Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 39

Thread: Q6600 on P5K Pro = junkyard? unstable, PLL

  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    TheFarEast
    Posts
    73

    Q6600 on P5K Pro = junkyard? unstable, PLL

    OK, I got this nasty problem. Got my Q6600 L737B393 (VID 1.2125) and ASUS P5K Pro recently and I can't really get stable results here. The only stable OC I managed to get is on these settings:

    Frequency: 8x450 (3,6ghz)
    CPU Vcore: 1.4125v (bios), 1.36v (cpu-z under prime)
    CPU PLL: 1.7v
    NorthBridge: 1.65v
    SouthBridge: 1.2v (max)
    FSB Termination Voltage: 1.5v (max)
    Clock over-charging: 0.9v

    RAM is not an issue here, tried different straps etc, voltages are fine, still I can't get any other stable setting except for the above.
    This is really stupid, I can prime on these settings for a few h no problem, and when I try to lower the fsb (while not changing anything else) to let's say 8x400, I'm not stable anymore! Actually I restart right after booting to Windows lol. I don't know what's the problem here, the only thing I can came up with is that this motherboard = junkyard quality
    Anyway any change in the settngs above = restarts, underclocking the PLL from 1.7v = restarts. And here we come to the question about PLL, is 1.7v actually safe for 24/7 usage on the Q6600?
    Any ideas what to do besides upgrading the mainboard?

    Any help appreciated
    CPU: Intel® Pentium™ Dual-Core E6300 R0 Q914A535 - VID 1.2875V [2.8@4.0GHz 1.328V - ~58C @ load]
    HEATSINK: Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme [Zalman ZM-F3 & Zalman ZM-F3 BLUE push-pull / MX2 grease]
    MEMORY: 2x2GB G.Skill DDR2-8500 [1066@1068MHz 5-5-5-18 2.0V]
    MOBO: Gigabyte EP45-UD3 [F8 bios]
    GFX: MSI 9600GT OC [700@770 core, 1900@2150 memory, 1680@1830 shaders]
    PSU: Corsair HX520W Modular
    CASE: Sharkoon Rebel 12 [3x140mm Yate Loon D14BM-12 - intake; 1x140mm Yate Loon D14BM-12, 2x80mm Revoltec BLUE - exhaust / SunBeam Fan Controller]
    SFX: Creative Audigy 2ZS [Creative Inspire T6100 5.1, Sennheiser HD457]
    HDD's: Seagate 7200.11 640GB 32MB 7200RPM & WD Caviar SE 500GB 16MB 7200RPM & WD Caviar SE 320GB 8MB 7200RPM

  2. #2
    Xtreme Guru
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Finland, joensuu
    Posts
    3,529
    hmmm well you could try a different bios and see if that helps
    Evga X58 sli under cascade
    http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/...d.php?t=219788
    Evga X58 Sli ultimate overclocking/ overview/ discussion thread
    http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/...d.php?t=221082


    proud owner of E8600 Q822A435

  3. #3
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    TheFarEast
    Posts
    73
    I'm on the newest BIOS, 806, it's supposed to be the best one... The original 0.501 or whatever was tragic, the mainboard did some crazy things, like triple-bootings etc.
    CPU: Intel® Pentium™ Dual-Core E6300 R0 Q914A535 - VID 1.2875V [2.8@4.0GHz 1.328V - ~58C @ load]
    HEATSINK: Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme [Zalman ZM-F3 & Zalman ZM-F3 BLUE push-pull / MX2 grease]
    MEMORY: 2x2GB G.Skill DDR2-8500 [1066@1068MHz 5-5-5-18 2.0V]
    MOBO: Gigabyte EP45-UD3 [F8 bios]
    GFX: MSI 9600GT OC [700@770 core, 1900@2150 memory, 1680@1830 shaders]
    PSU: Corsair HX520W Modular
    CASE: Sharkoon Rebel 12 [3x140mm Yate Loon D14BM-12 - intake; 1x140mm Yate Loon D14BM-12, 2x80mm Revoltec BLUE - exhaust / SunBeam Fan Controller]
    SFX: Creative Audigy 2ZS [Creative Inspire T6100 5.1, Sennheiser HD457]
    HDD's: Seagate 7200.11 640GB 32MB 7200RPM & WD Caviar SE 500GB 16MB 7200RPM & WD Caviar SE 320GB 8MB 7200RPM

  4. #4
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    832
    I have my clock overcharging at .7, and PLL and whatnot are ALL at as low as they go, and im stable at 3.6 with my 1.300 vid Q6600. Set all your settings at the bottom to as low voltages as they go, and a .70 clock overcharge, and you might need to up the voltage on the processor, it takes 1.5625 in bios for me to be stable. And im running my ram at 1000, 1.95V

  5. #5
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    TheFarEast
    Posts
    73
    I tried doing lower voltages on PLL etc, while bumping the vcore as high as 1.4v on load. Still I did not get anything better then priming for a few seconds b4 restarting, not to mention stability.
    CPU: Intel® Pentium™ Dual-Core E6300 R0 Q914A535 - VID 1.2875V [2.8@4.0GHz 1.328V - ~58C @ load]
    HEATSINK: Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme [Zalman ZM-F3 & Zalman ZM-F3 BLUE push-pull / MX2 grease]
    MEMORY: 2x2GB G.Skill DDR2-8500 [1066@1068MHz 5-5-5-18 2.0V]
    MOBO: Gigabyte EP45-UD3 [F8 bios]
    GFX: MSI 9600GT OC [700@770 core, 1900@2150 memory, 1680@1830 shaders]
    PSU: Corsair HX520W Modular
    CASE: Sharkoon Rebel 12 [3x140mm Yate Loon D14BM-12 - intake; 1x140mm Yate Loon D14BM-12, 2x80mm Revoltec BLUE - exhaust / SunBeam Fan Controller]
    SFX: Creative Audigy 2ZS [Creative Inspire T6100 5.1, Sennheiser HD457]
    HDD's: Seagate 7200.11 640GB 32MB 7200RPM & WD Caviar SE 500GB 16MB 7200RPM & WD Caviar SE 320GB 8MB 7200RPM

  6. #6
    Xtreme Cruncher
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    360
    how do you know it's not your cpu? is your Q6600 a G0? b3's are harder to clock. can you try it on another board?

    it seems unusual that any change to your voltage settings would restart at 8x400. it seems you have played with settings alot so forgive me if you covered something listed below.

    sometimes higher voltages cause less stability, intel has stated 1.6v pll is max for Q6600 for 24/7 if you believe them

    on my Q6600 1.5v FSB equaled instability at any o/c while others were using higher, all cpus are different maybe try 1.4v with ram 1:1 @55515 for 8x400. also try with perfomance lvl on relax lvl 3.

    you could check too see how good the contact is between your nb/pmw sinks, although if your stable at 8x450 it would lessen the chance if this being the cause.

    maybe a bad flash occured. did you load defaults,flash, then reset cmos? or try another bios?

    the only way to rule one or the other 'junkyard' is to try your cpu in another board. 8x450 is by no means a bad o/c (that's my current o/c) and i could care less about 8x400 is there a specific reason you need 8x400? or did you want 9x400? anyway i hope you get it sorted out.

  7. #7
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    TheFarEast
    Posts
    73
    Well, I need to do something about the PLL. It seems a little 2 high, I don't want to end up with frying my cpu someday.
    My Q6600 is G0. The only board I can try it on is Gigabyte DS3R, but that 1 has a really poor bios and there's no way to even set the PLL there. So it might as well put it automatically on a high value being stable and I won't even know about it.
    CPU: Intel® Pentium™ Dual-Core E6300 R0 Q914A535 - VID 1.2875V [2.8@4.0GHz 1.328V - ~58C @ load]
    HEATSINK: Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme [Zalman ZM-F3 & Zalman ZM-F3 BLUE push-pull / MX2 grease]
    MEMORY: 2x2GB G.Skill DDR2-8500 [1066@1068MHz 5-5-5-18 2.0V]
    MOBO: Gigabyte EP45-UD3 [F8 bios]
    GFX: MSI 9600GT OC [700@770 core, 1900@2150 memory, 1680@1830 shaders]
    PSU: Corsair HX520W Modular
    CASE: Sharkoon Rebel 12 [3x140mm Yate Loon D14BM-12 - intake; 1x140mm Yate Loon D14BM-12, 2x80mm Revoltec BLUE - exhaust / SunBeam Fan Controller]
    SFX: Creative Audigy 2ZS [Creative Inspire T6100 5.1, Sennheiser HD457]
    HDD's: Seagate 7200.11 640GB 32MB 7200RPM & WD Caviar SE 500GB 16MB 7200RPM & WD Caviar SE 320GB 8MB 7200RPM

  8. #8
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    557
    I have several P5K-Pro with Q6600 G0, 3.2 -3.6GHz.
    Runs perfect, with recent 0806 BIOS.

    All voltages manually set to default (lowest possible) values, GTL Ref on auto, PCI-E to 100.

    I don't need to change anything but Vcore and Vdimm. For 3.6GHz, Q6600 G0 requires 1.4 -1.42V actual, under load (Linpack 64). On this board, this requires setting vCore in BIOS to 1.47 -1.49, idle Vcore will be 1.44-1.46.

    I have tried FSB upto 480MHz, stable, and still don't need any increase in voltages besides Vcore and Vdimm.

  9. #9
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    TheFarEast
    Posts
    73
    What is your CPU PLL then? If it's on auto, the mobo might aswell push it on a high value anyway.

    /edit
    Anyway, the settings I posted crashed after some more priming. ATM I have set:

    vcore: 1.4v load
    cp pll: 1.6v
    fsb: 1.45v
    nb: 1.59v

    Priming for 20mins now, gonna see if it's stable... But tbh, that's some serious voltage there on the vcore.
    Last edited by Kyo`; 03-16-2008 at 10:41 AM.
    CPU: Intel® Pentium™ Dual-Core E6300 R0 Q914A535 - VID 1.2875V [2.8@4.0GHz 1.328V - ~58C @ load]
    HEATSINK: Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme [Zalman ZM-F3 & Zalman ZM-F3 BLUE push-pull / MX2 grease]
    MEMORY: 2x2GB G.Skill DDR2-8500 [1066@1068MHz 5-5-5-18 2.0V]
    MOBO: Gigabyte EP45-UD3 [F8 bios]
    GFX: MSI 9600GT OC [700@770 core, 1900@2150 memory, 1680@1830 shaders]
    PSU: Corsair HX520W Modular
    CASE: Sharkoon Rebel 12 [3x140mm Yate Loon D14BM-12 - intake; 1x140mm Yate Loon D14BM-12, 2x80mm Revoltec BLUE - exhaust / SunBeam Fan Controller]
    SFX: Creative Audigy 2ZS [Creative Inspire T6100 5.1, Sennheiser HD457]
    HDD's: Seagate 7200.11 640GB 32MB 7200RPM & WD Caviar SE 500GB 16MB 7200RPM & WD Caviar SE 320GB 8MB 7200RPM

  10. #10
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    557
    Quote Originally Posted by Cronos View Post
    All voltages manually set to default (lowest possible) values
    ***

  11. #11
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    TheFarEast
    Posts
    73
    Yes, but how do you know which are "default" values? I don't really understand what you mean by this.
    CPU: Intel® Pentium™ Dual-Core E6300 R0 Q914A535 - VID 1.2875V [2.8@4.0GHz 1.328V - ~58C @ load]
    HEATSINK: Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme [Zalman ZM-F3 & Zalman ZM-F3 BLUE push-pull / MX2 grease]
    MEMORY: 2x2GB G.Skill DDR2-8500 [1066@1068MHz 5-5-5-18 2.0V]
    MOBO: Gigabyte EP45-UD3 [F8 bios]
    GFX: MSI 9600GT OC [700@770 core, 1900@2150 memory, 1680@1830 shaders]
    PSU: Corsair HX520W Modular
    CASE: Sharkoon Rebel 12 [3x140mm Yate Loon D14BM-12 - intake; 1x140mm Yate Loon D14BM-12, 2x80mm Revoltec BLUE - exhaust / SunBeam Fan Controller]
    SFX: Creative Audigy 2ZS [Creative Inspire T6100 5.1, Sennheiser HD457]
    HDD's: Seagate 7200.11 640GB 32MB 7200RPM & WD Caviar SE 500GB 16MB 7200RPM & WD Caviar SE 320GB 8MB 7200RPM

  12. #12
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Boston, Massachusetts
    Posts
    421
    Have you tried more vcore? My 2 GOs need at LEAST 1.525 in bios to be stable at 3.6
    Codename [GOLIATH] - Lian-Li G70B
    Loop 1 [D-Tek Fuzion - PA120.3 - 3xSan Ace 1011 - DDC2 w/Petra's top] Loop 2 [MCW60 - EK ASUS NB 5 - EK ASUS 4 SB - BI GTX240 - 2xSan Ace 1011- D5]
    ASUS Maximus Formula - 8GB OCZ REAPER DDR2-8500 - Q6600 - EVGA GTX260 core 216 55nm - Silverstone ST75F
    Codename [Black-Dragon] - Lian-Li PC65B
    Loop [Dangerden TDX - BI GT240 Stealth - 2xYate loon SL - D5]
    DFI NF4 Ultra-D - 2GB Teamgroup Croonus(5BF)@260MHZ - Opteron 165 CCBBE0616XPMW@2.88 GHZ- ATI X1900xt - Corsair HX520

  13. #13
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    557
    Quote Originally Posted by Kyo` View Post
    Yes, but how do you know which are "default" values? I don't really understand what you mean by this.
    BIOS tells you , just look at the comments to the right. And if you cannot lower the value anymore, its the lowest possible . I leave Overcharge Voltage on the auto though.

  14. #14
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    1,012
    I'd fix the vcore to 1.45v first, PLL to 1.6
    Maybe you're just shooting too high for your CPU. The P5K Pro has very good overclocking reviews with a Q6600
    Q6600 G0 L740B126 Lapped, 2x1Gb Kingston HyperX DDR2-1200
    Gigabyte 8800 GTS 512Mb OC 756-1890-1000
    TT Toughpower 750 W (W0116) new 8xPCI-E Rev.
    Western Digital Caviar SE16 WD6400 AAKS rocks
    WC: Swiftech H2O-Apex Ultra 220 GT + PA120.3 5v
    OCZ XTC RAM Cooler, HR-05 IFX + 80mm FAN (NB), 2x HR-09U type 2 (mosfets), Modded Zalman ZM NB-47J (SB), Arctic-Cooling MX-2
    Vista 32 bits
    ------------
    - ASUS P5K Premium bios 0612: (3.84GHz 8x480) @1.432v


    ------------
    - P5B Deluxe: 3.60GHz (9x400) @1.33v *** Old Setup (P5B deluxe)

    OCCT 2.x Final Download

  15. #15
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    TheFarEast
    Posts
    73
    Well jonny I tried that 2, but it just wasn't stable. In fact, I couldn't get stable no matter what anymore even for a short time! So I got pissed off and removed the board, installed my old DS3R, and...

    I'm currently priming a few mins on 3,2ghz (8x400) with a voltage of... 1.25. And everything seems to be fine. Problem is, in this board you don't have even half of the options from P5K Pro, so I can't set PLL or GLT etc.
    So now I think I'm left with 2 options: either the P5K I got was damaged or the DS3R is pumping so much PLL in my cpu that it's stable but will burn in 2 weeks :P Well, dunno really, I've seen quite a lot ppl running Q6600 on this board and they were fine. And tbh, even with a high PLL on the P5K i wasn't stable after like 2h of prime.
    CPU: Intel® Pentium™ Dual-Core E6300 R0 Q914A535 - VID 1.2875V [2.8@4.0GHz 1.328V - ~58C @ load]
    HEATSINK: Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme [Zalman ZM-F3 & Zalman ZM-F3 BLUE push-pull / MX2 grease]
    MEMORY: 2x2GB G.Skill DDR2-8500 [1066@1068MHz 5-5-5-18 2.0V]
    MOBO: Gigabyte EP45-UD3 [F8 bios]
    GFX: MSI 9600GT OC [700@770 core, 1900@2150 memory, 1680@1830 shaders]
    PSU: Corsair HX520W Modular
    CASE: Sharkoon Rebel 12 [3x140mm Yate Loon D14BM-12 - intake; 1x140mm Yate Loon D14BM-12, 2x80mm Revoltec BLUE - exhaust / SunBeam Fan Controller]
    SFX: Creative Audigy 2ZS [Creative Inspire T6100 5.1, Sennheiser HD457]
    HDD's: Seagate 7200.11 640GB 32MB 7200RPM & WD Caviar SE 500GB 16MB 7200RPM & WD Caviar SE 320GB 8MB 7200RPM

  16. #16
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    1,012
    If you can't set PLL, than it won't be bumped
    Was the P5K Pro stable on stock settings? If not, it could be really a bad board in fact
    Q6600 G0 L740B126 Lapped, 2x1Gb Kingston HyperX DDR2-1200
    Gigabyte 8800 GTS 512Mb OC 756-1890-1000
    TT Toughpower 750 W (W0116) new 8xPCI-E Rev.
    Western Digital Caviar SE16 WD6400 AAKS rocks
    WC: Swiftech H2O-Apex Ultra 220 GT + PA120.3 5v
    OCZ XTC RAM Cooler, HR-05 IFX + 80mm FAN (NB), 2x HR-09U type 2 (mosfets), Modded Zalman ZM NB-47J (SB), Arctic-Cooling MX-2
    Vista 32 bits
    ------------
    - ASUS P5K Premium bios 0612: (3.84GHz 8x480) @1.432v


    ------------
    - P5B Deluxe: 3.60GHz (9x400) @1.33v *** Old Setup (P5B deluxe)

    OCCT 2.x Final Download

  17. #17
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    TheFarEast
    Posts
    73
    OK, the P5K I got is damaged, that's the only explanation I have. I was testing various options, every combination possible and couldn't gain stability. Don't know if it was stable on stock, didn't prime for a longer time on it. But on my DS3R I'm now running 3,4ghz (8x425) on 1.264v and it's stable for 1h now and I have a feeling it will stay that way.
    Anyway, time to RMA the board then... if it's possible I'll throw in some cash and swap it for a Maximus Formula

    /edit
    3h hour priming stable for now
    I'm gonna leave the bastard overnight, hopefully I'll keep the stability for a nice 8/10h+. Time to hit the sack.
    Last edited by Kyo`; 03-16-2008 at 06:47 PM.
    CPU: Intel® Pentium™ Dual-Core E6300 R0 Q914A535 - VID 1.2875V [2.8@4.0GHz 1.328V - ~58C @ load]
    HEATSINK: Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme [Zalman ZM-F3 & Zalman ZM-F3 BLUE push-pull / MX2 grease]
    MEMORY: 2x2GB G.Skill DDR2-8500 [1066@1068MHz 5-5-5-18 2.0V]
    MOBO: Gigabyte EP45-UD3 [F8 bios]
    GFX: MSI 9600GT OC [700@770 core, 1900@2150 memory, 1680@1830 shaders]
    PSU: Corsair HX520W Modular
    CASE: Sharkoon Rebel 12 [3x140mm Yate Loon D14BM-12 - intake; 1x140mm Yate Loon D14BM-12, 2x80mm Revoltec BLUE - exhaust / SunBeam Fan Controller]
    SFX: Creative Audigy 2ZS [Creative Inspire T6100 5.1, Sennheiser HD457]
    HDD's: Seagate 7200.11 640GB 32MB 7200RPM & WD Caviar SE 500GB 16MB 7200RPM & WD Caviar SE 320GB 8MB 7200RPM

  18. #18
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    1,012
    Quote Originally Posted by Kyo` View Post
    OK, the P5K I got is damaged, that's the only explanation I have. I was testing various options, every combination possible and couldn't gain stability. Don't know if it was stable on stock, didn't prime for a longer time on it. But on my DS3R I'm now running 3,4ghz (8x425) on 1.264v and it's stable for 1h now and I have a feeling it will stay that way.
    Anyway, time to RMA the board then... if it's possible I'll throw in some cash and swap it for a Maximus Formula

    /edit
    3h hour priming stable for now
    I'm gonna leave the bastard overnight, hopefully I'll keep the stability for a nice 8/10h+. Time to hit the sack.
    Think at it twice before you get the maximus...
    The DFI LP X38 or the new X48 are worth considering. Have you read ASUS maximus thread?
    Q6600 G0 L740B126 Lapped, 2x1Gb Kingston HyperX DDR2-1200
    Gigabyte 8800 GTS 512Mb OC 756-1890-1000
    TT Toughpower 750 W (W0116) new 8xPCI-E Rev.
    Western Digital Caviar SE16 WD6400 AAKS rocks
    WC: Swiftech H2O-Apex Ultra 220 GT + PA120.3 5v
    OCZ XTC RAM Cooler, HR-05 IFX + 80mm FAN (NB), 2x HR-09U type 2 (mosfets), Modded Zalman ZM NB-47J (SB), Arctic-Cooling MX-2
    Vista 32 bits
    ------------
    - ASUS P5K Premium bios 0612: (3.84GHz 8x480) @1.432v


    ------------
    - P5B Deluxe: 3.60GHz (9x400) @1.33v *** Old Setup (P5B deluxe)

    OCCT 2.x Final Download

  19. #19
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    TheFarEast
    Posts
    73
    OK, the CPU passed the stability test As for the ASUS Maximus Formula, well it's the only decent board in this crappy store, they don't have DFI's on x38. In fact the best DFI they have is the Iron Blood P35.
    CPU: Intel® Pentium™ Dual-Core E6300 R0 Q914A535 - VID 1.2875V [2.8@4.0GHz 1.328V - ~58C @ load]
    HEATSINK: Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme [Zalman ZM-F3 & Zalman ZM-F3 BLUE push-pull / MX2 grease]
    MEMORY: 2x2GB G.Skill DDR2-8500 [1066@1068MHz 5-5-5-18 2.0V]
    MOBO: Gigabyte EP45-UD3 [F8 bios]
    GFX: MSI 9600GT OC [700@770 core, 1900@2150 memory, 1680@1830 shaders]
    PSU: Corsair HX520W Modular
    CASE: Sharkoon Rebel 12 [3x140mm Yate Loon D14BM-12 - intake; 1x140mm Yate Loon D14BM-12, 2x80mm Revoltec BLUE - exhaust / SunBeam Fan Controller]
    SFX: Creative Audigy 2ZS [Creative Inspire T6100 5.1, Sennheiser HD457]
    HDD's: Seagate 7200.11 640GB 32MB 7200RPM & WD Caviar SE 500GB 16MB 7200RPM & WD Caviar SE 320GB 8MB 7200RPM

  20. #20
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    832
    If you still have problems, i can give you my config settings file, or just tell you all the settings. you have speadspectrum and c1e off and whatnot?

  21. #21
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    TheFarEast
    Posts
    73
    Yes ofcourse I had those off. I'm just gonna RMA the board, it's clearly damaged, since now I'm running 3,5ghz on 1.264v stable on a DS3R.
    CPU: Intel® Pentium™ Dual-Core E6300 R0 Q914A535 - VID 1.2875V [2.8@4.0GHz 1.328V - ~58C @ load]
    HEATSINK: Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme [Zalman ZM-F3 & Zalman ZM-F3 BLUE push-pull / MX2 grease]
    MEMORY: 2x2GB G.Skill DDR2-8500 [1066@1068MHz 5-5-5-18 2.0V]
    MOBO: Gigabyte EP45-UD3 [F8 bios]
    GFX: MSI 9600GT OC [700@770 core, 1900@2150 memory, 1680@1830 shaders]
    PSU: Corsair HX520W Modular
    CASE: Sharkoon Rebel 12 [3x140mm Yate Loon D14BM-12 - intake; 1x140mm Yate Loon D14BM-12, 2x80mm Revoltec BLUE - exhaust / SunBeam Fan Controller]
    SFX: Creative Audigy 2ZS [Creative Inspire T6100 5.1, Sennheiser HD457]
    HDD's: Seagate 7200.11 640GB 32MB 7200RPM & WD Caviar SE 500GB 16MB 7200RPM & WD Caviar SE 320GB 8MB 7200RPM

  22. #22
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    TheFarEast
    Posts
    73
    OK, I can choose from the following boards (only decent ones in the store):

    1) ASUS Maximus Formula
    2) DFI LanParty UT P35-T2R

    Any feedback? I'm thinking the LanParty myself.
    CPU: Intel® Pentium™ Dual-Core E6300 R0 Q914A535 - VID 1.2875V [2.8@4.0GHz 1.328V - ~58C @ load]
    HEATSINK: Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme [Zalman ZM-F3 & Zalman ZM-F3 BLUE push-pull / MX2 grease]
    MEMORY: 2x2GB G.Skill DDR2-8500 [1066@1068MHz 5-5-5-18 2.0V]
    MOBO: Gigabyte EP45-UD3 [F8 bios]
    GFX: MSI 9600GT OC [700@770 core, 1900@2150 memory, 1680@1830 shaders]
    PSU: Corsair HX520W Modular
    CASE: Sharkoon Rebel 12 [3x140mm Yate Loon D14BM-12 - intake; 1x140mm Yate Loon D14BM-12, 2x80mm Revoltec BLUE - exhaust / SunBeam Fan Controller]
    SFX: Creative Audigy 2ZS [Creative Inspire T6100 5.1, Sennheiser HD457]
    HDD's: Seagate 7200.11 640GB 32MB 7200RPM & WD Caviar SE 500GB 16MB 7200RPM & WD Caviar SE 320GB 8MB 7200RPM

  23. #23
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    1,012
    Depends on your needs:
    - True Crossfire needs the X38
    - Also X38 adds PCI-E 2.0, but useless even on a dual GPU card, so won't be used before end of year maybe

    DFI P35 would give you more stable and less trickier overclock expierience for a better price

    You have to decide on those infos
    Q6600 G0 L740B126 Lapped, 2x1Gb Kingston HyperX DDR2-1200
    Gigabyte 8800 GTS 512Mb OC 756-1890-1000
    TT Toughpower 750 W (W0116) new 8xPCI-E Rev.
    Western Digital Caviar SE16 WD6400 AAKS rocks
    WC: Swiftech H2O-Apex Ultra 220 GT + PA120.3 5v
    OCZ XTC RAM Cooler, HR-05 IFX + 80mm FAN (NB), 2x HR-09U type 2 (mosfets), Modded Zalman ZM NB-47J (SB), Arctic-Cooling MX-2
    Vista 32 bits
    ------------
    - ASUS P5K Premium bios 0612: (3.84GHz 8x480) @1.432v


    ------------
    - P5B Deluxe: 3.60GHz (9x400) @1.33v *** Old Setup (P5B deluxe)

    OCCT 2.x Final Download

  24. #24
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    832
    It takes 1.5v in bios for my Q6600 to be stable for hours... You likely need more voltage on the core. You can just throw 1.55 at it. If it primes for 5 mins, thats probably stable-ish compared to your several seconds. Then you know it just needs more voltage. Then drop it down until you think its as low as it goes... prime for a few hours... etc...

  25. #25
    Xtreme Mentor
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Elma, NY
    Posts
    3,294
    Quote Originally Posted by ZOMGVTEK View Post
    It takes 1.5v in bios for my Q6600 to be stable for hours... You likely need more voltage on the core. You can just throw 1.55 at it. If it primes for 5 mins, thats probably stable-ish compared to your several seconds. Then you know it just needs more voltage. Then drop it down until you think its as low as it goes... prime for a few hours... etc...
    agreed, 3.6 with mine takes 1.43v actual under load. I think his problem all along is not enough voltage.

    i7-2600k @ 4.8Ghz 1.38v L044A892
    ASUS P8P67 LGA
    16GB G.Skill Rip Jaws DDR3 1600Mhz Memory
    1/2" ID Masterkleer, Swiftech MCP-655, Thermochill PA120.3 Rad, XSPC Rasa, MCW-60
    Cooler Master UCP 1100 Watt PSU
    GTX 680 1300/7000
    Lian Li PC V-2000

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •