Page 127 of 179 FirstFirst ... 2777117124125126127128129130137177 ... LastLast
Results 3,151 to 3,175 of 4457

Thread: ASUS Maximus II Formula - new P45 king?

  1. #3151
    Xtreme Mentor
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    2,996
    Quote Originally Posted by dawdaw View Post
    Thank you CryptiK, I will try to do my best to convince that person, hope this works in the end, and if they don't care, i'm free to harass them with my requests till i become either the greatest shareholder of ASUS or the worst spammer
    Also, it would be great if they reduced the PL you can set at every divider by 2. This would mean for example we can set PL8 using 1:1 divider, and PL6 at 5:6 divider.

    Other P45 boards allow you to do this, Asus should follow suit.
    Ci7 990X::Rampage III Extreme::12GB Corsair Dominator 1866C7GT::2 x EVGA SC Titans in SLI::Corsair AX1200::TJ07::Watercooled
    Ci7 920 3849B018::Rampage II Extreme::6GB GSKILL Trident 2000C9 BBSE::EVGA GTX580::Antec Signature SG850::TJ09::Aircooled w/TRUE 120X

  2. #3152
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Lil Brittany (far west .fr)
    Posts
    225
    So you had improvement for increasing memory ?? so sad to leave DDR2 like that

    Guess I could do anynting better before I sell it (still prayin' xD)
    Klan-OC Team .fr

    - ASUS M5G/M4G - GIGABYTE GA-P55/67A-UD7 - EVGA P55 FTW - GA-EP45-UD3P -
    - INTEL i7 3770 & 2600K/i5 750/i5 661 & i3 530/E8600/E6800/E6500K +CORSAIR H70 or THERMALRIGHT TrueBlack 120 (Full WC/SS/Cascade/LN˛ optional ^^) -
    - G.SKILL TridentX PC3 2400C10 (2x4gb)/Ripjaws X PC3 17600C7 & PerfectStorm PC3 17066C8[/B] (2x2gb)/CRUCIAL Value PC3 10700 (2x1gb @880 cas6)
    CRUCIAL BallistiX Tracer PC8500 (2x1gb @704 cas5) -
    - SAPPHIRE HD 7970 / SLI MSI GTX580 Lightning / MSI GTX275 Lightning / MSI GTX 560Ti Hawk / ASUS HD 4870 1Gb DK / CFs MSI HD5770 Hawk & ASUS HD4770 -
    - CORSAIR AX1200 & HX650 / ENERMAX REVOLUTION 1250w & MODU 82+625w -
    - CRUCIAL M4 128Gb RAID0 /OCZ Vertex 3 120Gb & Turbo 30Gb / WD Velociraptor 150Gb/Raid0 & WD Raptor 76Gb/Raid0 /3x WD Caviar Black 2To -



    THE AMOUNT OF HW ISN'T REPRESENTATIVE OF YOUR SKILLZ ...IF YOU'RE THE KING OF THE HILL, PROVE IT THOUGH!!

  3. #3153
    Banned
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    1,941
    Got a nice package today.......


  4. #3154
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    86
    Nice Grnfnger!!!

    Still having trouble reaching 500fsb with 6multi with my MIIF. My Asus P5Q Premium is running 500fsb as I type this; and about an hour into Prime95 blend testing!

  5. #3155
    Banned
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    1,941
    Quote Originally Posted by 529th View Post
    Nice Grnfnger!!!

    Still having trouble reaching 500fsb with 6multi with my MIIF. My Asus P5Q Premium is running 500fsb as I type this; and about an hour into Prime95 blend testing!
    It is frustrating when lower priced boards are beating the MIIF.
    These got me 500FSB

    CPU Clock Skew : Delay 100
    North Bridge Clock Skew : Delay 100

    CPU PLL Voltage : 1.60600
    FSBT : 1.40475
    North Bridge Voltage : 1.51075
    South Bridge Voltage 1.5 : 1.55300
    South Bridge Voltage 1.1 : 1.20600

    You will be able to lower them , I find its a great starting point and then dial down from there.
    Bios 1901 or 1802 would help if your not already running it.

  6. #3156
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    86
    Quote Originally Posted by Grnfinger View Post
    It is frustrating when lower priced boards are beating the MIIF.
    These got me 500FSB

    CPU Clock Skew : Delay 100
    North Bridge Clock Skew : Delay 100

    CPU PLL Voltage : 1.60600
    FSBT : 1.40475
    North Bridge Voltage : 1.51075
    South Bridge Voltage 1.5 : 1.55300
    South Bridge Voltage 1.1 : 1.20600

    You will be able to lower them , I find its a great starting point and then dial down from there.
    Bios 1901 or 1802 would help if your not already running it.
    Almost, hangs in windows boot

    EDIT: btw, the other board is running a dual core 8400 if that makes any difference..
    Last edited by 529th; 02-16-2009 at 03:28 PM.

  7. #3157
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    370
    It makes a huge difference. 500FSB w/ a duallie is easy on almost any board. 500FSB on a quad is a completely different beast.
    ES Q9550 E0 @ 4.0GHz (471x8.5) 1.256v
    TR-Ultra-120-X, 115CFM 120mm fan
    Maximus II Formula @ 1884MHz FSB
    Ballistix DDR2-800 (4x1GB) 1132MHz 5-5-5-5-15 4-55-8-14-11-3-8-5-4-2T
    eVGA GTX 280 @ 702c/1404s/1260m (1.175v)

    Auzentech XPlosion DTS-Interactive Vantage 'X'-6,727
    300GB Velociraptor, PC P&C 750W
    (3)120mm, (2)90mm, (1)250mm case fans in TT Armor

    27.5" LCD/Z-5500-office, 95" 720P projector/7.1ch-living room
    Logitech Driving Force Pro-Microsim Racing Pod

  8. #3158
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    86
    So we need to make sure our suggestions to the Asus Bios team include improving quad core stability over 500fsb

  9. #3159
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    239
    Quote Originally Posted by 529th View Post
    So we need to make sure our suggestions to the Asus Bios team include improving quad core stability over 500fsb
    I've given up dreaming on and instead take on the prudent view of how this world works, including business of which Asus is part of.

    BIOS engineers are like ants in a forest, they serve their queen(s) and carry out work that she requires. In terms of Asus, unless the managers who control the BIOS teams state you should fix X, Y and Z nothing will be done by the engineers themselves as they are paid to do what they are told. It's like this in any non-flat company hierarchy.

    Unfortunately, as is life, Asus is a very big player and is in fact number one when it comes to motherboard shipments. Don't forget they make boards for the OEM's as well as have different brands like Asrock. In other words, Asus ships millions of boards and the percentage of enthusiast boards is rather slim. Add to this the fact that of those who buy enthusiast boards, a small percentage too are those who are keen overclockers who really care about (and understand) the various BIOS settings, and can tell if some don't work etc.

    In business, mass production, business follows the crowd. If there isn't a big enough reason to warrant investing (time is money is cost is profit/no profit) effort into task X (i.e. MFII BIOS fixes) then nothing will be done. Why spend effort X (which is cost) to only get a marginal ROI from the very few overall who are the real overclockers and thus care etc? These folks will buy the next Asus enthusiast board anyway. How Asus knows this? Business results speak for themselves, add to this that their only threat is Gigabyte, few overclockers really go for MSI. The likes of DFI is "small fish".

    Of course this mindset is cruel but demand dictates supply. Small demand, no or little supply. It would take something like Intel really going for gold with its enthusiast boards and winning ground to shake the likes of Asus. Intel is fantastic for BIOS support but its boards aren't as good as Asus, and vice versa.

    To put it bluntly, unfortunately Asus doesn't care what 0.25% of its enthusiast board users think or desire. In business there is a saying, only spend when necessary, and only then spend as much as necessary.

    Oh and don't get me wrong, I would love for the Asus BIOS to amend its style yet in my opinion, without radical stimulation (i.e. from Intel or elsewhere - read "competition") it won't happen. Gigabyte is the same with BIOS updates so why change?
    + Asus Maximus Formula II (Bios 2202)
    + Intel Xeon X3370 @ 4.04GHz 1.288V (475x8.5) VID 1.250
    + 4GB Kingston HyperX PC2-9600 DDR2 @ 1199MHz 5-5-5-18-2-30 @ 2.15V
    + BFG Tech 9800GTX+ OC @ 760/1890/2250
    + 4x150GB Raptor X in RAID0 via Adaptec 2405 SAS/SATA
    + Samsung SH-203B
    + Chieftec CFT-850-14C
    + Thermalright 120 Ultra Extreme 2000rpm
    + Windows XP Professional x64
    + Samsung 275T

    Laptop Memory UK

  10. #3160
    Xtreme Mentor
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    2,996
    Quote Originally Posted by GFORCE100 View Post
    These folks will buy the next Asus enthusiast board anyway.
    That's just it, there's no way I will buy another Asus board after experiencing the way they treat those who buy a 'top of the line' RoG model.

    I will definitely buy either EVGA, DFI or Gigabyte. New X58 Asus boards are no good by comparison to the ones I just mentioned anyway. The company has been superseded in performance, build quality, BIOS features & support.

    The P6T, P6T-D & R2E and some of the worst X58 boards available at the moment. Look at the results/features they have compared to other companies offerings.
    Ci7 990X::Rampage III Extreme::12GB Corsair Dominator 1866C7GT::2 x EVGA SC Titans in SLI::Corsair AX1200::TJ07::Watercooled
    Ci7 920 3849B018::Rampage II Extreme::6GB GSKILL Trident 2000C9 BBSE::EVGA GTX580::Antec Signature SG850::TJ09::Aircooled w/TRUE 120X

  11. #3161
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Isny!
    Posts
    50
    Want some new infos on those ed up BIOSs from ASUS?

    I just took a look at the ROM Modules in all new Motherboard from ASUS with ICH10(R) (X58/P45) and ALL of those BIOSs had version 8.0 (ca. 03/2008). Foxconn implements 8.5. Intel uses their newest version: 8.7. ECS is using 8.6. So what the is wrong with those freaks at ASUS? They sell that much mainboards and aren't able to bring out some updated BIOS versions? this is the last time i bought a asus board and i will tell everyone i know not to buy their crappy hardware until they fix such little things. it's not that hard to update a PCI ROM Module inside a bios!

    i updated the SATA RAID AHCI feature set in the bios: http://www.megaupload.com/?d=OFJ3WHS8
    maybe someone could test this one... i'm going to bed now. i don't know if it works... but i hope it will
    maybe ket will have a look at it?

    asus: SHAME ON YOU!
    if you look at the boot agent you will read something like this in the code: "DEVELOPMENT BUILD - NOT FOR PRODUCTION USE!!!"


    Intel E8500 @ 3.8 GHz (1.175v)
    ASUS Maximus II Formula
    A-Data Extreme 2 GB
    Zotac GeForce GTX 260˛ AMP!
    Lancool K7 & Seasonic S12II 380W


  12. #3162
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    239
    Quote Originally Posted by e.v.o View Post
    Want some new infos on those ed up BIOSs from ASUS?

    i updated the SATA RAID AHCI feature set in the bios: http://www.megaupload.com/?d=OFJ3WHS8
    maybe someone could test this one... i'm going to bed now. i don't know if it works... but i hope it will
    maybe ket will have a look at it?

    asus: SHAME ON YOU!
    if you look at the boot agent you will read something like this in the code: "DEVELOPMENT BUILD - NOT FOR PRODUCTION USE!!!"
    I tried your BIOS and all works fine - you can wake up with a smile of a job well done The ICH10R firmware now reports 8.5.0.1023 if I remember correctly. It also has a green line at the right when initialising with the words "* data encryption" or there abouts.

    Somebody somewhere bought 4x new Seagate 7200.12 500GB drives for a speedy RAID0 but said it resulted in strange problems. Perhaps the ICH10R firmware was to blame or the drives themselves, who knows. Either way a newer firmware can't be a bad thing and since Asus couldn't do it, you had to

    Brings back the memories of when I used to do such things back in 2000 when I had Gigabyte 6BXD and Tyan 100 motherboards. Remember how I updated the CPU microcode back then and enabled some hidden BIOS options.
    + Asus Maximus Formula II (Bios 2202)
    + Intel Xeon X3370 @ 4.04GHz 1.288V (475x8.5) VID 1.250
    + 4GB Kingston HyperX PC2-9600 DDR2 @ 1199MHz 5-5-5-18-2-30 @ 2.15V
    + BFG Tech 9800GTX+ OC @ 760/1890/2250
    + 4x150GB Raptor X in RAID0 via Adaptec 2405 SAS/SATA
    + Samsung SH-203B
    + Chieftec CFT-850-14C
    + Thermalright 120 Ultra Extreme 2000rpm
    + Windows XP Professional x64
    + Samsung 275T

    Laptop Memory UK

  13. #3163
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Toronto, ON
    Posts
    517
    Dunno what happened but my M2F started freaking out on me this weekend.

    Played some L4D, and it started stuttering... the display driver kept failling but it'd recover. So I decided to stress test and my OC was unstable it seemed.
    Then I pulled my PC out and opened it up, and it started freezing in the BIOS! I noticed the NB temps were rather high so I figured maybe my MCW60 was pulling it away from the board.

    Today I rebuilt the thing, added washers to the NB, meanwhile I noticed the heat pads were leaking some kind of grease/oil all over (it looked wet). Cleaned it all up...
    Seemed to work fine again, until I run a stress test for 15 min -- all temps normal but it freezes.

    I pull out my LCD poster and it gets stuck on VGA BIOS. Try a PCI video card it works fine.
    Move my 8800GTS into the second PCI-E slot and it works fine. Move it back to the first slot and it fails every time.

    Looks like it's time for RMA

    EDIT: It occured to me that the GPU might be half fried working only in 8X mode, so I'm gonna get another video card to test with tomorrow. :|
    Last edited by zoob; 02-17-2009 at 07:35 PM.
    i7 3770k - p8z77-v pro - 4x4gb - gtx680 - vertex 4 256gb - ax750
    i5 3570k - z77-pro3 - 2x4gb - arc-1231ml - 12x2tb wdgp r6 - cx400
    heatware

  14. #3164
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    13
    Quote Originally Posted by Grnfinger View Post
    It is frustrating when lower priced boards are beating the MIIF.
    These got me 500FSB

    CPU Clock Skew : Delay 100
    North Bridge Clock Skew : Delay 100

    CPU PLL Voltage : 1.60600
    FSBT : 1.40475
    North Bridge Voltage : 1.51075
    South Bridge Voltage 1.5 : 1.55300
    South Bridge Voltage 1.1 : 1.20600

    You will be able to lower them , I find its a great starting point and then dial down from there.
    Bios 1901 or 1802 would help if your not already running it.
    How about a post with full settings
    Anyway,this thread is really priceless to us "no-pro-o/c kers"
    Currently running at 4GHZ ,about 2 months,and still no problem thanks to this thread!


    also quick question,will I lose my 2 OC profiles if I updgrade to the latest BIOS?

  15. #3165
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    IRAN
    Posts
    548
    My Profile For Q9550 @ 4004Mhz 24/7 :
    Just Frquence In 471Mhz And Everything Auto.....It's Stable As Rock
    Asus Crosshair IV Formula
    AMD FX-8120
    ATI HD5750 Silent+ATI HD5770
    Kingston 1333 2*2GB
    GP1035B
    Zalman CNPS 10X Extreme

    Sorry For My Great English

  16. #3166
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    370
    Quote Originally Posted by xoldboyx View Post
    also quick question,will I lose my 2 OC profiles if I updgrade to the latest BIOS?
    No, but you don't want to use them anymore. Write down your settings, and after you change the BIOS do a clear CMOS and then re-enter all your settings manually. Then save over your old profile(s).
    ES Q9550 E0 @ 4.0GHz (471x8.5) 1.256v
    TR-Ultra-120-X, 115CFM 120mm fan
    Maximus II Formula @ 1884MHz FSB
    Ballistix DDR2-800 (4x1GB) 1132MHz 5-5-5-5-15 4-55-8-14-11-3-8-5-4-2T
    eVGA GTX 280 @ 702c/1404s/1260m (1.175v)

    Auzentech XPlosion DTS-Interactive Vantage 'X'-6,727
    300GB Velociraptor, PC P&C 750W
    (3)120mm, (2)90mm, (1)250mm case fans in TT Armor

    27.5" LCD/Z-5500-office, 95" 720P projector/7.1ch-living room
    Logitech Driving Force Pro-Microsim Racing Pod

  17. #3167
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Isny!
    Posts
    50
    Quote Originally Posted by GFORCE100 View Post
    I tried your BIOS and all works fine - you can wake up with a smile of a job well done The ICH10R firmware now reports 8.5.0.1023 if I remember correctly. It also has a green line at the right when initialising with the words "* data encryption" or there abouts.

    Somebody somewhere bought 4x new Seagate 7200.12 500GB drives for a speedy RAID0 but said it resulted in strange problems. Perhaps the ICH10R firmware was to blame or the drives themselves, who knows. Either way a newer firmware can't be a bad thing and since Asus couldn't do it, you had to

    Brings back the memories of when I used to do such things back in 2000 when I had Gigabyte 6BXD and Tyan 100 motherboards. Remember how I updated the CPU microcode back then and enabled some hidden BIOS options.
    YEAH! Thats great! Feels reeeeeeeeeal good to hear that! Now i need to have some newer versions of the AHCI code and some other stuff. Maybe Ket could help me a bit since the 1901 MIIF BIOS is the source for his P5Q mBIOS.

    A benchmark would be nice


    Intel E8500 @ 3.8 GHz (1.175v)
    ASUS Maximus II Formula
    A-Data Extreme 2 GB
    Zotac GeForce GTX 260˛ AMP!
    Lancool K7 & Seasonic S12II 380W


  18. #3168
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    239
    Quote Originally Posted by e.v.o View Post
    YEAH! Thats great! Feels reeeeeeeeeal good to hear that! Now i need to have some newer versions of the AHCI code and some other stuff. Maybe Ket could help me a bit since the 1901 MIIF BIOS is the source for his P5Q mBIOS.

    A benchmark would be nice
    Which benchmark would this be? You want me to run HDTach again? 2x 7200.10's score about 138MB/s average read from what I remember Vs about 200-210MB/s from the newer 7200.12's.
    + Asus Maximus Formula II (Bios 2202)
    + Intel Xeon X3370 @ 4.04GHz 1.288V (475x8.5) VID 1.250
    + 4GB Kingston HyperX PC2-9600 DDR2 @ 1199MHz 5-5-5-18-2-30 @ 2.15V
    + BFG Tech 9800GTX+ OC @ 760/1890/2250
    + 4x150GB Raptor X in RAID0 via Adaptec 2405 SAS/SATA
    + Samsung SH-203B
    + Chieftec CFT-850-14C
    + Thermalright 120 Ultra Extreme 2000rpm
    + Windows XP Professional x64
    + Samsung 275T

    Laptop Memory UK

  19. #3169
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Isny!
    Posts
    50
    I just made a new version with updated PXE GE (for booting from lan.. does anybody need that? ) and v8.6.0.1007 of the ICH10R.
    But this time i'm really not quite sure if it works! But thanks to the MIIFs 2 BIOSes you could test it without any trouble (i hope so )

    http://www.megaupload.com/?d=YCU1B46K


    Intel E8500 @ 3.8 GHz (1.175v)
    ASUS Maximus II Formula
    A-Data Extreme 2 GB
    Zotac GeForce GTX 260˛ AMP!
    Lancool K7 & Seasonic S12II 380W


  20. #3170
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    239
    Quote Originally Posted by e.v.o View Post
    I just made a new version with updated PXE GE (for booting from lan.. does anybody need that? ) and v8.6.0.1007 of the ICH10R.
    But this time i'm really not quite sure if it works! But thanks to the MIIFs 2 BIOSes you could test it without any trouble (i hope so )

    http://www.megaupload.com/?d=YCU1B46K
    Another job well done it seems.

    I can't test the boot from LAN since I don't use it. The latest BIOS works though, the ICH10R firmware is updated to the version stated above. No more green line pertaining to data encryption to the right anymore as in version 8.5.0.xxxxx though.

    Update:
    Just noticed that with the BIOS bootstrapping and thus displaying the RAID setup screen, it reports ICH9R instead of ICH10R. The system as noted above works fine though. Either a typo or you extracted the ICH9R ROM from another BIOS rather than the ICH10R ROM. I believe Intel compiled at least two versions with the correct message showing yet identical code. I doubt it's reading the name string from the south bridge.
    Last edited by GFORCE100; 02-18-2009 at 11:26 AM.
    + Asus Maximus Formula II (Bios 2202)
    + Intel Xeon X3370 @ 4.04GHz 1.288V (475x8.5) VID 1.250
    + 4GB Kingston HyperX PC2-9600 DDR2 @ 1199MHz 5-5-5-18-2-30 @ 2.15V
    + BFG Tech 9800GTX+ OC @ 760/1890/2250
    + 4x150GB Raptor X in RAID0 via Adaptec 2405 SAS/SATA
    + Samsung SH-203B
    + Chieftec CFT-850-14C
    + Thermalright 120 Ultra Extreme 2000rpm
    + Windows XP Professional x64
    + Samsung 275T

    Laptop Memory UK

  21. #3171
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Italy (Rome)
    Posts
    28
    AIR:


  22. #3172
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Italy (Rome)
    Posts
    28
    where are mod bios for this motherboard?

  23. #3173
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Isny!
    Posts
    50
    Thanks! Interesting! I will have a look at it!
    Does it also display 8.5 with the other bios?


    Intel E8500 @ 3.8 GHz (1.175v)
    ASUS Maximus II Formula
    A-Data Extreme 2 GB
    Zotac GeForce GTX 260˛ AMP!
    Lancool K7 & Seasonic S12II 380W


  24. #3174
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    239
    Quote Originally Posted by e.v.o View Post
    Thanks! Interesting! I will have a look at it!
    Does it also display 8.5 with the other bios?
    Your original BIOS displayed ICH10R firmware version 8.5.0.xxxx
    Your second BIOS displayed ICH10R firmware version 8.6.0.xxxx

    xxxx is a minor revision number I can't remember off the top of my head.

    Your original BIOS displayed ICH10R/DO during BIOS bootstrap. The second BIOS however as noted above, displays ICH9R.
    + Asus Maximus Formula II (Bios 2202)
    + Intel Xeon X3370 @ 4.04GHz 1.288V (475x8.5) VID 1.250
    + 4GB Kingston HyperX PC2-9600 DDR2 @ 1199MHz 5-5-5-18-2-30 @ 2.15V
    + BFG Tech 9800GTX+ OC @ 760/1890/2250
    + 4x150GB Raptor X in RAID0 via Adaptec 2405 SAS/SATA
    + Samsung SH-203B
    + Chieftec CFT-850-14C
    + Thermalright 120 Ultra Extreme 2000rpm
    + Windows XP Professional x64
    + Samsung 275T

    Laptop Memory UK

  25. #3175
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    86
    I hope their next bios will help stabilize my Q9650 above 500fsb

Page 127 of 179 FirstFirst ... 2777117124125126127128129130137177 ... LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •