Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Help: Need advice for specific parts of my new build/loop. Any help is appreciated!

Xtreme Member

Help: Need advice for specific parts of my new build/loop. Any help is appreciated!

Hi guys, I'm a newb to watercooling.

I've done some reading now and I'm really torn between the PA120.3 and PA160.1 reservoirs. Can you guys outline specific instances in which would be best?
    My parts that needs cooling will be:

Striker II Extreme
    Qx9650
    2 GTX 280 SLI

Now I know that the reservoir is one thing, another is loops, pumps and overall size. I really don't care how big the stuff is as long as it fits in my V2110B, but I'm really worried that my 280 SLI loop will DESTROY my temps. I'm wondering how many loops you guys recommend and which reservoirs I'd use to cool between the loops. I'm assuming since the GTX280s have very high TDW that i'd need a much bigger one than the CPU and MOTHERBOARD but I'd like to build a lasting setup

Any suggestions would be great guys.

Thx
    Last edited by Broly; 06-29-2008 at 09:16 AM.

Xtreme Mentor
    You'll want a RADIATOR (not a res). You'll need a 120.3 rad for just the GPU's. And a pump etc.

You will need a 160.1 or a 120.2 just for the CPU. And a pump etc.

Thats TWO completly seperate loops.

Rad x2
    pump x2
    hose x2
    fittings x2
    res or fill port x2

get the idea?
    All stock for now, no need for more, but it's gonna be soon methinks.
    Giga Xtreme 58 mobo i7 965 ES D0 step Corsair 1600 6 gig
    SLI GTX470 EVGA
    EK HF nickle blue top CPU block (free from Eddie)
    Koolance 470 waterblocks
    One big loop, two 120x3 rads. Pa 120.3 and XSPC RX 120x3. Swiftech 35x pump with V2 restop. GT AP15 fans.
    Banchetto Tech Station
    120 GB SSD, and a few other drives.
    1000W UltraX3 PSU, 900 watt (1500VA UPS
    23.999" Acer GD235hz and 24" Acer H243H

Xtreme Member
    yeah sorry I got the words confused.

What radiator should I get for my motherboard, then?