Results 1 to 25 of 25

Thread: DDR3-2000 / DDR3-1800 - Corsair Dominator 4GB intro results on Striker II Extreme

  1. #1
    Xtreme X.I.P.
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    5,065

    Cool DDR3-2000 / DDR3-1800 - Corsair Dominator 4GB intro results on Striker II Extreme

    Hi guys!

    I just wanted to share some introductory results (more on Monday) for 2 x 2GB parts on Striker II Extreme. I think 0704 is definitely the best BIOS so far. I've been testing few of our new products since Tuesday, and it really looks good! No corruption at this moment, various tests done, including creating and testing large WinRAR archives, OS installations, looping 3DMark06, multiple restarts, etc. So far so good!

    Setup:
    Corsair Dominator TW3X4G1800C8DF, TW3X4G2000C9DF
    Asus Striker II Extreme, BIOS 0704
    Core 2 Duo E8400, Core 2 Extreme QX9770
    eVGA 8800GTS
    Corsair HX620

    Some screenshots below:

    New 4GB kit - 400FSB / DDR3-2000 CL9 @ 1.90v - Memtest For Windows
    This is TW3X4G2000C9DFNV that we're launching at Computex 2008 next week.

    Code:
    For 2 x 2GB kits:
    
    P1 – [Enabled]
    P2 – [Enabled]
    -------
    CPU PLL Voltage - [Auto]
    CPU VTT Voltage -[1.30V]
    Memory Voltage - [1.90V] or 1.80V for 1800C8
    NB Core Voltage - [1.54V] or 1.44V for 1800C8
    SB Core Voltage - [Auto]
    CPU GTL_REF0 Ratio - [Auto]
    CPU GTL_REF1 Ratio - [Auto]
    CPU GTL_REF2 Ratio - [Auto]
    CPU GTL_REF3 Ratio - [Auto]
    NB GTL_REF Ratio - [Auto]
    DDR3 CHA1 Ref Voltage - [Auto]
    DDR3 CHB1 Ref Voltage - [Auto]
    DDR3 CHA2 Ref Voltage - [Auto]
    DDR3 CHB2 Ref Voltage - [Auto]
    --- Click image for larger version ---

    New 4GB kit - 400FSB / DDR3-2000 CL9 @ 1.90v - Prime95

    --- Click image for larger version ---

    4GB 1800C8 kit - 400FSB / DDR3-1800 CL8 @ 1.80v - Memtest For Windows
    This is with 0601 BIOS, even that BIOS was very good for DDR3-1800. I copied wrong files onto my USB key...

    --- Click image for larger version ---


    4GB 1800C8 kit - 400FSB / DDR3-1800 CL8 @ 1.80v - Prime95 For Windows
    This is with 0601 BIOS, even that BIOS was very good for DDR3-1800. I copied wrong files onto my USB key...

    --- Click image for larger version ---



    Oh, I also checked out our 2133C9 ES kit from my previous thread and got some initial results in.

    2GB kit in development - 529FSB / DDR3-2116 CL9 @ 2.00v - DualSpi32M

    Code:
    P1 – [Enabled]
    P2 – [Enabled]
    -------
    CPU PLL Voltage - [1.70V]
    CPU VTT Voltage -[1.30V]
    Memory Voltage - [2.00V]
    NB Core Voltage - [1.70V]
    SB Core Voltage - [1.55V]
    CPU GTL_REF0 Ratio - [Auto]
    CPU GTL_REF1 Ratio - [Auto]
    CPU GTL_REF2 Ratio - [Auto]
    CPU GTL_REF3 Ratio - [Auto]
    NB GTL_REF Ratio - [Auto]
    DDR3 CHA1 Ref Voltage - [Auto]
    DDR3 CHB1 Ref Voltage - [Auto]
    DDR3 CHA2 Ref Voltage - [Auto]
    DDR3 CHB2 Ref Voltage - [Auto]
    --- Click image for larger version ---



    Notes:
    - setting up 4GB kit with a quad-core @ 450FSB, and RAM @ 1800C8 or around 2000C9 required (for me at least) only a bump of NB Voltage to 1.60V;
    - I also have some older screenshots of our 2 x 2GB done on E8400 @ 510FSB/2040DDR3 but I don't think I want to post those - they may not seem very typical

    Last edited by bachus_anonym; 05-31-2008 at 11:39 PM.

  2. #2
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    New Hampshire (USA)
    Posts
    998
    Bachus_Anonym - Thanks for posting all your recent testing information and that new kit looks pretty special! I'm sorry if you have already shared (if you can share this) but what chips are they and have the yeilds been decent enough to get a few kits into the market soon?
    Asus Maximus III Formula (2001)
    Intel i7 860 (L924B516)
    Noctua D14
    Corsairs CMG4GX3M2A2000C2 (2 x 2GB) RAM
    eVGA GTX480
    DD-H20
    BIX GTX360
    MCP35X PWM
    Creative X-Fi Titanium PCI-e
    LG GGC-H20L Blu-Ray
    Toughpower 850w Modular
    GSkill Phoenix Pro SSD 120GB


    HEAT

  3. #3
    Xtreme X.I.P.
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Shipai
    Posts
    34,549
    wow, impressive 4gb results!
    ive been playing with 2gb sticks for a week or two, and man, they are such a btch to get to run well in dual channel
    well at least on the old p5k3 boards i tried... did you try theese on an intel board? is 790 really a lot easier for dual channel with 2gb sticks?

  4. #4
    Xtreme X.I.P.
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    5,065
    Quote Originally Posted by Roger_D25 View Post
    Bachus_Anonym - Thanks for posting all your recent testing information and that new kit looks pretty special! I'm sorry if you have already shared (if you can share this) but what chips are they and have the yeilds been decent enough to get a few kits into the market soon?
    Thanks Roger! ICs on which part you're asking about? Either way though, they all are built with the same devices

    Answering to you second question - 1800C8 2x2GB has been out for more than a month now; 2000C9 2x2GB should be available in stores in about a month; and 2133C9 2x1GB is not as much a matter of yield but rather broad platform support;
    Quote Originally Posted by saaya View Post
    wow, impressive 4gb results!
    ive been playing with 2gb sticks for a week or two, and man, they are such a btch to get to run well in dual channel
    well at least on the old p5k3 boards i tried... did you try theese on an intel board? is 790 really a lot easier for dual channel with 2gb sticks?
    You got it! Corsair Dominator 2000C9 2x2GB is only supported on NVIDIA 790i only at this moment. But 1800C8 2x2GB works on both on Intel X48, and NVIDIA 790i.

    Currently, 790i takes the 4GB DDR3-2000 cake, regardless whether it's with a dual-core at 500FSB in Linked Mode or quad-core at 400-460FSB in Unlinked Mode. Other platforms are not tuned for those speeds, at least not yet.


    * For reference only - Asus P5E3 Premium *
    1800C8 4GB kit - 450FSB / DDR3-1800 CL8 @ 1.80v - ORTHOS

    --- Click image for larger version ---

    * For reference only - Asus P5E3 Premium *
    1800C8 4GB kit - 450FSB / DDR3-1800 CL8 @ 1.80v - DualSPi32M

    --- Click image for larger version ---


  5. #5
    Xtreme X.I.P.
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Shipai
    Posts
    34,549
    Quote Originally Posted by bachus_anonym View Post
    Other platforms are not tuned for those speeds, at least not yet.
    well, do you think they ever will be?
    to be honest i have my doubts there is ONE config that would allow 2ghz dual channel stable on all or most boards with 2gb sticks. i have a feeling its like vtt and gtl tweaking, every setup has a different sweet spot

    Its really too bad though how bad the 2gb module support on intel boards is... i mean i have some sweet 2gb sticks up to 2ghz cas7 almost stable, in single channel of course, yet in dual channel i cant even get 1800 stable LOL
    i guess 790 is the way to go...

    i wonder if rajas pll mod will boost 2gb module clocking on intel chipsets, thatd be nice!

  6. #6
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    338
    Will these work in the 780i?

  7. #7
    Xtreme X.I.P.
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Shipai
    Posts
    34,549
    this is ddr3

  8. #8
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    470
    Very nice looking memory there - I Just a quick question... im planning to jump onto DDR3 pretty soon (prob with a 790i as I want SLI support) and im not sure which way to jump. How does 4x1gb of DDR3 perform vs. 2x2gb? Is it comparable? The reason im asking is that I may get 2x2gb right now, of something maybe like this:

    http://www.scan.co.uk/Products/Produ...oductID=822486

    And get a 2nd set later. However, if im gonna loose performance doing this then i would probably stump up the extra for a 4gb kit. Of course with 4x1gb it does give me the ability to bench with just 2 sticks in I guess.
    System Specs:
    Core i7 2600k
    Asus Maximus V Gene
    4x2gb G-Skill Ripjaw 2133mhz
    MSI Radeon R9 290X
    Asus Xonar Essence STX
    2x Crucial M4 256gb RAID 0
    Seagate 7200.12 3TB HDD
    Corsair AX860i.

    Watercooling Specs
    EK Supreme HF, XSPC EX360, XSPC EX240, DDC Ultra w/aquacomputer top, Aqualis XT res, Kryographics 290X GPU block

  9. #9
    Xtreme X.I.P.
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Shipai
    Posts
    34,549
    hmmm hard to tell, but from what ive seen 4x1gb seems to clock pretty well on 790 if you tweak it a little.
    ive seen 4x1gb at 1800+ cas7 iirc
    i havent played with 2gb sticks on 790 so far... but on intel chipsets 4x1gb is def better than 2x2gb

  10. #10
    Xtreme X.I.P.
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    5,065
    Quote Originally Posted by saaya View Post
    Its really too bad though how bad the 2gb module support on intel boards is... i mean i have some sweet 2gb sticks up to 2ghz cas7 almost stable, in single channel of course, yet in dual channel i cant even get 1800 stable LOL i guess 790 is the way to go...
    I think it's actually easier than some may think. You just need to switch to Dominators
    As far as 2GB on Intel X48 goes, things are looking better every day

    Quote Originally Posted by MikeMK View Post
    Very nice looking memory there - I Just a quick question... im planning to jump onto DDR3 pretty soon (prob with a 790i as I want SLI support) and im not sure which way to jump. How does 4x1gb of DDR3 perform vs. 2x2gb? Is it comparable? The reason im asking is that I may get 2x2gb right now, of something maybe like this: http://www.scan.co.uk/Products/Produ...oductID=822486
    And get a 2nd set later. However, if im gonna loose performance doing this then i would probably stump up the extra for a 4gb kit. Of course with 4x1gb it does give me the ability to bench with just 2 sticks in I guess.
    Awesome choice of RAM, Mike As you said, 4x1GB will give you versatility, since you still want to bench with 2x1GB. And going 2x1GB 2000C9 no, and adding another 2x1GB 2000C9 later will still work well for you. On 790i, you will still be able to hit at least 1800C8 with 4 DIMMs loaded.
    On the other hand, our 2x2GB kits are getting faster by the day! You will have a lot of fun benching it, believe me.

  11. #11
    Xtreme X.I.P.
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    5,065
    Hello again, in this double-post. Sorry for that, I just wanted to separate it from my reply above..

    I thought I will start adding a few more screenshots at a time, if you're still interested and to make it even more interesting, showing some OCing results with DDR3-2000 kit, on both dual-core E8400 and quad-core QX9770. I also listed most important BIOS settings that I found to allowed me to run those speeds.

    So, let me start today with a very mild overclock, but at relatively high FSB, as opposed to 400FSB from my initial post:

    New 4GB kit - C2D E8400 @ 510FSB / DDR3-2040 CL9 @ 1.90v - Dual SPi32M
    This is TW3X4G2000C9DFNV that we're launching at Computex 2008 next week.

    Code:
    P1 – [Enabled]
    P2 – [Enabled]
    -------
    CPU PLL Voltage - [1.70V]
    CPU VTT Voltage -[1.30V]
    Memory Voltage - [1.90V]
    NB Core Voltage - [1.70V]
    SB Core Voltage - [1.55V]
    CPU GTL_REF0 Ratio - [+28mV]
    CPU GTL_REF1 Ratio - [+26mV]
    CPU GTL_REF2 Ratio - [+26mV]
    CPU GTL_REF3 Ratio - [+28mV]
    NB GTL_REF Ratio - [Auto]
    DDR3 CHA1 Ref Voltage - [Auto]
    DDR3 CHB1 Ref Voltage - [Auto]
    DDR3 CHA2 Ref Voltage - [Auto]
    DDR3 CHB2 Ref Voltage - [Auto]
    --- Click image for larger version ---


    New 4GB kit - C2Q X9770 @ 467FSB / DDR3-2040 CL9 @ 1.90v - Quad SPi32M
    This is TW3X4G2000C9DFNV that we're launching at Computex 2008 next week.

    Code:
    P1 – [Enabled]
    P2 – [Enabled]
    -------
    CPU PLL Voltage - [1.60V]
    CPU VTT Voltage -[1.30V]
    Memory Voltage - [1.90V]
    NB Core Voltage - [1.70V]
    SB Core Voltage - [1.55V]
    CPU GTL_REF0 Ratio - [-14mV]
    CPU GTL_REF1 Ratio - [-16mV]
    CPU GTL_REF2 Ratio - [-16mV]
    CPU GTL_REF3 Ratio - [-14mV]
    NB GTL_REF Ratio - [Auto]
    DDR3 CHA1 Ref Voltage - [Auto]
    DDR3 CHB1 Ref Voltage - [Auto]
    DDR3 CHA2 Ref Voltage - [Auto]
    DDR3 CHB2 Ref Voltage - [Auto]
    --- Click image for larger version ---



    Tomorrow I will add few more screenshots at ~ 480FSB on QX9700


  12. #12
    Xtreme Legend
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    17,405
    it's good to see nvidia finally got on top of corruption problems

    my oh my those 4GB kits are flying

    i am surprised to see you use the same volts on that Asus X48 board as it usually requires some more volts on intel platform

    do you guys measure DRAM VTT on boards to see where it's at
    Team.AU
    Got tube?
    GIGABYTE Australia
    Need a GIGABYTE bios or support?



  13. #13
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    470
    Quote Originally Posted by bachus_anonym View Post
    I think it's actually easier than some may think. You just need to switch to Dominators
    As far as 2GB on Intel X48 goes, things are looking better every day

    Awesome choice of RAM, Mike As you said, 4x1GB will give you versatility, since you still want to bench with 2x1GB. And going 2x1GB 2000C9 no, and adding another 2x1GB 2000C9 later will still work well for you. On 790i, you will still be able to hit at least 1800C8 with 4 DIMMs loaded.
    On the other hand, our 2x2GB kits are getting faster by the day! You will have a lot of fun benching it, believe me.
    Thanks for the reply. I think i will probably end up going with the 2x1gb set then. That seems like a pretty good price for 2000mhz DDR3. While I have your attention, just wondered if I would be likely to match the latencies of this 1800mhz set (7-7-7) with the kit I posted above?

    http://www.scan.co.uk/Products/Produ...oductID=700247


    Obviously there is a huge price difference, which is what got me wondering.

    Ignor this post - i noticed the memory in my previous post changed from 2000mhz to 1600mhz LOL! they must have messed up the listing on their site
    Last edited by MikeMK; 06-05-2008 at 11:30 AM.
    System Specs:
    Core i7 2600k
    Asus Maximus V Gene
    4x2gb G-Skill Ripjaw 2133mhz
    MSI Radeon R9 290X
    Asus Xonar Essence STX
    2x Crucial M4 256gb RAID 0
    Seagate 7200.12 3TB HDD
    Corsair AX860i.

    Watercooling Specs
    EK Supreme HF, XSPC EX360, XSPC EX240, DDC Ultra w/aquacomputer top, Aqualis XT res, Kryographics 290X GPU block

  14. #14
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    [EU] Latvia, Jelgava
    Posts
    1,736
    Quote Originally Posted by dinos22 View Post
    my oh my those 4GB kits are flying
    Don't you wanna retail 4GB kit rated at 2GHz and CL8?

  15. #15
    Xtreme X.I.P.
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Shipai
    Posts
    34,549
    Quote Originally Posted by bachus_anonym View Post
    I think it's actually easier than some may think. You just need to switch to Dominators
    hehehe
    well, send us some, all shamino got so far is the 1600s afaik
    Quote Originally Posted by bachus_anonym View Post
    As far as 2GB on Intel X48 goes, things are looking better every day
    yeah but thats tweaking right? or do you mean bios improvements?

    Quote Originally Posted by bachus_anonym View Post
    Awesome choice of RAM, Mike As you said, 4x1GB will give you versatility, since you still want to bench with 2x1GB.
    yeah, thats why i always recommended 4x1gb

  16. #16
    Xtreme Legend
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    17,405
    Quote Originally Posted by Kasparz View Post
    Don't you wanna retail 4GB kit rated at 2GHz and CL8?
    are you advertising your RAM or asking a question

    i only test corsairs, i don't work there so better ask Michal or someone heheheh
    Team.AU
    Got tube?
    GIGABYTE Australia
    Need a GIGABYTE bios or support?



  17. #17
    Xtreme X.I.P.
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    5,065
    Quote Originally Posted by Kasparz View Post
    Don't you wanna retail 4GB kit rated at 2GHz and CL8?
    Old news, about 2½ months old piece of news We can all sit here and argue about true meaning of "retail kit", though. It may have a different meaning to different DRAM module makers, depending on a size, market share and goals. But that's not the subject of this post. Thank you!

    In any case, for what it's worth

    Corsair Dominator 4GB kit - 500FSB / DDR3-2000 CL8 @ 2.00v - ORTHOS
    Development work from a while ago. May not represent actual current or future product. This is NOT a 1600C9 kit as indicated by SPD data

    --- Click image for larger version ---


    Corsair Dominator 4GB kit - 510FSB / DDR3-2040 CL8 @ 2.00v - DualSPi32M
    Development work from a while ago. May not represent actual current or future product. This is NOT a 1600C9 kit as indicated by SPD data

    --- Click image for larger version ---



    Quote Originally Posted by saaya View Post
    yeah but thats tweaking right? or do you mean bios improvements?
    Yes, tweaking for now, but still not close enough to where it should be.

    BTW, congrats on your new job, Sascha
    Last edited by bachus_anonym; 06-12-2008 at 09:25 PM.

  18. #18
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    668
    So sascha moved to Foxconn?

  19. #19
    Xtreme X.I.P.
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Shipai
    Posts
    34,549
    Quote Originally Posted by dinos22 View Post
    are you advertising your RAM or asking a question
    i only test corsairs, i don't work there so better ask Michal or someone heheheh
    ahhh, come on dinos, give him a break man
    thats the same he does for csx...
    he doesnt get paid, and he would work with other mfgs too if they would approach him, im sure.

    i dont think he wanted to advertize any mfgs mem, he was just poking why the mem is rated 2ghz cas9, cause the chips can run 2ghz cas8, and thats what people want. and i actually agree with him and am a bit surprised why the kits are rated cas9.

    Quote Originally Posted by bachus_anonym View Post
    Yes, tweaking for now, but still not close enough to where it should be.
    yeah... and then theres nehalem...
    from what i can tell intel really didnt provide anybody with a lot of infos on how to tweak x38/x48 well... i hope itll be better with nehalem, cause poking around in this huge undocumented register map is kinda annoying :P
    Quote Originally Posted by bachus_anonym View Post
    BTW, congrats on your new job, Sascha
    thanks man! looking forward to work with ya
    i got a 2gb and 4gb kit of the new samsung stuff here and am looking forward to play with it! i gotta check with shamino if the office is open for the weekend in case im starting to feel better and my cold wears off

    Quote Originally Posted by DMH View Post
    So sascha moved to Foxconn?
    i moved to foxconn, AND i moved to tai pei
    Last edited by saaya; 06-13-2008 at 01:35 AM.

  20. #20
    "AKA Alonso"
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    263
    Quote Originally Posted by saaya View Post
    hehehe
    well, send us some, all shamino got so far is the 1600s afaik
    Peter should have received the 2x1GB 2133MHz ES.

    Btw.: Wish you more fun @ Foxconn, Sascha
    Last edited by Bluebeard; 06-13-2008 at 06:59 AM.

  21. #21
    Xtreme X.I.P.
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Shipai
    Posts
    34,549
    nice, lookin forward to playing with them
    and thanks

  22. #22
    Xtreme Cruncher
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Finland, Eura
    Posts
    1,744
    So these are with Samsung chips?

    When did you change job, Sascha?


    http://mato78.com - Finnish PC Hardware news & reviews
    BulldogPO @ Twitter


  23. #23
    Xtreme X.I.P.
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Shipai
    Posts
    34,549
    just before computex

  24. #24
    OCTeamHungary™
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Hungary
    Posts
    509
    Quote Originally Posted by saaya View Post
    just before computex
    good starting. chilling at Foxconn booth. lucky man!

  25. #25
    Xtreme X.I.P.
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Shipai
    Posts
    34,549
    Quote Originally Posted by jugeen View Post
    good starting. chilling at Foxconn booth. lucky man!
    yeah, computex was awesome... too bad i couldnt meet up with charlie and juan from CH tho... after computex i felt a bit lonely sorounded by asians
    there realy are almost no non asians here... on a busy day in the center with crowds of hundreds and hundreds of people, you might spot maybe 5 non asians or so...

    i found the 2000 and 2133 corsair kits, shamino was looking for them, it seems one of the engineers took them to do some tests

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •