Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: E8500 3.4 taking 35 secs on 1M

  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    West London
    Posts
    14

    E8500 3.4 taking 35 secs on 1M

    This SuperPI things has got me scratching whats left of my hair.

    I have an E8500 running at 3.4, and when running Super_PI_Mod is taking 35 seconds to calc 1M....... this seems rather long ????

    Any thoughts ??

  2. #2
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Slovenia
    Posts
    102
    You were screwed by your trader?
    Try to end some processes but still I dont think it will help much.
    Maybe a fresh OS?

  3. #3
    Xtremely Addicted
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    NL
    Posts
    2,502
    Chipset drivers etc all installed? Should take less then half the time to do 1M at those clocks.

  4. #4
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    West London
    Posts
    14
    I have 4 versions of Vista installed, will try another version, see how it goes.... Did have the E8500 running at 3.73 and got a 13sec time..... ho hum.

  5. #5
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    West London
    Posts
    14
    whats the max that your had your E8500 running at on air ??

  6. #6
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    France
    Posts
    156
    Maybe you can try to change your SATA cable (if your HD is SATA).

  7. #7
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    West London
    Posts
    14
    Change the SATA cables, could that be effecting it ??

  8. #8
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Pennsylvania
    Posts
    356
    I've heard of this problem before and the board goes into lip home mode at a certain point (To protect the north bridge) and throttles the FSB back. I betcha you aren't actually running that fast. Something is clocking back.
    Daily Desktop Custom Built - Modified Data General Server Case

    Asus M4A79T Deluxe | 955BE C2 Rev | 4GB OCZ DDR 2000 @ 1600 6 5 6 1T | 4850x2 + 4850 w/MCW60 | CPU on H20 w/ Enzo Sapphire l Custom Built Pump and Res Combo 1/2 Gallon! | 4 Swiftech 320mm Rads with 6 All Aluminum Delta Fans with their own PSU - Finger Loppers - for real!

    Literally, CPU&GPUs are almost always at ambient therefore heat ain't limiting sh|t.

  9. #9
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    France
    Posts
    156
    Quote Originally Posted by ggammage View Post
    Change the SATA cables, could that be effecting it ??
    I already had a "slow rig" due to a bad sata cable (very very bad I/O disk performance).
    Just try it if you got another one ... it's easy and fast !

  10. #10
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Yankee Nation
    Posts
    361
    go into msconfig and choose diagnostic mode. that should eliminate your vista install as the problem.

    what are your voltages, ram freq and timings?
    Stealth Water


    Quote Originally Posted by TheGanG View Post
    Yeah, x15 makes me happy...

  11. #11
    Banned
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Buffalo, NY
    Posts
    1,622
    I had my 8400 @ 4600 on winter air (about -5*C), and my e8500 last week at around 4.5 with a TRUE. Just be careful of your voltage, thats what will mess things up. If you set FSB too high it just wont boot.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •