Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 68

Thread: 4850 vs 8800GT 3dmarks & Accelero S1 test

  1. #1
    xtreme energy
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Europe, Latvia
    Posts
    4,233

    4850 vs 8800GT 3dmarks & Accelero S1 test

    I got a gigabyte 4850 card and run some 3dmarks to compare with 8800GT. I have also mounted Accelero S1 cooler and I was amazed by the temperature drop I saw. Basically stock cooler is a total crap and you can't really control fan because it runs only @ 10%. Anyway at full RPM it would be very loud.

    Test system:
    ATI HD4850 @ 700/1000, driver 8.6 with hotfix
    NVidia 8800GT @ 700/1000, 175.16
    DFI LP T3R, E8500 @ 4.4Ghz
    2x1GB DDR3 7-6-6-18 @ 815Mhz
    Zippy 700W PSU, cut down XP SP2



    Results, I cant overclock 4850 more than 700 at the moment because there is no tool that supports it except CCC

    3dmarks



    Temperature




    HD4850 has a standard hole spacing, same as 8800gt and other so Accelero S1 fits just fine




    I have also attached screenshots of 4850 3dmark runs
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by kiwi; 06-21-2008 at 03:09 AM.
    ...

  2. #2
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    uk , bristol
    Posts
    312
    lookin good m8 .....keep pushing it.....good start from ati this round!

  3. #3
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    ESTONIA
    Posts
    439
    thanks for confirming that the accelero s1 fits

    how do you cool the components on the rear of the card? just the blowing fan?
    Last edited by heikis; 06-21-2008 at 03:38 AM.
    Intel C2D E8400 @ 4000MHz ~1,192V
    Thermaltake Big Typhoon 120
    MSI P35 NEO2-FIR (bios v1.8)
    ADATA 2*2GB DDR2 800+ EE
    ASUS Geforce 8800GT 512MB + Accelero S1
    Seasonic S12-600

  4. #4
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Hell
    Posts
    12
    great to know the Accelero S1 fits, thx and can't wait for some decent OC sw so you can really push the card

  5. #5
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    263
    Interesting, will you be running any game benches?

  6. #6
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    371
    I would also like to see game benchies. More specifically, the GT vs the 4850 in HL:2 Ep:2 which uses the newest version of the source engine.

    Thanks for taking your time to test this for us

  7. #7
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    31
    Wow, those temps are insane. What a difference. I wonder how high it will clock with better tools available?

    Can't wait for game benchies...

  8. #8
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    50
    Anyone stop to consider that maybe ATI purposely limited the OC potential of the 4850 as it is basically the same GPU as the 4870.

  9. #9
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Posts
    759
    What's going on with the cooler? The stock cooler is so poor that there's such a huge difference?

  10. #10
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    50
    Power management appears to be not working on the 4850 currently, fan is also stuck at 14% speed hence the high temps.

  11. #11
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    235
    i got a sapphire 4850,with the stock cooler which is really crappy i had around 80 degrees idle,after changing the cooler with an TR HR-03 GT idle temps went down to 41 degrees.
    room temp is around 28 degrees.
    the most ive seen so far under load is 58 degrees but i still dont have a tool to log it so its just alt-tab observation.

    when there is no load on the GPU(0&#37 the core goes down to 500mhz from the standard 625
    Last edited by AAbenson; 06-21-2008 at 10:33 AM.
    ---
    ---
    "Generally speaking, CMOS power consumption is the result of charging and discharging gate capacitors. The charge required to fully charge the gate grows with the voltage; charge times frequency is current. Voltage times current is power. So, as you raise the voltage, the current consumption grows linearly, and the power consumption quadratically, at a fixed frequency. Once you reach the frequency limit of the chip without raising the voltage, further frequency increases are normally proportional to voltage. In other words, once you have to start raising the voltage, power consumption tends to rise with the cube of frequency."
    +++
    1st
    CPU - 2600K(4.4ghz)/Mobo - AsusEvo/RAM - 8GB1866mhz/Cooler - VX/Gfx - Radeon 6950/PSU - EnermaxModu87+700W
    +++
    2nd
    TRUltra-120Xtreme /// EnermaxModu82+(625w) /// abitIP35pro/// YorkfieldQ9650-->3906mhz(1.28V) /// 640AAKS & samsung F1 1T &samsung F1640gb&F1 RAID 1T /// 4gigs of RAM-->520mhz /// radeon 4850(700mhz)-->TRHR-03 GT
    ++++
    3rd
    Windsor4200(11x246-->2706mhz-->1.52v) : Zalman9500 : M2N32-SLI Deluxe : 2GB ddr2 SuperTalent-->451mhz : seagate 7200.10 320GB :7900GT(530/700) : Tagan530w

  12. #12
    xtreme energy
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Europe, Latvia
    Posts
    4,233
    Yes, stock cooler runs only @ 10-15% but as I said at full RPM it would be very, very loud. I can't touch the card even when idle, burns my finger If you don't plan changing stock cooler then at least re-apply thermal paste and add an extra 120mm fan somewhere



    I am very sorry but I don't have any games to test where 4850 would really shine (I only have UT2K4 and BF2 where they both have 200+ FPS at highest settings)
    ...

  13. #13
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    138
    Hiya.

    I have 2 of these puppies with S1 on them. Now...How on earth do I use them in Xfire WITH some fans ? LOL. Board is MSI P35.

    Also,
    Should I get P45 board for better Xfire?
    Last edited by Eniqmah; 06-21-2008 at 12:37 PM.
    Multimedia:
    __________________
    CPU: E6600@3705MHZ : / Idle 40C / Load 62C / Zalman 9700
    MOBO: P5W DH Deluxe / Bios v1707 / Idle 39C / Load 45C
    GPU: ATI Radeon X1950Pro / (574 Core|688 Mem) Idle 48C @ 36% Fan
    RAM: 2GB OCZ XTC Gold 6400 OCZ2G8002GK 5-6-6-18 1GB OCZ Platnum 6400 OCZ1G8002PK
    Sound: Creative X-Fi Xtreme Gamer / Logitech Z5300E
    Keyboard: G15 | Mouse: G7 + MX518 | Display: Sceptre 20"
    Case: Silverstone TJ06 Sloppy Modshttp://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/...d.php?t=142817.
    HDD: WD160SATA / WD5000KSRTL SATA / WD 5000AAKB PATA
    DVD: Samsung SH-S183L (SATA) / Sony DRU-720A
    PSU: Thermaltake ToughPower 700W

    Laptop:
    __________________
    TravelMate 8204WLMi
    Intel Core Duo T2500, 2.0GHz ,667MHz FSB
    2 GB DDR2 667 RAM
    ATI Mobility Radeon X1600 51MB HyperMemory, 256MB dedicated GDDR3 VRAM
    120 GB 5400 RPM SATA HDD internal
    120 GB 5400 RPM PATA HDD external

    Game Machine:
    QX6700@ 3.74Ghz, GTX or HD2900XT?
    All the usual other crap.

  14. #14
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    MA/NH
    Posts
    1,254
    on my maximus formula theres not enuff space for a 120 fan between the cards, i ordered the fan modules they make for these cards to cure that. this cooler is amazing on the 4850's, i didnt like it on the gst 512. I had it sitting here so I thru it on one of the cards and knocked it down to high 30's idle and high 50's load ! I ordered another for the second card.
    Mpower Max | 4770k | H100 | 16gb Sammy 30nm 1866 | GTX780 SC | Xonar Essence Stx | BIC DV62si | ATH AD700 | 550d | AX850 | VG24QE | 840pro 256gb | 640black | 2tb | CherryReds | m60 | Func1030 |
    HEAT

  15. #15
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    130
    I am wondering what an Accelero extreme will do to that card..
    Question:
    I need an opinion if this will fit
    http://www.techpowerup.com/reviews/M...mages/back.jpg (save image and rotate it until the DVI ports will face left side)
    http://www.arctic-cooling.com/downlo...Xtreme2900.pdf .. this is the accelero 2900 backside..I feel that the bolts around the core will fit and maybe other bolts...I will get 15C or 10C maybe with this cooler..

    Pls advice...Is the 8800GT identical with 9800GTX fiting (bolts and stuff) ?
    Last edited by Losphoron; 06-21-2008 at 05:32 PM.
    -AMD Phenom II X4 940BE oced to 3.6ghz with Scythe Kama Angle
    -4 gb ram DDR2 Mushkin
    - Gigabyte 790X UD3P with F7A beta bios
    - Sapphire 6950
    - WD 1001AALS Caviar Black
    - win7 x64 with all updates
    -Asus Xonar DX
    -Samsung 223C DVD-RW
    - Broadcom Xtreme NIC
    -PSU: Corsair 750HX

  16. #16
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    MA/NH
    Posts
    1,254
    those links no worky
    Mpower Max | 4770k | H100 | 16gb Sammy 30nm 1866 | GTX780 SC | Xonar Essence Stx | BIC DV62si | ATH AD700 | 550d | AX850 | VG24QE | 840pro 256gb | 640black | 2tb | CherryReds | m60 | Func1030 |
    HEAT

  17. #17
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    1,326
    Quote Originally Posted by Losphoron View Post
    I am wondering what an Accelero extreme will do to that card..
    It'll do nothing since the Extreme won't even fit.

  18. #18
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Yak's Bend
    Posts
    30
    what's a good aftermarket cooler to fit these bad boys with them in crossfire?
    Q6600 G0 3.42(9x380) on Asus Maximus Formula (rampage bios)
    Corsair XMS2 DDR 800 4x1gb
    BFG GTX 280 OC
    WD 250gb, Samsung 80gb, DVDRW
    Audigy 2 ZS
    Vista Ultimate 64 bit
    24" LCD

  19. #19
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    130
    Done.. they work now..
    -AMD Phenom II X4 940BE oced to 3.6ghz with Scythe Kama Angle
    -4 gb ram DDR2 Mushkin
    - Gigabyte 790X UD3P with F7A beta bios
    - Sapphire 6950
    - WD 1001AALS Caviar Black
    - win7 x64 with all updates
    -Asus Xonar DX
    -Samsung 223C DVD-RW
    - Broadcom Xtreme NIC
    -PSU: Corsair 750HX

  20. #20
    Live Long And Overclock
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    14,551
    x8/x8 sucks for 4850s in CF. Go for x16/x16 if you can for optimal performance.

    Perkam

  21. #21
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    MA/NH
    Posts
    1,254
    Quote Originally Posted by wadec22 View Post
    what's a good aftermarket cooler to fit these bad boys with them in crossfire?
    accellerro s1 rev 2

    but you'll need some extra sinks for the pwm on the card.
    Mpower Max | 4770k | H100 | 16gb Sammy 30nm 1866 | GTX780 SC | Xonar Essence Stx | BIC DV62si | ATH AD700 | 550d | AX850 | VG24QE | 840pro 256gb | 640black | 2tb | CherryReds | m60 | Func1030 |
    HEAT

  22. #22
    Registered User
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    20
    First thing I did when I bought my Visiontek 4850 was to crack open the heatsink, clean out the thermal paste and put a dab of OCZ Freeze on there.

    Temps where 65c idle and no more than 78c on full load. This is with a overclock of 700/1100. I'm sure the memory can go higher but I got impatient with the Catalyst drivers auto finding feature.

    Can't wait for some other software to come out that'll give us more overclocking options. I would love to see results with that Accelero it's just to bad the memory wasn't DDR5 but I love this card anyway.

    Last edited by Tech Niques; 06-21-2008 at 07:01 PM. Reason: Addition of picture
    Main Rig:
    Asus P5Q Deluxe - Antec Truepower Quattro 850w Vista x64 SP1
    Xigmatek 1283/Yate Loon
    Q6600 G0 L804A768 @ 3.3ghz 1.425v
    New Q6600 G0 L72b (testing with new Asus)
    Visiontek 4850 512MB 700/1100
    WD Raptor 74Gbx2 Raid+0/Seagate 320GB/Seagate 750GB

  23. #23
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Yak's Bend
    Posts
    30
    Quote Originally Posted by Rattle View Post
    accellerro s1 rev 2

    but you'll need some extra sinks for the pwm on the card.
    doesn't the accelero block the area where you would place the xfire bridges?
    Q6600 G0 3.42(9x380) on Asus Maximus Formula (rampage bios)
    Corsair XMS2 DDR 800 4x1gb
    BFG GTX 280 OC
    WD 250gb, Samsung 80gb, DVDRW
    Audigy 2 ZS
    Vista Ultimate 64 bit
    24" LCD

  24. #24
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    1,142
    Quote Originally Posted by Losphoron View Post
    I am wondering what an Accelero extreme will do to that card..
    Question:
    I need an opinion if this will fit
    http://www.techpowerup.com/reviews/M...mages/back.jpg (save image and rotate it until the DVI ports will face left side)
    http://www.arctic-cooling.com/downlo...Xtreme2900.pdf .. this is the accelero 2900 backside..I feel that the bolts around the core will fit and maybe other bolts...I will get 15C or 10C maybe with this cooler..

    Pls advice...Is the 8800GT identical with 9800GTX fiting (bolts and stuff) ?
    Quote Originally Posted by ToTTenTranz View Post
    It'll do nothing since the Extreme won't even fit.

    Well, it will do a lot if the mountingholes are the same as on the HD 38** series, you CAN mod the Accelero Extreme 2900 to fit;



    http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/...&postcount=103
    Last edited by Clint; 06-21-2008 at 09:59 PM.
    GA-H55N-USB3
    i3-550 L008B555 @4.6GHz (1.36v)
    Sapphire HD 5850 @1GHz/1.3GHz (1.25v)
    GSkill ECO 4GB PC3-12800 @1.33GHz 6-6-6-20 1T (1.34v)


  25. #25
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    MA/NH
    Posts
    1,254
    Quote Originally Posted by wadec22 View Post
    doesn't the accelero block the area where you would place the xfire bridges?
    yes but I clipped one fin to fit the connector thru, it goes in between 2 fins now and slides right between them from outside the cooler and its only the top card.
    Mpower Max | 4770k | H100 | 16gb Sammy 30nm 1866 | GTX780 SC | Xonar Essence Stx | BIC DV62si | ATH AD700 | 550d | AX850 | VG24QE | 840pro 256gb | 640black | 2tb | CherryReds | m60 | Func1030 |
    HEAT

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •