Page 131 of 179 FirstFirst ... 3181121128129130131132133134141 ... LastLast
Results 3,251 to 3,275 of 4457

Thread: ASUS Maximus II Formula - new P45 king?

  1. #3251
    Banned
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    1,941
    Quote Originally Posted by JoeBar View Post
    Could u pls give us any more info?
    I tried for starts running CPU and NB Clock Skew on normal, and needed to set vCore at 1.38 for 4.2GHz, so new chip and all I started tweaking ( 500 FSB still evades me ) I set CPU and NB skews to 100ps and lowerd vcore, it passed. set it to 200ps and lowerd, it passed again. 300ps and lowerd it failed, up'd vCore to 1.325 @ 300ps on both skews it passes linpak and prime.

    Now on to NB volts, started with NB GTL set to auto, set ram at 1121MHz with vNB set to 1.39

    DRAM Static Read Control: Enabled
    Dram Read Training : Enabled
    MEM OC Charger : Disabled
    Ai Clock Twister : Stronger
    Transaction Booster : Manual

    Common Performance Level [8]

    CPU would pass but once I brought the memory in to play it would fail.
    So I upped NB volts to 1.45775 and it would pass anything I tossed at it.
    Set NB GTL's to +30 and I could lower vNB to 1.41, anything lower and it fails.
    If I run 1:1 PL10 I can drop vNB to 1.30 and pass all day long. I like the improved bandwidth 1121 offers and I'm on water so the extra volts are not an issue.

    Will test further this weekend, this time of year my job has me pretty busy so has not been alot of "free" time for me.
    Last edited by Grnfinger; 03-06-2009 at 01:46 PM.

  2. #3252
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    CA and FL
    Posts
    161
    Thanks for the advice, will try that this weekend.




    PC1:
    core I7 920 [3841A627] @4.3 Ghz, EVGA Classified, Corsair Dominator GT 2000,
    ATi 5970, 2xIntel X25M, SB X-Fi Titanium, Corsair HX1000

    PC2:
    P4C 2.4@3.8Ghz - 1.6 vcore, IC7-G Max3, OCZ 4000 Gold
    ATI Aiw 9800 Pro, 2xRaptor I, SB Audigy 2 Plat Pro
    Coolermaster 210a w/ Enermax 600W, h2o cooling

  3. #3253
    Banned
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    1,941
    Latency is crapola but teh bandwidth is rather decent.


  4. #3254
    Xtreme Guru
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Athens, Greece
    Posts
    3,653
    Thanks for sharing your findings Grnfinger!

    BTW, why do u have mem oc charger set to enabled? Try with it disabled and check your mem scores.
    Project ZEUS II

    Asus Rampage II Extreme
    Intel I7 920 D0 3930A @ 4.50GHz (21 X 214mhz)
    3 x 2GB G.Skill Trident 1600 @ 1716MHz (6-8-6-20-1N)
    2 x Asus HD 6870 CrossFire @ 1000/1100MHz
    OCZ Vertex 2 60GB | Intel X25-M 120GB | WD Velociraptor 150GB | Seagate FreeAgent XTreme 1.5TB esata
    Asus Xonar DX | Logitech Z-5500 | LG W2600HP 26" S-IPS LCD

    Watercooling setup:
    1st loop -> Radiator: 2 x ThermoChill PA120.3 | Pump: Laing DDC-3.25 with Alphacool HF 38 top | CPU: Swiftech Apogee XT | Chipset: Swiftech MCW-NBMAX | Tubing: Masterkleer 1/2" UV
    2nd loop -> Radiator: ThermoChill PA120.3 | Pump: Laing DDC-3.2 with Alphacool HF 38 top | GPU: 2 x EK FC-6870 | Tubing: Masterkleer 1/2" UV


    Assembled in Mountain Mods Ascension Trinity
    Powered by Corsair Professional Series Gold AX1200

  5. #3255
    Banned
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    1,941
    Quote Originally Posted by JoeBar View Post
    Thanks for sharing your findings Grnfinger!

    BTW, why do u have mem oc charger set to enabled? Try with it disabled and check your mem scores.
    It is actually disabled its a typo from another template I posted.
    I will edit the post.

  6. #3256
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    CA and FL
    Posts
    161
    Quote Originally Posted by JoeBar View Post
    Thanks for sharing your findings Grnfinger!

    BTW, why do u have mem oc charger set to enabled? Try with it disabled and check your mem scores.

    Why wouldn't you have mem oc charger enabled?




    PC1:
    core I7 920 [3841A627] @4.3 Ghz, EVGA Classified, Corsair Dominator GT 2000,
    ATi 5970, 2xIntel X25M, SB X-Fi Titanium, Corsair HX1000

    PC2:
    P4C 2.4@3.8Ghz - 1.6 vcore, IC7-G Max3, OCZ 4000 Gold
    ATI Aiw 9800 Pro, 2xRaptor I, SB Audigy 2 Plat Pro
    Coolermaster 210a w/ Enermax 600W, h2o cooling

  7. #3257
    Banned
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    1,941
    Quote Originally Posted by pphx459 View Post
    Why wouldn't you have mem oc charger enabled?
    Because it limits bandwidth

  8. #3258
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Italy (Rome)
    Posts
    28
    sorry, so the last and better mod bios is the 1901.201 ?

  9. #3259
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    86
    Well, managed to get into windows a 480fsb & @ 46min into prime blend...

  10. #3260
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    13
    I want to ask is there someone with 8x560 or 8x570 stable, I need to see some settings.
    Q9650 CPU @ 4.410GHz (9*490) | ASUS Maximus II Formula | 2*2GB OCZ Blade LV 1200, 5-5-5-15@1230Mhz | 750GB Hitachi | ASUS 9800GTX+ (850/1300/2000) | Water cooled Coolermaster Cosmos S & Hiper 670W | NEC MultiSync® 20WGX2Pro

  11. #3261
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    32
    I have a huge problem with this board... When I use 1,7vcore it fine but anything above that will make the system failing. It dies when I get the "overvoltage protection bla bla bla" I can get into bios and there when I monitor the voltage it's 1,9xv (when setting 1,74v). I'm using kets modded bios. Would a new bios help me?

  12. #3262
    Banned
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    1,941
    Quote Originally Posted by Evil_AnAnAs View Post
    I have a huge problem with this board... When I use 1,7vcore it fine but anything above that will make the system failing. It dies when I get the "overvoltage protection bla bla bla" I can get into bios and there when I monitor the voltage it's 1,9xv (when setting 1,74v). I'm using kets modded bios. Would a new bios help me?
    A new bios is definately worth a try, I have 1802 on bios1 and 1901 on bios2
    Works great, benching setup for 1 and 24/7 setup for the other.

  13. #3263
    Xtreme Mentor
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    2,996
    Quote Originally Posted by Evil_AnAnAs View Post
    I have a huge problem with this board... When I use 1,7vcore it fine but anything above that will make the system failing. It dies when I get the "overvoltage protection bla bla bla" I can get into bios and there when I monitor the voltage it's 1,9xv (when setting 1,74v). I'm using kets modded bios. Would a new bios help me?
    Try the latest BIOS, and try disabling Loadline Calibration if you have it enabled.
    Ci7 990X::Rampage III Extreme::12GB Corsair Dominator 1866C7GT::2 x EVGA SC Titans in SLI::Corsair AX1200::TJ07::Watercooled
    Ci7 920 3849B018::Rampage II Extreme::6GB GSKILL Trident 2000C9 BBSE::EVGA GTX580::Antec Signature SG850::TJ09::Aircooled w/TRUE 120X

  14. #3264
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Rome
    Posts
    66
    Hi guys, could you tell me some tips&triks to get my 9550 work @ 500 fsb ?

    mi result up to now
    (RS)


    Maximus III Formula - i7 860 4Ghz - 4 GB Gskill Ripjaws 2Ghz - Powercolor 5850 1000/1250 VF3000A - XFI Titanium Fatality - WD3200AAKS RAID 0 - Maxtor 500 Gb - Wd 5000AAKS - Enermax 625W modu82+ - Case CM690 - CM TX3

  15. #3265
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Greece-Thessaloniki
    Posts
    110
    Hello Guyz..

    Ia am trying this settings..but i cant play PL8 + Strong or Stronger.

    This Settings are prime stable for me.

    8400+Gskill 8800PI+BIOS 1901.

    Ratio CMOS Setting: 9
    FSB Frequency: 470
    CPU Clock Skew: Auto
    NB Clock Skew: Auto
    FSB Strap to North Bridge: 333
    DRAM Frequency: DDR2-1130MHz

    DRAM CLK Skew on Channel A1: Auto
    DRAM CLK Skew on Channel A2: Auto
    DRAM CLK Skew on Channel B1: Auto
    DRAM CLK Skew on Channel B2: Auto

    DRAM Timing Control: Auto
    DRAM Static Read Control: Disabled
    DRAM Read Training: Disabled
    MEM. OC Charger: Enabled
    Ai Clock Twister: Moderate
    Ai Transaction Booster: Manual

    Common Performance Level: 8
    Pull-in of CHA PH1: Disabled
    Pull-in of CHA PH2: Disabled
    Pull-in of CHA PH3: Disabled
    Pull-in of CHB PH1: Disabled
    Pull-in of CHB PH2: Disabled
    Pull-in of CHB PH3: Disabled

    PCIE Frequency: 101

    CPU Voltage: 1.24
    CPU PLL Voltage: 1.55
    FSB Termination Voltage: 1.19
    DRAM Voltage: 2.07
    North Bridge Voltage: 1.32X
    South Bridge 1.5 Voltage: 1.55
    South Bridge 1.1 Voltage: 1.15

    CPU GTL Reference (0): Auto
    CPU GTL Reference (1): Auto
    CPU GTL Reference (2): Auto
    CPU GTL Reference (3): Auto
    NB GTL Reference: Auto
    DDR2 ChA Reference Voltage: Auto
    DDR2 ChB Reference Voltage: Auto
    North Bridge DDR Reference: Auto

    CPU Configuration

    Ratio CMOS Setting: 9
    C1E Support: Disabled
    Max CPUID Value Limit: Disabled
    Intel Virtualization Tech: Enabled
    CPU TM Function: Disabled
    Execute Disable Bit: Disabled

    Load-Line Calibration: Enabled
    CPU Spread Spectrum: Disabled
    PCIE Spread Spectrum: Disabled

    Any idea to make it stable @Strong or Stronger?

    Also,when you flash to 1901 BIOS,RAID ICHx status disappears ?

  16. #3266
    Xtreme Mentor
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    2,996
    You will need more vNB to get 470 FSB PL8 stable with strong/stronger.

    I run 470 x 9 PL8 moderate 24/7 and it takes ~1.34vNB for total stability - HCI memtest really loads up the NB and at 1.30 - 1.32v I get errors before 1000% coverage.
    Ci7 990X::Rampage III Extreme::12GB Corsair Dominator 1866C7GT::2 x EVGA SC Titans in SLI::Corsair AX1200::TJ07::Watercooled
    Ci7 920 3849B018::Rampage II Extreme::6GB GSKILL Trident 2000C9 BBSE::EVGA GTX580::Antec Signature SG850::TJ09::Aircooled w/TRUE 120X

  17. #3267
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    370
    Quote Originally Posted by edo View Post
    Hi guys, could you tell me some tips&triks to get my 9550 work @ 500 fsb ?

    mi result up to now
    (RS)


    I spent 4 weeks trying to get 490 stable. I can bench at 500, but there is no 24/7 stability. I gave up, and am running it at 471 now. I know I can go higher, but pushing the FSB to the ragged edge doesn't work well on this board. It's flaky and settings that were stable yesterday may not be stable today.

    It looks like you're running small-fft. That's good for CPU top speed, but for testing the limits of the FSB I suggest you try large-fft. I think you'll see it fail much sooner and at lower FSB speeds.
    ES Q9550 E0 @ 4.0GHz (471x8.5) 1.256v
    TR-Ultra-120-X, 115CFM 120mm fan
    Maximus II Formula @ 1884MHz FSB
    Ballistix DDR2-800 (4x1GB) 1132MHz 5-5-5-5-15 4-55-8-14-11-3-8-5-4-2T
    eVGA GTX 280 @ 702c/1404s/1260m (1.175v)

    Auzentech XPlosion DTS-Interactive Vantage 'X'-6,727
    300GB Velociraptor, PC P&C 750W
    (3)120mm, (2)90mm, (1)250mm case fans in TT Armor

    27.5" LCD/Z-5500-office, 95" 720P projector/7.1ch-living room
    Logitech Driving Force Pro-Microsim Racing Pod

  18. #3268
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    36
    I'm done with this board and it's crappy memory bandwidth/bugs and support. Just bought a Rampage Extreme. In case you are interested they have them here for dirt cheap:

    http://www.priceguidenetwork.com/asu...e-extreme.html

    Hope you guys get a good working BIOS. I will be selling my board on ebay within the next few weeks.

    --Rocks
    3930K Asus Sabertooth X79/ 2x Kingston Hyper X SSD in RAID 0/ 12 GB crucial tracer 1600/ 2x gtx 470

  19. #3269
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    86
    So I really haven't done too long of stability testing through p95 but I am at 480fsb
    1.43v
    2.10dram
    1.10sb
    1.55sb15
    1.69pll
    1.55nb
    1.40vtt

    did some np & cpu delay of 100ps and channel A & B 100ps delay; and a few other tweaks but before I get going on my UD3R board. I am wondering if 110f is too hot for my NB - I have active cooling by a 120x38mm fan blowing over the area but it still gets warmer.

  20. #3270
    Banned
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    1,941
    110F = 43C
    Thats not bad mine hits that after a few hours of benching and stability is there
    Intel white paper states it can take alot more, I have found if you keep it under 50c or 122f your good

  21. #3271
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    86
    Cool, thanks

    I have also have another question: what is the Ai Clock Twister? And does the UD3R have something comparable to this? Thanks

  22. #3272
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Rome
    Posts
    66
    Quote Originally Posted by jason4207 View Post
    I spent 4 weeks trying to get 490 stable. I can bench at 500, but there is no 24/7 stability. I gave up, and am running it at 471 now. I know I can go higher, but pushing the FSB to the ragged edge doesn't work well on this board. It's flaky and settings that were stable yesterday may not be stable today.

    It looks like you're running small-fft. That's good for CPU top speed, but for testing the limits of the FSB I suggest you try large-fft. I think you'll see it fail much sooner and at lower FSB speeds.
    i'll try large fft

    yes it's quite hard to get 500.. probably with nexts bios we could get al least 494x8.5 for 24/7
    Maximus III Formula - i7 860 4Ghz - 4 GB Gskill Ripjaws 2Ghz - Powercolor 5850 1000/1250 VF3000A - XFI Titanium Fatality - WD3200AAKS RAID 0 - Maxtor 500 Gb - Wd 5000AAKS - Enermax 625W modu82+ - Case CM690 - CM TX3

  23. #3273
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    86
    Quote Originally Posted by edo View Post
    i'll try large fft

    yes it's quite hard to get 500.. probably with nexts bios we could get al least 494x8.5 for 24/7
    I wouldn't count on it

  24. #3274
    Banned
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    1,941
    Quote Originally Posted by 529th View Post
    Cool, thanks

    I have also have another question: what is the Ai Clock Twister? And does the UD3R have something comparable to this? Thanks
    I'm no engineer so here is my best attempt to explain it.

    Ai Clock Twister will tighten your sub timings increasing performance/bandwidth when set to strong or stronger
    Moderate will run sub timing at or around stock
    Light will relax them a tad allowing for improved overclocking.

    Not sure what Gigabyte calls it or if they have it as an option in the bios.

  25. #3275
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    86
    Quote Originally Posted by Grnfinger View Post
    I'm no engineer so here is my best attempt to explain it.

    Ai Clock Twister will tighten your sub timings increasing performance/bandwidth when set to strong or stronger
    Moderate will run sub timing at or around stock
    Light will relax them a tad allowing for improved overclocking.

    Not sure what Gigabyte calls it or if they have it as an option in the bios.
    Interesting! thanks alot Grnfinger

Page 131 of 179 FirstFirst ... 3181121128129130131132133134141 ... LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •