Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 61

Thread: Good news for would be Lian Li A17 buyers!

  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Dublin,Ireland
    Posts
    83

    Good news for would be Lian Li A17 buyers!

    the king of cool fits





  2. #2
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    40
    sweet, but where you gonna keep the HD?

  3. #3
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    213
    Quote Originally Posted by jdm003 View Post
    sweet, but where you gonna keep the HD?
    Look on the right side in the first picture.
    e6750|P5K-C|2x2GB G.Skill DDR2-800|eVGA 8800gt
    TRUE and Accelero S1 rev 2

  4. #4
    Xtreme Member yankee's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Yankee Nation
    Posts
    361
    Very slick brother.
    Stealth Water


    Quote Originally Posted by TheGanG View Post
    Yeah, x15 makes me happy...

  5. #5
    Xtreme Enthusiast 3lfk1ng's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Santa Barbara, CA
    Posts
    793
    No cd drive?
    Computer: Intel i7-4770k | Asus Z87 Maximus VI Impact | 240GB Corsair Force GT | 240GB OCZ Vertex 3 | 16GB G.Skill Trident X 2400MHz | EVGA GTX690 Hydro Copper 4GB | Corsair AX850 | Steelseries 7G | Logitech G500 | 27" 2560x1440 Overlord Tempest X270OC 120Hz S-IPS
    Cooling: Koolance 380i CPU block | Swiftech Hydro Copper GPU block | EK X3 150 Reservoir | EK X-TOP D5 PWM drive | PrimoChill PrimoFlex PRO LRT Bloodshed red | Alphacool NexXxos 240mm XT45 | Alphacool NexXxos 280mm UT60 | Bitspower Fittings | 4x Bitfenix Spectre Pro 120mm | 2x Bitfenix Spectre Pro 140mm | Lamptron FC-5V2
    Case: Custom modded matte black Caselabs Mercury S3

  6. #6
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    503
    Use a laptop slotload, or a USB drive. As to HDDs, you can also mount full sized ones on the sides of the cage. I see that about 8 can be mounted, granted you WILL need to drill and grommet holes if you value your hearing

  7. #7
    Xtreme Enthusiast p0tter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Chicago, IL
    Posts
    859
    Monster, pure evil.
    Asrock Z68 Extreme4 Gen3
    •i5 2500k @ 4.5ghz - 1.32v - CM Hyper 212 Evo
    •G.Skill F3-12800CL9D-8GB
    •ASUS 7850 @ 1250//5800
    •Corsair TX650 V2
    •Dell 3007WFP
    •Win 7 64 Ult

  8. #8
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    503
    Can you show if there's enough room above the rad for a/dual slotload opticals ?

  9. #9
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    40
    Quote Originally Posted by filthysanchez View Post
    Look on the right side in the first picture.
    oh sweet, my damn monitor need to be re-calibrated

  10. #10
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Dublin,Ireland
    Posts
    83
    I dont want to give too much away but there are options to place pump and a res to the front of the rad if you dont want to run fans on both sides.
    As for opticals well thats a personal decision not to go with them in the case.
    Three reasons for this:
    1.they are slow and noisey.
    2.they have the same faith as floppy drives.they will be extinct fairly soon.
    3.external ones offer better placement beside your monitor or are portable.

  11. #11
    Xtreme Member Roch's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Ealing, UK
    Posts
    153
    Very nice...I got a 120.2 in the front of my A16 but found it really, really tight once I'd used the shoud and 38mm fans and shoe-horned the optical and HD above it. I was going to ditch it in favour of the A77 but this has inspired me to keep it, more pics please!
    .

  12. #12
    Xtreme Member diezel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    281
    nice pictures mate



    OVERCLOCK TEAM HOLLAND

    http://www.overclocking-holland.nl/

  13. #13
    of the Strawhat crew. Gamekiller's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    West TN
    Posts
    1,645
    Would this not heat up the hard drives?

    XtremeSystems BF3 Platoon - Any XS member is welcome.

  14. #14
    I am Xtreme NickS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Upstate, NY
    Posts
    5,612
    Quote Originally Posted by Gamekiller View Post
    Would this not heat up the hard drives?
    No if anything it might cool them down
    Core i3-550 Clarkdale @ 4.2GHz, 1.36v (Corsair A50 HS/F) LinX Stable
    MSI H55-GD65 Motherboard
    G.Skill 4GBRL DDR3-1600 @ 1755, CL9, 1.55v
    Sapphire Radeon 5750 1GB
    Samsung F4 320GB - WD Green 1TB
    Xigmatek Utgard Case - Corsair VX550

  15. #15
    of the Strawhat crew. Gamekiller's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    West TN
    Posts
    1,645
    Ah, I see. I wasn't sure how it works, so I didn't know if the radiator got hot.

    XtremeSystems BF3 Platoon - Any XS member is welcome.

  16. #16
    Xtreme Enthusiast kadozer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    743
    Awesome thanks for this post I've been looking for a case to build a nice WC rig. Personally I would go with 120.2 radiator to fit DVD Blu Ray drives. Very clever idea for placement!

  17. #17
    Xtreme Mentor AliG's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Ace Deuce, Michigan
    Posts
    3,176
    no I don't think that's correct, it would heat up the hard drives, because its a radiator, if it were a condensor then it would cool the drives off. The radiator will radiate the heat from the cpu or whatever being cooled and thus the drives will heat up

    Quote Originally Posted by Hans de Vries View Post

    JF-AMD posting: IPC increases!!!!!!! How many times did I tell you!!!

    terrace215 post: IPC decreases, The more I post the more it decreases.
    terrace215 post: IPC decreases, The more I post the more it decreases.
    terrace215 post: IPC decreases, The more I post the more it decreases.
    .....}
    until (interrupt by Movieman)


    Regards, Hans

  18. #18
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Dublin,Ireland
    Posts
    83
    No probs with the HDD's beside the PA.
    They are only in contact with the outer frame which is cold anyway.
    This case is so chilled its unbelievable!
    The only thing is that they are a tight sqeeze.

    As I said earlier there are options on the HDD's which are in the photo below.
    Myself I plan on going for SSD's in the near future so that should eradicate more noise and heat.





  19. #19
    Xtreme Enthusiast kadozer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    743
    TheThreeDegrees what did you use to mount the hard drives? It's hard to tell from the pictures. Looking at your case sold me on getting one now.

  20. #20
    Xtreme Member Lurid's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Corinth, MS
    Posts
    366
    Looks like he drilled some extra holes on the side there, and then mounted the drives via the mounting holes on the bottom of the drives.
    Why is it drug addicts and computer afficionados are both called users?

    | AMD Phenom II X6 & Xigmatek Dark Knight
    | ASUS M4A89GTD PRO
    | Sapphire HD 5770 1GB
    | Mushkin BL 2 x 2GB
    | WD Caviar Black 1TB
    | Corsair TX650
    | Lian Li PC-K7 Black

  21. #21
    Xtreme Enthusiast jetjaguar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    new jersey
    Posts
    791
    nice case .. is there room for longer psus ?
    Intel Core2Quad Q6600 @ 3.6 | Thermalright Ultra Extreme
    EVGA 780i SLi
    8gb ADATA 4x2gb DDR2 800
    Evga 260gtx core 216
    Western Digital 300gb Raptor x 2 | Seagate 7200.11 1.5tb x 2
    Klipsch 5.1 Ultra Promedia
    Corsair 1000hx
    Lian Li TYR PC-X500
    Dell 3007fpw 30" Widescreen LCD

  22. #22
    Xtreme Cruncher Polizei's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    'burb of Cleveland, Ohio
    Posts
    2,872
    Very slick with the harddrives... never would've thought to do that.

  23. #23
    Xtreme Member superbowtie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    114
    I was planning on doing something like that with my stacker 830, and using a slot drive mounted in the top with the slot being open to the carry handle area.

    anyway your project looks good!
    Abit x38 QuadGt | 1kwatt CM | CM Stacker 830 | Q6600 @ 3.8 | 4x1Gb Gskill @ 1016mhz | dual sapphire 3870's 856/1286 | tuniq tower| empty pockets |

  24. #24
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Dublin,Ireland
    Posts
    83
    Thanks everyone for your kind words

    The hard drives can easily be screwed into the chassis.There are enough holes but you can easily add another if you want to mount them really tight.

    To jetjaguar:
    there is another inch and a half before my PSU meets the top fan.
    Send me your PSU measurements and I will check it out for you.
    Edit.Just measured that.Its 190mm from the back of the case to the middle fan.So to answer your question,yes.
    On this note for those who like their bay controllers,if you want to run the rad like I have done you have 90mm of depth from the front till you reach the rad.


    As you can see below this is about as far forward you can get with a PA120.3 without scaryficing the front IO panel function.
    For the brave you can remove the IO connector block and push the rad all the way to the front.
    There is about half an inch to spare between the top of the rad and the top of the case.

    Last edited by TheThreeDegrees; 03-15-2008 at 03:35 AM.

  25. #25
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    503
    So, if the radiator is put up a little bit, a slotloading optical could be scooted below it, and run out the front

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •