Page 5 of 180 FirstFirst ... 23456781555105 ... LastLast
Results 101 to 125 of 4486

Thread: Real Temp - New temp program for Intel Core processors

  1. #101
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Cochrane, Canada
    Posts
    2,040
    If anyone wants to write an x64 driver for me that would be great.

    Intel already showed the large deviation between Tj provided by DTS and Tcpu provided by the third sensor depending of die loading map (power map more precisely), there's no relation at all between them ! We can see Tcpu like a 'mean' temperature if we want, that's all.
    You bring up a lot of good points.

    The gradients that Intel shows in their diagrams is with a processor under load. All my testing was with 0% load so it's my belief that whatever gradient there is, is minimal and within the accuracy of the equipment being used.

    With the core shrink of the new 45nm chips the gradient from core to core is getting smaller at full load because the on chip DTS sensors are getting closer and closer together.

    The reason I use masking tape on the core is of course to reduce shine and to make the readings repeatable. With my computer unplugged and sitting over night I find that when I do an IR reading on the taped core, it is exactly equal to the ambient temperature. To me that says that temp readings through a piece of masking tape are legitimate.

    I've had these same arguments with others and I realize I'm not likely to convince you. My question for you is how do you think Intel calibrates these chips on the assembly line. They have better testing equipment than I do but their methodology has to be quite similar. Get a reading from an IR thermometer and create a calibration curve to equalize measured core temp vs what the DTS is putting out.

    Here's a good example of my E8400. I'm running Prime95 small FFTs, first on core0 with nothing on core1 and then I went into Task Manager and swapped it over to core1 with nothing on core0.

    When the full load was on core0, it was averaging 47C while core0 heated up to 46C even though it wasn't doing anything. With the load swapped, both cores were now running pretty much the exact same temperature. The overall average difference is now less than 1C with 45nm.



    I don't believe for one second that an IHS reading with both cores at idle is going to be 10C or even 5C away from what the actual core temperature is.

    Do you plan to do new revisions & updates?
    Certainly. Positive feedback is a great motivator.
    Last edited by unclewebb; 03-02-2008 at 05:52 PM.

  2. #102
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    1,119
    Man, if it were written, there are a bunch of us who will test it!
    EVGA X99 FTW-K
    I7 6850 @ 4.4
    32gb Corsair Dominator DDR4/3000
    PowerColor 390 8gb x3
    Samsung 960 EVO 500GB
    4 480 Adata SSD (Game array)
    X-Fi Titanium
    1600 watt Lepa
    Custom water-cooled Enthoo Luxe
    (proc,motherboard,vid cards)
    Windows 10 Pro



  3. #103
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Cochrane, Canada
    Posts
    2,040
    Does CoreTemp work on x64? I believe he is using the CrystalCPUID driver in his program which I think comes in 32 and 64 bit versions.

  4. #104
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    1,463

    Exclamation

    Thanks for this awesome :f::u::c::k:ing program. Team Xtreme, :f::u::c::k: yeah!

    UncleWebb i support your effort. I don't understand much of the tech, but i know that a working solution is desperately needed!

    thanks for all your hard work

  5. #105
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    ARIZONA
    Posts
    1,565
    thanks unclewebb for your efforts !!
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
    PENT E8400 batch #814A014 ...4.3 at 1.34v~4.7 at 1.45v
    FOXCONN MARS
    COOLIT Eliminator 7*c idle~27~38*c load $95bucks !
    BUFFALO FireStix's ddr2-800 do 1200 eazy at 2.1v
    OCZ 2x2 kit pc2 8500 - 1066 @1069 atm
    Quattro 1000W
    Radeon 2-4850's in crossfire
    OCZ Vertex SSD thanks Tony!
    ALL PIPED INTO HOUSE AIRCOND ;}
    *QUANTUM FORCE* saaya & sham rocks !
    *REAL TEMP*
    At least you've got some Xtreme software now for working in Xtreme situations! "Unclewebb" rocks !
    *MEMSET* Felix rocks !
    *SUPER TEC MAN* UncleJimbo rocks !
    OVERCLOCKERS MAG..http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/...d.php?t=197660

  6. #106
    I am Xtreme
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    South FL, USA
    Posts
    4,951
    Quote Originally Posted by unclewebb View Post
    Does CoreTemp work on x64? I believe he is using the CrystalCPUID driver in his program which I think comes in 32 and 64 bit versions.
    it supposedly works if you disable driver signature enforcement...i haven't tried that as of yet.
    BIOSTAR TPOWER I45 UNOFFICIAL THREAD

    BIOSTAR TPOWER BOLT MOD FOR HEATPIPE AND HEATSINK

    BIOSTAR TPOWER I45 BIOS FLASHING PROCEDURE

    ABIT IP35 PRO HEATPIPE MOD

    ABIT IP35 PRO BIOS FLASHING PROCEDURE

    IP35 Pro: 9650@4000Mhz, par overclocker; Freezone Elite; 4Gb GSkill DDR-800@DDR-1068 (2 x 2gb); XFX 8800 GTS; Areca 8X PCIe in Raid 0 working at 4x speed; 4-250 Gb (single platter) 7200.10 drives; Giga 3DAurora case with side window.

  7. #107
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    1,440
    Quote Originally Posted by unclewebb View Post
    When the full load was on core0, it was averaging 47C while core0 heated up to 46C even though it wasn't doing anything. With the load swapped, both cores were now running pretty much the exact same temperature. The overall average difference is now less than 1C with 45nm.
    That is interesting, especially how well they track. I was going to argue that maybe you were in the temp range where accuracy was less reliable, but instead I tried with linpack (finally a use for it) myself with rad fans off, got same results at higher temps, setting affinity to core 0, then core 1.

    Regarding accuracy of IR, I wish 6 months ago, when i used my wifes accurate temp probe from work to double check IR through masking tape versus temp probe to cpu, wish I had taken a pic...would just flash that up each time as they were within ~1C at several different temps. Though, I used the probe thinking it was not going to be accurate.

    You almost made a believer of me, using your useful program regardless, but would be nice to try it on a mobile cpu with known tjmax.
    Attached Images Attached Images

  8. #108
    I am Xtreme
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    South FL, USA
    Posts
    4,951
    Quote Originally Posted by unclewebb View Post
    Does CoreTemp work on x64? I believe he is using the CrystalCPUID driver in his program which I think comes in 32 and 64 bit versions.
    Quote Originally Posted by Ace-a-Rue View Post
    it supposedly works if you disable driver signature enforcement...i haven't tried that as of yet.
    i disabled driver siganture enforcement for vista64...and vista64 still rejects the IA32bit inf file as not compatible.
    BIOSTAR TPOWER I45 UNOFFICIAL THREAD

    BIOSTAR TPOWER BOLT MOD FOR HEATPIPE AND HEATSINK

    BIOSTAR TPOWER I45 BIOS FLASHING PROCEDURE

    ABIT IP35 PRO HEATPIPE MOD

    ABIT IP35 PRO BIOS FLASHING PROCEDURE

    IP35 Pro: 9650@4000Mhz, par overclocker; Freezone Elite; 4Gb GSkill DDR-800@DDR-1068 (2 x 2gb); XFX 8800 GTS; Areca 8X PCIe in Raid 0 working at 4x speed; 4-250 Gb (single platter) 7200.10 drives; Giga 3DAurora case with side window.

  9. #109
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    NC
    Posts
    318
    Thanks for a great program. In addition to the request for minimize to tray option and a 1000 other request, could you make a start minimized option?
    E8400 @ 3.84Ghz 1.25v LOAD
    ABIT IP35 PRO
    4 GB G.SKILL F2-8000CL5D-4GBPQ
    EVGA 8800 ULTRA 660/1110
    PC POWER & COOLING 750 QUAD
    THERMALRIGHT ULTRA 120 EXTREME
    2 X SEAGATE BARRACUDA ES.2 ST3250310NS 250GB RAID 0

  10. #110
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    3
    when i try to locate the file, it says "specified location does not contain information about your hardware"
    what can i do/

  11. #111
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Cochrane, Canada
    Posts
    2,040
    Quote Originally Posted by xev View Post
    when i try to locate the file, it says "specified location does not contain information about your hardware"
    what can i do/
    You could go to the first post and follow the directions religiously.

    rge: TjMax is documented to be 100C for the laptops but now I wonder if they suffer from the same inaccuracies as the desktop DTS sensors do at low idle temperatures. They most likely do.

  12. #112
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    360
    Well, 2 out fo my 4 cores have bad sensors on them... one even tells me it's at 1c at this moment, lol...

    Is it safe to assume that the 2 cores that are displaying normal temps are indicative of the temps on the 2 with dodgy sensors?
    EVGA z68 FTW
    i7 2600k @ 4.8
    8gb DDR3 1600
    3x GTX 580 3gb HydroCopper2
    Silverstone Strider 1500W
    Areca 1880i w/ 6x intel x25m
    On water

  13. #113
    Xtreme Legend
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    France
    Posts
    599
    Quote Originally Posted by unclewebb View Post
    If anyone wants to write an x64 driver for me that would be great.
    ...have you tried WinRing0 driver? it's work with XP/Vista 32 & 64,
    and provide PCI, memory and MSR access.
    Also it's a signed driver, and no need to use an installer for it. I know that SetFSB use this driver.
    Personaly I made some test with it and C++-builder, run fine under 32bit, but not with 64 bits OS, probably cause I don't use Visual C++.
    MemSet use TVicPort driver, but it don't provide MSR access.
    Last edited by FELIX; 03-03-2008 at 12:42 AM.
    WebSite: www.Tweakers.fr


  14. #114
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    54
    Strange, the temps for my E6400 are exactly the same as CoreTemp and HWMonitor:

    http://stalker.planet.ee/idle.jpg
    http://stalker.planet.ee/load.jpg

    meaning they are all wrong or realtemp is reading Tjmax wrong as well or something else..??

  15. #115
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Hamilton Scotland
    Posts
    819
    Great project Unclewebb , many thanks
    • i7 920
    • DFI DK X58-T3eH6
    • G.SKILL PI Black DDR3 PC 12800 CL8 6GB kit (F3-12800CL8T-6GBPI-B)
    • Crossfire 2x ATI HD4670 GPU 785 Ram 1060
    • Thermaltake Toughpower 1200w
    • Cooling: Water - EK Supreme
    • Lian Li V2000B+

    24/7 OC 4Ghz 20x200 x8 1600Mhz 8-8-8-21

    Official Gigabyte X48T-DQ6 Info Thread
    DFI DK X58-T3eH6 on Test

  16. #116
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    1,447
    Quote Originally Posted by Stalk3r View Post
    Strange, the temps for my E6400 are exactly the same as CoreTemp and HWMonitor:

    http://stalker.planet.ee/idle.jpg
    http://stalker.planet.ee/load.jpg

    meaning they are all wrong or realtemp is reading Tjmax wrong as well or something else..??
    I have Everest, CoreTemp and RealTemp all read the same temp for my Q6600 B3
    i5-750 w/ Thermalright Ultra120X
    Coolermaster HAF-932
    MSI GD65
    2x2GB G.skill Cas7 1600MHz
    Sapphire HD6870
    Western Digital 640GB.AAKS
    2x Samsung F1 1TB
    2x Samsung SLC 64GB SSD
    Pioneer DVR-212BK
    Corsair HX620W
    Creative X-Fi Xtreme Music (dead, using onboard -.-)
    LG W2286L

  17. #117
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Where the Cheese Heads Reside
    Posts
    2,173
    Dang no Vista 64-bit
    -=The Gamer=-
    MSI Z68A-GD65 (G3) | i5 2500k @ 4.5Ghz | 1.3875V | 28C Idle / 65C Load (LinX)
    8Gig G.Skill Ripjaw PC3-12800 9-9-9-24 @ 1600Mhz w/ 1.5V | TR Ultra eXtreme 120 w/ 2 Fans
    Sapphire 7950 VaporX 1150/1500 w/ 1.2V/1.5V | 32C Idle / 64C Load | 2x 128Gig Crucial M4 SSD's
    BitFenix Shinobi Window Case | SilverStone DA750 | Dell 2405FPW 24" Screen
    -=The Server=-
    Synology DS1511+ | Dual Core 1.8Ghz CPU | 30C Idle / 38C Load
    3 Gig PC2-6400 | 3x Samsung F4 2TB Raid5 | 2x Samsung F4 2TB
    Heat

  18. #118
    I am Xtreme
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    10,379
    Can anyone host this file as I get constant 404 errors on the download link

    thx
    Question : Why do some overclockers switch into d*ckmode when money is involved

    Remark : They call me Pro Asus Saaya yupp, I agree

  19. #119
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    BlazingPC
    Posts
    7
    Yeah me to.. It just times out when I try to download it.

    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
    Intel Xeon e3110 @ 4.2 ghz on air Xigmatec Dark Knight / Evga 750i FTW / 2x 8800GT / 4GB Corsair DHX / pc power and cooling 750 / Coolermaster Cm690

  20. #120
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    25
    So the temps in RealTemp are the real deal? If so, I am pleased. 10c difference in CoreTemp and Everest. Thanks for a great program.


  21. #121
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    SPb, RF
    Posts
    68
    Can anyone host this file
    +1.
    • Q6600 @3.6GHz
    • Abit IP35 Snake Pro rev1.1 vdroopmod
    • 8800GT Gigabyte+Zalman VF830 700/1715/1840 @800/2000/2000 1.2v
    • 2x2048 Apogee PC2-6400
    • 500GB Seagate 7200.11
    • 400W FSP GLN
    • Audigy2 ZS


    профиль
    персональная страница

  22. #122
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    BlazingPC
    Posts
    7
    Ok got the file .. thanks to ThaWaxShop over at BPC.

    Reading 38 and 37c folding SMP... Core temp reads 49 and 51c.
    This is on a scythe infinity with 2 120 mm panaflos .. both surfaces lapped and ambient room temperature of 71 degrees Fahrenheit

    Nice program! Thanks!

    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
    Intel Xeon e3110 @ 4.2 ghz on air Xigmatec Dark Knight / Evga 750i FTW / 2x 8800GT / 4GB Corsair DHX / pc power and cooling 750 / Coolermaster Cm690

  23. #123
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    1,789
    unklewebb:

    I was wandering when someone would catch on to the Tjunction Max being
    set too high... I believe you are right on the mark with choosing 95. I've read
    all the data sheet's and I came to the conclusion that the Tjmax should be
    somewhere between 92.4 - 97.4. I also read that "If the Thermal Monitor
    is enabled" throttling will occur at or after Tcase Max (72.4c), and
    PROCHOT# signal will be asserted, and at 20 - 25c over Tcase max (92.4 -97.4c)
    the proc will go in to a halt state and signal the mobo (THERMTRIP# Signal) to
    cut the vcore, this will happen "Regardless of whether or not Thermal Monitor
    or Thermal Monitor 2 is enabled".

    Thanks for the great work.
    I'll be trying your real temps app.
    Sandy Bridge 2500k @ 4.5ghz 1.28v | MSI p67a-gd65 B3 Mobo | Samsung ddr3 8gb |
    Swiftech apogee drive II | Coolgate 120| GTX660ti w/heat killer gpu x| Seasonic x650 PSU

    QX9650 @ 4ghz | P5K-E/WIFI-AP Mobo | Hyperx ddr2 1066 4gb | EVGA GTX560ti 448 core FTW @ 900mhz | OCZ 700w Modular PSU |
    DD MC-TDX CPU block | DD Maze5 GPU block | Black Ice Xtreme II 240 Rad | Laing D5 Pump

  24. #124
    Xtreme Member soundx98's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Cantundastan, Wisconsin
    Posts
    292
    Man what a great way to start a Monday.
    Awesome work!

    Kudos to both yourself and Ix

  25. #125
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    SPb, RF
    Posts
    68
    Please, anybody, host the "RealTemp.zip" somewhere else. That link does not work .
    Last edited by Darth Vader; 03-03-2008 at 06:21 AM.
    • Q6600 @3.6GHz
    • Abit IP35 Snake Pro rev1.1 vdroopmod
    • 8800GT Gigabyte+Zalman VF830 700/1715/1840 @800/2000/2000 1.2v
    • 2x2048 Apogee PC2-6400
    • 500GB Seagate 7200.11
    • 400W FSP GLN
    • Audigy2 ZS


    профиль
    персональная страница

Page 5 of 180 FirstFirst ... 23456781555105 ... LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •