Page 61 of 180 FirstFirst ... 11515859606162636471111161 ... LastLast
Results 1,501 to 1,525 of 4486

Thread: Real Temp - New temp program for Intel Core processors

  1. #1501
    Xtremely unstable
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Between Hell and Nowhere
    Posts
    2,803
    Looks the same as yours unc but if it's useful to you I'm in
    X3360
    Attached Images Attached Images
    dx58so
    w3520@4100
    4x1gb corsair ddr3-1333
    gtx 295
    TR ultra-x, 2 scythe ultrakaze push/pull
    xclio stablepower 1000
    vista ultimate

    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
    -------------------------------

    would you crunch if you thought it would save her life?

    maybe it will!

  2. #1502
    I am Xtreme
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Posts
    4,718
    My qx9650 shows the same.

  3. #1503
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Cochrane, Canada
    Posts
    2,040
    That data is very useful.

    Go back and look at my data. This MSR seems to be showing that my center cores are swapped, which they are. If you look at the EAX column for my processor it shows 0-2-1-3 while your processors both are normal and show 0-1-2-3. This might be a way for me to test Quad cores for the swapped core bug. Hopefully FullSky can get this utility to show both versions since his Quad swaps back and forth more often than most.
    Last edited by unclewebb; 06-22-2008 at 11:05 AM.

  4. #1504
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Tennessee, USA
    Posts
    115
    Here' s mine on a Q9450 if it helps.
    OS - Windows 7 PRO 64 bit
    Mobo- Asus P6X58D Premium
    CPU - Intel Core I7 980 with Noctua NH-U12P
    Memory - Corsair PC12800 1600 12 gigs
    Gpu - Evga GTX 670 , 2 Sata DVD burners
    Primary HD -1 (256 gb ) Ocz SSD sata 3
    2nd HD - WD 1 tb 7200rpm sata 2
    3rd HD - Seagate 1T 32mb Sata 2
    Antec 1200 w/ Corsair 750watt psu
    Samsung P2770 HD, Logitech Z5500 speakers

  5. #1505
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    35n28, 97w31
    Posts
    675
    Here are our Q6600 CPUs side by side. I feel your pain!

    RT MSR Tool Q6600.jpg
    | Intel Core i7-2600K | ASRock P67 EXTREME4 GEN3 | G.SKILL Sniper Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3 1866 | EVGA GTS 450 |
    | Swiftech APOGEE Drive II CPU Waterblock with Integrated Pump | XSPC RX360 | Swiftech MCP655-B Pump | XSPC Dual 5.25in. Bay Reservoir |
    | Thermaltake 850W PSU | NZXT SWITCH 810 | Windows 7 64-bit |

    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

  6. #1506
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Dana Point, CA, USA
    Posts
    15
    The MSR tool doesn't seem to be working for me. I get no data for 0x39. Have no idea why. If I type in a different MSR I do see data.

    Maybe it has something to do with my QX6700. Here's the results:



    My QX6700 hasn't acted up today and I haven't been able to get the swap bug to occur, which is very strange considering how this cpu has always been before.

    Carey
    EVGA 680i NF68 A1 \ QX6700 \ TRUE 120 \ 2X2GB OCZ 800 \ 8800 GTX 768mb \ X-FI XtremeGamer \ CL 5.1 Inspire T6100 speakers \ WD320, WD500 \ Gigabyte 570 tower \ ViewSonic 22" \ PC Power & Cooling 750W \ XP Pro

  7. #1507
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Dana Point, CA, USA
    Posts
    15
    I finally got the swap bug to occur again, but the MSR tool shows no change (i.e., no data). I do get data for other MSRs I type in.



    Carey
    EVGA 680i NF68 A1 \ QX6700 \ TRUE 120 \ 2X2GB OCZ 800 \ 8800 GTX 768mb \ X-FI XtremeGamer \ CL 5.1 Inspire T6100 speakers \ WD320, WD500 \ Gigabyte 570 tower \ ViewSonic 22" \ PC Power & Cooling 750W \ XP Pro

  8. #1508
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    US, Michigan
    Posts
    660
    MSR below
    Attached Images Attached Images

    D-Tek Fuzion quad nozzle & MCW30
    8800GTS 512 @820/999/1998 with a MCW60
    2xMCP655b
    1xMCR320 and 1xMCR120 with 4x Yate Loon SH's
    2x Raptor X

  9. #1509
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    12
    My MSR - Q6600/B3
    RealTemp says that bug is fixed (core 1 and 2 have been exchanged) and shows 49-49-45-44,
    CoreTemp shows at the same moment 49-45-49-44.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by zorzyk; 06-22-2008 at 03:51 PM.

  10. #1510
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Cochrane, Canada
    Posts
    2,040
    Thanks for all the data guys. I'm trying to find a reliable way to test for the Quad bug but it looks like MSR 0x39 isn't it.

    My present test and fix is working on my Q6600 and it looks like it is working on your Q6600 zorzyk. I'll keep looking FullSky to see if I can find a better way to detect this.

  11. #1511
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    146


    Q9450

  12. #1512
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    ARIZONA
    Posts
    1,565
    go unclewebb exellent drive for perfection thier wtg man
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
    PENT E8400 batch #814A014 ...4.3 at 1.34v~4.7 at 1.45v
    FOXCONN MARS
    COOLIT Eliminator 7*c idle~27~38*c load $95bucks !
    BUFFALO FireStix's ddr2-800 do 1200 eazy at 2.1v
    OCZ 2x2 kit pc2 8500 - 1066 @1069 atm
    Quattro 1000W
    Radeon 2-4850's in crossfire
    OCZ Vertex SSD thanks Tony!
    ALL PIPED INTO HOUSE AIRCOND ;}
    *QUANTUM FORCE* saaya & sham rocks !
    *REAL TEMP*
    At least you've got some Xtreme software now for working in Xtreme situations! "Unclewebb" rocks !
    *MEMSET* Felix rocks !
    *SUPER TEC MAN* UncleJimbo rocks !
    OVERCLOCKERS MAG..http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/...d.php?t=197660

  13. #1513
    Never go full retard
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    3,980
    mine...Q9450
    Attached Images Attached Images

  14. #1514
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    12
    Q6600/B3 information addendum: after restarting my PC (setting up new video driver) situation changed:
    - RealTemp does not inform about fixing core swapping
    - RealTem and CoreTemp both show temperatures like 49-49-45-44
    - MSR shows exactly the same as in my post above (0 0 0 0).

  15. #1515
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Cochrane, Canada
    Posts
    2,040
    zorzyk: Thanks for your testing help. Looks like your Q6600 is clearly showing this bug. I think I'm getting closer to a way to detect it for all CPUs so that your temp readings will always be consistent. Some processors that have this bug swap back and forth on a regular basis so one day it looks like core1 is running cool and then the next day its running hot with no explanation as to why. I believe that users have wasted a lot of time trying to fix this by remounting heatsinks, etc. but I think the problem lies a little deeper than that. I sent you a PM with some further tests you can do when this bug returns to your Q6600.

    I added a couple of more buttons to my tool which makes it easier to search for MSR data.



    http://www.fileden.com/files/2008/3/3/1794507/MSR.zip

    I think it's easy to see that core0/core2 in my Q6600 are on one side of the Quad while core1/core3 data is coming from the other side of the Quad. When the bug is not there, core0/core1 will line up while core2/core3 will line up as well.

    The MSRs I've found so far that clearly show this are 0x2A, 0x4D, 0x4E, 0x4F, 0xC7, 0x118 and 0x19E but I haven't found documentation from Intel on most of them. I initially overlooked 0x2A but it might be the one I use for this test. Once I get some more user feedback from people that have this bug then maybe I will be able to use one of these MSRs to reliably detect the Quad bug.
    Last edited by unclewebb; 06-23-2008 at 07:53 AM.

  16. #1516
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    12
    unclewebb - PM sent, please check

  17. #1517
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Cochrane, Canada
    Posts
    2,040
    Thumbs up for zorzyk.

    Your data is excellent, well laid out and easy to read. If the Quad bug ever returns for you try running my test again to see if there are any changes in your results.

  18. #1518
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    US, Michigan
    Posts
    660
    I tried all MSR's listed above, and Core 0 and 1 are together, and Core 2 and 3 are together.

    Edit: Super-Pi with core affinity follows suit with what the MSR's say.
    Last edited by WoZZeR999; 06-23-2008 at 09:00 AM.

    D-Tek Fuzion quad nozzle & MCW30
    8800GTS 512 @820/999/1998 with a MCW60
    2xMCP655b
    1xMCR320 and 1xMCR120 with 4x Yate Loon SH's
    2x Raptor X

  19. #1519
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Cochrane, Canada
    Posts
    2,040
    Thanks WoZZeR999. That's what zorzyk found as well. When the Quad bug is present, all of the MSRs I listed show core0/core2 aligned as well as core1/core3 aligned. I think FullSky occasionally has a different version of this bug where core0/core4 and core1/core2 get aligned.

    Whenever the cores get out of their normal alignment, the SetAffinity... in the Task Manager and every other program that uses the SetAffinity() subroutine in C++ will not function correctly. In my case, when I ask for the temps for core1 it is presently returning the temps for core2 and vice versa. This bug helps explain the 101 Quad screen shots I've seen during the last year or so that clearly shows the temps aligned in strange patterns. This bug needs to be corrected for and I think I have enough data now to better detect when this is happening. It could be another RealTemp exclusive feature.

  20. #1520
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    France
    Posts
    106
    Hello .

    I did not read all this big topic but someone could tell me if the différence of 10°C between RealTemp and CoreTemp with my QX9650 is normal or not ?

    And which temperature is right ?

  21. #1521
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    1,491
    Quote Originally Posted by jeanjean15 View Post
    Hello .

    I did not read all this big topic but someone could tell me if the différence of 10°C between RealTemp and CoreTemp with my QX9650 is normal or not ?

    And which temperature is right ?
    Yes, it's normal.

    RealTemp is right.
    RIG 1 (in progress):
    Core i7 920 @ 3GHz 1.17v (WIP) / EVGA X58 Classified 3X SLI / Crucial D9JNL 3x2GB @ 1430 7-7-7-20 1T 1.65v
    Corsair HX1000 / EVGA GTX 295 SLI / X-FI Titanium FATAL1TY Pro / Samsung SyncMaster 245b 24" / MM H2GO
    2x X25-M 80GB (RAID0) + Caviar 500 GB / Windows 7 Ultimate x64 RC1 Build 7100

    RIG 2:
    E4500 @ 3.0 / Asus P5Q / 4x1 GB DDR2-667
    CoolerMaster Extreme Power / BFG 9800 GT OC / LG 22"
    Antec Ninehundred / Onboard Sound / TRUE / Vista 32

  22. #1522
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Dana Point, CA, USA
    Posts
    15
    uncleweb,

    I've pm'd you some results for 0x2A.
    EVGA 680i NF68 A1 \ QX6700 \ TRUE 120 \ 2X2GB OCZ 800 \ 8800 GTX 768mb \ X-FI XtremeGamer \ CL 5.1 Inspire T6100 speakers \ WD320, WD500 \ Gigabyte 570 tower \ ViewSonic 22" \ PC Power & Cooling 750W \ XP Pro

  23. #1523
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    1,440
    Unclewebb, last time i suck up your space with my temp testing....really But had to show one last experiment.

    IHS temp is 95C at DTS=0 on multiple E8400's, measured by multiple people.

    Experiment: I took another IHS (from old cpu), put a minimal haze of mx2 on my cpu, and placed a second IHS on my E8400. So now I am going to measure temp through two IHS, and two interfaces, and compare to temp on just IHS...to illustrate gradient through tim and IHS.

    If 105 tjmax is correct for E8400, a 10C gradient must exists from die to IHS at idle, undervolted state. If an additional layer of tim and another IHS is added that gradient must increase significantly by up to another 10C.

    If 95 tjmax is correct for E8400, less than 1C gradient exists from die to IHS at idle, undervolted state. If an additional layer of tim and another IHS is added then additional gradient would be minimal, 1-2C.

    pic 1 is realtemp on my IHS, (without second IHS added yet) IR temp reads 71.8C, realtemp 72C. (coretemp with tjmax 105 reads 82C not pictured)

    pic 2 second IHS

    pic 3 second IHS on cpu

    pic 4 is IR reading 65.8C through a second tim and IHS, and realtemp is reading 66, 67 on cores, which proves the gradient through IHS and tim at idle, underclocked, undervolted is max 1-2C . (taped down IR on button and IR gun down...pics easier with hand out of way)

    Realtemp 95 tjmax is clearly correct. No way, no how is tjmax 105 because no way no how does a 10C gradient exist through tim and IHS, in fact it is clearly less than 1-2C.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by rge; 06-23-2008 at 07:12 PM.

  24. #1524
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Cochrane, Canada
    Posts
    2,040
    Quote Originally Posted by rge View Post
    Unclewebb, last time i suck up your space with my temp testing....really
    What are you talking about? Testing is where all the fun is! The more data the better. Especially when it agrees with the theory behind RealTemp and with the Intel documentation you've read and been sharing with us for many pages now.

    The data is in so now it's time to write a fix for the Quad bug issue.

  25. #1525
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Cochrane, Canada
    Posts
    2,040

    RealTemp 2.67

    The Quad Bug fix is ready for testing.
    http://www.fileden.com/files/2008/3/...alTempBeta.zip

    Now I just have to wait for FullSky and zorzyk to give this the or

    So far it works on my confused Q6600. In the Test Sensors results window it will show you if your Quad processor was found to have this bug or not.

    The normal order should be 0 - 1 - 2 - 3 but here's what it shows for my confused Quad:



    Thanks for everyone's help with this new feature. You never know when this bug might hit your Quad. My Q6600 was fine for 3 months before it hit.
    Last edited by unclewebb; 06-23-2008 at 09:40 PM.

Page 61 of 180 FirstFirst ... 11515859606162636471111161 ... LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •