Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: My tec liquid chiller project

My tec liquid chiller project

I've kept up with computer technology and hardware for about 10 years
    but never built my own until February. I went into it whole hog - water cooling
    and overclocking. It didn't take me long to start thinking about sub-ambient
    cooling. Obviously, the main difficulty in cooling a processor is the fact that
    150+ watts are being generated in area less than 1.5 sq inches ( high overclocks ).
    Phase change gets the job done, but involves skills that I don't
    possess ( I'm an electrician, not a HVAC guy ). So, I gravitated towards TECs.
    I decided that the best results would come from building a liquid chiller
    using multiple TECs. After deciding on my design, I found this part of the
    forums, which has given me additional information .

Here is my design:

One 12" x 1.75" copper chamber mounted to the cold side of the
    TECs that is part of the cooling loop of the processor.

Two 12" x 2" copper chambers mounted on the hot side of the
    TECs and part of the cooling loop for the TECs.

Two PA 120.3 with Sanyo Denki fans to cool the TECs.

Blueline 30HD pump for the hotside loop.

PDD-20 pump (rebadged Iwaki MD 20) and 24volt power supply
    for the coldside loop.

Two server PSUs for power

14 TEC1-12706 tecs

I was going to use 10 TECs in an attempt to get the best temps and stay
    under 600 watts used, but right before assembly I decided to add 4 more
    TECs ( I had enough room for them and enough power ).

Here are some pictures:

These are the copper bars I used. Four of the bars are 3/8" thick and two are
    3/16" thick.

I used a hand-me-down Black&Decker router and a two flute spiral cut router bit to make the chambers.

I had some trouble at first keeping the depth consistent with that cheap router, but on average,
    the dimensions of the middle chamber is 11.5" x 1.5" x 3/8"