Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 28

Thread: DDR3 1000MHz 32M @ 4GHz competition !!!

  1. #1
    Xtreme 3DTeam Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Where You don't get nothin' for $
    Posts
    1,001

    Exclamation DDR3 1000MHz 32M @ 4GHz competition !!!

    Cause the 1000MHz club thread got a bit boring now I think it's time to compare our 32M results.

    RULES: Only post Your 32M @ 1000MHz @ 4GHz here - tell us what board, chipset, RAM, CPU and what cooling on the RAM You are using.

    If You use tweaks You have to tell it in Your post (copywaza, maxmem, large cache, etc.)

    Do not post any other SP results, RAM or CPU speeds !!!

    I'll make the start:

    Board: Maximus Extreme

    Chipset: X38

    RAM: Cellshock DDR3-1866

    CPU: E8500

    Cooling on RAM: Air

    32M not tweaked !!!



    Last edited by camouflage; 05-08-2008 at 12:56 AM. Reason: New subtimings - better score !!!
    If nothing works nomore......:


  2. #2
    Aussie God
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Copenhagen, Denmark
    Posts
    4,702
    Well....
    Making a toplist?
    I might join up once I have a little spare time... But 4ghz...? Are we running passive cooling? 4.5ghz is easy with air.... 4.75ghz would be the very best, and yet allow everybody to throw in a try....
    Competition ranking;
    2005; Netbyte, Karise/Denmark #1 @ PiFast
    2008; AOCM II, Minfeld/Germany #2 @ 01SE/AM3/8M (w. Oliver)
    2009; AMD-OC, Viborg/Denmark #2 @ max freq Gigabyte TweaKING, Paris/France #4 @ 32M/01SE (w. Vanovich)
    2010: Gigabyte P55, Hamburg/Germany #6 @ wprime 1024/SPI 1M (w. THC) AOCM III, Minfeld/Germany #6 @ 01SE/AM3/1M/8M (w. NeoForce)

    Spectating;
    2010; GOOC 2010 Many thanks to Gigabyte!


  3. #3
    Xtreme 3DTeam Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Where You don't get nothin' for $
    Posts
    1,001
    Quote Originally Posted by M.Beier View Post
    Well....
    Making a toplist?
    I might join up once I have a little spare time... But 4ghz...? Are we running passive cooling? 4.5ghz is easy with air.... 4.75ghz would be the very best, and yet allow everybody to throw in a try....
    Not everyone has a chip running 4.5 or 4.75.........
    If nothing works nomore......:


  4. #4
    Xtreme Legend
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    17,468
    beier
    these threads are about efficiency rather than max clocks lol

    nice time mate
    i'll try join in with my 790i and x48t-dq6 when i do some testing soon
    Team.AU
    Got tube?
    GIGABYTE Australia
    Need a GIGABYTE bios or support?



  5. #5
    Aussie God
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Copenhagen, Denmark
    Posts
    4,702
    dino, I know I know, but yet, its more fun with higher clocks... Not as much waiting while runing...
    Competition ranking;
    2005; Netbyte, Karise/Denmark #1 @ PiFast
    2008; AOCM II, Minfeld/Germany #2 @ 01SE/AM3/8M (w. Oliver)
    2009; AMD-OC, Viborg/Denmark #2 @ max freq Gigabyte TweaKING, Paris/France #4 @ 32M/01SE (w. Vanovich)
    2010: Gigabyte P55, Hamburg/Germany #6 @ wprime 1024/SPI 1M (w. THC) AOCM III, Minfeld/Germany #6 @ 01SE/AM3/1M/8M (w. NeoForce)

    Spectating;
    2010; GOOC 2010 Many thanks to Gigabyte!


  6. #6
    xtreme energy
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Europe, Latvia
    Posts
    4,233
    Will join but I am looking at sub 11min at least
    ...

  7. #7
    Xtreme 3DTeam Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Where You don't get nothin' for $
    Posts
    1,001
    Quote Originally Posted by kiwi View Post
    Will join but I am looking at sub 11min at least
    Only possible with copywaza..........
    If nothing works nomore......:


  8. #8
    Aussie God
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Copenhagen, Denmark
    Posts
    4,702
    Quote Originally Posted by camouflage View Post
    Only possible with copywaza..........
    Kiwi will use CDT, Im sure...
    But no, possible without... CL 6-6-5-12 or might even CL 7-6-5-12 should be effecient... I just need a mobo, then I'll give it a shot... Mobo is on its way...
    Competition ranking;
    2005; Netbyte, Karise/Denmark #1 @ PiFast
    2008; AOCM II, Minfeld/Germany #2 @ 01SE/AM3/8M (w. Oliver)
    2009; AMD-OC, Viborg/Denmark #2 @ max freq Gigabyte TweaKING, Paris/France #4 @ 32M/01SE (w. Vanovich)
    2010: Gigabyte P55, Hamburg/Germany #6 @ wprime 1024/SPI 1M (w. THC) AOCM III, Minfeld/Germany #6 @ 01SE/AM3/1M/8M (w. NeoForce)

    Spectating;
    2010; GOOC 2010 Many thanks to Gigabyte!


  9. #9
    Xtreme 3DTeam Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Where You don't get nothin' for $
    Posts
    1,001
    Quote Originally Posted by M.Beier View Post
    Kiwi will use CDT, Im sure...
    But no, possible without... CL 6-6-5-12 or might even CL 7-6-5-12 should be effecient... I just need a mobo, then I'll give it a shot... Mobo is on its way...
    For You sure - with ghetto dry ice @ 6-6-5-X..............
    If nothing works nomore......:


  10. #10
    Xtreme Legend
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    17,468
    i think you can do better my friend

    have a look at the CPU i'm using, FSB and RAM speed/timings

    Team.AU
    Got tube?
    GIGABYTE Australia
    Need a GIGABYTE bios or support?



  11. #11
    Xtreme 3DTeam Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Where You don't get nothin' for $
    Posts
    1,001
    Quote Originally Posted by dinos22 View Post
    i think you can do better my friend

    have a look at the CPU i'm using, FSB and RAM speed/timings

    Nice ! Sadly my ME hates everything with 7...... - 7-7-7-x no go, 8-7-7-x no go, 8-8-7-x no go......... - only 8-8-8-x is working fine, but I can play with the subtimings
    If nothing works nomore......:


  12. #12
    Champion
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    korea
    Posts
    59
    if my ram possible 7-7-7-21-1T ramtiming at 1000Mhz, I can reduce 32m super-pi time better than.

    CPU : E8500
    RAM : OCZ PC2-14400 2GB DDR3
    MOBO : XFX 790I Ultra SLI (BIOS : P04)
    POWER : OCZ POWERSTREAM 520W SLI
    COOLING : EXOS 2.5 + D-TEK
    GRAPHIC : emtek 8500gt 512mb
    OS : Windows XP SP2

    no copy waza tweak

    setting : linked, sync mode, p1 & p2 enable

    [system#1] LittleBoy
    cpu : core i5 750
    mainboard : MSI P55-GD65
    ram : gskill Trident PC16000 6GB
    vga : EVGA 7900GTO
    HDD : SM 320GB + Hitachi 250GB
    Power : PC & Cooling Power 750W

    [ My Blog Address ]
    http://extremeoverclock.tistory.com/

  13. #13
    Xtreme Legend
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    17,468
    32M SuperPi time: 11m 01.515s
    CPU: Intel E8500 3.16GHz
    CPU Freq: 4000MHz @ 1.27v
    Brand: Corsair Dominators 1800MHz CAS7
    Model: DDR3-1800 7-7-7-20 2.0v
    Size: 2GB Kit ( 2x1GB )
    Voltage Used: 2.30V (max vdimm it likes >> anything more and results worsen)
    Timings: 8-7-6-18 1T (very tight sumbtimings)
    Frequency: 1000MHz ( DDR3-2000 )
    Cooling: Air Cooling, 24C room temp
    Motherboard: Asus P5E3 DLX 0703 bios
    MCH Volts Used: 1.65-1.7v (fan blasting at the heatsink)
    GFX Card: Gigabyte 9800GX2
    PSU: Corsair HX620 (620W PSU)
    Power meter: Powermate attached measuring 210W from the wall during 32M SuperPi run
    Other settings: AI Clock Twister on Moderate; Transaction Booster: 3
    510 Maxmem,
    1GB wazza file from one partition to another



    Team.AU
    Got tube?
    GIGABYTE Australia
    Need a GIGABYTE bios or support?



  14. #14
    Xtreme Legend
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    17,468
    you should not limit the competition too much

    that RAM and RAM frequency is almost impossible to get unless you have a 790i board

    not many MCHs can handle such speeds on Intel plaform

    open it up to 4GHz 32M SuperPi comp on any platform (well exclude Nehalem maybe hahah )
    Team.AU
    Got tube?
    GIGABYTE Australia
    Need a GIGABYTE bios or support?



  15. #15
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    France
    Posts
    597
    I made 11mn07s but this 11mn01 is really impressive !

    7.5x534 RAM 853 6-6-5-15 1T ultra tight timings.
    XP Pro SP1 with heavy tweaks

  16. #16
    xtreme energy
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Europe, Latvia
    Posts
    4,233
    Dinos is right, only good Intel mch will handle 1000Mhz dual channel.


    Quote Originally Posted by jmax_oc View Post
    I made 11mn07s but this 11mn01 is really impressive !

    7.5x534 RAM 853 6-6-5-15 1T ultra tight timings.
    XP Pro SP1 with heavy tweaks

    Have a look at this
    ...

  17. #17
    Xtreme 3DTeam Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Where You don't get nothin' for $
    Posts
    1,001
    Hey guys - keep cool. Sure this is not possible for everybody - but it's like in the Formula 1, not many PPL can start to race there..........

    If nothing works nomore......:


  18. #18
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    France
    Posts
    597
    Quote Originally Posted by kiwi View Post
    Dinos is right, only good Intel mch will handle 1000Mhz
    Have a look at this
    PL = 6 is very good . I can't go below PL = 7 for this 32M. What was your CAS6 frequency ?

  19. #19
    Xtreme Legend
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    17,468
    Quote Originally Posted by jmax_oc View Post
    PL = 6 is very good . I can't go below PL = 7 for this 32M. What was your CAS6 frequency ?
    PL-6 at 500MHz can be achieved if you run tight RAM timings on 266MHz strap (at least CAS7 (which is really hard on RAM)) or lower RAM ratio and CAS6

    it should work

    nice time kiwi

    i've actually done a couple of runs at 3980MHz getting 11m02s which is what my goal was ...to get to sub-11m under Jody's time

    with CAS7 i would 100% beat it easy...............with CAS7 and PL6 >> it would be around 10m 50s at 4Ghz and probably around 3950 for sub 11m
    Team.AU
    Got tube?
    GIGABYTE Australia
    Need a GIGABYTE bios or support?



  20. #20
    Aussie God
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Copenhagen, Denmark
    Posts
    4,702
    Quote Originally Posted by kiwi View Post
    Dinos is right, only good Intel mch will handle 1000Mhz dual channel.





    Have a look at this
    thats a quite impressive run
    PL:6 gives very good performance, I can second that !

    http://billedeupload.dk/showpic-2119.jpg
    Not 4000mhz CPU, heh... Not tweaked, just wanted a fast result, will announce further info once below 8min 30sec
    2.2v vdimm
    Competition ranking;
    2005; Netbyte, Karise/Denmark #1 @ PiFast
    2008; AOCM II, Minfeld/Germany #2 @ 01SE/AM3/8M (w. Oliver)
    2009; AMD-OC, Viborg/Denmark #2 @ max freq Gigabyte TweaKING, Paris/France #4 @ 32M/01SE (w. Vanovich)
    2010: Gigabyte P55, Hamburg/Germany #6 @ wprime 1024/SPI 1M (w. THC) AOCM III, Minfeld/Germany #6 @ 01SE/AM3/1M/8M (w. NeoForce)

    Spectating;
    2010; GOOC 2010 Many thanks to Gigabyte!


  21. #21
    Xtreme Legend
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    17,468
    Quote Originally Posted by M.Beier View Post
    thats a quite impressive run
    PL:6 gives very good performance, I can second that !

    http://billedeupload.dk/showpic-2119.jpg
    Not 4000mhz CPU, heh... Not tweaked, just wanted a fast result, will announce further info once below 8min 30sec
    2.2v vdimm
    405x13.5 correct?
    if untweaked and you think you can actually do 8m 30s than it's definitely 13.5x multiplier
    possible 13xmulti if is what i think actually but i don't know how easy it will be to hit that time though
    Team.AU
    Got tube?
    GIGABYTE Australia
    Need a GIGABYTE bios or support?



  22. #22
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    France
    Posts
    597
    Yep I know to go and do some benches with PL6 but I don't manage to achieve a complete 32M run .
    Look at this :

    Impossible to be stable at 1GHz with P5E3 WS. Too tight chipset timings

  23. #23
    Xtreme Legend
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    17,468
    maybe your RAM cannot do those timings
    try to use 7-6-6-x or 7-7-7-x timings and see what happens
    Team.AU
    Got tube?
    GIGABYTE Australia
    Need a GIGABYTE bios or support?



  24. #24
    Aussie God
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Copenhagen, Denmark
    Posts
    4,702
    Hmm, I wont confirm/denie anything regarding multi, however, its X38, 1:2, so 455FSB
    Reason for 8min 30s is there's hundreds of mhz's left in CPU, atleast thats my belives...

    Wont announce what freq before the upcoming weekend

    EDIT:
    And trfc can go down by another 30...! ras to cas maybe to 5... 960mhz 6-5-5-12 PL6 would do very good

    EDIT2:
    Jmax, vdimm? Its quite aggressive for 32M !!! Especially if you compare with the "review" threads in this section...
    Last edited by M.Beier; 05-19-2008 at 05:26 PM.
    Competition ranking;
    2005; Netbyte, Karise/Denmark #1 @ PiFast
    2008; AOCM II, Minfeld/Germany #2 @ 01SE/AM3/8M (w. Oliver)
    2009; AMD-OC, Viborg/Denmark #2 @ max freq Gigabyte TweaKING, Paris/France #4 @ 32M/01SE (w. Vanovich)
    2010: Gigabyte P55, Hamburg/Germany #6 @ wprime 1024/SPI 1M (w. THC) AOCM III, Minfeld/Germany #6 @ 01SE/AM3/1M/8M (w. NeoForce)

    Spectating;
    2010; GOOC 2010 Many thanks to Gigabyte!


  25. #25
    Xtreme Legend
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    17,468
    Quote Originally Posted by M.Beier View Post
    Hmm, I wont confirm/denie anything regarding multi, however, its X38, 1:2, so 455FSB
    Reason for 8min 30s is there's hundreds of mhz's left in CPU, atleast thats my belives...

    Wont announce what freq before the upcoming weekend

    my brain is not engaged
    i thought i saw 811MHz on RAM
    911MHz on RAM is delicious wow

    in that case we are looking at 11.5x multi

    i would be shocked if you told me you pulled this off at 11x multi
    actually...

    don't know if it is possible unless you are able to run 200MHz strap with PL-5 hehehehe and 6-5-5-15 and extremely tight tRFC, Write to Precharge and tWTR hehehe >> you do that and you will get this sub-9m @ sub 5GHz lol
    Last edited by dinos22; 05-19-2008 at 05:24 PM.
    Team.AU
    Got tube?
    GIGABYTE Australia
    Need a GIGABYTE bios or support?



Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •