Page 58 of 73 FirstFirst ... 8485556575859606168 ... LastLast
Results 1,426 to 1,450 of 1814

Thread: ATI 4850/4870 voltmod thread

  1. #1426
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    6
    Finally I was able to get an account with this webpage. Anyway I have a HIS IceQ4 4850 1gb version and I want to know where do I do the pencil mods for that card?! I read every single page on this forum and I only saw it being mentioned that someone had found out a way to do the vmod for my card. The person even put up the results of benchmarks but did not include any pictures of his/her card... Please help me!

  2. #1427
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Dracula's home
    Posts
    14
    Quote Originally Posted by ceemic View Post
    The pic has allready posted: http://i40.tinypic.com/2ryq43m.jpg
    You can use one of the two points which are connected to pin17. Measure default resistance between FB and GND. Then multiply the number with 20 and that is the VR You can use.
    Thank you Ceemic.Only one more thing is necessary:measure point vgpu.
    If i get that i will start do work and came with results.
    E7400@4Ghz,Asus Triton70,2x2gbKingmax@1066,Asus P5Q,ASUS5670,Chieftec 450w,wd 2500AAKS,SEAGATE 360GB,2x120mm fan.

  3. #1428
    Xtreme Enthusiast ceemic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Estonia, Tartu
    Posts
    890
    Vmods - what can possibly go wrong? ©

  4. #1429
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    59

    Sapphire Non-reference 4870 Vmod

    Quote Originally Posted by gurusan View Post
    Got some new non-reference Sapphire 4870s...would like to know if voltmodding or pencil modding is possible? I think the controller says up6206ak on it.
    For the uninitiated, make sure to first set your VR to its highest resistance before adjusting it down to the desired level while monitoring the voltage. You do not want to start with the VR set to zero ohms.

    Disclaimer: Using this mod will void your video card warranty and you alone shall be liable for any resulting damages. PERFORM THIS MOD AT YOUR OWN RISK AND DON'T TRY THIS IF YOU CAN'T AFFORD TO LOSE THE CARD!



    EDIT: Confirmed working mod with updated info provided by Vatos Locos
    Last edited by syl; 03-13-2009 at 08:59 PM.
    Intel Core i7-930
    Asus P6X58D Premium
    3 x 2GB G.Skill Trident 2000
    XFX HD5870
    Samsung 320GB x 2 (RAID 0)
    XFX Black Edition 850W
    XSPC Rasa, Swiftech MCW-55 & MCP350 (18W), BI GTX360 w San Aces, BIP3 w Scythe Ultra Kazes, 7/16" Masterkleer, Swiftech Micro Res
    Cooler Master Stacker 832

  5. #1430
    Xtreme Guru
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Posts
    4,068
    awesome ^ syl thanks for the vcore mod

    mines already 1.36vcore @ default

    ill give it a shot in a minute.. but gotta find a way to increase gpu clock @ ccc

    how about a vmem mod?

    does up6206ak also regulate vmem?
    Last edited by NapalmV5; 02-09-2009 at 12:08 AM.

  6. #1431
    Xtreme Member benko's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    189
    hello guys, i have softmoded gpu and now i want to pencil mode gpu, i measured with DMM



    here is pic, every time i pencil it voltge ram doesnet change

    also i have maeasured MVDDC and MVDDQ different(1.66v and 1.55v) but are they need to be the same?

  7. #1432
    Xtreme Guru
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Posts
    4,068
    pencil or 5K vrs @ blue marked caps

    id recommend 3.3K fixed resistors @ each
    Attached Images Attached Images

  8. #1433
    Xtreme Member benko's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    189
    so i need to pencil mode yors blue marked and not that what i marked on pic for pencil mode??

  9. #1434
    Xtreme Guru
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Posts
    4,068
    yes

    http://www.techpowerup.com/articles/...voltmods/153/3

    if vr/resistor works so shall pencil

    just be careful.. pencil kills mem before anything else

  10. #1435
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Dracula's home
    Posts
    14
    Quote Originally Posted by dragubogdan View Post
    Thank you Ceemic.Only one more thing is necessary:measure point vgpu.
    If i get that i will start do work and came with results.
    CEEMIC, the circuit between FB and COMP is closed with no connection to GND
    Whatever the default resistance between FB and GND is 7.24Kohm mean i must use 145Kohm VR.
    Here the circuit.
    PIN 17.jpg
    E7400@4Ghz,Asus Triton70,2x2gbKingmax@1066,Asus P5Q,ASUS5670,Chieftec 450w,wd 2500AAKS,SEAGATE 360GB,2x120mm fan.

  11. #1436
    Xtreme Enthusiast ceemic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Estonia, Tartu
    Posts
    890
    dragubogdan, FB is definitely connected to GND through some resistors.
    100k VR works fine.
    Vmods - what can possibly go wrong? ©

  12. #1437
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    59
    Quote Originally Posted by NapalmV5 View Post
    awesome ^ syl thanks for the vcore mod

    mines already 1.36vcore @ default

    ill give it a shot in a minute.. but gotta find a way to increase gpu clock @ ccc

    how about a vmem mod?

    does up6206ak also regulate vmem?
    You're welcome! Have you try using TechPowerup's Radeon Bios Editor to raise the CCC's OverDrive limits? I've modified mine to allow GPU clocks up to 990MHz.

    Vmem is usually controlled by a separate and less complex voltage regulator IC...I'll see if I can dig up some info when time allows.
    Intel Core i7-930
    Asus P6X58D Premium
    3 x 2GB G.Skill Trident 2000
    XFX HD5870
    Samsung 320GB x 2 (RAID 0)
    XFX Black Edition 850W
    XSPC Rasa, Swiftech MCW-55 & MCP350 (18W), BI GTX360 w San Aces, BIP3 w Scythe Ultra Kazes, 7/16" Masterkleer, Swiftech Micro Res
    Cooler Master Stacker 832

  13. #1438
    Xtreme Guru
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Posts
    4,068
    thanks whenever you got time

    i tried "change to these values" as soon as i got the card but no worky

    what i mean by no worky.. after flash when driver loads @ os bootup the screen goes blank and artifacts badly shortly afterwards.. i didnt touch clocks/anything.. "change to these values" only change

    my reference 4870 1gb sapphire did the same until i flashed it to the powercolor bios

    btw i tried your vcore mod on my toxic 1gb and works great just need vmem mod

    i have new lower esr caps coming later in the week.. see how that goes

    as for the vmem mod i didnt see any convincing vmem chip lol so ill take a closer look
    Last edited by NapalmV5; 02-09-2009 at 09:18 PM.

  14. #1439
    Xtreme Member benko's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    189
    Quote Originally Posted by NapalmV5 View Post
    yes

    http://www.techpowerup.com/articles/...voltmods/153/3

    if vr/resistor works so shall pencil

    just be careful.. pencil kills mem before anything else
    i have tried pencil moding that but when i measured vddc and vddq they were still same??

    what pencil you suggest to use??

  15. #1440
    Xtreme Guru
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Posts
    4,068
    ^ #2


    Quote Originally Posted by gurusan View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by syl View Post
    You're welcome! Have you try using TechPowerup's Radeon Bios Editor to raise the CCC's OverDrive limits? I've modified mine to allow GPU clocks up to 990MHz.

    Vmem is usually controlled by a separate and less complex voltage regulator IC...I'll see if I can dig up some info when time allows.

    yeh those 2 ^ chips by the mem chips are both up6109 mvddc/mvddq


    edit: found it: up6109 pdf

    http://www.upi-semi.com/ProductFiles..._DataSheet.pdf
    Last edited by NapalmV5; 02-10-2009 at 03:50 AM.

  16. #1441
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    59
    Quote Originally Posted by NapalmV5 View Post
    ^ #2

    yeh those 2 ^ chips by the mem chips are both up6109 mvddc/mvddq


    edit: found it: up6109 pdf

    http://www.upi-semi.com/ProductFiles..._DataSheet.pdf
    Thanks Napalm Should be a simple matter of tracing out pin 6 for the mod.
    Intel Core i7-930
    Asus P6X58D Premium
    3 x 2GB G.Skill Trident 2000
    XFX HD5870
    Samsung 320GB x 2 (RAID 0)
    XFX Black Edition 850W
    XSPC Rasa, Swiftech MCW-55 & MCP350 (18W), BI GTX360 w San Aces, BIP3 w Scythe Ultra Kazes, 7/16" Masterkleer, Swiftech Micro Res
    Cooler Master Stacker 832

  17. #1442
    Xtreme Guru
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Posts
    4,068
    connected both mvddc/mvddq (pin 3 to pin 6) with 22k resistor and now ~1.88vmem up .3 from 1.58

    havent tried any other resistance so id say its safe to say a 100k vr to start with

    it be nice to have solder points on the back of the card though

  18. #1443
    Xtreme Enthusiast gurusan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Oxford, UK
    Posts
    746
    Thanks for all the info syl
    || 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.7 3, 4.6 4 1.284V ||
    || P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
    || 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
    || 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||

  19. #1444
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Dracula's home
    Posts
    14
    Quote Originally Posted by ceemic View Post
    dragubogdan, FB is definitely connected to GND through some resistors.
    100k VR works fine.
    ceeemic , is not working;i solder to the first resistor from FB a VR 100K to GND.
    card not even start and i set the VR to 100k before connect.
    E7400@4Ghz,Asus Triton70,2x2gbKingmax@1066,Asus P5Q,ASUS5670,Chieftec 450w,wd 2500AAKS,SEAGATE 360GB,2x120mm fan.

  20. #1445
    Xtreme Enthusiast ceemic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Estonia, Tartu
    Posts
    890
    dragubogdan, can You show a picture from Your mod?
    Vmods - what can possibly go wrong? ©

  21. #1446
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Dracula's home
    Posts
    14
    Quote Originally Posted by ceemic View Post
    dragubogdan, can You show a picture from Your mod?
    The first pic is from Duncanoc , i just put my card in case
    2ryq43m.jpg
    and this is vr but no wire , i just remouve it
    HPIM0262.JPG
    i hope is clear , if not tell me and do more pics
    E7400@4Ghz,Asus Triton70,2x2gbKingmax@1066,Asus P5Q,ASUS5670,Chieftec 450w,wd 2500AAKS,SEAGATE 360GB,2x120mm fan.

  22. #1447
    Xtreme Enthusiast ceemic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Estonia, Tartu
    Posts
    890
    Which pins from VR You used?
    Did You check that this point was directly connected to FB pin?
    Vmods - what can possibly go wrong? ©

  23. #1448
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Dracula's home
    Posts
    14
    first pin (our look) is unused ,midle pin is conected to GND and last pin i used to go to FB
    yes i checked with DMM and have 00.4 ohm on scale 200ohm between FB pin and that resistance
    I dont understand what go wrong
    a ,VR was turned to maximum(99k)
    E7400@4Ghz,Asus Triton70,2x2gbKingmax@1066,Asus P5Q,ASUS5670,Chieftec 450w,wd 2500AAKS,SEAGATE 360GB,2x120mm fan.

  24. #1449
    Xtreme Enthusiast ceemic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Estonia, Tartu
    Posts
    890
    I would have used that first pin and middle one, so resistance drops (=Vgpu increases) when turned clockwise.
    Pretty strange tho...
    Vmods - what can possibly go wrong? ©

  25. #1450
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Dracula's home
    Posts
    14
    Another Pic
    VR.JPG
    E7400@4Ghz,Asus Triton70,2x2gbKingmax@1066,Asus P5Q,ASUS5670,Chieftec 450w,wd 2500AAKS,SEAGATE 360GB,2x120mm fan.

Page 58 of 73 FirstFirst ... 8485556575859606168 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •