MMM
Page 151 of 189 FirstFirst ... 51101141148149150151152153154161 ... LastLast
Results 3,751 to 3,775 of 4707

Thread: X48 Rampage Formula Preview.

  1. #3751
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Ostend - Belgium
    Posts
    1,253
    Quote Originally Posted by Trust13 View Post
    Just an idea: try it with higher voltage for the memory. Even if the memory-test runs fine for hours, it looks like in Win7 X64 the memory needs more voltage with tREF 16120. In my case i got stability again with 0001-mod Bios, 1.14v VTT and NB 1.29v (Bios, 1.26-1.28v real), memory 1.86v instead of 1.84v.
    The reason that I'm thinking that it's the NB Voltage is because it fails Prime95 Blend in Ubuntu 64 bit with the updated option ROMs and it doesn't do that with the original one but the original one gives me a BSOD in Windows 7 Ultimate X64.

  2. #3752
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Ostend - Belgium
    Posts
    1,253
    Over 4 hours Prime95 Blend stable with Wine in Ubuntu 64 bit.



  3. #3753
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Sydney - Australia
    Posts
    223
    So it was vNB then??
    ASUS Rampage Formula X48 (Bios 1002 SoLoR MOD) | Intel Q6600 @ 3.6GHz (8x450) | 2x2GB GSKILL F2-9600CL5-2GBTD @ 1200Mhz
    XSPC Rasa + RX360 | Antec P182 | Xonar ST+H6 | XFX Black Edition 850W | BFG 280GTX OC 713/1458/2646 1.149V

  4. #3754
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Ostend - Belgium
    Posts
    1,253
    Quote Originally Posted by leo27 View Post
    So it was vNB then??
    Ubuntu is happy with vNB 1.28V and the MOD BIOS 0001. I'm going to try Windows 7 Ultimate X64 and hope I can pass the 4 hours also without problems.

    It looks like the updated option ROMs are going to fix the BSOD. No need to bump the vCore higher than necessary to make it go away. That was the solution to fix the MACHINE_CHECK_EXCEPTION BSOD in Windows XP X64 and it would probably be the same with the original 0001 BIOS and Windows 7 Ultimate X64 to fix the 0x00000124 BSOD.

    Maybe now with the updated option ROMs it's going to be possible to use lower vCore.

  5. #3755
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Ostend - Belgium
    Posts
    1,253
    Succesfully passed the 4 hours with MOD BIOS 0001.

    Forget about lower vCore. Windows 7 Ultimate X64 needs more.



  6. #3756
    Oh you got my attention, as I am running Win7 X64 as well.

  7. #3757
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Sydney - Australia
    Posts
    223
    so A-Grey did any other voltages need to be raised other than vCore??
    ASUS Rampage Formula X48 (Bios 1002 SoLoR MOD) | Intel Q6600 @ 3.6GHz (8x450) | 2x2GB GSKILL F2-9600CL5-2GBTD @ 1200Mhz
    XSPC Rasa + RX360 | Antec P182 | Xonar ST+H6 | XFX Black Edition 850W | BFG 280GTX OC 713/1458/2646 1.149V

  8. #3758
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Ostend - Belgium
    Posts
    1,253
    Quote Originally Posted by leo27 View Post
    so A-Grey did any other voltages need to be raised other than vCore??
    No, only the NB Voltage and CPU Voltage.

    I already knew that it would need a little more NB Voltage than with with the original 0001 BIOS when I saw the change in the DRAM Clock Fine Delays.

    The CPU Voltage also needed a little bit more to push it over the 4 hours without making an error in Prime95.


    My BIOS settings:

    Code:
    Ai Overclock Tuner [Manual]
    CPU Ratio Setting [9.0]
    FSB Strap to North Bridge [400MHz]
    FSB Frequency [450MHz]
    PCIE Frequency [100MHz]
    DRAM Frequency [1199MHz]
    DRAM Command Rate [2N]
    DRAM CLK Skew on Channel A/B [Auto]
    DRAM Timing Control [Manual]
    Refresh Period [16120]
    DRAM Static Read Control [Disabled]
    Ai Clock Twister [Lighter]
    Ai Transaction Booster [Manual]
    Common Performance Level [06]
    Pull-In of CH A/B all disabled
    CPU Voltage [1.31250V]
    CPU PLL Voltage [1.50V]
    North Bridge Voltage [1.31V]
    DRAM Voltage [1.80V]
    FSB Termination Voltage [1.20V]
    South Bridge Voltage [1.05V]
    SB 1.5V Voltage [1.50V]
    Loadline Calibration [Disabled]
    CPU GTL Voltage Reference [0.63X]
    NB GTL Voltage Reference [0.67X]
    DRAM Controller Voltage REF [Auto]
    DRAM Channel A/B Voltage REF [Auto]
    CPU Spread Spectrum [Disabled]
    PCIE Spread Spectrum [Disabled]
    CPU Clock Skew [Delay 300ps]
    NB Clock Skew [Delay 200ps]
    Last edited by Alien Grey; 05-30-2010 at 02:56 AM. Reason: Forgot to add Refresh Period in BIOS settings

  9. #3759
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    142
    Any chance you could post your 0001 modded bios?
    Workstation >>> ASUS P8P67 WS Revolution :: Intel Core i7 2600K @ 4.5GHz - 1.29v :: 16GB Corsair Vengeance 1600MHz CL8 :: ASUS GTX 580 DIRECTCU II :: Creative X-Fi Titanium HD :: 80GB Intel X25-M G2 :: 4 x 150gb Velociraptor [RAID-0] :: 1TB Western Digital Black
    Laptop >>> MSI GX740 :: Intel Core i7 920XM :: 8GB Kingston HyperX CL9 :: Radeon 5870M @ 800MHz - 0.98v :: 160GB Intel X25-M G2 :: 500GB Western Digital Scorpio Black @ OBHD

  10. #3760
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    258
    Quote Originally Posted by Darkstormz View Post
    Any chance you could post your 0001 modded bios?
    http://solor.windowsdream.com/Asus.R...mula/BIOS/MOD/

    1002bMOD = 0001 MOD, just changed some strings to get some version consistancy and IF 0001 ever becomes offical im sure it will be in 11XX range because of new feature. So calling this 1002 does not hurt anything.

  11. #3761
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    142
    Quote Originally Posted by SoLoR View Post
    http://solor.windowsdream.com/Asus.R...mula/BIOS/MOD/

    1002bMOD = 0001 MOD, just changed some strings to get some version consistancy and IF 0001 ever becomes offical im sure it will be in 11XX range because of new feature. So calling this 1002 does not hurt anything.
    ahh thanks alot
    Workstation >>> ASUS P8P67 WS Revolution :: Intel Core i7 2600K @ 4.5GHz - 1.29v :: 16GB Corsair Vengeance 1600MHz CL8 :: ASUS GTX 580 DIRECTCU II :: Creative X-Fi Titanium HD :: 80GB Intel X25-M G2 :: 4 x 150gb Velociraptor [RAID-0] :: 1TB Western Digital Black
    Laptop >>> MSI GX740 :: Intel Core i7 920XM :: 8GB Kingston HyperX CL9 :: Radeon 5870M @ 800MHz - 0.98v :: 160GB Intel X25-M G2 :: 500GB Western Digital Scorpio Black @ OBHD

  12. #3762
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Ostend - Belgium
    Posts
    1,253
    @SoLoR

    Euhmm... did you just fix the most annoying bug in the BIOS for ASUS. It's still early to call it 100% stable but I'm making progress being MemTest For Windows stable.



  13. #3763
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    258
    Quote Originally Posted by Alien Grey View Post
    @SoLoR

    Euhmm... did you just fix the most annoying bug in the BIOS for ASUS. It's still early to call it 100% stable but I'm making progress being MemTest For Windows stable.
    if i did something i did not do intentionaly.... i can try to break it again

  14. #3764
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Ostend - Belgium
    Posts
    1,253
    I think it's going to be possible to have it stable running at 9 X 470MHz and DDR 1253MHz with tRD 6 and tREF 16120T.


    SoLoR fixed it for us without knowing it. We really need the updated option ROMs. This is the key to have it running stable with DDR +1200MHz. If ASUS took the time to try them out they would have found this a long time a go but they didn't so they couldn't fix it for us.

    An other thing that I've found thanks to Trust13 and OLDcomer is to use CPU GTL Voltage Reference 0.67X when using Ai Clock Twister Lighter. It isn't the FSB termination Voltage that let you run it stable with lower CPU Voltage it's the CPU GTL Voltage Reference. At 0.63X it was impossible to have the CPU stable at 4.23GHz and using more FSB Termination Voltage and CPU Voltage couldn't make it more stable. At 4.23GHz it likes to run with low FSB Termination Voltage and CPU GTL Voltage Reference 0.67X with lower CPU Voltage than I was expecting to have to use.

    The downside is that you need more NB Voltage to run it stable with the updated option ROMs but I don't think that this is a big problem if we can run stable at higher speeds.

    The higher NB voltage is probably because the DRAM Clock Fine Delays increase with 1T with the higher NB Voltage. Maybe delaying the DRAM CLK Skew on Channel A/B is going to fix that but I didn't try it yet. It has to run stable before I can try that.

  15. #3765
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Sydney - Australia
    Posts
    223
    sounds like good progress, i wish we new the import of newer option roms months ago though
    ASUS Rampage Formula X48 (Bios 1002 SoLoR MOD) | Intel Q6600 @ 3.6GHz (8x450) | 2x2GB GSKILL F2-9600CL5-2GBTD @ 1200Mhz
    XSPC Rasa + RX360 | Antec P182 | Xonar ST+H6 | XFX Black Edition 850W | BFG 280GTX OC 713/1458/2646 1.149V

  16. #3766
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    258
    Quote Originally Posted by leo27 View Post
    sounds like good progress, i wish we new the import of newer option roms months ago though
    Well... im kinda moding bios since i learned how to do it more then a year ago around bios 0803. I however dont want to promote them, because i dont want to be responsible if something breaks and/or dont work... Until i break only my mobo because of bad bios flash (happened once), its ok. If i would break someone elses, then it wouldnt be that ok Also main issue was i never tought it could improve OC ability, because honestly it doesnt do anything for me... im "locked" on 8x451mhz (3608) and cant get even mhz more 100% stable (stoped trying last summer and just accepted this fact), why... beats me, but i guess its just bad cpu.
    Last edited by SoLoR; 05-31-2010 at 03:32 AM.

  17. #3767
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Ostend - Belgium
    Posts
    1,253
    There's definitely progress. It's like a thought you've got to delay the DRAM CLK Skew on Channel A/B to lower the NB Voltage and stabilize the board at these speeds.

  18. #3768
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Athens,Greece
    Posts
    628
    Quote Originally Posted by Spyrus View Post
    6600 works ok for me , no issues with 6590 either.
    SoLoR do not know if previous 6590 or original 6685 had the same problem:
    When moving scroll bar of Firefox i see the CPU Usage to increase for firefox.exe.
    That is ok, have seen it also on my laptop,
    but i can see also some crackling noise coming from a game
    that is running in background (alt+tab in firefox while playing and
    immediately start scrolling).

    Can you confirm this behaviour? I would try with Media player for example
    and see if there occurs too, but i am at work again (all thoughts come up here )
    E8400 TRUE120@Asus Maximus Formula@2x2GB Geil Evo One 800MHz 4-4-4@Corsair HX 620W
    Sapphire HD6850 1GB@Samsung 830 128GB@Casetek 1022-5@LG 19" 1970HQ
    Creative Inspire 5.1 5100@Samsung SH-S203B SA@CM Quickfire Pro Red@Logitech G-600

  19. #3769
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    258
    Quote Originally Posted by Spyrus View Post
    Can you confirm this behaviour? I would try with Media player for example
    and see if there occurs too, but i am at work again (all thoughts come up here )
    didnt notice anything like this... this might be dpc latency issues people randomly reports while playing sound... For example you have some sound playing (in your case game) and then you use some program that causes cpu usage spikes (using lots of interrupts) and sound starts to crackle. This sound crackling issue is (almost) always because of dpc latency spikes and cant be caused by lots of things like drivers, applications etc etc. I personaly have absolutly no issues with onboard soundcard, but its also true i dont play games much, only BC2 and WoW once in a while but didnt notice anything... Im still wating on some new drivers... slack soundmax and drivers form a year ago :< i couldnt make THX TruSound work with it yet as well, but in all honesty i gave up quickly...

  20. #3770
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Athens,Greece
    Posts
    628
    'dpc latency spikes' i googled it to investigate further. I will do some test and report back.

    Edit: Used the dpc checker ... no spikes found.
    Last edited by Spyrus; 06-01-2010 at 09:17 AM.
    E8400 TRUE120@Asus Maximus Formula@2x2GB Geil Evo One 800MHz 4-4-4@Corsair HX 620W
    Sapphire HD6850 1GB@Samsung 830 128GB@Casetek 1022-5@LG 19" 1970HQ
    Creative Inspire 5.1 5100@Samsung SH-S203B SA@CM Quickfire Pro Red@Logitech G-600

  21. #3771
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Bulgaria
    Posts
    238
    I noticed, that some of you(especially Alien Grey) are using CPU/NB Skews with 100ps difference, but with values like 300ps/200ps. Since 100ps/none was the key reason to be able to do more than 460FSB, does higher value skews, but with 100ps difference, do any better compared to 100ps/none?
    ASUS P5E Deluxe X48 | C2Q Q9550@testing[Fuzion v2+MCR320+MCP655] | G.Skill 4x2GB F2-8800CL5D-4GBPQ@testing | Sapphire 4870X2@ testing | 150GB WD VelociRaptor + 2xWD6400AAKS | Chieftec CFT-850-14C | Iiyama E2403WS | Razer DeathAdder | CM CosmosS Black

  22. #3772
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Ostend - Belgium
    Posts
    1,253
    Quote Originally Posted by spoof View Post
    I noticed, that some of you(especially Alien Grey) are using CPU/NB Skews with 100ps difference, but with values like 300ps/200ps. Since 100ps/none was the key reason to be able to do more than 460FSB, does higher value skews, but with 100ps difference, do any better compared to 100ps/none?
    Yes but it depends on what voltage you need to keep it stable.

    CPU Clock Skew Delay 300ps and NB Clock Skew Delay 200ps for really low voltage. NB Voltage of 1.25V to +/-1.35V.

    CPU Clock Skew Delay 200ps and NB Clock Skew Delay 100ps for NB Voltage +/-1.35V to +/-1.45V.


    It isn't always a voltage issue like what I'm experiencing now trying to run stable at 9 X 470MHz and DDR 1253MHz. I've tried really hard but it keeps failing Prime95 Blend. The longest I can keep it stable is an hour so now I'm going to try to find out how much lower I have to go to keep it stable.

  23. #3773
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Ostend - Belgium
    Posts
    1,253
    I think I'm not going to try to run LinX for a very long time. It doesn't make sense at high CPU speed.

    I'm trying to run LinX for 25 passes stable at 4.22GHz and everything is just fine but it's BSOD 0X00000124 again so I add more CPU Voltage and everything is fine but at some point it's BSOD 0X00000124 again so I add more CPU voltage and more and more... What the is wrong.

    But then I realize that if you add more voltage you have more heat so the water temperature starts to climb up and the CPU becomes unstable and needs more voltage but then the temperature starts to climb again and the CPU becomes unstable again. Whatever I do it's always BSOD 0X00000124 after some time.

    So I'm thinking that running LinX for a very long time at very high CPU speed isn't a good stability check and now I'm running Prime95 Small FFT's again to check the stability of the CPU.

    What do you guys think of that?

  24. #3774
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    258
    Well i always did only 15-20 passes of lynx for "quick" check and then i was runing prime for hours (15+) if it passed that i considered it stable Runing lynx for very long time is also probably not healthy for CPU for me it reaches INSANE temperatures (~85-90 so maximum of maximum that its still considered "safe").


    and on another note, i updated x-fi software pack today. You dont really need to update it, since it doesnt change any functionality but it does have updated host openal and audiocp... but you might want to download it to install it on next format Also i still didnt have any luck with geting EAX5 to work

  25. #3775
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Ostend - Belgium
    Posts
    1,253
    Thanks I'll try the new X-Fi pack later. I'm trying to get my Q9650 stable at 4.22GHz with DDR 1250MHz.

Page 151 of 189 FirstFirst ... 51101141148149150151152153154161 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •