Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 82

Thread: Overclocking made easy, Phenom 9850BE @ 790GX @ AMD Overdrive Extreme

  1. #1
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Hong Kong Island
    Posts
    549

    Overclocking made easy, Phenom 9850BE @ 790GX @ AMD Overdrive Extreme



    my 1st trial run today,

    air-cooled with Tower 120.

  2. #2
    Registered User Milans's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    54
    wow nice run. What mobo do you have?

  3. #3
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Hong Kong Island
    Posts
    549
    Quote Originally Posted by Milans View Post
    wow nice run. What mobo do you have?
    J&W 790GX-Extreme

    I can't believe it is so easy to overclock the Phenom 9850BE to such clock with this board.
    Last edited by kenofstephen; 06-16-2008 at 10:49 PM.

  4. #4
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    707
    Wait, what? (feels like cold water to the face)

    Nice overclock, is that 4 core load stable? Voltage seems a bit dangerous though.

  5. #5
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Hong Kong Island
    Posts
    549
    Quote Originally Posted by eleeter View Post
    Wait, what? (feels like cold water to the face)

    Nice overclock, is that 4 core load stable? Voltage seems a bit dangerous though.
    passed an hour test built-in with the tool.

  6. #6
    Xtreme Mentor
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    2,979
    Quote Originally Posted by kenofstephen View Post
    passed an hour test built-in with the tool.
    Try prime95, the AOD built in is not the best of all stress tests. Nice OC though regardless.
    One hundred years from now It won't matter
    What kind of car I drove What kind of house I lived in
    How much money I had in the bank Nor what my cloths looked like.... But The world may be a little better Because, I was important In the life of a child.
    -- from "Within My Power" by Forest Witcraft

  7. #7
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    707
    Quote Originally Posted by kenofstephen View Post
    passed an hour test built-in with the tool.
    Nice. Maybe AMD wasn't making stuff up after all when they talked about better Phenom overclocks.

  8. #8
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Hong Kong Island
    Posts
    549
    Quote Originally Posted by JumpingJack View Post
    Try prime95, the AOD built in is not the best of all stress tests. Nice OC though regardless.
    better to stress with water cooling.

    air...no...

  9. #9
    Xtreme Addict Daveburt714's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    State of Confusion, USA
    Posts
    2,482
    790GX..... Does that board have the SB750 Southbridge?

    Seems like I read that it did...
    AMD FX-8350 (1237 PGN) | Asus Crosshair V Formula (bios 1703) | G.Skill 2133 CL9 @ 2230 9-11-10 | Sapphire HD 6870 | Samsung 830 128Gb SSD / 2 WD 1Tb Black SATA3 storage | Corsair TX750 PSU
    Watercooled ST 120.3 & TC 120.1 / MCP35X XSPC Top / Apogee HD Block | WIN7 64 Bit HP | Corsair 800D Obsidian Case








    First Computer: Commodore Vic 20 (circa 1981).

  10. #10
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Hong Kong Island
    Posts
    549
    Quote Originally Posted by Daveburt714 View Post
    790GX..... Does that board have the SB750 Southbridge?

    Seems like I read that it did...
    It is a MUST to ship with SB750

  11. #11
    Xtreme Enthusiast LIKMARK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    704
    Very nice overclock

    You have overclocked through AOD I reckon?

    How does it overclock through bios?

  12. #12
    Xtreme Addict Rammsteiner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    EvE-Online, Tranquility
    Posts
    1,978
    w00t.

    Did you try that Phenom on a SB600 board before by any chance so we know there's a real difference or you just have a good CPU

    Also did you get this board for preview or anything like that? Or did you really buy it? Cause if that's so, I hope we can expect them really soon then

    However, as others said, better use Prime95 to test stability there. AOD stability test is really worth all.
    Synaptic Overflow

    CPU:
    -Intel Core i7 920 3841A522
    --CPU: 4200Mhz| Vcore: +120mV| Uncore: 3200Mhz| VTT: +100mV| Turbo: On| HT: Off
    ---CPU block: EK Supreme Acetal| Radiator: TCF X-Changer 480mm
    Motherboard:
    -Foxconn Bloodrage P06
    --Blck: 200Mhz| QPI: 3600Mhz
    Graphics:
    -Sapphire Radeon HD 4870X2
    --GPU: 750Mhz| GDDR: 900Mhz
    RAM:
    -3x 2GB Mushkin XP3-12800
    --Mhz: 800Mhz| Vdimm: 1.65V| Timings: 7-8-7-20-1T
    Storage:
    -3Ware 9650SE-2LP RAID controller
    --2x Western Digital 74GB Raptor RAID 0
    PSU:
    -Enermax Revolution 85+ 1250W
    OS:
    -Windows Vista Business x64


    ORDERED: Sapphire HD 5970 OC
    LOOKING FOR: 2x G.Skill Falcon II 128GB SSD, Windows 7

  13. #13
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Hong Kong Island
    Posts
    549
    Quote Originally Posted by Rammsteiner View Post
    w00t.

    Did you try that Phenom on a SB600 board before by any chance so we know there's a real difference or you just have a good CPU

    Also did you get this board for preview or anything like that? Or did you really buy it? Cause if that's so, I hope we can expect them really soon then

    However, as others said, better use Prime95 to test stability there. AOD stability test is really worth all.
    possibly because of good PWM design, I don't know.

  14. #14
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Somewhere Up to my Ears in Ye Yo
    Posts
    1,124
    nice clock matey,

    but i would hold back on that Vcore, @1.55v i found the Phenom stable but the heat under load (with water) just kept getting higher, slowly but surely.

    i dont think you can get the Vcore above 1.45 -1.50v without this problem,

    what version of AND Overdrive are you using? i see beta in the info bar? new beta?

    EDIT: found the beta: http://downloads.guru3d.com/download...a60f2028038472

    i shall give it a go
    Last edited by soundood; 06-17-2008 at 12:53 AM.

  15. #15
    Xtreme Addict Rammsteiner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    EvE-Online, Tranquility
    Posts
    1,978
    Quote Originally Posted by kenofstephen View Post
    possibly because of good PWM design, I don't know.
    Heh, what has that do with my post. I dont get it

    But did you buy this board or did you get to review it early? And did you use your Phenom on a different motherboard with the SB600 as well? If that is so, does the SB750 fixes all the problems that are on the SB600?

    Thx in advance

    PS: One of the very first motherboard manufacturers besides the Quantum Force from Foxconn to post their SB750 boards in their product list. Looks like they added -Ultra to the boards with the SB750, they fixed AMD 790X, 790FX and RS780D Aren't J&W and Jetway more or less the same anyway?
    Synaptic Overflow

    CPU:
    -Intel Core i7 920 3841A522
    --CPU: 4200Mhz| Vcore: +120mV| Uncore: 3200Mhz| VTT: +100mV| Turbo: On| HT: Off
    ---CPU block: EK Supreme Acetal| Radiator: TCF X-Changer 480mm
    Motherboard:
    -Foxconn Bloodrage P06
    --Blck: 200Mhz| QPI: 3600Mhz
    Graphics:
    -Sapphire Radeon HD 4870X2
    --GPU: 750Mhz| GDDR: 900Mhz
    RAM:
    -3x 2GB Mushkin XP3-12800
    --Mhz: 800Mhz| Vdimm: 1.65V| Timings: 7-8-7-20-1T
    Storage:
    -3Ware 9650SE-2LP RAID controller
    --2x Western Digital 74GB Raptor RAID 0
    PSU:
    -Enermax Revolution 85+ 1250W
    OS:
    -Windows Vista Business x64


    ORDERED: Sapphire HD 5970 OC
    LOOKING FOR: 2x G.Skill Falcon II 128GB SSD, Windows 7

  16. #16
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Hong Kong Island
    Posts
    549
    Quote Originally Posted by soundood View Post
    nice clock matey,

    but i would hold back on that Vcore, @1.55v i found the Phenom stable but the heat under load (with water) just kept getting higher, slowly but surely.

    i dont think you can get the Vcore above 1.45 -1.50v without this problem,

    what version of AND Overdrive are you using? i see beta in the info bar? new beta?

    EDIT: found the beta: http://downloads.guru3d.com/download...a60f2028038472

    i shall give it a go
    to save time, I pulled the vcore to maximum available in the ODE tool.
    I believe it can be lowered a bit,
    just I don't have time to fine-tune.

    but under Tower 120 I didn't see the temp. keep going up.
    at 65C it became stable and benched for an hour.
    Last edited by kenofstephen; 06-17-2008 at 02:26 AM.

  17. #17
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Hong Kong Island
    Posts
    549
    by the way, I tried the same vcore for 3.5GHz.
    not stable anymore.

  18. #18
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Hong Kong Island
    Posts
    549
    Quote Originally Posted by Rammsteiner View Post
    Heh, what has that do with my post. I dont get it

    But did you buy this board or did you get to review it early? And did you use your Phenom on a different motherboard with the SB600 as well? If that is so, does the SB750 fixes all the problems that are on the SB600?

    Thx in advance

    PS: One of the very first motherboard manufacturers besides the Quantum Force from Foxconn to post their SB750 boards in their product list. Looks like they added -Ultra to the boards with the SB750, they fixed AMD 790X, 790FX and RS780D Aren't J&W and Jetway more or less the same anyway?
    honestly I didn't try on other boards.

    J&W and Jetway are 2 separated companies, no relationship in between.

  19. #19
    Xtreme Addict Oese's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    1,209
    so sb750 finally or not??
    1. ASUS Sabertooth 990fx | FX 8320 || 2. DFI DK 790FXB-M3H5 | X4 810
    8GB Samsung 30nm DDR3-2000 9-10-10-28 || 4GB PSC DDR3-1333 6-7-6-21
    Corsair TX750W | Sapphire 6970 2GB || BeQuiet PurePower 450w | HD 4850
    EK Supreme | AC aquagratix | Laing Pro | MoRa 2 || Aircooled

  20. #20
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Hong Kong Island
    Posts
    549
    Quote Originally Posted by Oese View Post
    so sb750 finally or not??
    ?? I said it must be with SB750.

  21. #21
    Xtreme Mentor Nedjo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    2,548
    Stephen any chance of providing the picture of the mobo?!?
    Adobe is working on Flash Player support for 64-bit platforms as part of our ongoing commitment to the cross-platform compatibility of Flash Player. We expect to provide native support for 64-bit platforms in an upcoming release of Flash Player following the release of Flash Player 10.1.

  22. #22
    Xtreme X.I.P. Cooper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    4,682
    Quote Originally Posted by kenofstephen View Post
    by the way, I tried the same vcore for 3.5GHz.
    not stable anymore.
    try lowering the Vcore - perhaps heat is the issue

  23. #23
    Xtreme Addict Rammsteiner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    EvE-Online, Tranquility
    Posts
    1,978
    Quote Originally Posted by Cooper View Post
    try lowering the Vcore - perhaps heat is the issue
    Very good point. Next time please dont just drop in 10MV of Vcore, OC'ing takes time.

    Also could you try to OC with purely HTT? Im curious whether the HTT OC'ing is finally fixed now, and of course what we might expect from it
    Synaptic Overflow

    CPU:
    -Intel Core i7 920 3841A522
    --CPU: 4200Mhz| Vcore: +120mV| Uncore: 3200Mhz| VTT: +100mV| Turbo: On| HT: Off
    ---CPU block: EK Supreme Acetal| Radiator: TCF X-Changer 480mm
    Motherboard:
    -Foxconn Bloodrage P06
    --Blck: 200Mhz| QPI: 3600Mhz
    Graphics:
    -Sapphire Radeon HD 4870X2
    --GPU: 750Mhz| GDDR: 900Mhz
    RAM:
    -3x 2GB Mushkin XP3-12800
    --Mhz: 800Mhz| Vdimm: 1.65V| Timings: 7-8-7-20-1T
    Storage:
    -3Ware 9650SE-2LP RAID controller
    --2x Western Digital 74GB Raptor RAID 0
    PSU:
    -Enermax Revolution 85+ 1250W
    OS:
    -Windows Vista Business x64


    ORDERED: Sapphire HD 5970 OC
    LOOKING FOR: 2x G.Skill Falcon II 128GB SSD, Windows 7

  24. #24
    Xtreme Enthusiast keithlm's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Colorado Springs
    Posts
    660
    Quote Originally Posted by Rammsteiner View Post
    Also could you try to OC with purely HTT? Im curious whether the HTT OC'ing is finally fixed now, and of course what we might expect from it
    NO NO NO don't do any of that.

    DO the following instead:

    1. Box up the motherboard.

    2. Ship it to me.

    3. Profit!
    FX-8350, Powercolor ATI R9 290X LCS, OCZ Vertex 4, Crosshair V Forumula-Z, AMD Radeon DDR3-2133 2x8Gb, Corsair HX1000W, Thermaltake Xaser VI, Xonar D2X, Water Cooling 140.3

  25. #25
    Xtreme X.I.P. metro.cl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Chile
    Posts
    4,237
    Quote Originally Posted by soundood View Post
    nice clock matey,

    but i would hold back on that Vcore, @1.55v i found the Phenom stable but the heat under load (with water) just kept getting higher, slowly but surely.

    i dont think you can get the Vcore above 1.45 -1.50v without this problem,

    what version of AND Overdrive are you using? i see beta in the info bar? new beta?

    EDIT: found the beta: http://downloads.guru3d.com/download...a60f2028038472

    i shall give it a go
    It kinda sucks to see many websites using the AOD i leaked and not give credit to my website or myself, i've seen this in a couple of "websites" already. They didnt even put it on the news but they sure used "my file".

    For AOD to overclock a lot you need RD790+SB 750 or RS780D+SB750 with a Black Edition Phenom.
    Last edited by metro.cl; 06-17-2008 at 10:50 AM.

Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •