MMM
Page 152 of 179 FirstFirst ... 52102142149150151152153154155162 ... LastLast
Results 3,776 to 3,800 of 4457

Thread: ASUS Maximus II Formula - new P45 king?

  1. #3776
    Banned
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    1,941
    Quote Originally Posted by LennyRhys View Post
    I'm currently trying to get 478FSB stable, using the 7.5 multi for now (3585 mhz). Will be working on it for a while I think...
    looking forward to your results, keep us posted

  2. #3777
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    781
    Quote Originally Posted by WhiteFireDragon
    that's quite a nice drop in temps just for TIM replacement. what were your temps now? and do you think you can do a quick screen shot of showing all the PC probe values?
    The stock TIM was shocking - almost as bad as what I found under my 680i NB heatsink - so I shouldn't really be surprised by the drop in temps. My chipset temps generally go to about 50C under load; before replacing the TIM, that's what they were at idle. I'll be posting my OC results soon because I've settled on speed and just need to tweak the voltages, so I'll put the SB and NB temps in.

    Quote Originally Posted by Grnfinger
    looking forward to your results, keep us posted
    I've been following your BIOS settings for 4.2 pretty closely. I think 478FSB will require a lot more time and effort, but more importantly the CPU gets too hot... I was priming before at 4300MHz and cores were all about 75C within a few minutes...and then core 0 failed. I'm probably just going to stick with 4.2 and see how low I can get my vcore.

    Thanks for all the help.
    i7 920 D0 | TRUE Cu | ASUS RIIIE | 6GB Dominator GT | Gigabyte GTX480 Special Edition | Win7 Ultimate x64

  3. #3778
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    781
    Might need a little help... I've decided to go for 4.1GHz on the 8.5 multi - much higher memory bandwidth and a lower vcore.

    So far I've managed to get prime blend running for about 10-15 minutes then the system just freezes, it doesn't error or reboot etc.

    Here are my settings for 483x8.5 - vcore can easily come down but I need to get the FSB stable first...

    Extreme Tweaker
    Ai Overclock Tuner : Manual
    OC From CPU Level Up : AUTO
    CPU Ratio Control : Manual
    - Ratio CMOS Setting : 8.5
    FSB Frequency : 483
    CPU Clock Skew : Delay 200ps
    North Bridge Clock Skew : Delay 200ps
    FSB Strap to North Bridge : 333
    DRAM Frequency: DDR2-1160
    Dram Clock Skew CH1 A1 : Normal
    DRAM Clock Skew CH1 A2 : Normal
    Dram Clock Skew CH1 B1 : Normal
    Dram Clock Skew CH1 B2 : Normal


    DRAM Timing Control: Manual
    CAS# Latency : 5
    RAS# to CAS# Delay : 5
    RAS# Precharge : 5
    RAS# ActivateTime : 15
    RAS# to RAS# Delay : Auto
    Row Refresh Cycle Time : Auto
    Write Recovery Time : Auto
    Read to Precharge Time : Auto

    Read to Write Delay (S/D) : Auto
    Write to Read Delay (S) : Auto
    Write to Read Delay (D) : Auto
    Read to Read Delay (S) : Auto
    Read to Read Delay (D) : Auto
    Write to Write Delay (S) : Auto
    Write to Write Delay (D) : Auto

    Write to PRE Delay : Auto
    Read to PRE Delay : Auto
    PRE to PRE Delay : Auto
    ALL PRE to ACT Delay : Auto
    ALL PRE to REF Delay : Auto

    DRAM Static Read Control: Enabled
    Dram Read Training : Enabled
    MEM OC Charger : Disabled
    Ai Clock Twister : Moderate
    Transaction Booster : Manual

    Common Performance Level [8]

    Pull-In of CHA PH1 Disabled
    Pull-In of CHA PH2 Disabled
    Pull-In of CHA PH3 Disabled
    Pull-In of CHA PH4 Disabled
    Pull-In of CHA PH5 Disabled
    Pull-In of CHB PH1 Disabled
    Pull-In of CHB PH2 Disabled
    Pull-In of CHB PH3 Disabled
    Pull-In of CHB PH4 Disabled
    Pull-In of CHB PH5 Disabled

    PCIE Frequency : 102

    CPU Voltage : 1.3000
    CPU PLL Voltage : 1.57
    FSBT : 1.36
    DRAM Voltage : 1.83
    North Bridge Voltage : 1.45
    South Bridge Voltage 1.5 : 1.55300
    South Bridge Voltage 1.1 : 1.20600

    CPU GTL Reference 0 : Auto
    CPU GTL Reference 1 : Auto
    CPU GTL Reference 2 : Auto
    CPU GTL Reference 3 : Auto
    North Bridge GTL Reference : +60mv
    DDR2 Channel A REF Voltage : AUTO
    DDR2 Channel B REF Voltage : AUTO
    North Bridge DDR Reference : AUTO

    Load Line Calabration : Enabled
    CPU Sread Spectrum : Disabled
    PCIE Spread Spectrum : Disabled
    i7 920 D0 | TRUE Cu | ASUS RIIIE | 6GB Dominator GT | Gigabyte GTX480 Special Edition | Win7 Ultimate x64

  4. #3779
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Varna, Bulgaria
    Posts
    60
    Quote Originally Posted by LennyRhys View Post
    Might need a little help... I've decided to go for 4.1GHz on the 8.5 multi - much higher memory bandwidth and a lower vcore.

    So far I've managed to get prime blend running for about 10-15 minutes then the system just freezes, it doesn't error or reboot etc.

    Here are my settings for 483x8.5 - vcore can easily come down but I need to get the FSB stable first...

    When your system freezes, mean that you are lacking vcore. Bump vcore 3 steps further and I think you will be okay.

    But you have Q9650 with multi 9. Why the hell are you working with 8.5 multi ?!?! This motherboard goes with 9*475 without any problems with all skews and GTL's on auto. 9*475 = 4275 and with little tweaking you can do 479, which is over 4300 mhz. Whit this memory I'm pretty sure you can do 485 FSB without any problems.
    Last edited by Kayso; 07-11-2009 at 03:21 AM.
    24/7 System:
    | Q9650@4.32Ghz (9*475@1.4375v.) | ASUS Maximus II Formula | 2*2GB G.SKILL@1140Mhz | 2 * HE103UJ (RAID0) | BFG GTX280 OC (700/1540/2680) | CoolerMaster RealPower 1000W | LG 24" L245WP | Logitech MX5500 |

    Liquid cooling setup:
    CPU Loop: Apogee GTZ | TC PA120.3 | MCP355
    GPU/NB Loop: EK-FC280GTX | EK-NB 5 | TC PA120.2 | MCP355

    All in my CM ATCS840

  5. #3780
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    781
    I tried your bios settings for 475 and the fsb is not stable on my board with these settings. As for vcore being the problem, my system is (at least) 1hr Prime stable at 4.2GHz with only 1.318v in bios so I didn't think I'd need anything like 1.3 vcore for 4.1GHz, but I'll bump it up and see what happens...

    I'm working with the 8.5 multi because I want high memory bandwidth, I need too much vcore for 4.3GHz and it's far too hot.

    I'm also going to try tuning the clock skews and GTLs to see if I can prime for any longer - with CPU and NB skews at Delay 200ps I can prime for 15mins, but set to Auto the PC freezes within 1 minute
    i7 920 D0 | TRUE Cu | ASUS RIIIE | 6GB Dominator GT | Gigabyte GTX480 Special Edition | Win7 Ultimate x64

  6. #3781
    Xtreme Mentor
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    2,996
    Lenny also search the thread if you haven't already done so for andressergio's settings, he was achieving some good results with his Q9650 before he changed boards.
    Ci7 990X::Rampage III Extreme::12GB Corsair Dominator 1866C7GT::2 x EVGA SC Titans in SLI::Corsair AX1200::TJ07::Watercooled
    Ci7 920 3849B018::Rampage II Extreme::6GB GSKILL Trident 2000C9 BBSE::EVGA GTX580::Antec Signature SG850::TJ09::Aircooled w/TRUE 120X

  7. #3782
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    781
    Yeah I've been trying andressergio's settings and they have been very helpful... in particular I'd say finding the right NB GTL has really marked the cusp of stability for my system...

    +80mv - all cores fail in a few seconds
    +70mv - unstable
    +60mv - unstable
    +50mv - perfect

    However I think I've been over-complicating things - Kayso was right, it was my vcore holding me back

    All these hours spent tweaking PLL, VTT etc and all I really needed to do was bump vcore up a couple of notches.

    Surprisingly 4105mhz 483x8.5 needs exactly the same vcore as 4200mhz 467x9 - 1.32v - which is frustrating...

    Note the chipset temps... before replacing the TIM they were at roughly 50C idle

    This may be only 1 hour, but it's a lot better than what I was getting before



    And I'm tempted to go a little higher, maybe if 1.35 vcore is enough for 4.15GHz - memory bandwidth is sweet at 1175, 5:6.




    EDIT: OK I'm going to settle for 4.1 with 483x8.5 because for the small increase to 4.15GHz I need 1.375vcore which is far too high for my taste. 4.2GHz might be a faster clock but I prefer high fsb/low multi. Thanks for the help everybody.
    Last edited by LennyRhys; 07-11-2009 at 06:57 AM.
    i7 920 D0 | TRUE Cu | ASUS RIIIE | 6GB Dominator GT | Gigabyte GTX480 Special Edition | Win7 Ultimate x64

  8. #3783
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    531
    Are your CPU GTLs tuned? I think you'll find at higher fsb that this reduces the vcore needed for stability. Try 0,-45,0,-45 to start with and increase / decrease all values by 10, making note of the time it takes to freeze or give errors.

    I haven't had this board long, but after more research and testing, I'm finally able to go higher than I did on my P5B thanks to tuning the CPU GTLs with only small increments in vcore. I'm currently testing 466x8 on my chip but with a 65nm Q6600 which needs +40,-5,+40,-5 (the values are inverted for 65nm). Results will be posted soon, promise

    Gigabyte EX58A-UD3R F6 : i7 920 D0 4.4GHz 1.4v : 4Gb G.Skill ECO 6-8-6-24 1.54v
    Apogee XT & MCW30 : XSPC Dual 750 w/DDC+18W : RX120 & RX240 : Tygon tubing : Corsair HX 850
    2x750Gb 7200.12 RAID0 : 2x500Gb 7200.12 RAID1 : Samsung DVD-RW : LG BD-R
    Antec P182 with 5 x Noctua NF-P12 & 1 x Akasa Apache
    M-Audio Delta 1010 (Rack) : Behringer Truth B2031A
    XFX 5770 + 8600GTS (physx) : 2x Samsung Syncmaster 710n

    Lappy: Asus C90s & E7500 @3.17GHz w/ 4Gb RAM & top scoring 8600m GT DDR2



  9. #3784
    Banned
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    1,941
    the secret to this board is GTL's setting auto values is not really a good idea, one persons values will not always work for another its better to find your own.
    I have found that anything above 470FSB requires a large increase in volts to keep it stable, the board really shines at 500+fsb


  10. #3785
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    781
    I will try to tune the GTLs soon because I really want to take the vcore down. All I have so far is 1hr of prime blend which isn't really much, but it's a better start than I had a few days ago lol.
    i7 920 D0 | TRUE Cu | ASUS RIIIE | 6GB Dominator GT | Gigabyte GTX480 Special Edition | Win7 Ultimate x64

  11. #3786
    Xtreme Mentor
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    2,996
    My new 8600 seems to be pretty decent, I'm in two minds as to whether or not to give this thing run on the M2F.

    Max boot and SS on air @ 1.552 vcore (idle)

    5062 MHz




    Max SPI 1M on air @ 1.552 vcore (idle)

    5035 MHz


    Ci7 990X::Rampage III Extreme::12GB Corsair Dominator 1866C7GT::2 x EVGA SC Titans in SLI::Corsair AX1200::TJ07::Watercooled
    Ci7 920 3849B018::Rampage II Extreme::6GB GSKILL Trident 2000C9 BBSE::EVGA GTX580::Antec Signature SG850::TJ09::Aircooled w/TRUE 120X

  12. #3787
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Russia
    Posts
    1,904
    Hmmm, too much volts for 5Ghz E8600. My E8400 runs at 500x9 @ 1,34 volts. (LinPack stable)

    Intel Q9650 @500x9MHz/1,3V
    Asus Maximus II Formula @Performance Level=7
    OCZ OCZ2B1200LV4GK 4x2GB @1200MHz/5-5-5-15/1,8V
    OCZ SSD Vertex 3 120Gb
    Seagate RAID0 2x ST1000DM003
    XFX HD7970 3GB @1111MHz
    Thermaltake Xaser VI BWS
    Seasonic Platinum SS-1000XP
    M-Audio Audiophile 192
    LG W2486L
    Liquid Cooling System :
    ThermoChill PA120.3 + Coolgate 4x120
    Swiftech Apogee XT, Swiftech MCW-NBMAX Northbridge
    Watercool HeatKiller GPU-X3 79X0 Ni-Bl + HeatKiller GPU Backplate 79X0
    Laing 12V DDC-1Plus with XSPC Laing DDC Reservoir Top
    3x Scythe S-FLEX "F", 4x Scythe Gentle Typhoon "15", Scythe Kaze Master Ace 5,25''

    Apple MacBook Pro 17` Early 2011:
    CPU: Sandy Bridge Intel Core i7 2720QM
    RAM: Crucial 2x4GB DDR3 1333
    SSD: Samsung 840 Pro 256 GB SSD
    HDD: ADATA Nobility NH13 1GB White
    OS: Mac OS X Mavericks

  13. #3788
    Xtreme Mentor
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    2,996
    It's 1.552v idle, 1.520v load. Not the best E8600 but it seems to be scaling decently. What a cpu will do at 4 - 4.5 GHz does not really indicate what it will do at higher speeds like 5GHz +. For example some cpu's that run stable at 4 GHz @ 1.15v can't even run SPI1M at 5035 MHz @ 1.55v This chip is also very hot, the VID is 1.1125v.

    Give yours a go, would be good to have another comparison as to what it needs to boot and run SPI 1M @ 5GHz +
    Last edited by CryptiK; 07-12-2009 at 01:22 AM.
    Ci7 990X::Rampage III Extreme::12GB Corsair Dominator 1866C7GT::2 x EVGA SC Titans in SLI::Corsair AX1200::TJ07::Watercooled
    Ci7 920 3849B018::Rampage II Extreme::6GB GSKILL Trident 2000C9 BBSE::EVGA GTX580::Antec Signature SG850::TJ09::Aircooled w/TRUE 120X

  14. #3789
    Xtreme Cruncher
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    @ the computer
    Posts
    2,510
    cryptik, that's actually a really nice e8600. VID 1.11 is godly low. 5g on air is very respectable. what kind of tuning did you do for these clocks? BIOS template?

    EDIT: i just realized this was not on the m2f, but DFI board. can you try on the m2f and post back on this thread? i'm curious if this crap board can hit those same exact clocks
    Last edited by WhiteFireDragon; 07-12-2009 at 01:00 AM.
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

  15. #3790
    Xtreme Mentor
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    2,996
    Thanks yeah I hope it keeps scaling with more voltage and cold (when I get my gear). Took those SS's on my DFI X48 board, but VCore was 1.5750v (BIOS set) giving 1.552v (Real idle) and 1.520v (real load), Vtt = 1.30v, both CPU GTL Refs set to 0.667x, PLL = 1.51v.
    Last edited by CryptiK; 07-12-2009 at 01:22 AM.
    Ci7 990X::Rampage III Extreme::12GB Corsair Dominator 1866C7GT::2 x EVGA SC Titans in SLI::Corsair AX1200::TJ07::Watercooled
    Ci7 920 3849B018::Rampage II Extreme::6GB GSKILL Trident 2000C9 BBSE::EVGA GTX580::Antec Signature SG850::TJ09::Aircooled w/TRUE 120X

  16. #3791
    Xtreme Cruncher
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    @ the computer
    Posts
    2,510
    what voltage can you get with it at 4500 prime stable? well good luck with your chip
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

  17. #3792
    Xtreme Mentor
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    2,996
    No idea, I got this cpu to just bench with so I haven't stability tested it.
    Ci7 990X::Rampage III Extreme::12GB Corsair Dominator 1866C7GT::2 x EVGA SC Titans in SLI::Corsair AX1200::TJ07::Watercooled
    Ci7 920 3849B018::Rampage II Extreme::6GB GSKILL Trident 2000C9 BBSE::EVGA GTX580::Antec Signature SG850::TJ09::Aircooled w/TRUE 120X

  18. #3793
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    531
    Go on give it a try in the M2F

    Would be nice to see what kind of FSB you can reach too. I plan to do the same with an E8400 once I have the quad tuned. Managed an almost stable 550fsb with it on my P5B-dlx, and that was before I got the rig watercooled

    Gigabyte EX58A-UD3R F6 : i7 920 D0 4.4GHz 1.4v : 4Gb G.Skill ECO 6-8-6-24 1.54v
    Apogee XT & MCW30 : XSPC Dual 750 w/DDC+18W : RX120 & RX240 : Tygon tubing : Corsair HX 850
    2x750Gb 7200.12 RAID0 : 2x500Gb 7200.12 RAID1 : Samsung DVD-RW : LG BD-R
    Antec P182 with 5 x Noctua NF-P12 & 1 x Akasa Apache
    M-Audio Delta 1010 (Rack) : Behringer Truth B2031A
    XFX 5770 + 8600GTS (physx) : 2x Samsung Syncmaster 710n

    Lappy: Asus C90s & E7500 @3.17GHz w/ 4Gb RAM & top scoring 8600m GT DDR2



  19. #3794
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    370
    Quote Originally Posted by CryptiK View Post
    It's 1.552v idle, 1.520v load. Not the best E8600 but it seems to be scaling decently. What a cpu will do at 4 - 4.5 GHz does not really indicate what it will do at higher speeds like 5GHz +. For example some cpu's that run stable at 4 GHz @ 1.15v can't even run SPI1M at 5035 MHz @ 1.55v This chip is also very hot, the VID is 1.1125v.

    Give yours a go, would be good to have another comparison as to what it needs to boot and run SPI 1M @ 5GHz +
    That is a low VID. Are you sure it's not the min-VID? Use RealTemp-->Settings to display the max-VID and min-VID.
    Last edited by jason4207; 07-13-2009 at 12:50 PM.
    ES Q9550 E0 @ 4.0GHz (471x8.5) 1.256v
    TR-Ultra-120-X, 115CFM 120mm fan
    Maximus II Formula @ 1884MHz FSB
    Ballistix DDR2-800 (4x1GB) 1132MHz 5-5-5-5-15 4-55-8-14-11-3-8-5-4-2T
    eVGA GTX 280 @ 702c/1404s/1260m (1.175v)

    Auzentech XPlosion DTS-Interactive Vantage 'X'-6,727
    300GB Velociraptor, PC P&C 750W
    (3)120mm, (2)90mm, (1)250mm case fans in TT Armor

    27.5" LCD/Z-5500-office, 95" 720P projector/7.1ch-living room
    Logitech Driving Force Pro-Microsim Racing Pod

  20. #3795
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Belgrade, Serbia.
    Posts
    104
    Quote Originally Posted by Stormad View Post
    Hi guys, i've finally been accepted in your forum so now I can thank you all for your generous contributions in my overclocking adventure with the MaxFormII, especially the simps guide to finetune all the settings and it also took me a better processor for getting higher clocks because my first processor was a E8400 C0 and the max stable was 3880Mhz even at 1.47V. And with my new E8500 E0 I'm running 4302Mhz 24/7 at 1.38V it will even go 4555Mhz at around 1.42V. But I'm very happy with the 4302Mhz. I'll try to post a screen of everest too.
    Could you tell us what was the room temperature because it is pretty unreal that your idle temps are 25 !? Also what cooler is on that E8500 ? True ? ifx-14 ?

    i7 920 D0 @ 4ghz HT on + TRUE black + Noctua p12
    Gigabyte UD3R rev 1.6
    2x2 GB Mushkin Red Line 1600mhz CL6
    Gigabyte 6870 1080/1250 - testing in progress
    Antec 182
    Enermax revolution 850
    WD 1Tb
    www.pcaxe.com

  21. #3796
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Berlin, Germany
    Posts
    37
    Hi Guys,

    I appreciate this thread and not to mentioned simps' awesome guide (thx for that, dude - did 20 Mhz FSB more from 470 to 490 stable with your work).
    I've a Q6600er G0 and want to buy a Q9650in a short time, but first I wanted to test the M2F. Normally I run this couple with 4x2Gbs 8500er Dominators from Corsair by 3,2 Ghz / 4*800 and 1.27V VC, 1.5V PLL, 1.1V NB, 1.1V VTT, 1.5V/1.1V SB with CPU/NB GTLs all +30mV rock stable - rest auto.

    Bios 1307


    This is the Setup for 490:

    Extreme Tweaker
    Ai Overclock Tuner : Manual
    OC From CPU Level Up : AUTO
    CPU Ratio Control : Manual
    - Ratio CMOS Setting : 6
    FSB Frequency : 490
    CPU Clock Skew : Delay 100ps
    North Bridge Clock Skew : Delay 300ps
    FSB Strap to North Bridge : 333
    DRAM Frequency: DDR2-980
    Dram Clock Skew CH1 A1 : Delay 50ps
    Dram Clock Skew CH1 A2 : Delay 50ps
    Dram Clock Skew CH1 B1 : Delay 50ps
    Dram Clock Skew CH1 B2 : Delay 50ps


    DRAM Timing Control: Manual
    CAS# Latency : 5
    RAS# to CAS# Delay : 5
    RAS# Precharge : 5
    RAS# ActivateTime : 15
    RAS# to RAS# Delay : Auto
    Row Refresh Cycle Time : Auto
    Write Recovery Time : Auto
    Read to Precharge Time : Auto

    Read to Write Delay (S/D) : Auto
    Write to Read Delay (S) : Auto
    Write to Read Delay (D) : Auto
    Read to Read Delay (S) : Auto
    Read to Read Delay (D) : Auto
    Write to Write Delay (S) : Auto
    Write to Write Delay (D) : Auto

    Write to PRE Delay : Auto
    Read to PRE Delay : Auto
    PRE to PRE Delay : Auto
    ALL PRE to ACT Delay : Auto
    ALL PRE to REF Delay : Auto

    [like bios shows]

    DRAM Static Read Control: Disabled
    Dram Read Training : Disabled
    MEM OC Charger : Enabled
    Ai Clock Twister : Moderate
    Transaction Booster : Manual

    Common Performance Level [8]

    Pull-In of CHA PH1 Disabled
    Pull-In of CHA PH2 Disabled
    Pull-In of CHA PH3 Disabled
    Pull-In of CHA PH4 Disabled
    Pull-In of CHA PH5 Disabled
    Pull-In of CHB PH1 Disabled
    Pull-In of CHB PH2 Disabled
    Pull-In of CHB PH3 Disabled
    Pull-In of CHB PH4 Disabled
    Pull-In of CHB PH5 Disabled

    PCIE Frequency : 100

    CPU Voltage : 1.24
    CPU PLL Voltage : 1.57
    FSBT : 1.37
    DRAM Voltage : 1.8
    North Bridge Voltage : 1.4
    South Bridge Voltage 1.5 : 1.5
    South Bridge Voltage 1.1 : 1.1

    CPU GTL Reference 0 : -25mV
    CPU GTL Reference 1 : 20mV
    CPU GTL Reference 2 : -25mV
    CPU GTL Reference 3 : 20mV
    North Bridge GTL Reference : +30mV
    DDR2 Channel A REF Voltage : 12.5mV
    DDR2 Channel B REF Voltage : 12.5mV
    North Bridge DDR Reference : 25mV

    Load Line Calabration : Enabled
    CPU Sread Spectrum : Disabled
    PCIE Spread Spectrum : Disabled


    It's small, large, custom FFT and blend stable.

    Now my case:

    I hit with ease 500 FSB, but it crashes alway by about 10-15 minutes large fft or blend. If I bump 2 or 3 steps the voltages, same results. GTLs in Simps' green sectors didn't work, in fact -25/20 is my most stable setup.

    Temps are all normal and good ... NB goes not over 55 C in the stress tests.

    Any hints ?

    Thx

    Keep up the good work !

  22. #3797
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    531
    Looks like you got yourself a nice o/c potential there, better than me anyway...

    According to simp, NB & PLL voltages needed to be a lot higher than at 490fsb. try 1.63 pll, and at least 1..45v NB. Can't really say I'm talking from experience though, I only get 2 cores showing at 490fsb+

    Gigabyte EX58A-UD3R F6 : i7 920 D0 4.4GHz 1.4v : 4Gb G.Skill ECO 6-8-6-24 1.54v
    Apogee XT & MCW30 : XSPC Dual 750 w/DDC+18W : RX120 & RX240 : Tygon tubing : Corsair HX 850
    2x750Gb 7200.12 RAID0 : 2x500Gb 7200.12 RAID1 : Samsung DVD-RW : LG BD-R
    Antec P182 with 5 x Noctua NF-P12 & 1 x Akasa Apache
    M-Audio Delta 1010 (Rack) : Behringer Truth B2031A
    XFX 5770 + 8600GTS (physx) : 2x Samsung Syncmaster 710n

    Lappy: Asus C90s & E7500 @3.17GHz w/ 4Gb RAM & top scoring 8600m GT DDR2



  23. #3798
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    781
    Bump the south bridge to 1.2; I noticed a HUGE increase in stability when making that jump. Your NB might need 1.45 for 500fsb, and the NB GTL may need to be retuned - at +50mv my overclock is fine, but one notch too high or too low and it doesn't hold... at +80mv all four cores fail within a few seconds.

    Another thing: try different PCI-E frequencies, I'm on 102 at the moment, but try 101, 103 etc.
    i7 920 D0 | TRUE Cu | ASUS RIIIE | 6GB Dominator GT | Gigabyte GTX480 Special Edition | Win7 Ultimate x64

  24. #3799
    Banned
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    1,941
    Quote Originally Posted by Haes View Post
    Hi Guys,

    I appreciate this thread and not to mentioned simps' awesome guide (thx for that, dude - did 20 Mhz FSB more from 470 to 490 stable with your work).
    I've a Q6600er G0 and want to buy a Q9650in a short time, but first I wanted to test the M2F. Normally I run this couple with 4x2Gbs 8500er Dominators from Corsair by 3,2 Ghz / 4*800 and 1.27V VC, 1.5V PLL, 1.1V NB, 1.1V VTT, 1.5V/1.1V SB with CPU/NB GTLs all +30mV rock stable - rest auto.

    Bios 1307


    This is the Setup for 490:

    Extreme Tweaker
    Ai Overclock Tuner : Manual
    OC From CPU Level Up : AUTO
    CPU Ratio Control : Manual
    - Ratio CMOS Setting : 6
    FSB Frequency : 490
    CPU Clock Skew : Delay 100ps
    North Bridge Clock Skew : Delay 300ps
    FSB Strap to North Bridge : 333
    DRAM Frequency: DDR2-980
    Dram Clock Skew CH1 A1 : Delay 50ps
    Dram Clock Skew CH1 A2 : Delay 50ps
    Dram Clock Skew CH1 B1 : Delay 50ps
    Dram Clock Skew CH1 B2 : Delay 50ps



    DRAM Timing Control: Manual
    CAS# Latency : 5
    RAS# to CAS# Delay : 5
    RAS# Precharge : 5
    RAS# ActivateTime : 15
    RAS# to RAS# Delay : Auto
    Row Refresh Cycle Time : Auto
    Write Recovery Time : Auto
    Read to Precharge Time : Auto

    Read to Write Delay (S/D) : Auto
    Write to Read Delay (S) : Auto
    Write to Read Delay (D) : Auto
    Read to Read Delay (S) : Auto
    Read to Read Delay (D) : Auto
    Write to Write Delay (S) : Auto
    Write to Write Delay (D) : Auto

    Write to PRE Delay : Auto
    Read to PRE Delay : Auto
    PRE to PRE Delay : Auto
    ALL PRE to ACT Delay : Auto
    ALL PRE to REF Delay : Auto

    [like bios shows]

    DRAM Static Read Control: Disabled
    Dram Read Training : Disabled
    MEM OC Charger : Enabled
    Ai Clock Twister : Moderate
    Transaction Booster : Manual

    Common Performance Level [8]

    Pull-In of CHA PH1 Disabled
    Pull-In of CHA PH2 Disabled
    Pull-In of CHA PH3 Disabled
    Pull-In of CHA PH4 Disabled
    Pull-In of CHA PH5 Disabled
    Pull-In of CHB PH1 Disabled
    Pull-In of CHB PH2 Disabled
    Pull-In of CHB PH3 Disabled
    Pull-In of CHB PH4 Disabled
    Pull-In of CHB PH5 Disabled

    PCIE Frequency : 100

    CPU Voltage : 1.24
    CPU PLL Voltage : 1.57
    FSBT : 1.37
    DRAM Voltage : 1.8
    North Bridge Voltage : 1.4
    South Bridge Voltage 1.5 : 1.5
    South Bridge Voltage 1.1 : 1.1

    CPU GTL Reference 0 : -25mV
    CPU GTL Reference 1 : 20mV
    CPU GTL Reference 2 : -25mV
    CPU GTL Reference 3 : 20mV
    North Bridge GTL Reference : +30mV
    DDR2 Channel A REF Voltage : 12.5mV
    DDR2 Channel B REF Voltage : 12.5mV
    North Bridge DDR Reference : 25mV

    Load Line Calabration : Enabled
    CPU Sread Spectrum : Disabled
    PCIE Spread Spectrum : Disabled


    It's small, large, custom FFT and blend stable.

    Now my case:

    I hit with ease 500 FSB, but it crashes alway by about 10-15 minutes large fft or blend. If I bump 2 or 3 steps the voltages, same results. GTLs in Simps' green sectors didn't work, in fact -25/20 is my most stable setup.

    Temps are all normal and good ... NB goes not over 55 C in the stress tests.

    Any hints ?

    Thx

    Keep up the good work !
    Why do you need dram skews when your underclocking that kit?
    Even running 8GBs you shouldn't need skews

  25. #3800
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    531
    I think if you follow simp's guide word for word, (i.e. set 266/333 NB strap, with 333 apparently being the most stable for high fsb) that's what haes ended up with. I took a close look at his settings though and thought I need to drop quite a few voltages as they were a lot higher than they really need to be.

    Just out of interest Haes, could you find out what revision the chipset is? Mine's an A3 and although I would expect things to be very similar, my board has misbehaved from day 1 and I'm trying to ascertain if the chipset revision might be responsible...

    Gigabyte EX58A-UD3R F6 : i7 920 D0 4.4GHz 1.4v : 4Gb G.Skill ECO 6-8-6-24 1.54v
    Apogee XT & MCW30 : XSPC Dual 750 w/DDC+18W : RX120 & RX240 : Tygon tubing : Corsair HX 850
    2x750Gb 7200.12 RAID0 : 2x500Gb 7200.12 RAID1 : Samsung DVD-RW : LG BD-R
    Antec P182 with 5 x Noctua NF-P12 & 1 x Akasa Apache
    M-Audio Delta 1010 (Rack) : Behringer Truth B2031A
    XFX 5770 + 8600GTS (physx) : 2x Samsung Syncmaster 710n

    Lappy: Asus C90s & E7500 @3.17GHz w/ 4Gb RAM & top scoring 8600m GT DDR2



Page 152 of 179 FirstFirst ... 52102142149150151152153154155162 ... LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •