so it wont say its already installed? or maybe there is a force command parameter.
    E7200 @ 4.0ghz 1.29vcore
    2x 6870
    OCZ 4gb @ 5-4-4-12 846mhz

  15. #15
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    England, UK
    Posts
    1,837
    Wow, that makes me abit happier i didnt hit the Buy button yesterday on the HIS crossfire package for £440. I might hold off to see how the 4870X2 does when released next month because the 4870s do look very promising even for the slightly inflated price for launch due to price gouging.

  16. #16
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Fremont
    Posts
    260
    oh man I just bought one yesterday and I hope it is not going to happen like that.

    Q9450 w/120 extreme
    Maximus II Formula
    G.Skill 4gb 8800 w/ crosair fans
    Sapphire HD4870 512 w/ T-Rad2
    2x 300gb velociraptor RAID0
    2x 500 gb SATA
    Cooler Master 850w PSU
    CM 590 Case

  17. #17
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    California
    Posts
    1,917
    i just got two 4870's as well. i'll hold off on the overclocking or flashing until the source of this is discovered. i'd hate to kill my shiny new cards. i don't think any of us know much about GDDR5 yet, so i have no idea how hot it runs or how well it overclocks.
    My Videos
    GRID Demolition Derby * GRID Camaro vs. Mustang * Audiosurf - Speed Racer
    I Shot the Hosties * Slightly Stupid * Dump Truck


    Intel Haswell 4770K * 2x8GB Mushkin Redline DDR3 1866 CL9 * Asus Maximus VI Gene * Sapphire 7870 GHz Edition
    500GB Samsung 840 Series SSD + 2TB WD Raid Edition 3 magnetic * SilverStone Temjin case * Corsair TX750 PSU * Corsair H60 water cooler * Win7 Pro x64

  18. #18
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    940
    unlucky

  19. #19
    Banned
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    vermont, yes i like women
    Posts
    1,321
    I read an article saying that atiflash and winflash have caused crashed on the 4XXX series because of inproper bios coding for gddr5 try the one that is in the bios mod forum on this site, flashrom I heard there have been no problems with it yet and you can force flash the cards back to stock if needed.

  20. #20
    can someone upload a stock bios and a link to a bios flash utility that works... i'm getting bored of this...

  21. #21
    Xtreme 3D Team Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    small town in Indiana
    Posts
    2,296
    only one I know of so far with a link. good luck. http://www.techpowerup.com/vgabios/i...ace=&memSize=0

    as for a flash utility. that is another story, if winflash won't do it correctly you may be out of luck, it is the most recent that I know of.
    QX 9650 5ghz with 1.55v 4.8ghz with 1.5v 24/7 in a VAPOLI V-2000B+ Single stage phase cooling.
    DFI LP LT X-38 T2R
    2X HD4850's water cooled , volt modded
    Thermaltake 1KW Psu
    4x Seagate 250GB in RAID 0
    8GB crucial ballistix ram

  22. #22
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Posts
    759
    Or ask someone with an unmodded 4870 to dump their stock BIOS. Probably be a good common practice at xtremes to collect stock BIOS dumps. Of course, good common practice to save your own before modding

  23. #23
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    California
    Posts
    1,917
    i have Sapphire 4870's fresh out of the boxes. i'll gladly upload my BIOS if you need. can i use ATiFlash or will that cause problems? i used ATiFlash 3.49 to flash my 3870's, but i only used it once and i need to know the command to dump it. let me know if i can help.
    My Videos
    GRID Demolition Derby * GRID Camaro vs. Mustang * Audiosurf - Speed Racer
    I Shot the Hosties * Slightly Stupid * Dump Truck


    Intel Haswell 4770K * 2x8GB Mushkin Redline DDR3 1866 CL9 * Asus Maximus VI Gene * Sapphire 7870 GHz Edition
    500GB Samsung 840 Series SSD + 2TB WD Raid Edition 3 magnetic * SilverStone Temjin case * Corsair TX750 PSU * Corsair H60 water cooler * Win7 Pro x64

  24. #24
    thanks jimmyz i was just flashing that bios, but it had the same results in winflash... gonna try ati flash now
    get back to you in a minute mr bunglex...
    atiflash doesnt recognise the second adapter(4870) only the first (3870)....
    Last edited by purecain; 06-27-2008 at 03:37 PM.

  25. #25
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    uk , bristol
    Posts
    312
    good luck cain....most likely teething probs wit the 4870's

Page 1 of 16 123411 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •