Page 2 of 180 FirstFirst 123451252102 ... LastLast
Results 26 to 50 of 4486

Thread: Real Temp - New temp program for Intel Core processors

  1. #26
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    ARIZONA
    Posts
    1,565
    ok got it ! it dont like me hahaahahaha thanks unclewebb !!


    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
    PENT E8400 batch #814A014 ...4.3 at 1.34v~4.7 at 1.45v
    FOXCONN MARS
    COOLIT Eliminator 7*c idle~27~38*c load $95bucks !
    BUFFALO FireStix's ddr2-800 do 1200 eazy at 2.1v
    OCZ 2x2 kit pc2 8500 - 1066 @1069 atm
    Quattro 1000W
    Radeon 2-4850's in crossfire
    OCZ Vertex SSD thanks Tony!
    ALL PIPED INTO HOUSE AIRCOND ;}
    *QUANTUM FORCE* saaya & sham rocks !
    *REAL TEMP*
    At least you've got some Xtreme software now for working in Xtreme situations! "Unclewebb" rocks !
    *MEMSET* Felix rocks !
    *SUPER TEC MAN* UncleJimbo rocks !
    OVERCLOCKERS MAG..http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/...d.php?t=197660

  2. #27
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Hellas
    Posts
    27
    man you are my favorite person here!!!
    thank you very good job!!!

  3. #28
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    UK/East Sussex
    Posts
    355
    great work!
    i wish i could run it on vista 64

    anyway, thank you for your effort

  4. #29
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    246
    Does he works well with Q6600 G0 ? I have around 31° for cores in realtemp and 36° with coretemp.

    Who's right ?

    Quote Originally Posted by Johnny Bravo View Post
    That's because in the process of benching the card all setup I learned a few things about Qimonda memory:
    [*]It sucks[*]It doesn't like voltage[*]It doesn't like the cold[*]It suck[*]It dies real easily[*]err....did I mention it sucks?

  5. #30
    Xtreme Mentor
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    SLOVENIJA
    Posts
    2,603
    works

    coretemp shows 10°c more...then real temp.
    Last edited by TEDY; 03-02-2008 at 02:14 AM.
    ASUS P5K-E // E8400 Q746A519
    G.Skill F2-8000CL5D-4GBPQ
    LC 550W GP// XPERTVISION 9600GT

  6. #31

  7. #32
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    288
    Fantastic work amigo!

    The logger is working well. The .txt format is not the greatest for Excel, especially given that the values in the file are seperated by spaces. I opened log.txt with word, did a find " " and replace with "," and finally renamed it .csv. Now each measurement gets its own column.

    I am going to start collecting data now. Will get back to you with my results.

    Thanks again!
    DFI LP UT P35-T2R | E8400 Q743A748 - IHS removed
    Team Xtreme PC2 9600 2x1GB | Auzentech XPlosion
    PCP+C Silencer 750W | 2x36GB Raptors RAID-0 | XFX 7800GT
    Iwaki MD20-RZT | FuZion - 4.4mm - modified ProMount | PA120.3

  8. #33
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    7
    im tryin it out now..hehe worried at 1st to prime 4.3ghz at 1.36v for my e8400 coz saw the temp quite high..prime 4ghz oredi pass 16hours for 1.248v..hehe its time for 4.3ghz..thx for nice software

  9. #34
    I am Xtreme
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Austria
    Posts
    5,485
    first i want to say, very nice programm and thx for all the effort for getting the real TJmax.

    and now i have a littel request: is it possioble that you add (in later versions of the program) the possibility to calibrate each cpu independently(core 0/1 and core 2/3) ?

    Im on a quad (QX9650) one core reads "good" idel temps 27/26°C with ~22°C room temp, the other one reads 24/22°C with the same ambient temp.

    right now the tool only gives me the possibility to change the calibration factor for the whole cpu.




    Quote Originally Posted by TEDY View Post
    works

    coretemp shows 10°c more...then real temp.
    well for everyone who has noticed this... why ddont you guys read unclewebb's first post?

    unclewebb usees a Tjmax of 95°Cin his program rather then Tjmax of 105°C which coretemp and everest etc uses.

  10. #35
    Memory Addict
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    11,801
    Yeah individual core calibration would be nice heh.

    System
    • Intel Core 2 Duo E8500 Q740A493T 2L7**** / **0909
    • CPU Cooling: Dtek Fuzion Rad Tower Box
    • Asus Blitz Formula 1402 bios
    • 128MB Gainward FX5200 PCI
    • 2x1GB Corsair 10000C5D Dominator dual channel kit
    • Memory cooling: 120x25mm Thermaltake 81cfm fan
    • 80GB Hitachi 7K80 SATAII
    • Pioneer DVD-RW
    • 1200W Silverstone OP1200
    • WinXP Pro SP2 Nlite Fully Updated.


    Seems my favourite E8500 Q740A493T with uneven coretemps, is already calibrated correrectly according to Real Temp idle temp calibration method below. Core0 reads correctly within 3-5C of my 27.4C room temps at idle. But Core1 under reports temps by around 11-14C heh.

    Setting 6x266FSB and lowest vcore 1.1v bios = 1.064v idle and 1.056v load with 27.4C room ambient temps.



    With ++ calibration temps are closer to what Coretemp reports but core1 (2nd core) still under reports temps considering room temp is 27.4C



    Prime95 25.6 Load temps with un-calibrated and calibrated idle temps respectively:





    Test Sensor results





    XS Bench

    ---

  11. #36
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    404
    It Works! Thank you Very much unclewebb We needed this..Bad!

    Larry
    Q9650
    Asus P5Q-D Bios 1406
    280 GTX FC Block
    2x2gb OCZ Flex II PC2 9200
    Water Cooled/ Iwaki MD20/ D-Tek Fuzion
    XFX 850 Watt
    OWC SSD

  12. #37
    guys, the term 'calibrate' implies that you're going to adjust a reading due to an error. How exactly are you planning to make an individual core adjustment given that you have nothing to calibrate it against. In other words, how to plan to measure the individual core's temp?

  13. #38
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    404
    Quote Originally Posted by graysky View Post
    guys, the term 'calibrate' implies that you're going to adjust a reading due to an error. How exactly are you planning to make an individual core adjustment given that you have nothing to calibrate it against. In other words, how to plan to measure the individual core's temp?
    Good point, I am fairly sure that Idle temps will not be "Spot On", However to me anyhow, I could care less as what is important to me, is that Load temps are correct.

    Larry

    edit; I meant to say also that Real Temp does show my cpu as the E3110 that it is
    Q9650
    Asus P5Q-D Bios 1406
    280 GTX FC Block
    2x2gb OCZ Flex II PC2 9200
    Water Cooled/ Iwaki MD20/ D-Tek Fuzion
    XFX 850 Watt
    OWC SSD

  14. #39
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    2
    BRAVO! and Thank You!

  15. #40
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    1,440
    Awesome program! Great idea to show both actual DTS and the temp, and Idle calibration is nice to!

    Only issue I have is, I calibrated my cpu temp using lasertemp (+/- 1C accurate and checked against very accurate temp probe) so cpu temp in speedfan always reads within 0-2 C of IR to cpu from 45-95C.

    If Tjmax on my E8400 is 95, then there is no gradient from core to tcase on full orthos load, as my calibrated cpu temp is now same temp as core. And I can show for example, that when speedfan cpu shows temp of 53, IR to back of cpu will be same.

    Unclewebb, you could easily calibrate your cpu, if have not already, and test same, would be interested in what you get. When I reach 105C core, my tcase measured by IR was 94.8, so I got the same result as you. The only issue is, does any gradient exist between core and tcase at that time. Your control chip, one did not. On my E6850, a gradient of 5-7C existed at all times, and on my E8400 a gradient of 10C existed at all times.
    Attached Images Attached Images

  16. #41
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    743
    Works great! my q6600 @3.6 idle:

    Anyone with an Abit p35 or quadgt wolfdale wanna try it out and postresults? Would be interesting to see with all the screwy temp reports from every other software.

  17. #42
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Crescent Beach, B.C.
    Posts
    170
    I got it installed now, but I'm getting core temps about 10C lower than Core Temp or Everest, 28C/22C? Upon calibration it says I have a bad sensor in Core 0. Hmmmm...
    Last edited by Xvys; 03-02-2008 at 06:45 AM.
    Asus P5K Premium "Black Pearl" \ E8400 E0 4.32 GHz @ 1.36v \ 4G Crucial Ballistix D9GMH \ ATI 1900XT \ TRUE 120mm \ Fortron FX600-E \ CM690 case w/ 7 fans \ 24" BenQ 2ms LCD

  18. #43
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Richmond, VA
    Posts
    471
    nifty program, reports 5 less than Coretemp.

    My E6850 is very strange though. TAT reports 13 degrees lower than CoreTemp. Speedfan reports 15 degrees lower than CoreTemp. Everest reports same as CoreTemp. And now this reports 5 degrees lower than CoreTemp.

  19. #44
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    817
    This is really good! thanks for the work... hope everyone now will trust this and look and these numbers instead of coretemp that has a to high tjmax setting... until he correct this problem, people are goin to use this i hope.. so we all can see correct numbers.

    its been proven a couple of times that tjmax really are 95c.. so now be it! 105 are for mobile cpu's and not desktop.

    regards.
    Intel i7 920@ ???| Inno3D 8800GT OC Edition | 3x1 Corsair 1600 DHX | DFI UT-X58 | TT ToughPower 850W

    Watercooling: D-Tek FuZion V2, DDC Ultra Plexi top, PA120.3, MCW60, Ek's Res.

  20. #45
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Turkey
    Posts
    94
    here is what ı have



    room temp 25-28 ı guess
    Gigabyte Z68AP-D3i2500k@4.50 1.35+Thermalright Ultra 120-4x2GB G.SKILL@1600- Sapphire 5870 Vapor-x-TT Element G- Corsair Force 3 120 ssd+ 1 Tb samsung - Copperhead Mouse- LG 32 lcd+TT Toughpower 750W (Boinc id:kadireren team id:xtremesystems)

  21. #46
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Madison, TN
    Posts
    934
    Very nice. Thanks for the new program and all your hard work. Haven't played with it too much but it does track very well with SG cpu temps under load.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    • File Type: jpg s.JPG (154.6 KB, 10171 views)

  22. #47
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    87
    It works fine on VISTA. good! job!!

    MOBO=|DFI lanparty ULTRA-D|
    CPU=| AMD A64 X2 4400+| 2.7GHZ 270FSB
    HDD=| 160GB SATA II |
    memory=| 1gb DC PATRIOT XBLKPC4800|270->3-3-3-8
    VIDEO=|X800XL PCI-e |

    New System
    MOBO=|DFI LANParty DK P35-T2RS|
    CPU=| QUAD Q6700|LAPPED 3.8Ghz 380x10 *Air
    Cooling=|TRUE-LAPPED|
    HDD=| Raptor 150X |
    memory=| G.SKILL(2 x 2GB) DDR2(PC2 8000)|
    VIDEO=|MSI8800GT|760/1800/2000

  23. #48
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Cochrane, Canada
    Posts
    2,040
    Thanks everyone for the thumbs up! For my first stab in the dark at this issue I think things have gone well.

    xploit: Very nice to confirm that it works on Vista.

    Can anyone else with a Quad post an idle screen shot. The Test Sensors feature is definitely a work in progress and has only been tested on dual core chips so far.

    We can all thank ixtapalapaquetl for his input on this project. He had some great ideas that I was able to implement without too much trouble.

    It's quite easy getting the .txt log file into Excel. Using Excel 2003 all I have to do is open up Excel and go into the Open menu and adjust it so it can read All Files. Direct it to the RealTempLog.txt file and when it goes to open it up it will immediately convert it to something Excel is happy with. Click on the Finish button and you're good to go analyze the data.



    I'm very interested to see how this new data correlates with CPU temp data.

    eva2000: I wouldn't try to jump to too many conclusions when you have two cores that are reporting significantly different temps like your E8500 does. One or both sensors might have issues. When you are running over 4 GHz with some extra core voltage do they ever agree with each other?

    If you click on the box in the upper right corner where it says CPUID = ***** it will show you what TjMax I'm using for your processor. I have dropped TjMax from 100C to 95C for some of the previous processors including the newer Quads based on published Intel TCase data. I haven't confirmed this yet with the IR thermometer but I probably will in the near future. I've decided to start with a clean piece of paper and not trust anything other programs say because they don't seem based on any real world testing.

    Keep the suggestions and bug reports coming in and I'll do what I can to fix things up for you guys.

    rge: I did all my IR testing with the CPU at idle. Even when it was over 100C it was still only at idle. Temperature gradients between TCase and core temp exist but I believe that when at idle, the difference between the true core temperature reading and what you can measure on the top side of the IHS is so small that it is within the accuracy of the test equipment espicially at lower temperatures where I was testing.

    : "On my E6850, a gradient of 5-7C existed at all times, and on my E8400 a gradient of 10C existed at all times.
    That's why I dropped TjMax for the E6850 from 100C to 95C and dropped the E8400 from 105C to 95C.

    Xvys: Can you post a screen of the bad sensor report. It looks like your core0 is stuck at 28C.

    eye get a run time error ..... maybe cause eye all clocked up to 4.0
    This is the error a user will get if they didn't follow the directions in the first post and install the ia32 driver correctly.
    Last edited by unclewebb; 03-02-2008 at 08:36 AM.

  24. #49
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Richmond, VA
    Posts
    471
    Any chance of making the temps display in the system tray in a future release?

  25. #50
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    288
    Quote Originally Posted by unclewebb View Post
    We can all thank ixtapalapaquetl for his input on this project.
    You are too kind - this was all you!

    I am doing some initial analyses of the log file. There is an issue with Everest, where I am getting my CPU Temp readings from, since it does not read at exact intervals (generally it reads every 5 seconds like Real Temp, but there are frequent wild hairs where it took an extra second). This makes the already statistically risky comparison (due to using two different instruments) into a perhaps completely unreliable correlation. I will see if I can figure something out.

    Their should be no problem, however, using average values over time. This still may be interesting. I will let you know if I get anything meaningful.

    Once again, fantastic work!

    Edit: Unfortunately, I can't use your importing technique because I want to consider the minutes and seconds in separate columns for sorting purposes. Stupid Everest. No biggie - took 10 seconds.
    Last edited by ixtapalapaquetl; 03-02-2008 at 08:34 AM.
    DFI LP UT P35-T2R | E8400 Q743A748 - IHS removed
    Team Xtreme PC2 9600 2x1GB | Auzentech XPlosion
    PCP+C Silencer 750W | 2x36GB Raptors RAID-0 | XFX 7800GT
    Iwaki MD20-RZT | FuZion - 4.4mm - modified ProMount | PA120.3

Page 2 of 180 FirstFirst 123451252102 ... LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •