Page 1 of 179 12341151101 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 4457

Thread: ASUS Maximus II Formula - new P45 king?

  1. #1
    Xtreme Member pmp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    WAW,PL
    Posts
    292

    ASUS Maximus II Formula - new P45 king?

    Dears, what we have here is new P45/ICH10R based board called from ROG series - Maximus II Formula.

    Please notice some unique features available here like DualCPU voltage!
    Performance tests in progress, thread would be updated soon!







    skulltrail | quadsli | 15K.6 | 30" | desktops are baaad!

  2. #2
    Xtreme Member sobih25's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    132
    sweet pwr/rst buttons ;-)

  3. #3
    Xtreme Member pmp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    WAW,PL
    Posts
    292
    New function of LCD Poster first shown with this motherboard. We can select in BIOS what to be shown - temperatures, voltages or RPM's Nice!

    http://tiny.pl/k9vd

    High hopes for 600+ FSB for Wolfdales.
    Yorkfield quite common.

    skulltrail | quadsli | 15K.6 | 30" | desktops are baaad!

  4. #4
    Xtreme Cruncher SoulsCollective's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia
    Posts
    4,616
    Jeebus what's with the heatsinkery? Got a Crosslinx chip under there or something?
    Rig specs
    In need of significant revising

    Foundational Falsehoods of Creationism



  5. #5
    Registered User aster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Metz, France
    Posts
    56
    Seems stock NB & Mosfets heatsinks are removable without removing heatpipes!
    Sweat, but do you think MCW30 & MIPS P5E Mosfets waterblocks will fit on top of heatpipe?

  6. #6
    Xtreme Member jozzy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Indonesia
    Posts
    201
    must have one...! i'm waiting here...
    | i7 2600K | GA P67A-UD4 | Team Xtreem PC1600 DDR3 16Gb | DA GTX 570 | Team S1 120Gb SSD | Corsair 650W |
    | X-Fi Xtreme Music | Altec Lansing CS21 | Dell U2711 | Samsung 32"A550 | Armor Silver with 25cm fan |


    Old Celly L 430
    E4300
    E6300
    Q6600

  7. #7
    Xtreme Member pmp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    WAW,PL
    Posts
    292
    Bundled audio card have some X-Fi effects... but i wouldn't put any comment on that... :P


    skulltrail | quadsli | 15K.6 | 30" | desktops are baaad!

  8. #8
    Registered User NIZ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    65
    Do you know the release date & approx $$ yet?
    Intel Xeon X3350 Asus P5K Premium 4x WD3200AAKS(B3) RAID-0 BFG 9800GX2 4x 1Gb Supertalent PC2-8000C4 (D9GKX) Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme Samsung 226BW Hauppuage HVR-2200 Auzentech X-Fi Prelude Audio Technica ATH-AD700 Toughpower 750w Lian-Li PC-A70B Razer Lycosa/Logitech G9 Logitech Z-5500 Vista 64bit

  9. #9
    Xtreme Member pmp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    WAW,PL
    Posts
    292
    P45 has one disadvantage which is odd PL


    For trusty B2 Conroe, 480FSB seems to be stable, 485 now i see too, but 490 - no go

    Quote Originally Posted by NIZ View Post
    Do you know the release date & approx $$ yet?
    Next week probably it hit stores around the globe
    skulltrail | quadsli | 15K.6 | 30" | desktops are baaad!

  10. #10
    Xtreme Addict naokaji's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    川崎市
    Posts
    2,064
    2 Vcores? one for booting and one as actual working volts? Or what is it?

    I think I'll get one, I know, I should stop spending money, but somehow that board is taunting me
    Gaming Pc: I7-3770K, Maximus V Gene, 16GB G.Skill TridentX 2400, MSI R9 290, 2x 256GB Samsung 830 Raid 0, 4TB Hitachi Deskstar, Seasonic SS-1000XP PSU, EK Supreme HF, 18W Laing DDC + XSPC Res Top, Blackice GTX 360 Rad

    HTPC: I5-2500K, MSI Z77MA-G45, 8GB Corsair XMS 2000, XFX Radeon 6770, 128GB Crucial C300, Lian Li V352
    Mobile: Vaio Z, Nexus 7

  11. #11
    I am Xtreme Leeghoofd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    10,379
    Quote Originally Posted by pmp View Post
    P45 has one disadvantage which is odd PL
    Is that the lowest the board allows PMP or auto in bios ? (I hope the latter ) I have noticed the same behaviour on P5Q Dlx too when running 1:1... Running another divider than 1:1 brings a PL of 2-3 lower... at auto with bios and it could be lowered some 2-3 more with manual settings...
    Question : Why do some overclockers switch into d*ckmode when money is involved

    Remark : They call me Pro Asus Saaya yupp, I agree

  12. #12
    Xtreme Cruncher WhiteFireDragon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    @ the computer
    Posts
    2,510
    p45's are starting to come out. pmp, did you buy this board or was it a prototype that you're testing?

  13. #13
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Brazil
    Posts
    39
    Let's flash its BIOS in our Maximus/Rampage Formula I to get more performance, LOL....
    I'm sure that will work!
    CPU Intel QX9650
    Thermalright Ultra-120 + 12cm Panaflo Medium Speed
    Asus Maximus Formula (Rampage BIOS 0403)
    2x 1GB Geil Ultra PC-6400 CL4-4-4-12 2.1v
    XFX GF 8800GTS 320MB DDR3 Extreme Edition
    RAID-0: 4x Seagate 250GB NCQ 16MB
    SB Audigy 2 ZS
    OCZ EvoStream 600w

    CPU-Z Validation
    Screenshot!

  14. #14
    I am Xtreme Leeghoofd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    10,379
    Quote Originally Posted by vbo View Post
    Let's flash its BIOS in our Maximus/Rampage Formula I to get more performance, LOL....
    I'm sure that will work!
    In ya dreams it will

    Give us some more teasers PMP plz Make me sell my P5Q Dlx
    Question : Why do some overclockers switch into d*ckmode when money is involved

    Remark : They call me Pro Asus Saaya yupp, I agree

  15. #15
    Banned
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    French Quarter of Grinchville
    Posts
    2,852
    Looks great... I'm interested in one if it is proven to overclock a Q9450 better and will use the same blocks I have on my current Maximus Formula.

  16. #16
    Xtreme Member pmp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    WAW,PL
    Posts
    292
    Quote Originally Posted by Leeghoofd View Post
    Is that the lowest the board allows PMP or auto in bios ? (I hope the latter ) I have noticed the same behaviour on P5Q Dlx too when running 1:1... Running another divider than 1:1 brings a PL of 2-3 lower... at auto with bios and it could be lowered some 2-3 more with manual settings...
    Actually with those settings, PL11 worked, PL10 didn't. Tommorow i will flash it with latest BIOS, which should behave alike those from P5Q Series, and we'll see.

    Yup, 1:1 makes PL Poo Poo
    Quote Originally Posted by WhiteFireDragon View Post
    p45's are starting to come out. pmp, did you buy this board or was it a prototype that you're testing?
    It's retail version already.
    Quote Originally Posted by naokaji View Post
    2 Vcores? one for booting and one as actual working volts? Or what is it?

    I think I'll get one, I know, I should stop spending money, but somehow that board is taunting me
    I'm not sure yet. Dual VCore is available only when it's from 0,80V > 0,95V then it disappear. Maybe it's wise, for those who will run cold CPUs like E72xx or E82xx with passive cooling, underclocked, when one core wouldn't go with low VCore as other one ?
    Quote Originally Posted by Leeghoofd View Post
    Give us some more teasers PMP plz Make me sell my P5Q Dlx
    Tommorow i will use Wolfdale cored chip to see how it performs...
    Last edited by pmp; 06-11-2008 at 12:46 PM.
    skulltrail | quadsli | 15K.6 | 30" | desktops are baaad!

  17. #17
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Fremont
    Posts
    260
    I thought this board is DDR2 but your CPUZ shows DDR3 so this board is going to 2 or 3? Plus I wonder when will this be out can't wait? Oh by the way the CPU volt pin is that require 4 or 8 looks like 4 of them got covered up or it works both 4 and 8 pins? Thanks,
    Last edited by mr2sw21; 06-11-2008 at 01:04 PM.

    Q9450 w/120 extreme
    Maximus II Formula
    G.Skill 4gb 8800 w/ crosair fans
    Sapphire HD4870 512 w/ T-Rad2
    2x 300gb velociraptor RAID0
    2x 500 gb SATA
    Cooler Master 850w PSU
    CM 590 Case

  18. #18
    Xtreme Member scooter.jay's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    247
    Nice looking board be good to see some proper testing

  19. #19
    Champion ZoLKoRn's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Bangkok, Thailand
    Posts
    1,376
    hmm.. looking it have a little problem with Perf Lvl same as other P45 Thanks for sharing mate

    Can't wait for playing it
    Sorry For My English
    OverclockZone Team
    THAILAND

  20. #20
    Team AF @rne's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    CeBIT-City
    Posts
    445
    Quote Originally Posted by mr2sw21 View Post
    I thought this board is DDR2 but your CPUZ shows DDR3 so this board is going to 2 or 3? Plus I wonder when will this be out can't wait? Oh by the way the CPU volt pin is that require 4 or 8 looks like 4 of them got covered up or it works both 4 and 8 pins? Thanks,
    Its a bug of cpu-z. Its ddr2.

    The 8 pin molex for cpu requires at least 4, better use 8 for more stability.

  21. #21
    Registered User jooney's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    65
    Is there any chance that EIST will run with OC or the EPU-6 Engine let chill my CPU in idle?
    If i saw the the two CPU VCore i hoped a little bit that one is for idle and the other for load
    ASUS Rampage III Extreme,INTEL Xeon W3520@4,5GHz,Core i7 920 C0@4,368GHz,6GB CORSAIR Dominator GT@MIPS Ram Freezer
    ASUS GTX 470@SLI,ENERMAX Revolution85+ 950W,INTEL Postville 80GB,2x1TB WESTERN DIGITAL Caviar Green WD10EADS
    2 XSPC RX360,XSPC RX240,WATERCOOL Heatkiller 3.0 Cu@full black Nickel,DANGER DEN Laing 3.25@XSPC all in U2-UFO CYO

  22. #22
    Xtreme Member pmp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    WAW,PL
    Posts
    292
    Quote Originally Posted by mr2sw21 View Post
    I thought this board is DDR2 but your CPUZ shows DDR3 so this board is going to 2 or 3? Plus I wonder when will this be out can't wait? Oh by the way the CPU volt pin is that require 4 or 8 looks like 4 of them got covered up or it works both 4 and 8 pins? Thanks,
    Ahh exactly like Arne said above - just a CPU-Z poo poo.
    Quote Originally Posted by ZoLKoRn View Post
    hmm.. looking it have a little problem with Perf Lvl same as other P45 Thanks for sharing mate
    Can't wait for playing it
    Yup, but maybe new BIOS build would make things easier
    Quote Originally Posted by jooney View Post
    Is there any chance that EIST will run with OC or the EPU-6 Engine let chill my CPU in idle?
    If i saw the the two CPU VCore i hoped a little bit that one is for idle and the other for load
    Ohh don't ask me about EPU-Six. Last time i tried to use it at clean VistaOS + P5Q3 Deluxe - it ended with OS corruption
    But IIRC (please someone correct me if i'm wrong) EPU-Six could work only (in terms of doing "something" to CPU VRM) with EIST enabled and AI Tuner set to Auto.
    It has some turbo (raised fsb etc) modes available, but for me, only visible thing was damaged OS
    skulltrail | quadsli | 15K.6 | 30" | desktops are baaad!

  23. #23
    Xtreme Mentor systemviper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    2,785
    Quote Originally Posted by NIZ View Post
    Do you know the release date & approx $$ yet?
    yea the ultimate questtion..

    thaqt is one sweet looking MB

  24. #24
    Banned
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    3,602
    Oh yeah, I can't wait to hear the results

  25. #25
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Toronto, ON
    Posts
    517
    Quote Originally Posted by aster View Post
    Seems stock NB & Mosfets heatsinks are removable without removing heatpipes!
    Sweat, but do you think MCW30 & MIPS P5E Mosfets waterblocks will fit on top of heatpipe?
    Along the same line, I wonder if my Maximus Formula EK MOSFET sinks will work on this..
    i7 3770k - p8z77-v pro - 4x4gb - gtx680 - vertex 4 256gb - ax750
    i5 3570k - z77-pro3 - 2x4gb - arc-1231ml - 12x2tb wdgp r6 - cx400
    heatware

Page 1 of 179 12341151101 ... LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •